• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 238 8889
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: INDEPENDENCE
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee of 75.00 dollars for 1 through 6 nights and 150.00 dollars for 7 or more nights. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at checkin. Call hotel for details.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Centerpoint Medical Center
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Independence Center Shopping/Dining
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Hartman Conference Center
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Bass Pro Shops
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:102
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:102
  • Total number of suites:102
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:96
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:6
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:102
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Welcome to our multi-award winning hotel.

Situated just outside of Kansas City, the Staybridge Suites® Kansas City - Independence offers the utmost in comfort and convenience. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, our I-70 location provides easy access to the area's best attractions and major companies.

Independence Event Center, Centerpoint Medical Center, Children's Mercy Hospital, Independence Center - the area's largest mall, ATK, Fike, Fresenius, GEHA, Unilever
View More

Welcome to our multi-award winning hotel.

Situated just outside of Kansas City, the Staybridge Suites® Kansas City - Independence offers the utmost in comfort and convenience. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, our I-70 location provides easy access to the area's best attractions and major companies.

Independence Event Center, Centerpoint Medical Center, Children's Mercy Hospital, Independence Center - the area's largest mall, ATK, Fike, Fresenius, GEHA, Unilever and Burd & Fletcher are just minutes from our front door. Complimentary Wi-Fi, the Business Center and our Truman Boardroom provide corporate guests with the tools they need for a productive visit.

Minutes from Arrowhead Stadium, home of the Kansas City Chiefs, Kauffman Stadium, home of the Kansas City Royals. You'll find our hometown CHL Champions, the Missouri Mavericks at the Independence Event Center.

At Staybridge Suites KC-Independence your comfort is our priority. We offer outstanding amenities including a free hot breakfast buffet, Fitness Center and Tues-Thurs Evening Socials, featuring a light dinner with complimentary beer & wine. After a long day, relax on the beautifully lansdscaped patio, which features a heated saltwater pool, fire pit and whirlpool. Make your reservations today, and enjoy all the great perks our Independence hotel has to offer A day, a week, a year - stay with Staybridge Suites KC-Independence!

