Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Detroit Downtown

1020 Washington Boulevard , Detroit, Michigan 48226

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
70%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.7

based on 1682 reviews
70%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1682reviews

  • 5 Stars
    680
  • 4 Stars
    401
  • 3 Stars
    214
  • 2 Stars
    187
  • 1 Stars
    200

Not ready for use

By

21 March 2020

Hotel should not be open during ongoing renovation. Holiday Inn brand badly tarnished by this property’s condition. We we misled by sales staff as to conditions on the property

Read More
Read Less

Avoid at all cost

By

15 March 2020

They failed to recognize me as a (spire elite) rewards member. We were made to valet park, even though there's a parking lot right across the street. Wait time for the elevators were between 14 to 25 minutes every time we used them. The elevators were so small only 6 people could fit in one, especially if they had luggage. We travel with a medium size service dog who is trained to alert a medical condition. We had to get on separate lifts a couple of times to ensure the dog wasn’t injured. My wife even had to take the stairs a couple of times. Did I mention we were on the 15th floor? My wife accidentally got on the service elevator and was scolded by housekeeping staff when she got down to the main floor. They pointed out the “employee only” sign next to it. She got on at the 15th floor, where there was no such sign. On the way back up the elevator stopped on the 9th floor. Only one side of the elevator door opened, leaving a very narrow passage and the car didn’t line up with the floor. The lady waiting to get on said she would go down a floor and try to get on the elevator there. Everyone in the elevator at that time wondered if it was even safe to use! The only ice maker was on the 17th floor and wasn’t operating correctly. Pressing the button for 10 straight minutes produced only grinding noises and 2 cups of ice. The next morning, we went to the second floor for breakfast. Being under construction They only had a small meeting room to accommodate everyone in the hotel for breakfast. It was nearly impossible to get anything to eat. There was nowhere to sit, and staff had problems keeping up with refilling food. Thankfully, we at least could get coffee. We decided to check out and find somewhere else to eat.
The final straw was when we had to wait an hour for them to get our car out of valet parking. No one else had to wait that long, just us. Do not book anyone
in this hotel until it is completely finished, including upgrades to the elevators, retraining of staff and major improvements to their inadequate breakfast area and valet parking.

All in all, it definitely was not a “Spire Elite” experience. We were looking forward to a fun, relaxing weekend and instead were frustrated and outraged.
We sent this in email form to the manager of the hotel and got no response whatsoever. THEY DON"T CARE!

Read More
Read Less

Construction Nightmare

By

12 March 2020

When my stay was booked I was assured that the construction would not disrupt my stay... that did not happen. The water was turned off multiple times for longer than originally told, the construction was extremely loud, the elevators were unreliable, one of the security guards was consistently under the influence of alcohol, and my room was only serviced once throughout my 2 week stay. I do not recommend this property until it's construction is over.

Read More
Read Less

Updating!

By

10 March 2020

club

It was a nice stay, but they were remodeling at the time so things were a little out of place and hard to get to.

Read More
Read Less

Review

By

09 March 2020

Horrible stay. I've already stated what happened. I will not repeat myself.

Read More
Read Less

Reservations

By

09 March 2020

I booked six rooms. One person could not attend because of personal reasons. I did not know that there was a seven day cancellation policy. The reservation did not say that. Since it was in a block of rooms, the only person That could cancel the room was Pat in sales. I tried calling the front desk and called pat several times but could not get the room cancelled. So then She charged me one night on the room that I cancelled a few days before. Not a happy camper.
Here is a picture of the confirmation.

Read More
Read Less

Newly remodeled

By

08 March 2020

platinumelite

we've stayed here for many years. was very impressed by the new look of the lobby until we figured out that was the bar restaurant that we always went to. we found out that the hotel will change over to a new hotel in may which will have no breakfast and will offer a restaurant, which I am going to assume that will mean no free breakfast. the carpet that they have installed is just an joke. looks like it's all worn out. I just don't understand why they would do this. The bathroom door provides NO privacy. Why in the world would they put a frosted glass in the bathroom. you totally can see the person in there and when sharing the room with someone, it's very horrible. we used a bed sheet for cover up the door. I loved the staff and the new beds. but big fail on the design. And really miss the bar and grill it was so reasonable.

Read More
Read Less

Nothing

By

07 March 2020

club

It was way busy and staff seemed tired, lots of things didn’t work

Read More
Read Less

Don't plan on sleeping

By

05 March 2020

Hotel is under construction. Workers are incredibly loud all morning.

Read More
Read Less

No bedding and under renovations

By

04 March 2020

platinumelite

Hotel under renovations was not advised when booking. Still had to pay full price.
Charged incorrect price from reservation confirmation.
Valet parking was full.
Hotel room floor not swept.
No blankets or duvet - told there were no more available.
Telephones did not work.
One set of towels provided for multiple people told there were no more available
IHG member but was not greeted or offered anything.
Booked two rooms asked for adjoining or side by side - ended up on the same floor but on opposite ends of the hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Ok for the price

By

04 March 2020

club

Ok hotel with good location located at the city center, clean

Read More
Read Less

reconstruction problems

By

03 March 2020

no phone--no ice on floor--no vending machines-this was handled by customer relations on answering my fax about problems

Read More
Read Less