Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
89%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 776 reviews
89%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

776reviews

  • 5 Stars
    368
  • 4 Stars
    267
  • 3 Stars
    79
  • 2 Stars
    40
  • 1 Stars
    22

Hard Bed

By

15 January 2017

club

We have stayed in other Holiday inns without any complaints but at this one the bed was like a plank and if we had have booked for two nights would have moved. We were told that the room had just been updated and it was a new bed.
The breakfast food layout was poor the cereals being placed between the hot food and the toast m/c and half an hour before the end of the breakfast serving times some items were not available and the guests were told there was no more coming.

Read More
Read Less

Great value for a nights stay in Chester.

By

12 January 2017

The service we received was very good and very friendly. The room was well decorated clean and comfortable the hanging space and number of drawers was limited but we were only there for two nights so this wasn't an issue. The hotel is a short walk (literally 5 minutes) from the centre of Chester there is also free on site parking which in Chester is a big plus.
We didn't eat in the hotel other than breakfast, this was advertised as continental but included hot food such as scrambled eggs, sausages, beans (sorry no bacon) and was very good.
There are no arm chairs to relax in and no log fires to snooze in front of but as a base to use for getting around chester it was great.
Would I stay again yes most definitely.

Read More
Read Less

Breakfast Menu

By

12 January 2017

Would like to see more choice on the hot breakfast menu.

Read More
Read Less

more work nended...

By

10 January 2017

pillows (all 4) and quilt very poor, quilt not big enough just reached edge of bed...
Heating broken, knob had melted preventing the use of the heater!!
Reception and bar staff great, Breakfast in line with all Holiday Inn Express standards

Read More
Read Less

good trip

By

10 January 2017

Great service and help for family member in wheelchair - very much apprciated good for you Chester H Inn!±

Read More
Read Less

Relaxing stay

By

09 January 2017

platinumelite

Excellent refurbished rooms. Good wifi. Parking and breakfast both included in the price

Read More
Read Less

First room damp - second room far better

By

07 January 2017

club

No record of our booking on arrival - hotel was full..so took some time to resolve. Then allocated a room with overpowering smell of damp from bathroom. When space was available we were moved to another room - but clearly not good enough.
Have stayed here before and really enjoyed our stay - but obviously the re-furbishment program is over due - request a room on the 3rd floor where work has been completed.
Free breakfast is fine for the first couple of days - but doesn't change so is just average.
Free hot beverages during stay is a bonus - as long as the machines are working!
Staff work hard - but hotel needs to be updated. Will wait until hotel is updated fully before staying again. Shame as its in a great location with free parking and wi-fi which works well.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent venue

By

02 January 2017

club

Great location near to all the shops and pub's. Excellent staff nice new bedrooms with flat screen Tv. Nice Greek restaurant in Chester.

Read More
Read Less

close to town

By

01 January 2017

club

hotel was near town a couple of mins walk about 20mins from train station.check in was fast and room was ready even though we arrived early. The room was freezing on arrival even though heating was on we found an extra heater under table during the evening which needed to be left on the whole time as it was so cold. Room itself was clean but needed a few repairs. Breakfast was very busy our whole stay and didnt have much for a cooked breakfast but what they had was very nice. Overall we enjoyed our stay and hope to return again.

Read More
Read Less

Party stay

By

01 January 2017

club

Stayed at Chester racecourse holiday inn, for my xmas party. Good accommodation at excellent price for a city centre venue. It could be better choice for breakfast as it was limited and the cooked wasn't very appetising.

Good overall though

Read More
Read Less

Better nights sleep on a cobblestone beach

By

01 January 2017

club

This has to be the worst mattress I've ever slept on. When I brought it to the attention of the staff they were very dismissive and just said they'd let house keeping know.

Posted byCustomerCare
13 January 2017
Dear RealRodders, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us and I absolutely regret to learn about your dismay towards the quality of mattress in the room you have stayed at, which may have fallen below your expectations. We take comments such as these very seriously so I have sent you a private message to discuss this matter further. Again, thank you for the extent of your patience and understanding. We value you as an IHG Rewards Club member. Sincerely, Alvin M. Case Manager IHGService
Read More
Read Less

Great location and free parking

By

01 January 2017

We arrived at the hotel at around noon and was checked-in before the normal hours. Parking was free and just outside the hotel. The hotel was next to the racecourse with beautiful scenery and it was very near the city centre and River Dee. My family enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would like to stay again next time we visit Chester or as a transit to North Wales.

Read More
Read Less