Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
90%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 479 reviews
90%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

479reviews

  • 5 Stars
    258
  • 4 Stars
    146
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    20

Great stay, courteous staff, clean room

By

16 January 2017

Courteous staff on arrival and at breakfast

Clean room, bathroom was spotless
Nice breakfast

Read More
Read Less

Excellent customer service

By

16 January 2017

club

Excellent customer service from Sarah and Julie personnel on duty, would readily recommend the hotel to anyone. Bed in the room needs replacing as the only criticism. Thanks you

Read More
Read Less

Not the best

By

16 January 2017

club

Emergency booking that I will not be doing again dispute is currently out for review and I will not give details however I would look closely at reviews of previous guests before booking. Hotel needs a refurb and a good clean.

Read More
Read Less

good hotel

By

13 January 2017

Great staff. Good location. Great value as always. I would always recommend this hotel.

Read More
Read Less

friendly

By

05 January 2017

club

do not come after hours the night person is a heavy sleeper and you stand outside for a long time

Read More
Read Less

Dog friendly

By

04 January 2017

club

As we were visiting relatives on New years day / bank holiday we booked into this hotel as we could bring our dog. This was the first time our dog, who was 5 months old had stayed in a hotel. She was made very welcome by staff (and other residents). This really helped to know that staff are happy to have dogs staying. The downside was that we were given an upstairs room, and our dog is too young to use stairs and not too happy about the lift. On check out - we mentioned that we were surprized we had an upstairs room and they happened to say we should have had a ground floor room with a dog. I only mention this to advise anyone travelling with a dog, to ask for a ground floor room.
Room was comfortable, well equipped for an overnight stay. Breakfast was fine.

Read More
Read Less

Christmas stay, great service

By

03 January 2017

club

Very friendly and efficient Staff, at reception. Very friendly
helpful, and efficient Staff, at breakfast.

Posted byHotelStaff
06 January 2017
Dear Choir Boy, Thank you for a great 5 star review, i am pleased to see you found the team friendly and efficient. Kind regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less

great base

By

31 December 2016

club

great stay recommend it 100% . the staff were friendly and had good local knowledge. there is a parkrun round the corner .

Posted byHotelStaff
06 January 2017
Dear snowy68, Thank you for writing this lovely 5 star review, i am pleased to see you found the team friendly and that you would recommend us. Kind regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less

Housekeeping

By

15 December 2016

club

The problem appears to be that housekeepingt is now done by outside contractors.

Reception staff seem unable to tell the Housekeepers what to do and probably have to go through the Contractors office. This is the usual problem when work is contracted out.

Employ your own staff and then there would be no problems. We have never had this problem before when staying at the Braintree.

Posted byHotelStaff
21 December 2016
Dear 'jackie944' Thank you for rating your stay with us 3 stars. I apologize for a slip in our housekeeping teams standards impacting your stay. There has been no change in the company used for this service since your last stays. Your comments have been passed on to the housekeeping manager or immediate action. I do hope you will return to us again soon so we can redeem our good name with yourself. Kind regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less

Old, shabby in need of serious clean and revamp!!!

By

14 December 2016

Reception and night staff BRILLIANT! lovely people however the hotel is old, shabby and has serious hygiene issues!!!! I had to clean the bathroom and all I can say is I wont be staying again!
Many years ago I had a standard for hotel rooms, Bare foot, socks on, socks and shoes, this was absolutely a socks and shoes!!!!!

Posted byHotelStaff
21 December 2016
Dear 'HelenRubbermaid' Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. Please be assured that the cleanliness you experienced is most certainly not our usual standard, in this area we are usually rated extremely highly.I have raised your comments with the housekeeping team and manager to ensure no other guest is faced with such poor standards. Kind regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less

Perfect Weekend

By

13 December 2016

club

I stayed the whole weekend, this was a first time for my pooch. The staff were very helpful, there is a huge country park just a mile away. The perfect weekend for relaxing.

Posted byHotelStaff
21 December 2016
Dear 'Scatty71' Thank you for rating your stay with us 5 stars. I am pleased to see you and your pooch had a relaxing weekend. Kind regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less

good service

By

13 December 2016

club

need to do something about noise levels out side rooms

Posted byHotelStaff
21 December 2016
Dear 'kurji' Thank you for rating your stay with us 4 stars. I am sorry to see you were disturbed by outside noise levels, please do request a quiet room should you stay again. Kind regards Stefanie
Read More
Read Less