Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
More Fewer Options

* Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
81%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 677 reviews
81%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

677reviews

  • 5 Stars
    324
  • 4 Stars
    180
  • 3 Stars
    77
  • 2 Stars
    48
  • 1 Stars
    48

Loveable hotel

By

28 September 2016

platinumelite

This is one of my favourites. It has a unique ambience that draws you to it. Front staff are excellent. Rooms are always tidy. I love the amenities. Great hotel to stay at.

Read More
Read Less

EXCELLENT STAY

By

27 September 2016

club

REALLY IMPRESSED WITH EVERYTHING - ALL I CAN SAY IS GO AND SEE FOR YOURSELF... YOU WILL HAVE AN AMAZING TIME!!

Read More
Read Less

Great hotel in amazing settings

By

27 September 2016

platinumelite

This was my first stay at Five lakes and it wont be my last. The reception staff were very friendly and exactly what I needed after a long day.

Posted byHotelStaff
28 September 2016
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes as your preferred hotel destination for your recent visit. We are pleased that you found our Reception team to be welcoming on arrival and hopefully, based on your experience, we will have the pleasure of seeing you in the future. Thank you and with kind regards. Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Excellent hotel and stay

By

26 September 2016

platinumelite

Excellent hotel. Friendly staff and very nice rooms.

Posted byHotelStaff
27 September 2016
It is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to comment positively on your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes and awarded us five stars. Hoping that you will return to Five Lakes in the future. With kind regards Gayelen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

fantastic Hotel 5*

By

26 September 2016

club

Me and my fiancé are getting married at Five Lakes next year, so we booked in to the hotel just to get a feel for the rooms etc.. I was not disappointed. The rooms are lovely and clean, the staff are so friendly and welcoming, and the hotel has a lovely atmosphere. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
27 September 2016
Thank you so much for your five-star feedback following your recent visit to Crown Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience and look forward to seeing you again on your special day. With kind regards to you both. Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Fantastic Stay

By

25 September 2016

club

Having stayed at Five Lakes previously, standards, which were already high on our last visit far exceeded our expectations on this stay, both fantastic accommodation and meals enjoyed. We were looked after in the restaurant by a young man, I believe his name was Ryan who was brilliant and a credit to your staff, the quality of food and presentation also was excellent.A throughly relaxing and restful stay with added advantage of being able to use the swimming pool complex as part of our stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. A big thank you to all at Five Lakes.

Posted byHotelStaff
27 September 2016
It is wonderful to receive such a fantastic review following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. All our team are very proud indeed knowing that we have been able to deliver such a positive, enjoyable experience for you. Thank you also for mentioning Ryan, I shall ensure that he is aware of your lovely comments. We hope very much indeed that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Five Lakes in the future. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Great staff and comfy beds

By

24 September 2016

Everything was perfect, not even one thing that could be improved.

Posted byHotelStaff
27 September 2016
Thank you so much for your five stars following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. I am delighted that your experience was so perfect for you in every way. Hoping that you may find an opportunity in the future to return to Five Lakes. Thank you again and with kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Don't stay here

By

19 September 2016

club

Awful service, bad communication, poor check in, cramped tired bathroom, bar staff who don't understand their job

Posted byHotelStaff
19 September 2016
It is extremely disappointing to receive your review and without further information about your visit, we are unable to respond more appropriately. Please therefore, accept our belated but sincere apologise that you felt we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Nice hotel but food and beverages provided should be reviewed

By

09 September 2016

club

- Food and beverages are poor. No kosher or vegetarian foods available. No variety for children. Breakfast was poor.

- Lack of restaurant staffs

- Public Transport to the hotel was poor.

Posted byHotelStaff
14 September 2016
Thank you for offering feedback following your experience at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes, which we appreciate. However, I can confirm that we have already emailed you personally on this matter informing you that all our chicken is halal, we have vegetarian sausages and offer gluten free bread, cereals and cakes. We also have halal chicken burgers too. We have a children's menu and apologies if this was not offered. Breakfast is almost always commented upon positively and I am sorry if this was not the case for you. Hoping that you may have an occasion to return in the future and I am sorry if you felt your experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Mr

By

09 September 2016

Lovely location and a great hotel. All in all a brilliant stay

Posted byHotelStaff
14 September 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your five star experience at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. We are delighted that our countryside location and the hotel itself met and possibly exceeded your expectations. Hoping that you will return to stay again in the future. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Some fantastic staff ........ Shame about the housekeeping

By

08 September 2016

I spent 5 weeks here (mon-fri) the rooms where dusty with dead greenflys on the windowsills ...... I started drawing smiley faces in the dust on the mirrors on a Monday and they where still there when I checked out on a Friday.

The foyer is lovely and cleaned constantly ( first impressions) the facilities are amazing and some of the staff where exceptional ......... James in the bar was lovely and always went out of his way to make you feel welcome, but as a smoker the ashtrays were very rarely emptied outside the bar.

The spa area was lovely unless you went out for a cigarette ...... Ashtrays full, cobwebs and spiders all over and even spiders nests in the crevices of the door and window frames.

All of the external windows where dirty and did not look like they had been cleaned for a very long time, balcony rooms with amazing views of the golf course, however, Juliet balconies full of spiders webs so not comfortable opening the doors, balcony rooms again checked in, previous occupants glasses and ashtray still out there not been cleaned in months and full of cobwebs

Dis-appointing for a Crowne plaza I have stayed in cleaner better run holiday inn expresses

Posted byHotelStaff
14 September 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes although your feedback is somewhat concerning. Please accept our sincere apologies that there was an unacceptable lapse in cleanliness standards in the areas you have identified. I have already tasked the appropriate managers to deal with these issues as a matter of urgency. On a more positive note, I was pleased to know that the hotel's foyer impressed you, along with the hotel's facilities. James, one of our most attentive team members, is very pleased and proud to be recognised for his customer service. Thank you. Meanwhile, thank you again for bringing these issues to our attention although it is disappointing that you had reason to do so. Hoping that you will return in the future. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Nice Hotel

By

08 September 2016

club

Great hotel to stay at for our golf break.

Just a couple of niggles.
The noise in the bar can get excessive due to the high ceiling and poor acoustics.
The choice of Ales in shocking - only a bottle of Courage Directors to be had (good job I like it) - apart from that all good.

Posted byHotelStaff
14 September 2016
Thank you for offering feedback following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your experience in the bar due to noise levels . Your comment regarding ales will be reviewed but I am pleased that you still enjoyed what we had to offer. Meanwhile, I am glad that despite this, you had an enjoyable time with us. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less