Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
89%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 825 reviews
89%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

825reviews

  • 5 Stars
    396
  • 4 Stars
    282
  • 3 Stars
    84
  • 2 Stars
    41
  • 1 Stars
    22

Good night at Chester HI

By

23 March 2017

Good value, good night, newly refurbished , friendly staff

Read More
Read Less

Lovely setting

By

23 March 2017

If your lucky to get a room overlooking the racecourse and wake up on a spring day with blue skies it is the perfect start to your day, The hotel can be busy and Chester is quite a lively place so reception and bar are open all hours. Noise in room is not a problem, heating is controlled in the room so switch off before bed and get a good nights sleep. Only downside is being an express hotel bar selection is limited and breakfast is a buffet style with limited choice but still catering for hot and cold food so should still meet most peoples needs.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent location

By

20 March 2017

club

Stayed here for a long weekend. Excellent location, less than a ten minute walk to the centre of Chester for shops, bars, eateries etc. perfect for the racecourse as right on the doorstep with a couple of great pub restaurants within a two minute walk. Free ample parking on site which is a real bonus. Newly refurbished rooms, all amenities, rooms clean and comfortable, great nights sleep. friendly and informative staff. Good selection of breakfast foods including fruits, pastries and hot foods although not full english. Bar service excellent, even help with orders for takeaway.

Read More
Read Less

Good friendly service

By

19 March 2017

club

Had a good night's sleep at this well located hotel. Easy to walk into town and free car parking.

Read More
Read Less

Pity about the lift

By

12 March 2017

I have stayed at this hotel before. A good location in the city centre and right on the racecourse. I arrived late on a Sunday evening and although I was promptly attended to, I got the impression that I was interrupting a social conversation between two male members of staff. I was told my room on the third floor and asked if I had stopped before. I stated yes and knew how to find room. What I did not know was when I went through to the lift area that the lift was out of order. This meant I had to climb 3 flights of stairs. Although capable of climbing stairs, surely if there is a problem with the lift 2 things should have happened. 1) guests put on lower floors, the hotel was nowhere near full. 2) Tell guests on check in that lift is not working. A printed notice stuck next to left is not personal service.

Read More
Read Less

Good service, but breakfast could be better.

By

11 March 2017

club

Overall, I was impressed by the professional service offered by front desk and all staff encountered.

Room was adequate for an overnight stay, clean and tidy.

Disappointed that bacon was not offered at the breakfast buffet - this a staple in most hotel chains.

Read More
Read Less

Mini Break

By

09 March 2017

club

Nice hotel for mini break , good value and well positioned in Chester to get round , would be fantastic on a sunny race day !

Read More
Read Less

enjoyable stay

By

03 March 2017

club

Free parking, close to city centre and friendly staff. Room was clean, bathroom has a great shower. Shame breakfast doesn't have bacon, but 2 types of sausages was an ok compromise. Good value stay and 5 mins from centre.

Read More
Read Less

Great stay.

By

01 March 2017

club

Super location. Comfortable hotel with loads of perking.

Read More
Read Less

Recent stay at HI Express Chester

By

28 February 2017

Once again the staff were courteous and accommodating the rooms were comfortable and met all our needs. The breakfast was varied and freshly prepared. Overall a very comfortable stay and would definitely stay again.

Posted byHotelStaff
28 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. We are very lucky to be located just a five minute walk from the city centre for our guests to explore the wonderful city of Chester. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast sourced with award winning sausages, you will be pleased to hear that bacon will be added as part of the brand standards breakfast later in the year. I am also pleased to hear that you experienced our high standards of customer service and will be sure to pass these comments on to the team, who I am sure will be delighted Once again thank you for your recent review and we hope to welcome you back soon to experience a newly refurbished room with new bed once again. Kind regards Lucy Hammond Revenue and Sales Executive
Read More
Read Less

Sort Breakfast out!

By

27 February 2017

club

Overall a good business hotel but breakfast choice needs sorting!
What there is the quality is ok but BACON and fried or poached eggs needs to be a choice

Posted byHotelStaff
28 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. We are very lucky to be located just a five minute walk from the city centre for our guests to explore the wonderful city of Chester. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast sourced with award winning sausages, you will be pleased to hear that bacon will be added as part of the brand standards breakfast later in the year. Once again thank you for your recent review and we hope to welcome you back soon to experience a newly refurbished room with new bed once again. Kind regards Lucy Hammond Revenue and Sales Executive
Read More
Read Less

Chester Race Course

By

26 February 2017

Very good location, excellent staff and well appointed

Posted byHotelStaff
28 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. We are very lucky to be located just a five minute walk from the city centre for our guests to explore the wonderful city of Chester. I am pleased to hear that you experienced our high standards of customer service and will be sure to pass these comments on to the team, who I am sure will be delighted Once again thank you for your recent review and we hope to welcome you back soon to experience a newly refurbished room with new bed once again. Kind regards Lucy Hammond Revenue and Sales Executive
Posted byHotelStaff
28 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. We are very lucky to be located just a five minute walk from the city centre for our guests to explore the wonderful city of Chester. I am pleased to hear that you experienced our high standards of customer service and will be sure to pass these comments on to the team, who I am sure will be delighted Once again thank you for your recent review and we hope to welcome you back soon to experience a newly refurbished room with new bed once again. Kind regards Lucy Hammond Revenue and Sales Executive
Read More
Read Less