Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
91%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 1261 reviews
91%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1261reviews

  • 5 Stars
    646
  • 4 Stars
    407
  • 3 Stars
    125
  • 2 Stars
    58
  • 1 Stars
    25

Family trip

By

20 June 2017

club

The staff in the hotel are outstanding particularly the waiting staff at dinner and breakfast. The food is delicious in the restaurant albeit a tad expensive but hey we were on holiday so treated ourselves. Plus side the kids ate free.
With regards to our bedroom, it was ample size for the 4 of us however even with the air con on and working it certainly is not cool enough or strong enough for 4 people sharing. The temp during the night did not go below 25 degrees which does not constitute a good nights sleep. The room just gets far far too stuffy so I would suggest upgrading air con facility in family rooms where multiple people are sharing. The beds were perfectly comfy and clean. The bathroom was adequate for what wee needed, it just looked a little tired and needs freshening up.
Over all great hotel, great staff and great location just PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE upgrade your air con machines in the family rooms

Read More
Read Less

Family break

By

19 June 2017

club

Enjoyed our visit to the hotel, it was a base to visit different places in Edinburgh. Everything about the hotel was excellent, and staff were very polite and helpful.

Read More
Read Less

Not so Good

By

19 June 2017

club

I have stayed in HI's many times and a IHG member.
It was hard to believe that the Edinburgh Holiday Inn failed in so many areas and didn't come up to the standard of the their sibling counterparts.
I would say, that Newcastle are superb and perhaps this hotel should visit to see what they are doing right.
Area of concern:
-Tired looking rooms
-Poor quality bathrooms
-Unkempt corridors
-Poor quality food.
On a positive the staff were, polite, very engaging and professional.

Read More
Read Less

Great staff

By

19 June 2017

club

All the staff in this hotel are fantastic. In my experience this makes a hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

17 June 2017

club

I chose this hotel due to the price and location. It was perfectly located for visiting the zoo and also for going into the city centre. It was also close to the airport.
The dinner bed and breakfast rate was excellent value and the food in the restaurant was very tasty and a good choice. The view from the restaurant is impressive.
My kids loved the swimming pool and the computers available near reception. The staff were all very friendly. The sun was even shining in Edinburgh! We will definitely go back.

Read More
Read Less

handy for Zoo, great views

By

13 June 2017

club

Good value,

Friendly staff

Good gym, small pool, sauna

Good restaurant

Read More
Read Less

Business in Edinburgh

By

11 June 2017

club

This hotel is close to the Zoo and the City areas are only a short taxi ride away. This is a nice hotel and offers good services. Some rooms can pick up noise with the windows open from the Zoo next door. It was not that intrusive and did not cause me to lose sleep. Breakfast is a lonely time for a business person and the staff did not engage much. Most of the guests especially those travelling alone would just like a how are you or is everything okay type of chat in the morning!

Read More
Read Less

Cleanliness of bathroom

By

10 June 2017

As being a priority member, we were told that our room had been upgraded to a executive suit, however I think the only thing that had been upgraded was the view. The bathroom had mould round the side of the bathtub and the toilet had been used before we had checked in as it had not been flushed from the previous guest, not only that but there was also unwanted hairs on the toilet seat. The room itself had a splatter mark above the headboard. On checkout we found the reception staff could have been nicer. The lower level car park needs tidied up as there seems to be getting used as a storage area that makes the hotel look very untidy even before you step foot into the building. I have been to many holiday inns and this is the only one I've had a problem with.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent food and great service

By

09 June 2017

club

The hotel was very clean and staff extremely friendly. During our stay we had an excellent evening meal which was fantastic value for money.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and great service

By

08 June 2017

club

3 days stay in the hotel was extremely satisfactory. The room was very comfortable with nice views. The hotel is easily accessible from the airport and the city center.

Read More
Read Less

Nicely located for Zoo, quite far from town

By

07 June 2017

club

I stayed here for business and it was perfectly located. I had a view of the hills from my room which was lovely. The staff were friendly but could have been more attentive. Breakfast was very busy bit tasty. In fact the whole hotel was busy with coach/cruise parties and the lifts got quite congested. If you are visiting the zoo it's perfect as it's right next door. It's about an hours walk into town though.

Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn Edinburgh Zoo

By

06 June 2017

club

Lovely clean and modern bedroom, bathroom could be doing with being updated but very clean and had everything we needed, Breakfast was amazing and we very much enjoyed it with wonderful views across the Edinburgh area in the dining room.

Read More
Read Less