Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 290 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fitness room The fitness room lacked supplies to wipe down the equipment and there were no towels. Also the fitness was not cleaned with trash on the floors. May 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Portland Me Awesome view...needs updated beds....shower and drains needed unclogging. ..old carpet....nice locale....just needs a facelift May 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Greast place to stay Excellent hotel, we were very comfortable and the service was great. The place was very clean and we loved the shuttle. May 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient hotel in downtown Portland Downtown Portland is a happening place, and this Holiday Inn was a convenient place to say....and more reasonably priced than other Downtown spots. The good news is that this place has convenient and reasonable parking (which is helpful, because the meter maids are out in force in Portland). Like most Holiday Inns, this place kind of sterile. But the rooms clean, staff friendly and helpful (in providing directions and restaurant suggestions). May 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great restaurant greeting and service 5/5 for restaurant in the hotel 1/5 for bar in the hotel 2/5 for sound in the hotel May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and view Had a great stay , nice room with view, close to everything, great staff. Still waiting for bonus points at check in to be put to my account, but staff is taking care of it. Great Hotel. May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We were here for 3 nights-what a great stay! Everyone was so friendly and helpful- from front desk to cleaning staff. Comfy beds and very clean room. GREAT location- in between downtown and Old Port. May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location and Affordable Hotel Hotel Staff was extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations, transportation information and other highlights of the downtown area. The guest room was comfortable although a little small, we were able to get a room with a view of the bay, which was awesome. May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and value The hotel was conveniently located across from the Civic Center where my daughters graduation was held. The hotel made it very convenient for me to allow me to leave my car in the garage after i checked out while i was attended the ceremony. in addition, due to inclement weather, they provided shuttle service to the venue. my room was perfect. Clean and with all the amenities i needed. i loved my shower and there was plenty of hot water. the hotel lounge was open for happy hour, provided popcorn and some buffet food for a light snack - overall it was an exceptional value and a pleasant experience. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome place to stay This is in a great location. Can walk to the water and many many places to eat. The shuttle is great to if you walk to eat and then want to be picked up, just call and they come and get you. Would stay there again. May 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Hair Dryer didn't work....called the Front Desk and one was delivered within 10 min. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn By The Bay Portland ME Wonderful place to stay! Rooms very clean, roomy and comfortable. Excellent location within walking distance to downtown shops and old port taverns and entertainment. If you did not want to walk or had older visitors the hotel shuttle driver was unbelievable accommodating and friendly. Would def recommend this hotel and would stay here again. Great experience! May 15, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This hotel was the worst part of my wedding weekend I feel I must express my utter dissatisfaction with the staff and service at this hotel. I selected the hotel because it was within a reasonable price range for downtown Portland, and I knew that there would be some compromises for the cost, so this review is not about that. This review is about the fact that every single person that I interacted with at your hotel was disagreeable, uncooperative, rude, unwilling to attempt to do their job correctly, or just plain incompetent. The problems with this hotel started when my mother booked a block of rooms for myself (bride) and the wedding party. After working with people in the "group sales" office, my mother was provided with a list of rooms that did not reflect her request(s) - and contained duplicate and incorrect information. After several calls, she was assured that everything was "fixed" and that all of the people just needed to call in with cards to reserve their rooms. After several weeks, I called to check on whom had called in (so I could remind anyone that had not yet) and I was told that everyone had done it except for one person. Turns out, that was entirely wrong. The person they said hadn't done it was already pre-paid by my mom when she made the original reservation, and in, fact, 4 others had not yet called in. This lead me to not prompt them (thinking they had already completed the task) and think that all was well. That was, until my mom called back to ask the same question and she was told that no one but herself had called in with a credit card. This round-and-around continued for weeks, and was finally resolved by a manager, at least as far as we knew. When I went to check into the hotel myself, the person behind the desk asked me what name the room was under. I gave her my last name. She said she had no room under that name. I gave her my husband-to-be's last name. She again, said she had no room under that name. In desperation, I gave her my mom's last name (as she was the one that blocked the rooms) and was told that there were no rooms booked under that name and, "We do not have a room for you." No apology, no trying to look anything up, no double checking, no asking me how to spell the names. When I told her I was the bride for a book of rooms that was reserved she again said, "Sorry, but you are not in here." At this point, exasperated, I called my mom from my cell phone, since the front desk person I was working with would not call her for me (my mother was in her room and had already checked in earlier in the day). My mom returned to the front desk, with confirmation number(s) in hand for the block of rooms reserved and for my room in particular. The room was, in fact, listed under both my own and my fiancee's name, but since