• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 238 8889
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: INDEPENDENCE
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee of 75.00 dollars for 1 through 6 nights and 150.00 dollars for 7 or more nights. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at checkin. Call hotel for details.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Centerpoint Medical Center
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Independence Center Shopping/Dining
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Hartman Conference Center
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Bass Pro Shops
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:102
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:102
  • Total number of suites:102
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:96
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:6
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:102
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Welcome to our multi-award winning hotel.

Situated just outside of Kansas City, the Staybridge Suites® Kansas City - Independence offers the utmost in comfort and convenience. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, our I-70 location provides easy access to the area's best attractions and major companies.

Independence Event Center, Centerpoint Medical Center, Children's Mercy Hospital, Independence Center - the area's largest mall, ATK, Fike, Fresenius, GEHA, Unilever
View More

Welcome to our multi-award winning hotel.

Situated just outside of Kansas City, the Staybridge Suites® Kansas City - Independence offers the utmost in comfort and convenience. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, our I-70 location provides easy access to the area's best attractions and major companies.

Independence Event Center, Centerpoint Medical Center, Children's Mercy Hospital, Independence Center - the area's largest mall, ATK, Fike, Fresenius, GEHA, Unilever and Burd & Fletcher are just minutes from our front door. Complimentary Wi-Fi, the Business Center and our Truman Boardroom provide corporate guests with the tools they need for a productive visit.

Minutes from Arrowhead Stadium, home of the Kansas City Chiefs, Kauffman Stadium, home of the Kansas City Royals. You'll find our hometown CHL Champions, the Missouri Mavericks at the Independence Event Center.

At Staybridge Suites KC-Independence your comfort is our priority. We offer outstanding amenities including a free hot breakfast buffet, Fitness Center and Tues-Thurs Evening Socials, featuring a light dinner with complimentary beer & wine. After a long day, relax on the beautifully lansdscaped patio, which features a heated saltwater pool, fire pit and whirlpool. Make your reservations today, and enjoy all the great perks our Independence hotel has to offer A day, a week, a year - stay with Staybridge Suites KC-Independence!

