Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
More Fewer Options

* Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 469 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

469reviews

  • 5 Stars
    262
  • 4 Stars
    115
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    16

Room maintenance and cleanlinewss

By

24 September 2016

club

Bulbs needing to be replaced in room and bathroom were not replaced nor the canopy of the 4-poster bed cleaned after two days stay. Very poorly managed and maintained!

Read More
Read Less

Great stay in Edinburgh

By

24 September 2016

club

We chose this hotel for it's quiet location just on the edge of Edinburgh, and we weren't disappointed! Friendly welcome, great room, lovely and clean with lots of facilities. Wonderful sleep both nights of stay. Good Scottish breakfast to set us up for the day's walking. Will definitely stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

Sisters weekend away

By

15 September 2016

platinumelite

A well located hotel with excellent customer service. The hotel is only ten minutes walk from the station but feels as if it is in the country due to its location along a tree lined road and backing on to the first national park.
This was the first weekend ever that as sisters we have been able to get away and the hotel and staff did not disappoint, I just hope I can book again next time I am in Edinburgh.
Convenient, comfortable, clean, quiet and exceptional customer service.
Thank you.

Read More
Read Less

COMFORTABLE BED AND GREAT SERVICE

By

14 September 2016

club

I RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL WHEN STAYING IN EDINBURGH. GREAT LOCATION. GREAT STAFF WHO SHARED THEIR KNOWLEDGE OF THE CITY - THEIR RECOMMENDATIONS OF RESTAURANTS/BARS, NIGHT LIFE WERE GREATLY APPRECIATED. GOOD FOOD SERVED WITH A SMILE. LOVELY GARDEN AREA TOO.

Read More
Read Less

Recent visit - Edinburgh

By

12 September 2016

club

Our first experience of the hotel was Patrick, the Concierge. He went above and beyond the call of duty and we experienced his enthusiasm and efforts to please the following day. He should be training staff on how to treat a guest. He is excellent!

Read More
Read Less

Pleasant short break

By

12 September 2016

club

We've just had a lovely couple of nights here for our wedding anniversary. The staff were pleasant and helpful with arrangements in advance, and, with the concierge, when we arrived.

Our room was spacious, the bed was comfy and the bathroom clean. There were a few quirky features such as the hot tap with a left handed thread, which caught me out every time I turned it on and off, but they added to the character of the hotel. We had pleasant views over the terraced gardens that slope upwards away from the hotel.

The club lounge is a nice touch and we used is both for breakfast and for relaxing during the day. The pool is a little small, but OK.

Overall, the hotel is looking a bit tired and could do with a lick of paint in places and a general facelift, but we found the fundamentals were good and we enjoyed our stay.

Read More
Read Less

OVER PRICED

By

02 September 2016

Probably the worst Crowne Plaza hotel I have visited. Despite a lovely old building the inside quality is very down at heel. The restaurant is quite depressing and quality of the breakfast is extremely disappointing.
I wouldn't recommend the club lounge either - with its 70's inspired decor and a selection of stale Doritos and crisps.
The bedroom was a generous size but no electrical sockets around the bed - with sleep apnoea, I had to run 5m of extension cord across the room so I could use my sleep machine(the cord was then a trip hazard during the night if I need to use the bathroom)
Why do hotels make it so difficult to use electricity ??

Read More
Read Less

Little Gem in Edinburgh

By

02 September 2016

As a Spire IHG member I stay in quite a few Crown Plaza's mostly in the UK and this one is unique. It is more like a boutique hotel than your traditional Crown Plaza. I stayed here with my wife for the last week of the Fringe and every show was within 15 - 20 mins walking distance or a £6-£7 taxi ride. The staff were really helpful and the hotel kindly upgraded us to one of the huge Deluxe rooms. Although the room is due for a face lift it was very clean and the shear size meant we were very comfortable. The super king size bed was also very comfortable and we slept really well. Access to the Club lounge with the upgrade was a big bonus. Although the Club Lounge is quite small with limited drinks and only 1 hour for alcoholic beverages the free cooked breakfasts that go with lounge access more than compensate. This is a brilliant hotel just around the corner from the hustle and bustle so its nice and quiet but close enough to reach everywhere by foot. A little modernisation would make a difference but the staff in every part of the hotel where fantastic and couldn't do enough for us. Thank you :)

Read More
Read Less

Curious mix of great and terrible

By

31 August 2016

club

Amazing location and beautiful building, with great reception staff and welcome, and rooms that are well above the standard you would expect for comparable pricing in Edinburgh.

Don't bother packing your trunks for the swimming pool though - the basement pool is either next to or shares venting ducts with the kitchen which means you are effectively relaxing in a chip shop environment. Which is just weird, and not really in a good way.

Also odd is the traffic light system notice in the elevator which explains you should take breakfast very early if you want a table and quick service (green) or if you want to eat when you'd expect you will have to queue (red) or if you want to roll the dice and take a chance with in between times, then that's amber. Most hotels offer breakfast when you want (within the serving times) so it's a little jarring to be asked to take breakfast when the hotel wants you to, instead. Which feels horrible to point out - but there are guests who might want to be able to breakfast at their own convenience, so there we go.

Having said all that I would sooner come back here than experience the "value" offers of the cheaper chains any time I visit Edinburgh. Clean or close the pool and sort out breakfast service and it's pretty much perfect. I'd certainly book again with the right offer.

Read More
Read Less

Loved Edinburgh

By

29 August 2016

club

Had a great stay in Edinburgh, made better by our stay with Crowne Plaza.

A good hotel, but could be improved by smartening the rooms.

Read More
Read Less

IHG Club Quality

By

28 August 2016

platinumelite

As an platinum IHG member, we were offered club access for breakfast and early evening drinks. Both were somewhat deficient in terms of food quality and variety compared with other Crowne Plaza hotels. Breakfast items were limited as were appetizers with evening drinks. Otherwise, this was a superb, well-located property which enhanced our visit to Edinburgh we would recommend highly.

Read More
Read Less

Rude Staff

By

26 August 2016

Went to the bar for a drink with my wife and 4 others in our group. No barman was there, I asked at reception and was told he would be there soon (receptionist did not even look up from what he was doing). Barman showed up 20 min later with no apology, served us and when I asked for another round he said "bear with me" and left the bar area. 15 min later we gave up and left the bar (as did other guests).

Sink in our room was draining very slowly, staff member looked at it and asked if we would be "Happy to wait until tomorrow", as we were there for only one night, not a good solution. We had to brush our teeth from the bath faucet. No-one cares about customer service , seem to have an attitude.

Read More
Read Less