Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
83%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 651 reviews
83%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

651reviews

  • 5 Stars
    349
  • 4 Stars
    176
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    49
  • 1 Stars
    28

Friendly Staff

By

15 July 2016

club

The staff at this hotel were super friendly and helpful. They made me feel welcome and appreciated during my stay.

Read More
Read Less

convenient

By

14 July 2016

Centrally located to downtown. walking distance from Union Station and Blue line rail.

Read More
Read Less

Jackson Browne concert night

By

12 July 2016

club

We had a fun time in Chicago for the concert and staying at this Holiday Inn made it possible to relax and not worry about anything.

Read More
Read Less

Worst expericence!

By

12 July 2016

club

This was, by far, the worst hotel we've stayed in. To begin with, there was a TWO INCH COCKROACH in our bathroom! When we called the front desk, the staff was quick to respond and move us to another room however I would have preferred to leave the hotel; it was midnight and we are a family of five including a five month old baby so unfortunately it was not feasible.

Additionally, though we were on the third floor, we could hear conversations people were having on the street below. Being a hotel in the downtown area, I would have expected more noise cancellation.

We had to pay for our stay, half of the original bill, but we still had to pay. Again, by far, this was the worst hotel experience and definitely not the way to start a family vacation.

Posted byHotelStaff
14 July 2016
Dear VacationNOTsomuch, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into as this is not our normal standards. We value your comments and hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again. Sincerely, Nitin Talati General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Relaxing in the Big City

By

11 July 2016

Staff was amazing. Great room, amazing location (less than a block from the metro - going to Navy Pier). Roof-top pool was awesome, with views of Willis tower (Sears tower). Easy and affordable parking next door. Walked downtown in the morning for some Chicago deep dish pizza, which was really good.

Posted byHotelStaff
14 July 2016
Dear Chrismenden, Thank you so much for sharing your experience and thank you for being our guest. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and Chicago deep dish pizza too! We hope you will visit us again, the next time you are in the Chicago area. Sincerely, Nitin Talati General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Nice Property in Downtown Chicago

By

10 July 2016

club

Greeted warmly at Check in.....Good room and good location for downtown Chicago.

Posted byHotelStaff
14 July 2016
Dear Baseball Fan 2016, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again the next time you are in the Chicago area. Sincerely, Nitin Talati General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Can't recommend this hotel

By

08 July 2016

I chose this hotel because it was close to the bus stop where I would be arriving. Check in was quick. When I got to my room it was quite warm. It was in the 90’s outside and the the sun blocking curtains were open, so the room was quite warm, even with the A/C on. The room never cooled off to my satisfaction the two days I stayed here, except in the middle of one night.

The hotel was quite expensive and breakfast was not included. When I booked the hotel online I paid extra for breakfast and received two coupons, since I would be staying two nights. The thing is, when you pay for breakfast online you aren't given all the rules and regulations about what you are and are not allowed to eat and drink. When I went down to eat breakfast I handed over my coupon for a free breakfast to the waitress and was told I could have anything from the cold buffet, but only one hot item from the menu. When I booked the breakfast online it mentioned nothing about these rules. So I choose my limited options and got 3 little slices of bacon and ask for an orange juice. I am then told that is not included. If I am actually paying for breakfast it should be included. By the way a tip is not included either.

Also the book in my room said Breakfast started at 6am on weekdays. I went all the way downstairs starving at 6:10am ready to eat and was told they don't open until 6:30am. You need to fix the hours in your book then.

Good things about the hotel: it is downtown and close to Willis Tower, which you can easily walk to. From there you can get on a hop-on/hop-off bus to see all the sights. There is also a rooftop pool. My executive floor room had a fridge and microwave.

