Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
More Fewer Options

* Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

MANAGE A RESERVATION
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

MANAGE A RESERVATION
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
82%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 706 reviews
82%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

706reviews

  • 5 Stars
    342
  • 4 Stars
    184
  • 3 Stars
    82
  • 2 Stars
    50
  • 1 Stars
    48

Birthday break

By

December 08, 2016

A thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing two day break with 2 treatments, dinner, breakfast and lunch. A nice gentle stroll around the grounds was very pleasant.

Read More
Read Less

Lovely location and hotel

By

December 04, 2016

I have not been to the hotel for over 12 years and since then has come into the IHG chain. Not the most exciting property externally but great approach and a real 'wow' factor when entering reception. Very friendly welcome at reception and kindly upgraded to an executive room in the main hotel (had booked last minute - literally two hours before arrival - one of the cottage rooms a short walk away).

A really great room with lovely views over the golf course and a small pond in the foreground. Massive bed! Facilities in the room were almost perfect - having plugs on only one side of the bed is the only reason I would not give it 10/10.

I have scored staff and service as average - this is a combined score. Reception were brilliant however service in the Brasserie 1 restaurant was disappointing. Likewise food therein was probably the worst my wife and I have had at any hotel. It was not that it was badly cooked, just lacked imagination and had no taste whatsoever. Probably either just a bad night or we were unlucky with the dishes picked (lamb shank for mains). I spoke with the F&B manager the following morning and he was very positive and grateful receiving the feedback. I really appreciated this excellent customer service - well done!

I also scored the sleep quality as poor - not the fault of the hotel, just other guests. We were situated on a long corridor on the 2nd floor and, with Christmas parties now in full flow, other guests were laughing, shouting, running down the corridor for what seemed ike most of the night. As I mentioned, not the fault of the hotel, but perhaps a few 'courtesy to others' signs down the corridors might help (depending how much beverage has been consumed by the guests of course!) Perhaps I should not have gone for the offered upgrade but stayed in the cottages away from the main hotel.

In summary, I would recommend this hotel as I think it is a great place to escape to. Thank you again to the reception staff that made me very welcome and for the F&B manager for his time.

Posted byHotelStaff
December 06, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the opportunity to share your feedback following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. I am pleased that you found your accommodation to meet your expectations; although we take on board your comment regarding the lack of sockets on one side of the bed which was not ideal for you. Obviously it is concerning that your dining experience was disappointing and please be assured that your candid comments have been taken on board. Indeed, we are grateful that you were able to discuss your experience with our F&B Manager the following morning, who most definitely will appraise the team; so thank you for giving us that opportunity. It is always difficult to predict the behaviour of guests however, being disturbed in the early hours of themorning by other guests causing noise disturbance is unacceptable and wholly impacts on the enjoyment of others. In all situations that we are aware of, our Night Managers will take necessary steps to manage such issues. Again, sincere apologies. It is pleasing to know that despite the challenges you have referred to, you would return in the future. Meanwhile, thank you for mentioning our reception team and F&B Manager in such a favourable light. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Great hotel

By

December 02, 2016

platinumelite

Fantastic hotel, in slightly remote location.
I'm sure on a warmer, brighter day, this would be a wonderful location

Posted byHotelStaff
December 02, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes and thefive stars yu have awarded us, are greatly appreciated. All year round the hotel is a wonderful venue to visit however, during the warmer months; our guests can enjoy the outside spaces and the beautiful fauna and flora of the hotel grounds. Thank you for your feedback and we hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Five Lakes in the future. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Amazing stay

By

December 02, 2016

club

me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights for his birthday
Massage was excellent
Spa facilities were great
Food in the restaurant was really nice

Posted byHotelStaff
December 06, 2016
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes to celebrate your partner's birthday. It is wonderful to know that your three night break with us was an enjoyable and memorable time and that all elements of your stay were perfect for you. I do hope you will return to stay with us in the future. With our kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Exceeded expectations

By

November 30, 2016

Didn't have any high expectations, but were pleasantly surprised. It was my friend's birthday and they did some nice touches like birthday cake in our room and the staff sang Happy Birthday at dinner.

We were a bit wary about a buffet dinner, but we had a choice of a la carte or buffet - the buffet was lovely so we went for that.

Lovely spa treatments available. Great choice of breakfast, only criticism was the cold plates.