View Less
Features
When it comes to hotels in Independence, Missouri, our exceptional service is unmatched, and our accommodations feature great amenities, such as free Wi-Fi access, flat screen TV's and a full kitchen in each suite.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 440 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service in lounge and front desk The amenities in the hotel are good. What separates this location from others is the people- front desk is polite and professional, the staff in the lounge is outstanding. They are always showing a "can do" attitude and smiling. A stop at this hotel without visiting the lounge (and staff) would be a mistake. The food is good- try the pizza. February 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Getaway with Kids After reading some of the previous reviews I was somewhat concerned about this place, but my concerns turned out to be unwarranted. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly, helpful and assisted whenever we needed. We also found the water park itself to be pretty clean, unlike some other reviews that I read. I will say that there was a really long line to get drinks at the bar and the one person working back there really could have used some help. We mostly ate at the restaurant in the hotel and the food was good and the service was great. Having the kids eat for free made it a good deal as well. We will definitely consider coming back again sometime in the future. Oh, one other thought, it would have been great to have a microwave and mini refrigerator in the rooms like some of the other hotel chains do. February 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Misinformed at time of reservation I made reservations for 2 rooms one room with 4 people and the other with 5. I had seen on the internet that they had King rooms that would sleep 5 so when I call to make the reservation that is what I reserved. I told the rep. that I needed beds for 4 and 5 people and she said that would not be a problem we could put a couple of rollway's in each room. When I asked if there would be enough room and not a fire hazard she said that it was no problem. I also told her that we would be going to the waterpark that is attached to the hotel. Upon check in they did not have 2 King rooms that were close to each other that were ready for check in so I told her that it would be fine if one was a double and the other a king so we got our room assignment I asked about the water park passes and she stated that that was not the reservation that was made and that rate was $10 more per night. The check in clerk was great and gave us the passes as no additional cost. When we got to the room the king room had the bed and no couch (I have not idea how 5 of us would have fit into the room, thank goodness we switched the other room to 2 double beds#. We called for the rollway's and were then told there was a $20 charge per rollaway per night #nobody had mentioned that before) and that there was only one allowed per room. The staff did not add the charge onto the room and did everything that they could to try to make up for the mistakes made in with the reservation. Room service was very nice but the food was nasty!! February 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bugs in bathroom and broken Arcade games The room looked okay however we had roaches in our bathroom, so we were a little scared to look around.further. The Arcade was a disappointment since half of the games were broken and couldn't be played and the staff appeared not to care reading their annoyed faces. However the waitress at the Sports bar was super friendly and made us feel appreciated.and welcome. so was the staff at the breakfast buffet. January 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Morning clerk was not well prepared and was not knowledgable. January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff and services We had a great time at the Holliday Inn and Coco Keys. Its a great deal and worth the money. The staff was friendly, the hotel is warm and cozy, and the rooms were clean. The only thing i didnt like was the two double beds. It would have been better with two queen size beds. We have a family of five and there were no extra accommodations for an extra person. We will be malong this an annual outting January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Time After reading some terrible reviews after I booked my stay I had my doubts but once we got there and checked in none of the reviews mattered. Check in was great and fast. Hotel is clean and very nice inside. Lobby is huge. Room was nice also asked for a roll away bed and received it within minutes. The waterpark was Fantastic. A little smaller than Great Wolf Lodge but had the same things to do in it. Arcade was good, We even received a coupon for free pizza and drinks for dinner and it was very good and more than enough to feed five or six people.Rented a cabana one night which was very nice for the price. Would highly recomend this place for any body especially with a family. Our stay was during the week so the crowd was not bad even in the water park. Very glad I chose this hotel and would come back again. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best EVER Tradition! My boys and I started a tradition last year to visit the property after Christmas and this was our second year. It just keeps getting better and better! Price is amazing, food is good and staff is wonderful! HIGHLY recommend to everyone!! January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional staff!!! We went to KC for an after Holiday getaway with the Grandkids. They had a great time!! So did we adults for the most part. Although the Hotel was at full capacity & it was "crowded", the staff was very professional, attentive to the needs of their guests, and always positive! The water park was fun, though at full capacity as well, it kept the attention of the youth through the weekend! The only complaint(s) we would mention is the waterpark being too dark and the big pail that emptied water often was a "fright" to the kids! May want to reevaluate that? Otherwise a good time & would recommend the complex as a whole! Kudo's to the staff!!! January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The staff is awesome! We stayed here over Christmas and every staff I came into contact with was extremely friendly. From the front dest