Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 10 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 11 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 203 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent service The staff at this hotel is very knowledgeable, courteous and helpful. They recommended good restaurants, ordered a taxi for us and allowed us to use the phone at the front desk. The rooms are comfortable and well-equipped; e.g. television and Wi-Fi in the room. The hot breakfast was very good. Loved the blue night light in the bathroom, and the hotel was nice and quiet. 11 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location Excellent location in city center. Friendly and helpfull staff. 11 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall impression Excellent for a hotel of this type. My only slight criticism is the poor TV -quality of picture was not very good and no main cable/satellite channels available which one would expect albeit we were there to go out and about I do like to, at least, catch up on the news whilst I am in the room! Also- breakfast choice, although what was available was fine, was very limited. 10 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT LOCATION FOR EXPLORING EDINBURGH Tucked away in Cowgate, you may be forgiven for passing right by this hotel; but the location is excellent in lots of respects. Just a short walk from the Royal Mile, mid way between Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle it is ideal for seeing the sights and easy access to the many bars and restaurants in the area. It also means a quiet stay, away from the hubbub in the evening, even though there are several hostels in the vicinity of the hotel. The service at the hotel was great; all the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Rooms very clean and comfortable and serviced daily. Breakfast was functional; what you would expect from a hotel of this type which serves guests who are on business as well as those on holiday like ourselves. If you are staying a few days as we were, it would be nice to have a change of selection for the hot breakfast eg bacon instead of sausages sometimes for instance, but overall choice for both hot and cold breakfast was good. Bar prices were a bit steep and as the bar is in the lobby it did not really lend itself to having a relaxed drink. We would choose this hotel again when visiting Edinburgh. Price was more than we would normally pay, but the benefits of its location outweighed the cost of taxis that could have been necessary if we had chosen to stay further out. 08 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay at Holiday Inn Express, Edinburgh Across the board, we were pleased with our three-night stay at Holiday Inn Express in Edinburgh. The desk staff was especially courteous and helpful throughout our stay. Our room and the public rooms were spotless. One suggestion: Please consider adding pancakes or waffles to the breakfast menu. Yes, we would welcome a return visit to Edinburgh and Holiday Inn Express. 07 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location of hotel Hotel is ideally located, close to main attractions. The breakfast variety was better & the staff there were always smiling and pleasant. 06 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect located Perfect for a city break in Edinburgh. Friendly staff and the rooms was beter then expected. 05 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location I had a few days off on a business trip and decided to visit Edinburgh. The Holiday Inn was one of our recommended hotels. I was quite pleased. It's a good location, not too far from the Royal Mile so not right in the hustle bustle, but close enough to walk. Parking can be quite challenging as all I saw was street parking where you have to pay a parking meter and it's not cheap. However, it is free on weekends. The folks are the front desk were quite delightful and extremely helpful. 29 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk Ava, the front desk person, was very helpful. She was professional, but at the same time personal in helping me change my bus reservations to return back to the Stena Line in Cairnryan. I sincerely appreciated all the assistance she kindly rendered to me. 27 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Shabby Too expensive agaist what I experienced. Location is good. 26 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect stay The staff were friendly and helpful the moment i stepped through the front door. The room was comfortable and clean.The hotel as a whole is also very clean and tidy in appearance, the corridors and stairwells looked to be cleaned every day. Breakfast is continental, so if like me you prefer a cooked breakfast, there is limited choice, however if you like continental, there is a wide & varied choice to choose from. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stop in Edinburgh. 24 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly hotel in great location. Nice friendly hotel in a great location for the Royal Mile. Comfortable beds, plenty of hot water and excellent buffet breakfast. Helpful, knowledgeable staff - great service. 24 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by very convenient Clean and handy hotel within a short distance to the Royal Mile. Friendly staff, no parking possibility except public parking (1£ per hour). 22 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay for weekend away Stayed here last weekend. Rooms clean and fresh, beds comfortable and breakfast had plenty choice. Would definitely stay there again as great location. 14 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good room spacious room with couch and tv well placed ,really good breakfast bar and helpful staff. 13 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location and Service excellent I travelled from Canada to attend the Tattoo with my brother and sister-in-law who live in Scotland. We only stayed overnight, but the service from the front desk to the bar staff was friendly and professional in every aspect. The room was sufficient for a short stay, and clean and comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised by the variety of food offered for the breakfast buffet. The location was also convenient for the short walk back to the hotel after the Tattoo, and we finished the evening with what else but a glass of fine malt from the bar. We already plan to stay overnight on our next excursion to Edinburgh. 