Posted byHotelStaff
December 06, 2016
Thank you for awarding us five stars - this really does indicate to us the level of your enjoyment at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. It is good to know that the birthday cake we arranged was a lovely surprise for your friend and to add to the celebrations, our team sang Happy Birthday too. We are glad to know that you opted for the a la carte and were not disappointed and later your spa treatments and breakfast were pleasing too. Thank you again for posting your feedback on this medium; as this allows us to understand the guest experience. I do hope that you will return in the future to Five Lakes. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Not so relaxing

By

November 30, 2016

club

Generally very good , but the pool / sauna area was very busy with children running around and shouting , i think this was only because there was some kind of dance convention going on at the venue , the large jacuzzi was too busy to use. Not relaxing at all , ended up back in he room watching tv for some peace and quiet , i could have stayed at home and done that.

Posted byHotelStaff
December 01, 2016
Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. I am pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable time; although please accept our apologies that we did not entirely meet your expectations due to how busy the hotel's spa facilities were during your visit and we appreciate that this was not ideal for you. The Resort has many facilities and we regret that the Jacuzzi was busy at the time you wished to use it. We do hope that you found other aspects of your visit to be enjoyable and hopefully, we can look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes in the future. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Pleasent stay, but

By

November 24, 2016

On check in, I did not get the benefits or asked questions in regards to my ambassador status. Despite providing my ambassador card.
No room upgrade, no welcome fruit, no request for newspaper, only 1 voucher for 1 drink?

little disappointing, was hoping to have consistency with a membership like ambassador.

Regards

Anthony

Posted byHotelStaff
November 25, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. I am sorry that your check-in experience was disappointing for you. Intercontinental Ambassador status is recognised by Intercontinental Hotels & Resorts but not Crowne Plaza Resorts; although this does not mean that you should not enjoy some advantages. I regret however, that apart from a complimentary drinks voucher, no other benefits were offered. Obviously, your feedback is important to us and has already been discussed with our Rooms Division Manager so that going a similar situation does not occur in the future. I do hope that your experience will not deter you from returning to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes in the future. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Delightful stay!

By

November 23, 2016

platinumelite

I cannot imagine staying anywhere else just beyond the London megalopolis for an extended weekend escape from Paris. Set amidst a beautiful golf course, and far away from the trials and tribulations of the Big City, this property is ideal for languishing in the countryside, moseying about the small towns and villages of England and getting to know more profoundly the people that make up this corner of England.

Read More
Read Less

hotter than a sauna

By

November 19, 2016

club

when you stay in a crown plaza you expect to be treated as though you know what you're doing and are provided with the choices to make your stay comfortable. This is not the case with this hotel. I have stayed here many times and had a great experience but the twin room we were allocated was hotter than a sauna and the heating was turned off. I have no idea why it was so hot but the air con was disabled due to the time of year we visited. We opened windows fully and had 2 fans but to no avail. I simply couldn't sleep. I had max 3hours sleep before a major presentation meeting the next morning.
What really bothered me is the front desk staff just didn't seem bothered to deal with it at all.

Posted byHotelStaff
November 21, 2016
Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes and it is disappointing to read of your experience. Please accept our apologies that your found your accommodation to be uncomfortable for you and despite measures being taken to cool it down, you felt no relief. I am also sorry that you felt our team were not sympathetic or helpful the next morning when you reported this matter to the reception team. I have passed this particular comment to our Front Office Manager for her to take action. Once again, our apologies that you felt we did not meet your expectations on this occasion however, we do hope that you will return in the future. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

great place to relax

By

November 18, 2016

club

To spend time with your friend for a couple of days and relax in a comfortable room, most relaxing beds. The whole experience is lovely and most recomended. The spa is recomended especially the facial and full body treatments. You never want to leave, We used to do only one night but have now gone to two nights and would not go back to one.

Posted byHotelStaff
November 21, 2016
Thank you so much for your review of Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes, following your recent visit. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly enjoying the spa treatments. Our Spa team will be delighted to know of your satisfaction, so thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I do hope that you will return again to see us and thank you so much for your continued loyalty. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Overnight stay

By

November 16, 2016

club

Great staff and comfortable room - good leisure facilities
Well worth a stay - and two golf courses!!

Posted byHotelStaff
November 17, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. it is wonderful to know that you had such a great time with us; enjoying your accommodation and the hotel's amenities. We do sincerely hope that you will return in the future. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Five Lakes stay

By

November 15, 2016

club

Clean, modern and comfortable rooms together with polite and courteous staff made for an extremely pleasant stay.

Posted byHotelStaff
November 16, 2016
Thank you so much for your review of Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. This is something our staff takes great pride in, so your feedback is greatly valued. We hope you will visit us again. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less