But overall, due to the price, no free breakfast, strict breakfast rules, and the overheated rooms, I can’t recommend this hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
14 July 2016
Dear Bob6945, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. I have share your feedback with our staff and making the necessary changes to ensure repeat occurrences does not repeat. We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the Chicago area, so we can show you our true level of service in all areas. Sincerely, Nitin Talati General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Decent price and decent location

By

07 July 2016

club

Stayed here because we were attending a concert nearby. Was able to stay for a decent price. Beds were comfortable and pretty quiet room. Mainly used uber to get around to where we needed to go but was not that much.

Posted byHotelStaff
11 July 2016
Thank you Niki2016 for staying with us while attending a concert in Chicago. It's nice to hear location, price and comfort met your needs and that you were able to travel around Chicago utilizing the Uber system. We hope the next time you stay, we are able to help you plan a fun-filled day in Chicago. Thank you again. Nitin Talati General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great Value Downtown

By

30 June 2016

club

I have a large, young family. I travel with 4 kids under the ages of seven and three adults. The hotel accommodated my room requests and all other requests promptly and efficiently. I would recommend this to anyone looking to travel to downtown Chicago on a budget.

Posted byHotelStaff
06 July 2016
Thank you so much cdhoff for allowing the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown the opportunity to have you and your family as our guests. We are elated to know you had a great stay and that our staff were able to assist with your requests. We are extremely thankful for your recommendation and are looking forward to your return. Sincerely, Nitin Talati General Manager
Read More
Read Less

will not choose again

By

22 June 2016

Old facility, poor service, bad cleanliness. The building was dated, decoration even was not good as normal holiday inn express. Front desk staff complained when only two customers were waiting to check in, but she's not so busy. And there were different hairs in the bed sheet, no idea if they cleaned the bed. The only advantage of this hotel is the location, very near to metro station.

Posted byHotelStaff
27 June 2016
Dear dennisw, Thank you for your feedback. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience caused by room cleanliness, property decor and service. The concerns mentioned have been shared with all department to ensure repeat occurrences does not happen again. Thank you again for sharing and we hope for another opportunity to have you as our guest, the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Nitin Talati General Manager gm@hidowntown.com
Read More
Read Less

Poor Value and had a lot of problems with the room

By

21 June 2016

Our bedroom TV didn't work, we paid way too much for the room and did not get our money's worth. Some of the front desk staff was snotty and I was ignored by the valet. Did not receive the customer service that I was expecting from a Holiday Inn.

Posted byHotelStaff
27 June 2016
Dear jenna0295, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to meet expectations Rest assured that these issues will be looked into to ensure future occurrences of the nature will not happen again. We value your comments and hope for the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Nitin Talati General Manager gm@hidowntown.com
Read More
Read Less

Good hotel in a strange location

By

15 June 2016

club

Overall, the hotel room and service from the staff were very good. The room was clean and comfortable and the front-desk staff were very friendly and fun.

Only two things threw me off about the experience--one was that the breakfast restaurant was laid out in an unclear and confusing way. We wanted to grab something small to go rather than order off a menu and the waitress didn't seem to understand at first. Additionally, their "pantry" items--where you essentially fill a to-go box--although tasty, didn't really seem designed to be taken away. There weren't plastic utensils available to just take, we had to ask the waitress and be handed one on our way out. It was just sort of poorly laid out, and you'd think enough people would want a quick to-go breakfast that it would be set up more conveniently.

The other thing that I found strange was the location. Although it technically is a walkable section of downtown Chicago, it didn't FEEL very walkable. The hotel is surrounded by highway on one side and a huge parking lot on another, making it feel like it's not in the city at all but rather near a highway exit. At first I found walking into downtown from the hotel to be intimidating and confusing due to this sort of unfriendly location.

Posted byHotelStaff
21 June 2016
Dear lauracol, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I apologize on behalf of my entire team for the inconveniences you faced at our restaurant, as that is not up to our normal standards. I will share your feedback with our team so that we are able to create a better experience for future guests. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Sincerely, Nitin Talati General Manager
Read More
Read Less