View Less
Features
When it comes to hotels in Independence, Missouri, our exceptional service is unmatched, and our accommodations feature great amenities, such as free Wi-Fi access, flat screen TV's and a full kitchen in each suite.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 470 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love the hotel My main complaint was the maid service. On our second day we didn't get the coffee refilled or towels and washclothes. Also, there was a half gallon of milk in the refrigerator when we arrived that wasn't ours, nor was it removed the second day either. Otherwise it was a great hotel experience. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We were in town to see a Royals game. I made a mistake when booking the room, I booked the wrong Holiday Inn. The front desk was very helpful in switching my reservation to this location, and at a cheaper rate. The staff was amazingly nice and polite the entire time. They offer a free Stadium shuttle, which we did not choose to use, but the fact that it was available was a nice touch. We drove to Kauffman Stadium and it took less that 2 minutes each way. The room was very up to date, right down to a leather lounge chair, something you don't see in many hotels. No mini fridge or microwave but for a one night stay, that's not a huge deal. Bed was extremely comfortable. Me and my wife both suffer from back problems and we both woke up more refreshed that we do at home. Would highly recommend this site. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fun family trip The Waterpark was awesome. The hotel was nice and clean, except for the carpets in the hallway. Only complaint was a yapping dog a couple doors down, but it quieted down before bedtime. The staff at the front desk were really kind and gave us a room of the ballpark. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location If you are going to a Kansas City Royals game this is the place to stay. They have a shuttle but it's close enough to walk. I got a room on the 14th floor with a view of the baseball stadium. May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel to stay in near many sports activities. Great staff. Very clean and quite rooms. All good. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and stay Stayed overnight to watch the KC Royals (May 3rd). Room was great. nice and quiet. It was a busy weekend for the staff with Royals game, Prom, kids for the waterpark but they still did a good job. Room was cool temp wise which was great, just the way I like it. May 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Could not sleep due to air conditioning problems Air conditioning did not work upon arrival was told it was being repaired, No cooling all night hard to sleep when your too warm to sleep. Front desk staff acted like they could care less about it. Had a six hour drive home with three hours sleep at most. April 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Generally too hot Room was hot and meeting rooms were hot! Was air conditioning not working? April 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Thermostats are just for show. Room was pretty warm when we checked in. Lowered the temp to 67, didn't make a difference. Lowered it to 60, still nothing. By the next day, the room was so uncomfortable we couldn't even stay in it. Apparently the main unit was broken and it had just been repaired when we inquired at the front desk. Room cooled off somewhat, but it never seemed like we had control of the temperature whatsoever. Rooms are dark and drab. Other members of our party had a ladybug infestation in their room and had to be moved. Beds weren't very comfortable, but I did think the pillows were nice. April 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by things that need to be told or fixed We had a light show going on all night. And the waterpark was not open durning the week. The beds could have been better. It would have been great. Everyone was so nice. April 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Very poor! Our room had the fridge missing, bed sheets had black strays of hair, maybe a pet or Humana hair...gross! At checkout the lady seemed to have been inconvenienced by us needing to checkout, thought that was her job. Was billed for two movies! The onsite restaurant had terrible waitresses/waitors. One employee that was suppose to be the hostess was literally doing a dance cheer, very unprofessional. Out overall experience was POOR! Lacked customer service, cleanliness of rooms, and our floor had no ice machine...had to go two floors down for ice. March 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Rooms are clean, staff nice, and the water park was fun for my littles. Casey's was the only thing we would have changed of we could have. March 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable bed and poor service. We arrived to check in and had to stand in line for 35 minutes before getting helped and then were told there were no rooms available and we would have to wait another hour or so to get our room key. So we lost out on using the waterpark for another hour...unless we wanted to go change in the public bathroom, which we didn't care to do. We were offered no discount for the inconvenience. The hotel and the waterpark could have used more help. They obviously didn't have enough staff working the weekend we were there. March 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Kids had a great time Usually as a priority club member, you get a little something special. Nothing here and I asked for a noon check out and the check in lady said absolutely not. I've never received such inflexibility before at a Holiday Inn. March 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very hot rooms and ok service We had a room when the air condition wasn't working correctly. Had called the desk twice and finally a guy came up and gave some answer. Finally after him coming up twice and not fixing the problem we decided to deal with it. Once morning came we packed up and left without going back to the pool. The rooms are way to hot and the air conditioner gives out no cool air. March 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room could have been a lot cleaner The room was average but the bedding needed some help. Both comforters had several stains on them and It made me wonder how clean the rest of the bedding was. March 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place for a weekend get away with kids We arrived the Holiday Inn (CoCo Key) and were greeted by a friendly staff. No surprises. Got to the room and noticed it was a bit older than expected. Windows were dripping wet from humidity. Bathroom is a bit small. Overall, it was a room and fairly clean. Staff throughout hotel was pleasant. We stayed there because it was part of the waterpark package. It was good for little kids (ages 6 and 7). Kids eat free with paying adult in the café. Not bad overall and would recommend. I liked the one hour added checkout time for priority club members. March 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel for families The hotel was okay. The best part was the water park. The worst things were the slow elevators and the beds are very old. The beds we had in our room (520) should have been replaced 5 years ago. March 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience I have always had a great time here, this was the first time I stayed and the experience was excellent. The only complaint is that the water was a little cold. March 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Great Experience The rooms were very neat and clean. The lifeguards in the waterpark were very attentive. It was a very nice trip for our children. They didn't want to leave. March 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent full service hotel. I was pleased to find a full service Holiday Inn that was well maintained