Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
More Fewer Options

* Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
79%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 881 reviews
79%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

881reviews

  • 5 Stars
    427
  • 4 Stars
    201
  • 3 Stars
    111
  • 2 Stars
    84
  • 1 Stars
    58

Good Location Horrendous Service

By

17 January 2017

club

Good location right across street from Cobo Center. However the service and cleanliness are horrendous. Will never stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

Always great!

By

13 January 2017

We have stayed here a handful of times when coming to town for Detroit sporting events. Everyone is always so kind to us, from valet to checkout. Have always had a top floor room, which has a beautiful view! Rooms are tiny, so beds are small, but it's to be expected in an old building!

Read More
Read Less

Make Crowne Plaza in the D Great Again

By

10 January 2017

platinumelite

Service was really poor on this last visit. Started in the bar on Friday afternoon. Got a beer and then the server disappeared so when my partner showed up we couldn't even order her a drink for several minutes. We were seated at the bar. Service at breakfast on Saturday morning was even worse - after being seated we waited but there were no servers visible anywhere. We decided on the buffet and so we helped ourselves ... still no servers to be found. Finally a server showed up and we asked for coffee because no beverages were made available at the buffet. Coffee didn't arrive until after we had finished eating.

The hotel used the day lounge for serving breakfast. It has a dark atmosphere which woks well for late afternoon and evening cocktails but is terrible for breakfast. It just didn't feel like there was any effort put into making the breakfast experience as great as it could be.

This hotel has some great views of the skyline and the river frontage. We did enjoy our complimentary drinks at the Top of the Ponch with an amazing view of the city at night so the trip was not a complete waste.

We have stayed here a few times before so we really hope that they will fix their service issues and put an effort into the breakfast offering.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable and clean.

By

10 January 2017

club

Clean room, pleasant staff. Quoted much less than was charged.

Read More
Read Less

A decent place to lay your head.

By

09 January 2017

I was in town for a 30 day work trip and the only positive experience was getting to lay my head down in an unmaintained bedroom.

Read More
Read Less

Disappointed

By

06 January 2017

Unfortunately, my stay will be unforgettable but not in a positive way. I would not have expected the below from the Crown Plaza, especially since it is a 4 star hotel.


1. When I first arrived, I was sent to a room that was filthy and had not been cleaned. I contacted the front desk to report the issue. The young lady did apologize and arrange another room for me.

2. Although I has always been warned not to use any mugs at a hotel, I thought at least at the crown plaza, a 4 - star hotel, they would be clean. I was disappointed was to find a white thick film at the bottom. It was apparent, it was not washed but simply just wiped down with a cloth.

3. The drain in the shower was not working. The bathtub was almost filled halfway and when I looked in the morning, there was not much difference.

4. Room temp HOT. So hot, had to put on AC, but after midnight, heater took over.

Read More
Read Less

Overnight in the D

By

05 January 2017

club

After an extremely long line for check in, the clerk did not recognize me as an Rewards Member, did not even have the courtesy to tell me what room number I waqs staying in when the keys were literally tossed at me - after speaking poorly to a work peer. The room was a bit run down for the price charged. the furniture was well worn, the wallpaper was peeling off the wall adjacent to the bed, the coffee packaging was opened, there was a small dining table in the area adjacent to the bathroom - but no chairs, and the light from the Cobo LED sign was blaring into the windows all night long. Overall, I would not condiser staying at this hotel in the future.

Read More
Read Less

My stay

By

04 January 2017

Staff was great. My room was clean and ready for check in early. When I ventured off downtown the staff called ahead to the places I was visiting to assure I did not have to wait in lines. It's location is excellent and I will be returning.

Read More
Read Less

Wonderful stay

By

04 January 2017

platinumelite

Great hotel fabulous gym restful room I would be more than happy to stay at this hotel the next time I visit Detroit. I enjoyed the location and the distance from the airport was perfect, no need to rent a car and within walking distance to everything!! Great experience

Read More
Read Less

Changed amenities but comfortable bed

By

02 January 2017

club

Booked this hotel based on amenities seen on website including a phone call to confirm prior to booking. After arrival and chacking in, we found out the hotel removed the pool table we had asked about 6 weeks prior to our arrival. We were coming in for a bachelor party and being able to play pool for a few hours was on our itinerary for the afternoon as it was a favorite activity of the groom.

Rooms small but clean. Beds comfortable. Bathroom lacks privacy as there is a "window" for a bathroom door but the window is frosted. Definitely lacks privacy.

Front desk workers were friendly.

Lobby bathroom stall was not stocked properly and caused an embarrassing situation- used the facility before realizing toilet paper was empty.

Close to Red Wings arena

Read More
Read Less

Love Detroit!

By

29 December 2016

platinumelite

Great hotel, great people, great city! Looking forward to coming back. Close to all attractions and can't wait to get back.

Read More
Read Less

Good location

By

22 December 2016

Located downtown right next to the Convention Center where access to the Detroit People Mover was convenient especially since it's so cold. The king bedroom was clean but the bathroom is ridiculously small. You can barely turn around in the shower without knocking the door open and spraying water on the bathroom floor. And there is zero counter space. I had to put all my toiletries on the desk outside the bathroom door. Though the location was great, we would probably stay somewhere else next time.

Posted byCustomerCare
08 January 2017
Dear lasvegasgroove, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Gold member and for posting your feedback. I am pleased to note that you liked the convenience location and clean rooms. Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide excellent accommodation. I am sorry that you found the room space cramped and there's no counter to organize your toiletry. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest experience. Once again, thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Lera Case Manager IHGService
Read More
Read Less