Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
95%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 760 reviews
95%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

760reviews

  • 5 Stars
    475
  • 4 Stars
    213
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    8

Pretty good overall.

By

15 January 2017

club

No parking. Draughty lounge bar area. Otherwise very good service and fair value for money.

Read More
Read Less

Leisure trip

By

14 January 2017

club

Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Good range of breakfast choice. Free WiFi was very useful when planning our next day's visits and checking weather, etc. We also used the storage room on our checkout day and didn't have to carry our bags around with us. We have stayed here before and the experience was just as good the second time around.

Read More
Read Less

Great stay in Edinburgh

By

11 January 2017

club

Hotel on the Royal Mile right in the heart of Edinburgh was perfect for an overnight stay with my family. Excellent location for sightseeing or shopping.
Hotel was clean, warm and a lovely sized room, even with he sofa bed extended and 4 of us in the room.
Staff were friendly and helpful. It was quiet location and we all had a great nights sleep with no disturbances.
Breakfast was ok and enough to start the day, however could be improved with more hot choice options.

Posted byHotelStaff
14 January 2017
Dear CLN4083, Thank you for your 5 star review and staying with us We are in a great location to see the city and you can walk to most attractions. Nice to hear you were comfortable and had a good rest a night. We are looking at changes for breakfast and hope this will improve for all guests.
Read More
Read Less

great hotel

By

08 January 2017

club

the hotel location is great and easy to access other historical sites and easy to walk to the shops and other areas.

Read More
Read Less

Super convenient

By

07 January 2017

club

Spectacular location. Within walking distance of so much to visit. Friendly. Good breakfast. Comfortable room for 3 all set up with pull out bed already done.

Read More
Read Less

Todo bien

By

06 January 2017

club

La estancia fue buena, el personal de la recepción muy amable . Muy bien situado cerca de todo

Posted byHotelStaff
13 January 2017
Dear Monipiti1971 many thank for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us here in the heart of the Old Town of Edinburgh and that our team gave you a warm welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read More
Read Less

ottima posizione

By

03 January 2017

club

l'hotel si trava in una posizione eccellente per le visite a piedi della città. Personale cordiale

Posted byHotelStaff
05 January 2017
Dear elafor, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express – Edinburgh Royal Mile. The hotels location is brilliant. We are just off the Royal Mile itself and found on the Old Cowgate. Everything is in a 10/20 minute walk with the Castle and the Palace close by. The New Town is still in walking distance and you can get the Hop on Hop off bus close to the hotel as well. Again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read More
Read Less

Great place, close to city, but not great place to stay longer

By

31 December 2016

The kettle in the room is of poor plastic quality and not maintained well. Breakfast is not good, having too sweet concentrated apple juice and coffee is from machine which use milk powder. No fresh filter coffee with milk :-(.

Posted byHotelStaff
05 January 2017
Dear Gopib, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express – Edinburgh Royal Mile. Your feedback is very much appreciated in helping us improve our service. I will certainly get our housekeeping and maintenance team to in to the kettle in your room. These are emptied and cleaned daily. Unfortunately it has become apparent that some guests use the kettle for boiling milk which has lead to damage to the filaments and means the kettle requires replacing. I have spoken to your Kitchen Supervisor about the apple juice and will get our provider of the juice machine and concentrate out to have a look at the machine to ensure it is mixing correctly. At the moment our coffee machine is coffee granules and power milk. There have been discussions on whether to change these to a filter or bean machine, but due to the amount of people we get for breakfast may cause further issues. We are certainly looking in to getting a better machine installed soon. Again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read More
Read Less

good value for money at convenient location

By

30 December 2016

club

all as expected,glad that could bring my per with me,very helpful and kind staff

Posted byHotelStaff
05 January 2017
Dear nevena, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express – Edinburgh Royal Mile. It is great to hear that we were everything that you could expect from the Holiday Inn Express Brand and that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team here are a great bunch of individuals and are always looking to see where they can help our guests. We are part of the growing number of hotels in the Express brand that recognise that pets are just as much as part of the family as everyone else and are more than happy to welcome them along on your stay. There is a servicing fee associated with bringing your pets. Again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read More
Read Less

great value

By

19 December 2016

club

does what it says on the tin! Great location for royal mile attractions.

Posted byHotelStaff
20 December 2016
Dear BigB12, many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile. Concise and to the point! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and even more so that we managed to tick the right boxes with you. We hope to see you back here with us again soon.
Read More
Read Less

A good budget hotel for short stays

By

16 December 2016

club

The Holiday Inn Express is a basic but reasonably good hotel for short stays. Staff were friendly enough but there were not many of them around.
The common areas are satisfactory albeit the lift is very small and slow.
The room itself was fine and a reasonable size for one or two people. I suspect the sofa was a sofa bed but for 3 or 4 , ie, a family, it would be cramped.
It was clean and the bathroom was bright. The shower was clean and worked well.
What I liked less is the lighting in the rooms. There are many lights and switches I found myself going round trying to figure out which was for which. It's not a big deal but it's annoying when you're tired!
The mattress was too soft for my liking but that is a personal choice.
Overall, the hotel is good for short stays.

Posted byHotelStaff
19 December 2016
Thank you Anita0906 for reviewing your recent stay with us. I glad that you found us an ideal choice for your short break in Edinburgh and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city.
Read More
Read Less

Very Relaxing Stay

By

16 December 2016

club

We arrived earlier than our check in time but were pleasantly surprised we were able to check into our rooms. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and well laid out. The service of the staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful, the only downside was the choice of hot food at breakfast, only scrambled egg, sausage and beans, we expected a better variety.

Posted byHotelStaff
19 December 2016
Thank you Bronski12 for your fantastic 5 star review. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team work very hard ensuring that all our guests do; I will certainly pass on your kind comments to them. I was sorry to read that you didn't find much variety in our inclusive Express Start breakfast; this will change in the New Year as our breakfast offering is being revised to include items such as bacon. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Read More
Read Less