and had updated appointments. March 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good family retreat We arrived on a Friday in February and left on Sunday to meet friends whose kids were of similar ages (6, 5, 4,2). The hotel was clean and comfortable, though the beds were very firm. Housekeeping did a good job cleaning during our stay and with accommodating any extras we needed. Coco key was nice, though it did not open until 4 pm on Friday. Would have been nice to open a little sooner on Friday because it was very busy and the bigger kids were running over our little ones on Saturday. Also, the air temperature in coco key was a bit chilly for walking around wet. We actually retreated to the regular pool/ hot tub elsewhere in the hotel to avoid the craziness and let our little ones play in the water without getting run over. We also ate downstairs in the sports bar area and enjoyed a very nice, reasonably priced meal, despite some of the online reviews. (kids eat free.) Our server was very friendly and attentive. Food was good. Near interstate, so it was easy to find, but not a lot of other nearby dining opportunities. Overall, a great winter getaway. Economically priced for the amenities! March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fun Waterpark Thank you to the staff for making it special for the entire group that had come there. It was a lot of fun. My son had a lot of fun in the water park, for both the days. Some more food choices for vegetarian would have been helpful. Overall a great place to have a vacation. March 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by it was ok Well for the price I paid the rooms was small the Windows iced iver inside the staff was rude and no continental breakfast I mean all hotels have that. The other quests that stayed there was very rude. The waterpark was excellent though. March 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dissapointed After reading the reviews I was skeptical but hopeful. I should have cancelled... This is an older property that has been remodeled. The remodeling was great...but they forgot the beds and linens. Also, the AC did not work. Instead it's temp would not change nor would it shut off. Very loud and on the 2nd and last night, it started to whine. That woke us up and it never quit. When I checked in I told the front desk about the AC problem. They said they would send someone up. Never saw them nor was told anything. However there was a message on the phone which could not be retrieved since the phone was broken! I attempted two more times to stop at the front desk, but it was entirely too busy since there was a cheer leading event that weekend. I stay frequently with Holiday Inn, but I will not stay at this location again. VERY DISAPPOINTED February 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Decent hotel and decent indoor waterpark The hotel was fairly comfortable. Some of the pillows were a little lumpy though. The fitted sheet kept coming off and bunching up from both beds. Every time we needed anything, someone came right up to our room. The first night our room kept putting out hot air, but when we called maintenance came right up and took care of the problem. The whole time we were there, no one came to our room to clean or even take out the trash or provide new towels, every time we needed towels we had to call. The CocoKey waterpark is attached. It was ok. The chlorine was so strong that none of us could stand it for long and I definitely wouldn't recommend that young children be in that environment. Also, it was extremely packed and you could barely stand to walk around. I couldn't believe all the families there that weren't even watching their very young children in the waterpark. February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by front desk staff was awesome front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. staff in the arcade seemed crabby all 3 days of our stay. air conditioner in the room didn't work for the first day and a half, but was fixed after we reported it a few times. We will most likely visit again next year, hopefully to a room with air conditioning. February 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by coco keys and hotel I have an almost two year old. We came here for the water park. Specifically the younger kid section. The first night we were there it wasn't open and they were filling it. The next day we got there at opening. That section was still not ready. It wasn't ready until a little after noon. If i would have known we would not have came. We had other plans for that day and that was about all the we could spend there. Also while we kept smelling a sewage smell. Not very appropriate for a water park. We also ate at the restaurant in the hotel. Food was alright but service was absolutely terrible both times. Room wad average but i would never stay there again not would i recommend it to anyone February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place! Really nice being able to enjoy the water park and relax in a nice clean room. Having a restaurant and bar on site was helpful! Weekend trip was fun for all! February 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Restaurant Service We were three families (8 people, 3 generations) from Iowa and Oklahoma gathering to celebrate our Grandson's 8th birthday. After checking in, we went to the in-house restaurant for lunch. It was the worst service we have ever experienced. The hostess took us to a table that wasn't big enough and we had to move ourselves to another. She did not give us silverware and napkins. We waited over an hour for our sandwiches. Food would have been good if served hot. We asked for napkins and silverware, waited again, for someone to bring them. We ended up searching for and finding 6 sets ourselves. We kept hearing "sorry for the wait" many times. One server was very nice about refilling our drinks. Our waitress was surly at first, (walking away from us when we were still talking to her, blaming the hostess for no tableware, etc.) but later her attitude improved. We know that it is not the servers fault for problems in the kitchen. What we do expect is to be treated with courtesy and respect . A 15% discount was not enough to make us come back. We went to a chain restaurant across the street for dinner that night and breakfast the next morning. They had good food and great service. We had no fridge in our room. Our daughter next door, had a fridge, but the HVAC was not working. It was quickly fixed by hotel staff. The hotel web site states that rooms may or may not have fridge. It would be nice if all rooms were equipped the same. Parking on lobby level was at a premium. The lower level parking did not have hotel access, even though there was a sign pointing to an outdoor entrance that was no longer in use. We had to carry suitcases, etc. up many stairs to the main lobby The check-in desk was manned with very pleasant and efficient staff that day. They switched things up so we could all be near each other. They were helpful in explaining some of the cost confusions involving the water park access, etc. February 25, 2014
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 17 next>>
View from Hotel
View from Hotel
Select to close.
View from Hotel Staybridge Suites KC-Independence Concierge Arial View of Hotel Welcome to Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence Get Comfortable Front Desk Welcome to Staybridge Kansas City - Independence
Select to close.
Awards

IHG Rewards Club Excellence Award

IHG® Rewards Club Excellence Award

Service above and beyond the call of duty is a matter of pride to the IHG® Rewards Club family of brands. The IHG® Rewards Club Excellence Award is significant because the award recognizes hotels that are consistently delivering benefits and recognition to our top customers - IHG® Rewards Club members.

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading