• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 238 8889
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: INDEPENDENCE
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee of 75.00 dollars for 1 through 6 nights and 150.00 dollars for 7 or more nights. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at checkin. Call hotel for details.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
City of Blue Springs
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Riverboat Casinos
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI
Attraction:
Worlds of Fun / Oceans of Fun
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI
Attraction:
Independence Center Shopping/Dining
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:102
  • Total number of suites:102
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:96
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:6
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:102
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Welcome to our multi-award winning hotel.

Situated just outside of Kansas City, the Staybridge Suites® Kansas City - Independence offers the utmost in comfort and convenience. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, our I-70 location provides easy access to the area's best attractions and major companies.

Independence Event Center, Centerpoint Medical Center, Children's Mercy Hospital, Independence Center - the area's largest mall, ATK, Fike, Fresenius, GEHA, Unilever
View More

Welcome to our multi-award winning hotel.

Situated just outside of Kansas City, the Staybridge Suites® Kansas City - Independence offers the utmost in comfort and convenience. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, our I-70 location provides easy access to the area's best attractions and major companies.

Independence Event Center, Centerpoint Medical Center, Children's Mercy Hospital, Independence Center - the area's largest mall, ATK, Fike, Fresenius, GEHA, Unilever and Burd & Fletcher are just minutes from our front door. Complimentary Wi-Fi, the Business Center and our Truman Boardroom provide corporate guests with the tools they need for a productive visit.

Minutes from Arrowhead Stadium, home of the Kansas City Chiefs, Kauffman Stadium, home of the Kansas City Royals. You'll find our hometown CHL Champions, the Missouri Mavericks at the Independence Event Center.

At Staybridge Suites KC-Independence your comfort is our priority. We offer outstanding amenities including a free hot breakfast buffet, Fitness Center and Tues-Thurs Evening Socials, featuring a light dinner with complimentary beer & wine. After a long day, relax on the beautifully lansdscaped patio, which features a heated saltwater pool, fire pit and whirlpool. Make your reservations today, and enjoy all the great perks our Independence hotel has to offer A day, a week, a year - stay with Staybridge Suites KC-Independence!

View Less
Features
When it comes to hotels in Independence, Missouri, our exceptional service is unmatched, and our accommodations feature great amenities, such as free Wi-Fi access, flat screen TV's and a full kitchen in each suite.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 328 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Problems taken care of professionally I had issues the 1st night of my stay in 1404, I explained the situation to a manager and the issue was immediately taken care of and I was moved to 255. I was completely satisfied with the way the problem was addressed and resolved. I stay at this location or a competitor across the street, but considering the problem I had, and the professional way it was handled, I am sure I will stay with Holiday Inn on my next visit to the KC area. July 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It was okay... The beds "say" they are Queen. Nope more like a Full size and not comfy AT ALL!! The rooms are very nice though. The kids loved the indoor water park, but the water was a bit cool to the temp. The little ones zero depth pool was warmer then the other part. The kids eat free was okay of a deal. Took awhile for serive and food to arrive and when you have hungry kids from swimming it should cater to that! But over all it was okay and can now say I went. Will I return? Probably not. Everyone fighting to use the elevators to get to their rooms?! It was just a different experience I will say. You REALLY should have post cards in the gift shop for COCO KEY!!! July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great fun for the grandkids. We took the three grandkids there for a mini vacation. They loved the room, the waterpark, and the restaurant. They played for 4 straight hours in the waterpark. Went to restaurant after and they got to eat for free. That was a nice plus. July 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, but the staff seems overwhelmed If you're going to KC to see the Royals or Chiefs, you can't beat this location, because it's right across the highway from the stadiums. Unfortunately, while we were there, the SkillsUSA event had taken over the hotel, so parking was over-full, the staff was overwhelmed, and the elevators were taxed to the limit. My suggestion would be, if you have that many people staying at the hotel, you need to increase your staff during that time, so you can handle the traffic, and the needs of your guests. The front-desk was far-from-cordial, the cleaning staff skipped us, and there was a constant crowd waiting for elevators. There was a form for laundry service, but it wasn't picked-up, and then we were told there wasn't any such service, and the "guest laundry" was all out-of-order. I'd also suggest that if all the signs say there's an ice machine on every floor, there should actually BE an ice machine on every floor. In-general, we weren't particularly happy with the hotel. Location is all it has going for it. July 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty good hotel I stayed here for a couple days so I can take my son to two Royals games against the Braves and we had a great time. We really liked the small bus that took us to and from the games which saved us a lot of walking. We appreciated that big time! Some complaints I have about this hotel: *I wish the housekeeping would've provided some extra soap and shampoo. The carpets weren't all that clean and one table was dusty. * The wifi service inside the room was pretty slow. * I wish there was an ice machine on the 7th floor. Had to go down to the 6th floor to get ice a couple times. * When I took a shower, the water was really hot. There was no water control temperature. *Air conditioning wasn't all that great. I set the thermostat to 60 degrees and it felt like it was 70-75 degrees inside the room even though I had the shades closed. I didn't really use the waterpark although I did use the outdoor pool only once. It's too bad the outdoor pool closes up at 10pm otherwise I would've took a dip in the pool after the baseball game. Perhaps closing the outdoor pool at midnight would be great. June 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not impressed Our check in was late due to rooms not being ready. Several other guests were in the lobby and had the same issue. The waterpark was extremely crowded with guests from the previous day's stay. Our waiter in the restaurant was rude and the food was satisfactory. Parking was a nightmare. i honestly expected better quality and service from Holiday Inn. June 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping I would not stay in their rooms anymore. Housekeeping staff missed a lot. My bedding was not clean, I had blood stains on the sheets along with a bandage attached to the sheet.. If you do stay at the hotel do a full inspection of the room first before getting into bed. June 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 3rd Floor East Wing terrible for Noise The staff and service here is really excellent. But you don't want to stay in the east wing. The rooms are located on the 3rd floor and above are the conference rooms. You could hear the wedding or gathering music till midnight or so. And then the clean up crew moving table and such around after that. June 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the cost I stayed here with my family of five thinking it would be a great watermark for my kids after a long drive. Upon arrival there was no parking spots, the waterpark was over populated and there was no where to sit. The cost of the room with waterpark tickets was to expensive. We had a very small room, but the beds were comfortable. The staff at the watermark seemed like they hated thier job and I watched a lot of reckless play but the lifeguards did not do a thing to stop it. Also the waterpark was filthy. There was mud around the drains and the water was disgusting color of brown. There was also so much bleach or chlorine that we all smelled the next day. June 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Over crowded We had a great time there, but felt as if it was Very overcrowded. We wish that you had to stay in the hotel to swim at coco keys.... or pay a higher price to go to coco keys' There was also a chic fight there, not good. My kids did have a blast. We loved it and hope we can come back? June 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Will NOT Be Going Back This is the second year we have been to this hotel and had a bad experience. We thought the first time was just a one time fluke but with having a bad experience a second time, we will not be going back to this location. Entering our room for the first time, the carpet was soaking wet. We called the front desk and they said that they had just shampooed a spot on our carpet. We were at this location for 3 days and on the third morning it had finally dried. I have small kids (boys) who like to drive their cars around on the floor, not good! The temperature outside was in the 90's. Upon entering our room the thermostat was set at 65 the whole 3 days and our room temperature never got below 80. Very uncomfortable to sleep