Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
More Fewer Options

* Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
88%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 598 reviews
88%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

598reviews

  • 5 Stars
    314
  • 4 Stars
    177
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    32
  • 1 Stars
    24

Next to an historic building and beautiful grounds

By

26 August 2016

platinumelite

This Crowne Plaza is next to a significant and historic building with lovely grounds. Friendly service and extremely quiet. Loved my stay

Read More
Read Less

great short break at Heythrop

By

25 August 2016

club

Heythrop is a lovely setting, with smart modern rooms.
it is good for visiting Oxford, Blenheim and the cotswolds

Read More
Read Less

Great weekend break

By

25 August 2016

club

Crown Plaza offer something different and this hotel is set in beautiful grounds with access to fabulous walks through the historic grounds. The décor is bright and lively and the facilities are good with access to quite and relaxing areas for peace. Set in large grounds there are walks and access to a championship golf course. Food and drink is of good standard and staff are polite and helpful. This area is close to Churchill's birthplace and a visit to Blenheim Place is highly recommended.

Read More
Read Less

Disapointed with some features

By

24 August 2016

club

Nice hotel but cleanliness of room left alot to be desired. The leisure facilities are a long walk outside from the hotel. The chairs in the restaurant are uncomfortable and far too low for the tables

Read More
Read Less

Outstanding rural setting; one of the nicest hotels I have used in the UK

By

19 August 2016

platinumelite

I have a constant conviction that, in comparison to other countries - the USA in particular - the UK hospitality industry needs a huge shake-up; hotels with tiny, over furnished rooms sold at inflated prices and extra charges for just about everything - although (to be fair) internet access is, at last, increasingly becoming standard here.

And so the the Crowne Plaza at Heythrop Park. I'll begin by saying simply - I didn't feel that it was at all representative of these bad aspects of UK hospitality. I felt like I was in another country.

I stayed here for two nights recently on what was a short-notice arrangement simply because of imminent good weather. I did not think that the price charged (members rate with breakfast, advance booking, non-cancellable) was excessive for what should be a fairly good luxury hotel anywhere in the UK.

The first impression was of an utterly fantastic location - in good weather, of course. Readers can view the hotel's own description of the 400-acre parkland that surrounds it; and that does describe it properly.

There are two hotels on site, both owned by the same organisation, but only one of them is operated as part of the Crowne Plaza brand and IHG group. The building is in two distinct parts, which represent the two hotels; it is the more modern 1970s building that houses the Crowne Plaza; not the historic Manor House and its annexes. However the latter is internally connected and guests can visit it and make use of its common areas.

I enjoy Platinum status with IHG and my booking for a standard room was upgraded to a King room with its own patio exit - but only after I requested it. (To be picky - I'd have felt more valued had this been arranged BEFORE I arrived.)

My first expectation was exceeded when I stepped into my room - very large by UK standards - almost up to US standards outside major cities - and a bed all of 7 feet wide; what would be a Super King in the US and larger than anything I recall seeing previously in the UK. Shower, bath, robes, tea and coffee supplies etc., good quality toiletries and everything else one might expect were all present and correct along with complimentary bottled water - and a fridge to keep it in. Iron and board, hair dryer - just about anything one might need. Room temperature was perfect throughout our stay. The room was in good order but (again being picky) I did note the absence of Crowne Plaza's standard sample bottles of "This Works" sleep aids. In all - the room was an unexpected pleasure; expectations substantially exceeded.

The hotel has, in a separate building some way from the Crowne part of the complex, a Leisure and Spa facility with good quality gym equipment, a well maintained pool, steam room and so on, and all of this is free for guests. One can also purchase spa-type treatments.

The hotel is surrounded by a Golf Course, there are paths and roadways and one can hire bicycles. There is a childrens' playground and huge areas of garden, mostly to mown grass. Some of the more ornate areas have, sadly, been neglected and are a shadow of what presumably was once a very impressive country estate.

It's worth noting that, in my view, this would make a superb location for (for example) a wedding.

