Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
More Fewer Options

* Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
79%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 884 reviews
79%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

884reviews

  • 5 Stars
    428
  • 4 Stars
    201
  • 3 Stars
    111
  • 2 Stars
    84
  • 1 Stars
    60

MOST UNPROFESSIONAL ENCOUNTER EVER.

By

18 January 2017

Over charged me for a hotel employee's mistake and didn't want to correct it.

Posted byHotelStaff
18 January 2017
I am so sorry for the issue you experienced with us. Please contact me so I can make sure we make everything right. I can be reached at gm@cpdetroit.com Dan General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Nice clean hotel

By

17 January 2017

We enjoyed our stay! The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly.

Read More
Read Less

Service Was The Worst. EVER!!!!

By

17 January 2017

I am a Spire Elite member and stay across the globe in IHG properties as often as possible, and I'm always happy with the value and service.

This was the worst experience ever! I stayed there for the NAIAS Charity Preview. The valets were unprepared for the cars to arrive. I was the 20th car inline and had to wait over 30 minutes for them to take my car. I couldn't leave the car until i received a ticket.

Next the check in line took 20 minutes to get through, again they seemed very unprepared for this event.

Lastly, at the restaurant the next morning, the service was beyond aweful. The hostess was wearing boots and a CAMO jacket. Not the type of attire I expect from a Crowne Plaza restaurant. It took almost 10 minutes to be seated. When I asked the servers for cream for my coffee, she brought over 2 spoons, by the handle and said "Here you go". I had to ask 3 times for cream, and not the spoons were not made of cream.

Next, while I'm getting a piece of toast, the server comes by, sets the bill down and starts clearing the table while my girlfriend was still eating.

Overall the hotel was not prepared and the service was beyond presentable.

Read More
Read Less

Good Location Horrendous Service

By

17 January 2017

club

Good location right across street from Cobo Center. However the service and cleanliness are horrendous. Will never stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

Always great!

By

13 January 2017

We have stayed here a handful of times when coming to town for Detroit sporting events. Everyone is always so kind to us, from valet to checkout. Have always had a top floor room, which has a beautiful view! Rooms are tiny, so beds are small, but it's to be expected in an old building!

Read More
Read Less

Make Crowne Plaza in the D Great Again

By

10 January 2017

platinumelite

Service was really poor on this last visit. Started in the bar on Friday afternoon. Got a beer and then the server disappeared so when my partner showed up we couldn't even order her a drink for several minutes. We were seated at the bar. Service at breakfast on Saturday morning was even worse - after being seated we waited but there were no servers visible anywhere. We decided on the buffet and so we helped ourselves ... still no servers to be found. Finally a server showed up and we asked for coffee because no beverages were made available at the buffet. Coffee didn't arrive until after we had finished eating.

The hotel used the day lounge for serving breakfast. It has a dark atmosphere which woks well for late afternoon and evening cocktails but is terrible for breakfast. It just didn't feel like there was any effort put into making the breakfast experience as great as it could be.

This hotel has some great views of the skyline and the river frontage. We did enjoy our complimentary drinks at the Top of the Ponch with an amazing view of the city at night so the trip was not a complete waste.

We have stayed here a few times before so we really hope that they will fix their service issues and put an effort into the breakfast offering.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable and clean.

By

10 January 2017

club

Clean room, pleasant staff. Quoted much less than was charged.

Read More
Read Less

A decent place to lay your head.

By

09 January 2017

I was in town for a 30 day work trip and the only positive experience was getting to lay my head down in an unmaintained bedroom.

Read More
Read Less

Disappointed

By

06 January 2017

Unfortunately, my stay will be unforgettable but not in a positive way. I would not have expected the below from the Crown Plaza, especially since it is a 4 star hotel.


1. When I first arrived, I was sent to a room that was filthy and had not been cleaned. I contacted the front desk to report the issue. The young lady did apologize and arrange another room for me.

2. Although I has always been warned not to use any mugs at a hotel, I thought at least at the crown plaza, a 4 - star hotel, they would be clean. I was disappointed was to find a white thick film at the bottom. It was apparent, it was not washed but simply just wiped down with a cloth.

3. The drain in the shower was not working. The bathtub was almost filled halfway and when I looked in the morning, there was not much difference.

4. Room temp HOT. So hot, had to put on AC, but after midnight, heater took over.

Read More
Read Less

Overnight in the D

By

05 January 2017

club

After an extremely long line for check in, the clerk did not recognize me as an Rewards Member, did not even have the courtesy to tell me what room number I waqs staying in when the keys were literally tossed at me - after speaking poorly to a work peer. The room was a bit run down for the price charged. the furniture was well worn, the wallpaper was peeling off the wall adjacent to the bed, the coffee packaging was opened, there was a small dining table in the area adjacent to the bathroom - but no chairs, and the light from the Cobo LED sign was blaring into the windows all night long. Overall, I would not condiser staying at this hotel in the future.

Read More
Read Less

My stay

By

04 January 2017

Staff was great. My room was clean and ready for check in early. When I ventured off downtown the staff called ahead to the places I was visiting to assure I did not have to wait in lines. It's location is excellent and I will be returning.

Read More
Read Less

Wonderful stay

By

04 January 2017

platinumelite

Great hotel fabulous gym restful room I would be more than happy to stay at this hotel the next time I visit Detroit. I enjoyed the location and the distance from the airport was perfect, no need to rent a car and within walking distance to everything!! Great experience

Read More
Read Less