in. We complained and they told us we could move to another room. We checked the rooms before moving and they were all the same way. This hotel is 40 plus years old. Needs to be remodeled with new ac/heating units. They did accommodate us with discount, freebies, etc. This was for my son's birthday, was very disappointed!!! June 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed-UNDERSTAFFED I read the prior reviews & they were not too good but thought I would give it a chance. Big mistake~ Understaffed!! Poor girl checking us in kept having to leave us to answer the phone while another girl wouldn't budge on what she was doing. Should have taken maybe 5 min to check in took us almost 15. I went to order room service & I got directed to the front desk then they transferred me to room service, I sat on the phone as it rang for 12 minutes, I refused to hang up so I could see how long it would take them. But after 12 minutes I gave up. So I called again, got the front desk, was only waiting 5-6 minutes this time. Then decided to watch some TV & the TV went out, that was another 45 minutes wasted out of my night. Pretty sad when I have tried numerous nicknames & they all have been used- Unhappy, Disgusted, Disappointed, what should that tell you??????? June 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a Business Travelers Hotel Checking in was a challenge with one desk person and a line of children with water park questions and purchases. Person was highly effective, but had too many things to cover including answering the front desk phone. Elevators took forever as they were filled with water park clients coming and going from their rooms. Some were freshly out of the water. Also had a conference break for the night with all of the attendees trying to get to their rooms. Had to wait for six elevator loads before my turn to get in. Hotel is mature but for its age is clean and well kept. Furniture shows its age and usage. Pleasantly surprised with plenty of hot water for shower both at night and in the morning. Restaurant prices seem high especially for buffet but this seems to be the trend of all breakfast menus. Not all priority club members want a percentage off their purchases. A bottle of water and cookies/candy/chips goes a long way when you can not find the vending machines can not be located. June 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fine for families, not so sure for seniors! This Holiday Inn had three strikes against it in very short order. First: I was not aware it was connected to a Water Park and therefore came with lots, and I mean lots, of children running around. Second: there was a convention going on in the hotel and folks were celebrating both late into the night, and starting early in the morning. Third: there was a problem with the internet/wi-fi service. A phone call at 10:45 p.m. confirming the wi-fi problem did little to ease my mind. While the room was comfortable, it was not quiet. The only quiet place in the entire hotel was Casey's restaurant, where I had a pleasant meal Would I stay there again? No. Would my grandchildren like it? Probably. June 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Staff May need a management change, the staff was terrible. Was there for a wedding. No soap in the room. Elevators take forever, plan accordingly. No snack vending machines anywhere. TV checkout did not work. If you call for service, plan on being on holding for a long time until someone answers. We will never stay here again, just terrible. June 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service I reserved 3 rooms for an overnight stay. My 2 children and their families occupied the extra rooms. One room had a refrigerator (which I needed for my meds) and another room had a hair dryer (which I did not bring, assuming that each room would have them). All our needs were met. We had taken in the Royals game after check-in, then returned to use the indoor pool. We did enjoy the late closing of the pool also. We didn't use the water park, due to time constraints and additional cost of watching the 2 boys swim. The front desk staff brought the keys to our room for the late arrival of my daughter. That was exceptional service to me! Thanks so much for my our mini stay vacation in the KC area an enjoyable experience and we hope to use your facilities again. Breakfast was awesome. June 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service We stayed at this hotel for several days. While the rooms were a little on the small side, the water park was great! All the staff members were very friendly and efficient. When we had a problem with the toilet, maintenance came very quickly and we got a follow-up phone call from the management making sure that the problem was fixed. I found that the meals in the restaurant were a bit over-priced, but the food was good and the service was quick. I would definitely stay here again. June 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place Don't judge this place from the outside. The rooms are big, nicely furnished, and comfortable. We only stayed for a night but we would come back. June 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not What a Platinum Member Expects Since my long version wasn't posted I'll keep this review shorter. This experience was PITIFUL, the staff, obviously needs to be trained in what the hospitallity industry does. The Restaurant & especially the Water Park get a passing grade. I checked out and reserved my additional 3 nights on another property. June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, good food & service Clean, comfortable, dog friendly Hotel Staff is helpful and responsive. Restaurant offerings were enjoyable and reasonably priced. Refrigerator in room was a plus. Lots of grass for Dog walking. Delicious banquet dinner. June 14, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room but horrible service We were very disappointed in our stay at this hotel. The only good thing I can say is that the room was nice. We were told the waterpark was part of our hotel stay and it was not. It cost extra to use it! Still can't figure that one out. The bathroom was out of kleenex and had about a third of a roll of toilet paper. We had to ask two times and then track down a maid to get a roll of toilet paper off of her cart! The service at the restaurant was poor too. After a 40 minute wait to be seated, we had no silverware. We asked twice and didn't receive it. My husband and daughter both got the wrong food items and we didn't get the silverware until 10 minutes after the food came. We would not recommend this hotel because of the service. June 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by softball and comcon I must say the hotel staff handled the softball girls and there were a ton of them and the crazies from comcon extremely well. The rooms are average rooms the hotel is a little worn but we were not there just to sit in our rooms.... I was impressed with the way a sticky situation was handled on memorial day we were to play at 9 am and once on the field we were met with a down poor. We went 3 places to eat and no one was able to