to housekeeping and even some management we share the elevator with. I was the most impressed with the lifeguard staff on duty, they were very professional and maintained constant eye contact on their designated areas. I felt very comfortable letting my children split up and go to different areas and knew their safety was not in jeopardy. Thank you! December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Service We had a lady named kandice as our first initial host and she just was so helpful and nice to talk to. She made us feel very welcome with our whole family. You just don't seem to run into that anymore! Thanx kandice December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Christmas vacation My husband an I decided this year to take all 6 of our kids (from ages 18-5) on a trip for the Christmas presents. We picked here cause the waterpark. They even shuttled us to and from the chiefs stadium for free on game day! All my kids loved the place! They had a blast in the waterpark and the got to eat free in the restaurant (12 and under) the food was excellent the staff was great! They even had activities for us to do while their and free hot cocoa and a movie! Best trip we have had in a long time! Definitely goin to stay here our next trip to KC! December 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Skip the restaurant, but enjoy a drink at the bar! Bar Staff was friendly & courteous on all my visits, but an inattentive staff in restaurant was a disappointment. The hostess stand was attended for over 15 minutes and when I finally got seated and served the only time I saw any service was when they brought out the check. Then they came to collect before I'd even finished my meal telling me they were timed on getting the check closed out. $15 for bland eggs and undercooked bacon needs some TLC. I've received better at hotels that don't charge for a self-service breakfast. December 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sleep Quality The heater in the room cycled off and on. When it was on it had a very high pitched tone that woke us up. Then it out cycle off and we would fall asleep, until it woke us up again...and again...and again. When I told the front desk they just dismissed this as a "new motor" and said "we hear that a lot"... Then at 6am the fire alarm went off and we walked down 9 flights of stairs to find out it was a false alarm. No "we are sorry" or anything. So I would rate my quality of sleep that night as very poor. December 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Excellent Desk Staff - Elysia and Cheyenne and Casey Bar Staff - Amber. Fantastic View of Royals and Chiefs Stadium and Downtown. Internet Service, however, was slow and intermittent. December 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by air didnt work, no microwave The room was hot and muggy when we arrived. tried to turn the air on, never worked blower motor fan stuck on all night and day and was very loud. couldnt hear tv. maint guy came once tried to fix, said it was fixed , still blew hot air all night and loud as could be. Told front desk i wanted to switch rooms they said come back after the game like they didnt care. They told me when booked the room there was a microwave and a fridge in the room, got there no microwave just a fridge. Stayed there before very unhappy this time. December 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Chiefs vs Broncos We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend who stays here with his family quite often after attending Royals baseball games. The proximity to the stadiums and the fact that it was full service with a bar and restaurant made it seem ideal. We arrived about an hour and one-half after the Broncos/Chiefs game ended. We were checked in, in a timely and efficient manner. When we attempted to go to dinner we were told it was a 2 hour wait! There were plenty of empty tables but apparently there was a staff shortage. The person who took our name down for the dining room waiting list seemed confused and she was writing down names on small slips of paper that she shuffled around. There were a number of people on the waiting list who were becoming hostile as they had waited far longer than they were initially told their wait would be. The bar area was packed and it was futile to attempt top get a drink at the bar and there was no wait service in the bar area. As we had no faith in even getting into the dining room within 2 hours we even tried room service and they said it was a 2 and 1/2 hour wait maybe! Clearly they were not staffed properly for the football game crowd and I don't know understand they wouldn't be!! December 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by KC Trip The main reason for staying at the Kansas City SE - Waterpark was the proximity to Arrowhead. But I found the entire staff to be very helpful, friendly and showed a genuine concern for our satisfaction. The restaurant staff was super. Our room was clean, and quiet. It was a great value and I would certainly stay there again as well as recommend it to others. Thank you for making my stay a comfortable and enjoyable one! November 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Glad We Upgraded We are normally Motel 6 type people who want to save money on the accomodations so we can spend it elsewhere. But this past weekend we decided to splurge a little and book this Holiday Inn because it was co-located with the water park and also because it was so close to Arrowhead stadium (we were going to the game on Sunday). I booked online and got what I thought was a pretty good price. When we checked in the guy in front of us had no online reservations and was quoted a price $80 more than our. When he freaked they said it was because it was a game weekend. So yay online booking. The room was beautiful. It was clean and had all those great little ammenities that motels don't have. AND we had a great view of the stadium. My only complaint about the room was that the pillows were no good for me. They were way to fluffy making my neck uncomfortable and I spent the first night tossing and turning. The second night I called down to the desk and asked if they could find me the flattest pillow possible and one was at my door in less than five minutes! I had a much better sleeping experience the second night. I ordered room service one night and was told it would be 15-20 minutes. After 40 minutes I called since we were crunched for time and they said it would be right up. When the gal got ot the door she said that they misunderstood the room number. I wasn't too bothered by that since it was just human error. But the telephone in our room was super cheap and every time I picked it up the received button would stick and none of the programmed buttons worked. So I just had to press 0 and asked to be directed to where I needed. But really these were just minor issues. And the experience was great. The water park was super fun and very affordable compared to Wolfslodge on the other side of the city. November 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fun in KC Originally my family & I had planned to only stay at this hotel 1 night after seeing the less than stellar comments on this property. We enjoyed the hotel, waterpark, & restaurant so much that we cancelled our reservations at another hotel to stay a 2nd night here. Service & all our meals were awesome! Thanks Holiday Inn! November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean room and very comfortable bed I really liked the fact our room smelt and looked clean. Nice comfortable beds, I will continue to use and would recommend to friends. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent customer service We had to come to Kansas City for 14 different doctor appointments for our son Chace. We were very emotion and stressed out about all of our son's medical issues. When we got to the hotel they upgraded us to a beautiful suite, made a special little sign over my son's bed that read "Chace's bed" in orange and blue colors, they stocked the room with goodies, opened the indoor water park for my son even though it was supposed to be closed that day, gave my son some water park toys and EVERY SINGLE PERSON there treated us like family. They always asked how Chace's appointments were going, they were very helpful with directions, the food was excellent and all the staff was always so polite. I could keep going on and on. :) I have never had such wonderful customer service. They made a stressful situation so much better. Every employee there deserves a pat on the back or a raise!!! Thank you again Paula, Ryan, the life guards and HOLIDAY INN COCO KEYS staff for everything. :) November 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Amaizing! We took our kids here since we were in town to go to Legoland, everything was PERFECT, it was a great place to take the kids, I have been recommending this hotel to everyone!!! We will be back, just for the hotel! November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The staff is very friendly and helpful.. The beds are comfortable, the room was very nice. We enjoyed our stay there and would definitely do it again. November 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk Staff - Excellent The front desk staff was awesome. We were visiting from Texas and the hospitality was top notch! Thanks a lot to Cheyenne and her shift manager! October 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay The room was a little "worn" but that did not bother us. The A/C could not keep the room cool because of the sun coming thru the windows. The staff is the reason I would come back. Also the water park was really fun for my 6 year old. October 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a great experience I stay at Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express all the time, and I have to say this was the worst one I have been too. Our room was incredibly hot and even though we had the temp set at 65, it was more like 85 in the room. The building looked to to be in disrepair from the outside, but the rooms and lobby were nice. When I called about a reservation on a Saturday, the person on the phone quoted me a mid-week price for the water park, and then when we arrived they charged us 50% greater price because it was the weekend. This seemed like a deception, since the person on the phone knew I was talking about the weekend. I will probably come back to this hotel if I am going to a Chiefs or Royals game (its extremely close), but will go somewhere else if I am looking for a nice place to stay. October 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Parking and Assistance with Handicapped Guest We were in KC for a very hard and expensive visit to the Children's Hospital. After a long day of testing and waiting, we arrived back to the hotel to find NO ACCESSIBLE handicapped parking. No one at the front desk or the security officer partoling the parking lot would assist me in finding an alternate way to get my child's chair inside and finding parking. I felt like they didn't want to be bothered or didn't want to get wet. I feel guest attending functions at the hotel should have adequate access to parking but GUESTS STAYING AT THE HOTEL should be given more respect. The security guard hadn't been doing his job properly either because there were people parked in handicapped spaces without the correct tags or identification. I think charging people who attend functions valet parking would be better or help a person out when they need additional assistance. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, clean and comfortable Everything was great what more can I say? Now I'm just typing text because the website requires that I do so. October 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room Our room never was cleaned saturday. The trash was never emptied and we had to go to the desk to get clean towels because we stated 2 nights. The desk personnal was not very helpful when we 1st checked in. October 16, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 16 next>>
View from Hotel
View from Hotel
Select to close.
View from Hotel Welcome to Staybridge Kansas City - Independence Arial View of Hotel Staybridge Suites KC-Independence Welcome to Staybridge Suites Kansas City - Independence Get Comfortable Concierge Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

IHG Rewards Club Excellence Award

IHG® Rewards Club Excellence Award

Service above and beyond the call of duty is a matter of pride to the IHG® Rewards Club family of brands. The IHG® Rewards Club Excellence Award is significant because the award recognizes hotels that are consistently delivering benefits and recognition to our top customers - IHG® Rewards Club members.

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading