Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 688 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

688reviews

  • 5 Stars
    339
  • 4 Stars
    217
  • 3 Stars
    69
  • 2 Stars
    34
  • 1 Stars
    29

Disappointed

By

June 22, 2017

club

Bar staff unprofessional. No therapist for treatments in health club.
Room and food, when kitchen was open was excellent.

Read More
Read Less

Problems

By

June 22, 2017

Reception is great and a couple in the bar/food area are ok. The meal was not good, beef was tough and well over cooked. Wrong meals came out twice.
Breakfast - the restaurant was dirty from night before and plates still outside bedrooms from the night before. It seems also that good staff members seem to leave from the restaurant. I wonder why?

Read More
Read Less

Not again

By

June 21, 2017

club

I always thought Holiday to be a good brand. I was disappointed at Colchester not with the staff but the hotel needs a quality refurb in many places. Reception and restaurant staff were friendly and polite. Peking was good

Read More
Read Less

Colchester

By

June 21, 2017

club

Tired hotel. Not very good breakfast. Needs to be updated better hotels for the price.

Read More
Read Less

Good overall

By

June 21, 2017

club

Pleasantly pleased with stay and fulfilled our needs.
The only slight gripe was the peeling paint in the shower area and the area could have been cleaned better in my opinion but nothing that would put me off staying here.

Read More
Read Less

wonderful staff

By

June 18, 2017

club

First time in a Holiday Inn only problem i found was no lift as wife has copd, told if next time i request a ground floor will get one

Read More
Read Less

Newly refurbished, but needs some details attending to.

By

June 18, 2017

club

A comfortable hotel, but cost cutting is starting to become apparent. No tissues in bathroom, anymore and no complimentary lotions as standard. Bathroom converted to shower room of high standard, but parts of the room were poorly finished. When the reception desk was advised that the shower cubicle could become slippery and there were no grab rails, they couldn't have been less interested. With the quality of competitors in the area, the pricing is on the high side, but a very nice hotel with excellent facilities.

Read More
Read Less

Worst breakfast experience ever

By

June 14, 2017

We have spent two nights at this hotel and we were shocked by the staffs' unprofessional handling of client requests.

First of all, when we checked in we were asked if we would like to add breakfast – we said yes.

When we went down to have breakfast they could not find our name on the list but they made a phone call to the reception and it was sorted. We ordered a coffee and a tea and after waiting for 10 minutes we were told that unfortunately they run out of coffee. We were not offered any alternatives. How can a hotel run out of coffee??? I have asked one of the breakfast staff for an instant coffee that we have received. Later on our neighbouring tables were also asking for coffee and for some miraculous reason they immediately were served and they found coffee.

The next morning they were neither able to find our name on the list and asked us to wait. We were waiting for approximately 10 minutes once we were informed that breakfast has not been added to our room by mistake. They have asked us to go to the reception and purchase a coupon. We have refused to do this since they were able to overcome the same problem the day before with a single phone call. Eventually we have gone to the reception desk to discuss the matter and they informed us that we have to buy a coupon to have breakfast for £10 each and asked for our credit card. This is when we got absolutely annoyed and decided to skip the breakfast. The reason for this is that upon check in we were asked if we want to have our credit card charged by £100 for any incurring costs but still they wanted us to go up to our room for our card. In addition to this we were told upon check in that breakfast cots £15 per room. What made me really angry is how they approached the whole situation and instead of trying to find a convenient quick solution through their unprofessional attitude they made things even worse.

Added to these, our room was not cleaned. This is not a big problem since we only stayed two nights but another mistake from the hotel staff.

The painting was also coming off in places in the bathroom and the room did not contain any hair drier.

The hotel had a pleasant location and look and feel with nice SPA facilities. Unfortunately the rowing machines in the gym were in so awful shape that we were not able to use those. I would suggest to conduct some maintenance on those.

Overall we definitely do not want to come back to this hotel because our rest was highly disturbed by the unprofessional attitude of hotel staff.

Read More
Read Less

Short stay holiday inn

By

June 10, 2017

club

Great hotel and surroundings very clean and nicely decorated.Very friendly and helpful staff .Bredriom clean and well presented .Food great and lovely dining room and bar area .Boys used the pool and had great fun .Overall very pleasant stay no complaints will return

Read More
Read Less

Warm and proffesional Staff

By

June 09, 2017

club

My stay at the Holiday Inn was made better by the all of the staff who works there. Polite, courteous, professional, always smiling and ready to help. The room is very spacious and comfortable and has everything you need for an overnight stay.

Read More
Read Less

Überraschung

By

June 08, 2017

club

Nach unserem Aufenthalt im letzten Jahr hatten wir ein anderes Zimmer erwaartet und waren etwas enttäuscht wie das Zimmer diese Jahr aussah: nicht so neu und geräumig. Dazu kommt, dass die Familienzimmer im ersten Stock liegen. Da es keinen Aufzug gibt, ist dies sehr unbequem.
Unschön war auch, dass wir unter unserem Frühstückstisch Pommes Frites und eine Gabel fanden. Schade, wir hatten im letzten Jahr einen besseren Eindruck.

Read More
Read Less

bedrooms

By

June 08, 2017

Beds comfortable, train noise problem on upper floor in some rooms.
Bar area and girls behind bar very attentive
Breakfast very good
Overall good stay
Thank you

Read More
Read Less