she never bothered to ask me how to spell it, she couldn't find it. The woman at the desk then asked for a credit card for the room - to which my mom had to point out that the room had already been secured with HER card, and that the documentation was there. The woman then addressed me by the wrong first name - indicating that she was in the process of checking me into my fiancee's sister's room (same last name) by mistake. Again, my mom pointed at the list in font of the woman that included confirmation numbers and requested that she please look up the room by the number itself, since the three previous attempts by name had been completely unsuccessful. I was then, after this unnecessary interaction, given my room keys and was able to check in. The next morning, (day of the wedding) I met my bridesmaids downstairs in the in-hotel restaurant for breakfast. There were approximately 8 other people in the restaurant before the 5 of us arrived. We were seated, and ordered from the menu at 8:00am. Two bridesmaids ordered the lobster benedict, myself and another bridesmaid ordered pancakes, and a third ordered another breakfast of similar composition, and a bowl of fruit. After 43 minutes, our food arrived. I would not have been upset about this time if not for the fact that the other 10 people in the restaurant were mostly eating from the buffet, and already had food, so I can't imagine what could have caused a 43 minute time to get our food. I was prepared to let this go until the food arrived. The two that ordered the lobster benedict recieved plain benedicts, and the person that ordered the fruit bowl got only a side of fruit (consisting of 3 pieces). Not having time, now, to re-order the lobster benedicts, the bridesmaids remained disappointed with their meals. We alerted our server to the mistake, who shrugged and said "I don't know how that happened," and "It's my first day." After hurriedly consuming our meals, we asked for the check so that we could remain on schedule for the day. However, when the check arrived, there was a difference in price from the regular benedicts (listed as $9.99 on the menu) to what they were charged ($11.99). Thinking that they had been charged for the lobster version that they ordered, but did not receive, we flagged down the waitress who argued that the benedicts were, in fact, $11.99. We obtained a menu from a nearby table and pointed out that she was incorrect. A manager came over to look at the check and said it was because the girls had "added bacon as a side". Now, we were all asked by our waitress if we wanted sausages or bacon - as sides - because they were the standard sides. So they were charged an extra $2 for bacon that they thought was included - obviously an error on the new server's part. The manager blamed the new employee, and took our checks. The check was taken from us and they then split it, returning it to us. They said they took 10% off the bill for the inconvenience. However, when we got the split checks, they were still wrong. I was given two checks myself - one with orange juice and hash browns, the other with orange juice and pancakes. This means I was charged for two orange juices - so that remained incorrect. We then had to flag the waitress again to correct the newly introduced error. We left angry and disappointed - but vowed to continue the happy day without letting it get to us. I returned to my room, and a few minutes later got a call from the front desk. Thinking that it might be a courtesy call to ask me about what happened at breakfast, I answered it. The woman at the desk asked me if I had just had breakfast downstairs charged to my room. I told her that I had. She then said that there was no credit card affiliated with the room, and that I'd have to provide one to charge the breakfast to. I reminded her that, upon check in, we told her exactly what card to charge - the same card that was used to book the room. She then responded by saying "Well, there's no note in here to indicate that." I told her that it was discussed upon check in and that she should use the card on file. She eventually agreed and hung up. On the morning after the wedding, at 6:55am, the fire alarm started making a chirping noise, indicating that its battery needed to be replaced. Thinking I could sleep through it (it was the night after my wedding after all) I waited until about 7:30 to call someone to take care of it. I got dressed, as did my husband, and we called the front desk. We told them that there was a smoke detector needing a new battery and could they please send someone up to change it. 10 minutes passed, and I got another phone call. The front desk said there was a 'Do Not Disturb' tag on my door and did I still want maintenance to come up? I told her, yes, I forgot that I had put it there (since I was a bit groggy) and please send him up with a battery. 10 minutes later, a maintenance man came up. He looked at the chirping alarm and removed its battery cover. He then told us he'd be right back because he needed to get a battery. I don't know how we could have been clearer that a battery should have come with him in the first place, but I was too tired to mention it. Another 10 minutes later, and he replaced the battery and left. Now close to 8am, there was no going back to sleep. Not really how I wanted to spend my first morning as husband and wife, but I was willing to let it go. At 10am, I called down to the front desk to ask for a late checkout. I planned to have brunch with my family and wanted to make sure I'd have time to clean out the room before I needed to check out. The front desk person said, "Oh, I think we already have you as a late checkout." I asked her to check. "Oh, no wait," she said, "I was thinking of another room. Would you like late check out?" I replied, "Yes." She said I could have late checkout at 1pm (as opposed to noon). I agreed and hung up. Upon returning from brunch (at about 12:15) I went back up to my room to find my card had been deactivated. I returned all the way to the front desk and had to ask for the key to be reactivated, because I had called for a late checkout. I am a professional, and I was as gracious as I could be in each of these interactions. But I continue to be struck by the fact that everyone I dealt with - the group sales people, front desk staff, maintenance people, serving staff in the restaurant are in serious need of retraining or an attitude check. At no point did I feel like they cared about me as a guest, or cared that I had just brought them a book of business for my event, or even cared enough about life in general to attempt to feign being nice or competent. I've never had such a negative experience with service at a hotel and I can safely say I will never, ever, recommend that hotel to anyone ever again. I've only included the stories that happened to me personally, but every wedding guest that stayed there has more. With the amount of hotels being built or refurbished in this town, I hope that this ones's days are numbered, because it doesn't deserve to continue operating with such terrible people. May 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Standard room. Nothing special. Desk staff helpful and efficient. They offered to upgrade my room which is very nice, but I could not accept this time. That was appreciated. Got to room and went to put food in fridge and found two pizza boxes in fridge? how well did they clean room? Bartender on duty from 5pm until 8pm was slow, surly and in the wrong business. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Fine hotel.. I would definitely stay there again. The room and service was great. May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the few (only?) major hotels downtown with shuttle service Great location/great staff/great view - would be perfect if they put the airline crews distant from regular guests as their hours of arriving/departing make for erratic sleeping. Have stayed twice, will stay again. May 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend I would rate this hotel higher if I had the chanceto spend more time. We did not arrive until after 9:00 and thus was unable to enjoy the ammenities provided or browse the surrounding area. The staff was very nice and professional. May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect in Portland Wonderful hotel. Convenient to Old Port. You can walk anywhere safely. Plenty to see, do and eat. We will plan a return visit to Portland perhaps in the fall. May 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Needs some improvement We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Wanted to point out a few things that could have made our stay better. Pool was dirty. Looked like dirt in the bottom of it. Dirty towels were everywhere and there were also large puddles of water everywhere. Although we really wanted to swim, based on the overall lack cleanliness, we opted not to. We took the breakfast option. We were offered the buffet or the menu with our 20.00 voucher. We opted for the menu. We were not told that the "coffee and orange juice" would be OVER 8.00 if we ordered off the menu. If we knew that we would have opted for the buffet at 12.00 pp which included the coffee and orange juice. Our breakfast bill was 36.00 which was much more than we anticipated for breakfast. Next time would step out for breakfast. We received the checkout statement under our door in the a.m. On the instructions it said leave the keys in the room. Big trouble with that is you need the key to get out of the parking garage. We had two cars behind us and all had to backup so that we could get out of the line to run back in to the front desk and get another key to get out of the paid garage. Hotel guests should be informed to hold onto their key until they exit the parking garage. This could have caused an accident with all of us having to backup. May 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Review On arrival, I was surprised to find $10 per night for parking The AAA guide book specifically stated that this was the only hotel in the area with free parking May 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by If your a smoker your fine This Hotel is the only hotel i have stayed in that had no options for none smokers available I had to stay in a room that smelt like a stale ashtray, and made my nights stay very uncomfortable all night with very little sleep My clothes smelt the next day of stale smoke even my suitcase and clothes smelt inside when the case was left open for a very short time May 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bed was very comfortable--loved the sheets!! Very enjoyable stay and enjoyed the Art Museum right across the street. May 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Love Portland I love visiting Portland and Holiday Inn by the Bay is a wonderful hotel. It is located in town with a wonderful view of the harbor. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We have used the park and fly package often and it is nice not worrying about my car while on vacation. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location in a Great City We stayed in Portland for a couple nights in late April. The location of the hotel can't be beat - and be sure to pony up the extra few dollars for the bay view room. You can walk to all the shops and restaurants in the Old Port area and after a day of walking it is nice to get back to the room and relax and enjoy the view. Staff is friendly and efficient, rooms are nicely appointed and clean. May 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel I had a nice corner room with a great view of the bay. Appreciated the upgrade. The hotel is a bit removed from the shopping in the Arts area and the waterfront, but the hotel shuttle is usually available to take you down that way. May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best View in Portland As always we enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn by the Bay. The rooms are very nice and clean and you can't beat the view. Parking is right there at the hotel and you are in a great location near everything in the middle of the Old Port. May 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by uncomfortable beds Staff with no personality, even the children woke up with hurt backs from beds. May 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very Disappointed For the last ten years or so I have loved this hotel. Things change. After my stay in April 2013 the parking charge was added. They no longer welcome club members with their hospitality bag. Also, they no longer give the free drink cards for each night of stay for members. Sounds like they don't want my business. May 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Delightful experience! The hotel was a treat a usual. This was our third stay with you and between the facility and your staff....it was a great experience! May 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay - Poor Internet Overall this is an excellent choice if you do not rely on internet connection. Very close to the great food in Portland. April 29, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>