And so to Breakfast. My on-line booking had offered this as an add-on at what transpired to be a very reduced rate. Next expectation exceeded: the breakfast offering includes a fairly standard self-serve buffet plus a number of a-la-carte items that are prepared to order (each with its own menu price separate to the buffet). Expectation: that the included breakfast would be limited to the buffet with anything extra charged extra. No such thing - with a breakfast included rate, one can choose anything on offer. Excellent and - at that inclusive rate, a bargain (not a term I find myself wanting to use often). The hot buffet food was largely kept reasonably hot (which is another thing that seems to defeat so many places) and I had the impression the ingredients used were of good quality.

We did have a snack in the bar later and that was of a fair standard and at the somewhat inflated price one might expect - as were the drinks. My unpleasant tasting out-of-condition lager was changed with only the slightest of argument for another brew which was fine. We did not partake of dinner here.

In summary - a few very nice surprises mixed in with otherwise fairly standard large hotel offerings. Pretty good job. I'd stay here again especially in the (what would normally be only marginally more costly) larger room I enjoyed.

Read More
Read Less

Quiet weekend stay at a business hotel

By

18 August 2016

club

Good value over a weekend as this is clearly a business-orientated hotel. Nice room at a reasonable price.

Read More
Read Less

Peace and tranquility in a beautiful setting

By

18 August 2016

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary en route to a family celebration and when I booked the hotel I had high expectations.

Upon arrival you are greeted with a long and meandering road up to the hotel and the adjoining home with some lovely forest either side of the driveway.
The driveway could do with a resurface in the coming months to give the guests a more pleasant arrival, but it is not un-drivable.

Upon check in the reception staff were very courteous and explained all the information we needed for our stay.

Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking one of the many wooded areas and was very large with a bathroom that had both a choice of shower or bath and super soft towels and bathrobes.

We took the opportunity to use the swimming pool which was very well maintained and not overly busy.
I particularly liked the small touches in the changing rooms, one of those being the swimming costume drying machine.

In the evening we took dinner in the restaurant, choosing a seat by the window overlooking the grounds and took the 3 course menu that was varied, tasty and beautifully presented.

Our breakfast in the morning was plentiful, a huge selection and a lovely chat with one of the Spanish ladies that was working that morning and then we had a leisurely check out before continuing on our journey further north.

I would certainly stay here again, very impressed

Read More
Read Less

Five Star stay!

By

16 August 2016

Very welcoming staff
Excellent facilities
Top location
Free parking

Read More
Read Less

Short Break Stay

By

15 August 2016

platinumelite

Stayed two nights whilst visiting the Cotswold. Location is a little out of the way so a car is a must but the plus side is the place itself. Old country manor house with modern extension. Extensive grounds which are superb.

Most of the most popular Cotswold attractions are less than an hours drive away.

All staff I had contact with were very good. Breakfast is standard Holiday Inn fare but acceptable.

Will return later this year when next in the area.

Read More
Read Less

Room great, restaurant terrible

By

15 August 2016

club

The room, bed , bathroom were very good as were the reception staff. However the dining experience was one I would rather forget. Plus on complaining I was then ignored by waiting staff. Then on complaining again was told a manager would be here in 3 minutes, so 22 minutes later I left. It was not until the day the hotel manager, and give him his due, found me at breakfast, was very professional and took my complaint on board seriously. This was dealt with and full recompense was given. The trouble was it should never have gone this far. It spoilt what was a very good hotel visit.

Posted byCustomerCare
25 August 2016
Dear Sir Victor, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. We are pleased to know you liked the room you received. However, we are sorry that the service our restaurant staff provide did not live up to your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Sincerely, Anthony M Case Manager IHGService
Read More
Read Less

A very comfortable stay and Nice surprise for my Girlfriend

By

15 August 2016

I just would like to thank Claire, Michelle and all the staff who helped me make my proposal magical for my beautiful Fiancee. It was something which that will remain in our hearts. Other than the proposal the Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park is really lovely, with beautiful landscape. The room we stayed in Junior Suite was truly wonderful!

We would definitely recommend this resort for all occasions.

Read More
Read Less

good

By

15 August 2016

club

it is very comfortable, the place is beautiful and clean, the service is great.

Read More
Read Less