Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
82%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 689 reviews
82%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

689reviews

  • 5 Stars
    290
  • 4 Stars
    235
  • 3 Stars
    87
  • 2 Stars
    47
  • 1 Stars
    30

great place to rest between busy work days

By

09 August 2016

the idea of the hotel is fab the location is great
the local restaurant " backetts is a bonus
the rooms ok but the other guests are a night mare with such thin walls no sleep makes for a tired customerr

Posted byHotelStaff
10 August 2016
Dear Ripon Girl, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for all of your feedback. Thankyou again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Attfield
Read More
Read Less

Recent return

By

07 August 2016

After about 18 months away from Portsmouth I returned to the holiday Inn in Southsea. I was pleasantly surprised to see that at last they are updating the hotel.
My room had been updated with a new bathroom and redecoration. Overall I was impressed.

Posted byHotelStaff
10 August 2016
Dear Vibber, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for all of your positive feedback. Thankyou again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Attfield
Read More
Read Less

portsmouth

By

03 August 2016

friendly staff and good service. lack of drawer space in room

Posted byHotelStaff
08 August 2016
Dear meagainagain, Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for your positive comments. Customer service is of utmost importance to us so to know that you found the staff friendly and helpful makes all of our hard work worthwhile. I will pass on your comments regarding drawer space to our General Manager. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Attfield Guest Relations
Read More
Read Less

Holiday with Grandson

By

01 August 2016

club

Booking a family room was difficult on the internet. it did not accept 2 adults and one child in one room. As the call charge was expensive I eventually booked through a chat-room which was rather tedious.

Our overall experience in the hotel was excellent from arrival to departure.

I have just received my IHG Rewards Club Statement which shows 0 points.I can't understand this as we stayed for 3 nights at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth 2 adults and 1 child 26th to 28th July.

Posted byHotelStaff
03 August 2016
Dear Gresford46, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm sorry to hear you had difficulties booking your room but delighted that you enjoyed your experience once you were here. Regarding your points, it can take up to 14 days for them to be added to your account so keep an eye out and they should be awarded to you soon. Thankyou again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Emily de Wolff Guest Relations
Read More
Read Less

Great Service, Great Stay

By

01 August 2016

club

Excellent Hotel well situated. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable to a very good high standard and value for money. The location - across the road from the sea front and 10/15min leisurely walk to the Gunwarf Quays and historic dockyards.

Posted byHotelStaff
01 August 2016
Dear Leanne3009, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and thankyou for your positive comments with regards to our location and value for money. Customer service is of utmost importance to us so to know that you found the staff friendly and helpful makes all of our hard work worthwhile. Thankyou again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Emily de Wolff Guest Relations
Read More
Read Less

Good service, if a little dated

By

26 July 2016

Staff and overall service was good but the bathrooms are ridiculously small.
Having said that, family members used the disabled suite and this was fantastic.
Overall I'd recommend this hotel, especially for a short stay.

Posted byHotelStaff
28 July 2016
Dear EMLS1, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm pleased to hear that you'd recommend this hotel and thankyou for your positive feedback regarding our staff and service. With regards to the bathrooms, the hotel was built in the 70's so the rooms are all of a similar size, sadly on the smaller side, especially the bathrooms so we have to do the best with the product we have got. Thankyou again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Emily de Wolff Guest Relations
Read More
Read Less

Nice Stay in Old Portsmouth Area

By

25 July 2016

club

One can stay in Holiday Inn Portsmouth for the sake of the beautiful surroundings ! The room is of reasonable size and the quality of bed/ mattresses are excellent for a comfortable sleep. However, there is no way to reach out to the reservation desk for any special needs ( I wanted to do couple of hours early check-in) - your call probably would go to the automated voicemail and may not get answered. The room is little pricey and I may not stay at this hotel considering the lack of value for money - but if you need clean / safe ambience and good Gym and pool.. this is a nice one to stay!!

Posted byHotelStaff
27 July 2016
Dear KfromIndia, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and thankyou for your positive feedback regarding our location and beds. I'm sorry you had a problem getting to the reservation desk, hopefully you received everything you wanted. Thankyou again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Emily de Wolff Guest Relations
Read More
Read Less

Favourite Hotel in UK

By

23 July 2016

club

Always enjoy my stay here. Good breakfast, buzzy atmosphere. Excellent spa, Fresh feeling guest rooms with upgraded ensuites,

Posted byHotelStaff
28 July 2016
Dear mermaid 2211, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm delighted to hear that you always enjoy your stay here and thankyou for all of your positive feedback. I will pass on your kind words to the relevant departments. Thankyou very much again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Emily de Wolff Guest Relations
Read More
Read Less

Good and not so good

By

23 July 2016

club

Staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is clean. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean but both could have been a bit bigger especially for an executive room. The car park is a problem as it is small and spaces are tight. It is not helped by the fact that several places are taken up by a container! Why? For the prices charged every guest should have a parking space. The hotel is overpriced and that is partly due to the fact that there is no competition in the area.
I would recommend it however as it is fine for a short stay and is very well situated near the Quays and other places of interest. This was our second stay in this hotel and the container in the car park was there a year ago and is still there. The parking issue needs to be addressed. This time one of the lifts wasn't working and that did cause problems. The lifts are very small and there are only two of them so many guests had to wait to fit in with large cases as only four people can fit in a lift at any given time. I appreciate that a lift can break down but it should be fixed quickly especially in busy periods.

Posted byHotelStaff
25 July 2016
Dear loopty, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm pleased to hear that you generally enjoyed your stay but sorry about the few disappointments that you mention. With regards to the parking, we are lucky to have the amount of onsite parking that we do and, when the on site car park is full, we offer free parking permits for the on street parking and car park across the road. We are in the midst of a major refurbishment scheme which is why we currently need the container in the car park - as soon as the works have finished then it will be removed. I can only apologise for the inconvenience that the lift being out of order is causing, I assure you that we are doing our utmost to resolve the problem as quickly as possible. Thankyou again and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Emily de Wolff Guest Relations
Read More
Read Less

Short business trip

By

22 July 2016

Excellent location, clean room and bathroom, friendly and efficient staff. Good breakfast. Would stay in this hotel again if in Portsmouth.

Posted byHotelStaff
25 July 2016
Dear Leszek56, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and thankyou for all of your positive feedback. Customer service is of utmost importance to us so to hear that the staff were friendly and efficient makes all of our hard work worthwhile. Thankyou again and we look forward to welcoming you back when you visit the area again. Kind regards Emily de Wolff Guest Relations
Read More
Read Less

Very helpful staff

By

22 July 2016

club

On the whole it was a lovely experience and we will definitely use this hotel again. I was a bit disappointed with the food though.

Posted byHotelStaff
28 July 2016
Dear Hiloted, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and will definitely be using us again. Customer service is of utmost importance to us so to know that you found the staff very helpful makes all of our hard work worthwhile. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the food though, I will mention this to the head chef as it's important that he takes it onboard. Thankyou again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Emily de Wolff Guest relations
Read More
Read Less

missing comforts

By

21 July 2016

there were no morning papers

no fridge in room (executive)

no pen and pad

Posted byHotelStaff
25 July 2016
Dear River Boat, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm sorry to hear you missed out on certain comforts during your recent stay. You should have certainly had a notepad and pen in your room along with a fridge seeing as it was an executive. Please accept my apologies and I will speak to the housekeeping manager. As for the papers, if you put in a request then you should also have received that!! Did you mention it to a member of staff? Again, please accept my apologies and I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Emily de Wolff Guest Relations
Read More
Read Less