Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

More Fewer Options

* Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
84%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 988 reviews
84%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

988reviews

  • 5 Stars
    515
  • 4 Stars
    254
  • 3 Stars
    102
  • 2 Stars
    61
  • 1 Stars
    56

Nice comfortable rooms

By

19 September 2017

I liked bedrooms except for tiny shower. Posercjl power shower but small cubicle did not suit it.
Hotel is a bit remote without car have to use taxi to travel anywhere , expensive. Food quality could be better.
Overall I enjoyed my stay

Read More
Read Less

Wedding

By

19 September 2017

club

Quiet location with excellent leisure facilities. Rooms were of the high quality you expect from Crowne Plaza.

Read More
Read Less

Lovely hotel

By

19 September 2017

club

Really nice overnight stay for our wedding anniversary. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was good although we couldn't have a cappuccino which was disappointing as the coffee wasn't great. The food however was very good. Really nice sized room which was clean and comfortable. Would stay again. Reception was friendly and efficient. A good all round experience. We had a massage as well which was lovely.

Read More
Read Less

Weekend away

By

17 September 2017

club

Bad start but great weekend . Food was amazing for every meal and the therapies. They have a realxation room which is a must see!

Read More
Read Less

Five Lakes

By

15 September 2017

platinumelite

Fourth stay at this hotel, unsure if my expectations were high due to previous stays, however the Staff in the bar were less than engaging, this may be an age difference Issue

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed

By

13 September 2017

club

Had a good night's sleep and rest, although the service was not as good as what I had been told/recomended from friends and family who stayed there four years ago

Read More
Read Less

Our stay at the crowne plaza

By

12 September 2017

club

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the crowne plaza - Colchester. All members of staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. We ate in the brasserie a fair few times during our stay and honestly can say we did not find a fault with the food what so ever. The chef cooked everything to perfection and there was always a wide variety of foods to choose from. The full English breakfast is the best we've ever had.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, its very family friendly and accomates to your every need.
We will definitely be back again.

Read More
Read Less

50th birthday

By

11 September 2017

Nice food great place very nice rooms .had a very nice say with for my sister for her birthdayThe massage i had was very good and the facial my sister had she enjoyed it in a very lovey surrounding would come again and would recommend it

Read More
Read Less

Disappointing night's stay

By

11 September 2017

club

On approaching our room the aftermath of a party was left just outside the door. This was unacceptable and having a young family very concerning to how family friendly the hotel would be. Our night's sleep was disturbed throughout the night's by leary guests and then a shock awakining at 4am by a young child banging at our door. Lastly when highlighting our dissatisfaction to the receptionist regarding our stay, no concern or empathy was shown and just a diversion of the issue by talking about other aspects of the hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Great service

By

10 September 2017

club

Lovely hotel, staff are pleasant, overall great stay.

Read More
Read Less

Nice bedroom and comfy bed.

By

07 September 2017

club

Overall the Hotel was very good. Everything you could need was available. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The decor in the bar area was weird and not pleasing to the eye, bit barren and featureless. Not an area you feel warm and relaxed in. More like a waiting area. We would stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

Nice room but tired pool/changing facilities

By

04 September 2017

club

We had a room in the village area and it was nice and spacious. Some rowdy lads next door who eventually calmed down late on a Wednesday night but otherwise a good room.

Very tasty food in the restaurant which was included in our package. Although on checkout the hotel tried to charge £50 for dinner! But accepted their error and didn't charge.

Swimming pool changing rooms were dirty and had standing water particularly around toilets. At the pool the lifeguard/attendant tested the water by drinking it! Very strange.

We had breakfast in the room which was great in theory. But on delivery whilst standing in a robe the staff asked for £5 cash. Surely this should just be charged to the room?

Some simple changes could really improve this place. Perhaps the senior management could do with staying a night to see what's going on.

Read More
Read Less