Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
More Fewer Options

* Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

MANAGE A RESERVATION
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

MANAGE A RESERVATION
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
83%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 804 reviews
83%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

804reviews

  • 5 Stars
    402
  • 4 Stars
    210
  • 3 Stars
    91
  • 2 Stars
    53
  • 1 Stars
    48

Review

By

March 29, 2017

club

Over all great hotel to stay at! Breakfast was the best yet!

Read More
Read Less

Carpin on

By

March 26, 2017

club

Stayed with my husband and toddler lovely room with two double beds which made co sleeping much easier than squeezing in one double the swimming pool was also lovely but the sandwiches in the bar were awful don't bother

Read More
Read Less

Great spa break

By

March 26, 2017

club

Very good hotel in excellent location. Staff very friendly. The Spa was also excellent and would definitely recommend a visit. Stayed in one of the village rooms overlooking the golf course which was very comfortable.

Read More
Read Less

Relaxing break .

By

March 24, 2017

club

Our stay at the Crown Plaza was overall excellent! Bed was spacious and room was lovely overlooking the golf course. Mini fridge, water and wine glasses in the room were a lovely touch and most welcome!!
We had a buffet dinner that was quite nice for starter and desert but we didnt enjoy the main offering.
Swimming pool and facilities first class which is part of why we chose this hotel.
A really nice Anniversary break thankyou.

Read More
Read Less

Good value, pleasant stay

By

March 24, 2017

club

Stayed at this hotel for the first night of a short getaway. Booked mainly for the pool and weather forecast for this location. (Don't ask).

This hotel was good value, (especially if you're a golfer,) which I am not. However the pool was very enjoyable and there was a gym if you wanted one. The room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. The staff were helpful and there was plenty of parking.

I would certainly stay here again. Colchester which is nearby was really charming as well.

Read More
Read Less

Lazy Sunday at Five Lakes

By

March 23, 2017

Had a great stay, super value for money, would fully recommend.

The whereabouts of the spa and swimming pool area is a little confusing, it's not obvious where you go as it's not well signposted.

Other than that, me and my friend had a lovely time, ate ourselves silly and enjoyed a very relaxing stay.

Would definitely recommend the Lazy Sunday.

Read More
Read Less

Golf Break

By

March 23, 2017

Loved the hotel, lovely large room, but so hot at night we couldn't sleep, even with the air conditioning on. Breakfast was ok, if you love a fried breakfast, but disappointing for people like me who don't. Ours was a golf break, on two courses, but we were not told when we booked, that one course was closed. Slightly disappointing, as this was a birthday present for my husband. Still, we would definitely visit again

Read More
Read Less

18th march

By

March 22, 2017

club

I thought the stay was adequate but the facilities were not brilliant and the choice of lunch was poor. Service by spa staff was not great as they ran out of robes and told us to go to reception. My partners nails were poor quality for £20 and this wasn't resolved. All in all. For the money we paid I won't be recommending this

Read More
Read Less

Spa Break

By

March 21, 2017

club

Amazing place very quiet and relaxing. Lovely gateway packed with activities and good food.

Read More
Read Less

Overnight stay

By

March 21, 2017

club

Excellent staff, very helpful. Lovely room pity I didn't get time to use pool

Read More
Read Less

Good hotel but poor service particularly in restaurant

By

March 21, 2017

club

My wife and I came to the hotel to visit family in the area and play some golf. The staff were welcoming and we were told that as an IHG member we had an upgraded room.
The room was spacious and well equipped. The bed was large and comfortable, but the room was to warm and the air conditioning was not working, so not the best nights sleep. I was told by reception that the AC will not work during the winter months!!!
We played both courses and we enjoyed them although they were not in great condition, but the price had been discounted in think to reflect that.
Breakfast is buffet style, but it seems like too much food is cooked at once and then just left under hot lights for a long time. You get one hot drink when you arrive, but nobody comes back to you to see if you would like some more.
However, we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and dined in the restaurant one evening. We treated ourselves to an expensive bottle of wine. However, the food was poor. We ordered fish which was fine, but it came with mashed potato which was hard, dry and tasteless. Other people had ordered burgers and fish and chips which looked quite nice, but I would not expect to go to a restaurant like this to order 'fast food' to celebrate an anniversary!
Nobody asked us during the meal if everything was OK. My wife told the waitress who collected our plates, but barely acknowledged it.
The wine was served to us initially, but again nobody bothered to come back to top up our glasses. Of course I am more than capable of serving myself, but if I am paying £75 for a bottle of wine that I can buy in the shops for less than £25 I expect it to be served as I would in any other top restaurant charging these prices.
I was quite angry by the end of the meal, but rather than make a scene in the restaurant I spoke to reception the next morning when I calmed down. They told me to email the Hotel manager, which I did. To date she has not had the courtesy to reply or even acknowledge my email!

Read More
Read Less

Excellent stay. Great staff and facilities

By

March 20, 2017

club

The hotel itself, facilities and staff were second to none. Our room wasn't quite ready upon arrival despite having opted for early check in as an IHG Rewards Member, however, the reception staff and concierge could not have been more helpful ensuring we had somewhere to store our bags and robe and slippers for us to use the spa and swimming pool until our room was ready. We were fully informed of all facilities and how to find our way around the hotel and the rooms were lovely and spacious. Would definitely recommend.

Read More
Read Less