get us in. The restaurant has a breakfast buffet and there was quite a few people when our leader said that we had 32 people to be seated. The hostess made room for us in the back and we were all seated and eating in about 30-40 min it gave us enough time to go get dried off and to pack up to leave that afternoon or the next morning. This hotel is not perfect but they do really try to make you feel welcome and to meet your needs. I will come back and I will feel at home. June 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great friendly people We came to your hotel on our Honda Goldwing Trike. And the Manager allowed us to park it under the awning for the night! This was awesome as there were alot of storms in the area. The shuttle to and from the game was awesome, I am sorry but I forgot the drivers name but he was great. Next year when we come thru I will definetely stay here again. My highest recomendation for this hotel. June 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Conveniently located from Downtown and the Stadiums I took my four kids to Kaufmann stadium for a game and it was convenient to walk to. It was great to be able to go downtown to Crown Center as well and visit Westport. The kids LOVED the waterpark. It was small, but just enough fun for a day for the kids to play in and have fun (and wear themselves out). I'll happily stay here again. June 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed The water park was fantastic! The hotel....not so much. I was extremely disappointed. Indoor pool was dirty. The hot tub was filthy and not hot. The water was cloudy and had particles of something floating in it. The restaurant was decent. Food was good and it was a great value with their "kids eat free" policy. I would definitely return to the water park, but we will not be staying in the hotel. June 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by attentive staff makes up for hotel's awkward layout, location I stayed the weekend for a convention. Room rate was very good. Check-in was fast, the receptionist was informative and knowledgable. Business area provided just off the front lobby; internet was slow but printing was free so no complaints. Free wi-fi for my smartphone. Room appeared clean and well-stocked. A/C worked just fine. I did have to put up with some noise from the elevator, which made a sound like a truck backing up every time it stopped at my floor, but next time I'll remember to ask for a room away from the elevator. Service was a little slow at dinnertime in the restaurant, but they were pretty busy and I got my order promptly once it was placed. The breakfast buffet on Sunday was reasonably priced and offered a variety of simple cafeteria-type dishes. Waitstaff was very attentive and I got in and out fast. A few cons: The parking is inadequate, especially in the middle of the day when non-guests are visiting the water park. A good portion of the hotel has a damp clammy feel. Even I was bothered by the air quality, which is rare. The arrangement of the hotel itself is confusing--there are two sets of elevators that access different wings of the hotel, but they are not within sight of each other, so accessing the lower levels of the hotel--the convention rooms, the arcade, the indoor pool and fitness center--can be confusing and slow. The hotel staff seems to be aware of these problems because they give you a map when you check in, and there are staff lurking everywhere to direct you when you get lost. Hotel is easy to reach off the highway but getting *back* to the highway can be confusing because of the access road. Also the surrounding area is not great for shopping or dining; there are plenty of dive bars but not a lot of restaurants nearby. June 1, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not Great This was the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel and BOTH times there were issues with the air conditioner. This time, the carpet was soaked in front of the unit. We had to call maintenance and wasted our first hour or so in KC having to deal with that (the time before, the air didn't work and it was 100+ degrees outside). There was not an ice machine on our floor, which we were not told at check in. There was only one bar of soap to use for both the sink and the shower. To top it off, we took the hotel shuttle to the baseball game across the freeway and were left there. We made it outside right after the game and waited in line for almost two hours for the driver to pick us up. The hotel guests had apparently made two separate lines and after not being in the first line that was picked up, we switched only to not be picked up the second time. There were a handful of us left to get on the bus and after two hours of waiting, had to take a cab back to the hotel. Overall experience was very poor. June 1, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad experience We were gone from hotel for several hours upon our return we found our room door ajar. When reported to front desk they could of cared less as long as nothing was missing it was fine to them. Why wasn't my room number asked so they could fix the door and ask the house keeper to check doors as they left. Air conditioner in room had to be worked on 2 nights out of our stay it just wouldn't cool down. A sci- fi convention was going on, so drunks were everywhere not the best place for children while this was going. The furniture must of never been vacuumed under found a huge ball of black hair beneath bench, no one in my family has black hair. My family will not return to this hotel ever. We stay in hotels 6-10 times a year and this is the poorest service and atmosphere my family has ever encountered June 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No Air Our room air conditioner did not cool the room!! Lucky it was only 50 degrees outside and our room was 80. May 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Power outage The power in the entire hotel went out on our 3rd day. The staff handled very poorly, not letting guests know if or when the power would be returned. After sitting in the dark for several hours, our group left and checked in across the street. I had 3 rooms and I did not get recognized as a priority member. May 20, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 12 next>>
View from Hotel
View from Hotel
Select to close.
View from Hotel Welcome to Staybridge Kansas City - Independence Arial View of Hotel Staybridge Suites KC-Independence Welcome to Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence Get Comfortable Concierge Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

IHG Rewards Club Excellence Award

IHG® Rewards Club Excellence Award

Service above and beyond the call of duty is a matter of pride to the IHG® Rewards Club family of brands. The IHG® Rewards Club Excellence Award is significant because the award recognizes hotels that are consistently delivering benefits and recognition to our top customers - IHG® Rewards Club members.

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Feel at home in our Spacious Suites.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Availability
Loading