Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
87%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 575 reviews
87%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

575reviews

  • 5 Stars
    292
  • 4 Stars
    183
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    30
  • 1 Stars
    20

Character and comfort

By

19 February 2017

Wonderful period property with charm and lots of character plus the modern service and quality you expect from Holiday Inn.

Read More
Read Less

Nice

By

19 February 2017

platinumelite

No conditioner/hot choc/luxury to speak of but amazing bar and kitchen staff who were SO helpful

Read More
Read Less

Good sleep, friendly staff

By

19 February 2017

club

Nice hotel, lovely building. A couple of wee niggles but overall a nice stay. Room was comfortable and not too stuffy

Read More
Read Less

Review

By

17 February 2017

club

Very satisfied with our stay. The hotel has a nice atmosphere and the staff are very pleasant

Read More
Read Less

Refurbished room

By

16 February 2017

Newly refurbished room has been done to a great standard and offer's a real nice stay.
The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean.

Posted byHotelStaff
17 February 2017
Dear guest, many thanks for your feedback. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, we hope to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards.
Read More
Read Less

Relaxing stay in a Victorian hotel

By

14 February 2017

platinumelite

Nice stay with great staff, easy parking and close to the city centre nightlife. Breakfast was plentiful and varied.

Posted byHotelStaff
16 February 2017
Dear guest, many thanks for your feedback. We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, rest assured that we will pass to the staff your nice comments. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards.
Read More
Read Less

Beautiful Hotel

By

13 February 2017

platinumelite

This is a beautiful hotel, the building has a fantastic character that you don't find in many hotels these days.
On top of this the staff are all very friendly and helpful.
The rooms could do with the same modernisation the bathrooms have had, but the décor fits with the classic style of the building.
We had dinner, drinks and breakfast in the hotel, all were superb with a really good choice.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel!

Posted byHotelStaff
13 February 2017
Dear guest, it is such a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed so much your stay at our hotel. Many thanks for your feedback, we are really pleased that you had a nice stay and we hope to welcoming you in the near future. Kind Regards.
Read More
Read Less

OK room but think its acceptable for building work

By

12 February 2017

club

The link on the hotel web site for directions sent us to the wrong place. This needs correcting. The hotel is an old victorian hotel in need of modernisation. Some building work is being carried out but its was not clear how much that would improve the hotel. The staff were very friendly but when we complained at 8:30 in the morning about noise from building work in what seemed to be the next room they were unable to stop the drilling in the walls. When we checked out we were given a small reduction to our bill but all we wanted to do was get out of the hotel. The hotel manager seemed to think it was acceptable not to warn guests that building work would disturb them. The hotel could have put us in a part of the hotel where there was not any building work or warned us about work starting in the morning but the first we knew about it was when we had the noise and vibration from drilling.

Read More
Read Less

Good quality but need to remember the small things

By

10 February 2017

club

I stayed here with my mum and we booked an Executive and a Spa room and having driven up from London I was looking forward to use the jacuzzi in my room. However this was not possible due to the horrendous stench which came from it when I switched it on. I called down to reception but the gentleman on duty at first did not understand what I meant and then said he was a trainee. On checking out we also mentioned it to the staff and I was told they would look at it. Breakfast was a little disappointed and the option of an omelette or salmon would have been nice rather than just cereal and a full English. However I would like to say that the staff who checked us on were very friendly and we had problems finding our room (the wrong number had been written down incorrectly by the front desk), and we were helped by two really lovely northern ladies from housekeeping. The rooms are a fantastic size with some nice extras, they just let themselves down on a couple of things.

Read More
Read Less

Room booking incorrect

By

07 February 2017

club

Room booking incorrect and hence did not receive the room that was booked.

Read More
Read Less

Stunning hotel but a little rough in places

By

07 February 2017

club

The hotel is very beautiful and tucked away. Although right by a main road, I found I was still able to sleep.

Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and dealt with difficult drunk/loud guests very well.

Access to the internet was really easy, so I was able to watch streamed tv and films and listen to my music in the morning which was really nice.

My one downside was the room I was in (although very spacious) was a bit rough and ready. The door to the bathroom was peeling and needed replacing and the bin in there was dented. It also looked liked the bath could have done with a better scrub but nothing to put me off using it. I also found out that other people in my party were left water and kitkats for their stay, where as I had two tea bags and lots of milk. Not a huge thing as only staying one night, but did make me question if the rooms were being properly turned around.

I'd happily stay here again if walking in the Peak District again. I'll just keep my fingers crossed I get a kitkat next time!

Posted byHotelStaff
08 February 2017
Dear guest, many thanks for your feedback. We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, rest assured that we will pass your nice comments to the staff. Also, we are really sorry that you have had some issues during your stay, please accept our sincerely apologise for these. We really hope to welcoming you again in the future at our hotel, when we can assure you of our best attention. Once again many thanks for your feedback and best wishes.
Read More
Read Less

Lovely room shame about noise

By

06 February 2017

We stayed in an executive room. Was very noisy until 4am. If you want to sleep don't stay here. The room was lovely and clean. Shame about the noise. Lots of people running around, loud music, screaming, shouting, bad language. Knocking our door every 10 mins. Not good enough.

Posted byHotelStaff
08 February 2017
Dear guest, many thanks for taking your time to send us your feedback about your stay. We are pleased that you have liked the room you have been allocated, however we are deeply sorry to learn about the noise which didn't offer you the high standard of quality expected during your stay. Please accept our sincerely apologise for this and we hope to welcoming you again in the near future.
Read More
Read Less