12 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and great service The hotel is in a good, central location. The rooms are well equipped and very clean and the staff could not be more helpful. 08 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful and helpful front desk staff The ladies who work at the front desk were extremely helpful and kind. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and to make sure we had everything we needed. They went above and beyond what we expected! 03 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quality Hotel. Excellent City Center hotel , reasonably quiet considering location , good nites sleep , very clean and comfortable. Missed bacon at breakfast and would have preferred a room without adjoining door , but small niggles really. Happy to pay a little extra for a quality and immaculate room.Young lady at reception very help full and greeted us with a smile which is always nice when your a little stressed in a big city. Will use again I'm sure. 03 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location, Comfortable Stay We are a family of 5 and squeezed into 1 room for 3 nights...which was fine, as we were out and about each day and really only needed someplace to sleep. The room was a reasonable size - 1 double bed and a double sofa bed and cushions on the floor and an extra duvet for our littlest (7 year old). We were there during the Edinburgh festival and despite the location on the Cowgate we weren't disturbed by noise at all and slept well. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean and the shower had great water pressure. There was no fridge in the room. The staff were consistently pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was fine, and the selection OK. And the only recommendation I would make would be around the wifi. The free wifi was adequate for downloading email etc however there were a couple of important business communications we had to do during our stay via Skype and that was not possible with the wifi connection. I would have happily paid a fee to use a higher speed internet connection for my business needs and wonder if that is something the hotel might consider..ie having 2 levels of wifi - the free version and a premium version for business users that has an hourly cost associated with it... 01 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, great service, great location, good rooms, mediocre breakfast Service: The staff were very attentive, helpful and friendly. They really made me feel welcome and well looked-after. The cleaning staff were courteous and thorough, too. The room: The room was clean, well-decorated and reasonably-well equipped -- there was a TV, a sofa, a desk, a kettle, a hairdryer, good wifi access, air conditioning and a comfortable bed, but no fridge or safe. There was a shortage of sockets for charging things; there were two sockets intended for guests' use, but by re-appropriating the sockets for the TV and hair dryer we had enough for our phones, camera and laptop. The en suite bathroom was also very clean, well decorated and well-maintained with sink, shower, toilet, night-light and 2 shaver sockets. The shower was good and the ability to use the door to close either the bathroom or toilet (as a separate cubicle) was a nice touch. Unfortunately, there was just one bottle of combined shampoo/shower gel rather than separate bottles of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. The location: The location was great; walking distance from the train station (even with big suitcases) and right next to the Royal Mile. The hill up to the Royal Mile might be difficult for people with impaired mobility, but then that's true of most of Edinburgh. We didn't feel unsafe, and (up on the 4th floor) we weren't disturbed by noise from below. The breakfast: The breakfast was the most disappointing aspect of our stay at this hotel. It was filling and adequate, but the hot food selection was not good, consisting of dry, bland sausages, dry scrambled eggs and baked beans. There were other options, too, including toast, a few cereals, fruit (orange segments, grapefruit segments, bananas and apples), yoghurts and croissants. There was a choice of instant hot drinks from a dispenser (coffee, hot chocolate, hot water), a couple of different tea bag varieties and a choice of orange or apple juice (from concentrate). The worse part of the breakfast, though, was that the layout of the self-service area was not conducive to good manners; people would push and squeeze and were generally very inconsiderate. Overall, I'd gladly stay here again, but probably consider eating breakfasts elsewhere. 31 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Central location In a good location and very quiet. Family room was very cramped for 4 of us and sofa bed was uncomfortable. For the price that we paid we did not feel we got good value for money. Even taking its central location and the time of the year we stayed into account half the price for three nights would have been slightly more than we should have paid for the basic room and facilities provided. 26 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by lack of options for requests While the stay was nice, and the location of the hotel was great, I found the management to be completely unhelpful when dealing with requests. I needed to ship my bags to another hotel, and I received no support from management. Reception was as helpful as they could be, but the sense I got was that there was no room for creativity, to go above and beyond...that the hotel would be run in a certain way, with no room for doing the right thing to help a guest. I wound up removing a day from my UK trip of a lifetime to return to the hotel to pick up my bags because the shipping options would not allow for guarantee weekend delivery. Had I know that there were issues earlier in the week, I could have re-arranged that delivery. Instead, I lost a day of my vacation with my family for 5.5 hour one-way train ride. If this is how all of your hotels are managed---lack of vision and support---then I'm not terribly keen to stay in any of your hotels anywhere in the world (for business or otherwise). 26 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff The hotel provided everything we would expect in a clean, efficient manner, but we would have liked bacon to be available for our otherwise very satisfactory buffet-breakfast. The outstanding thing was the attitude of every staff member that we met, who, quite simply, could not have been more helpful nor more pleasant, despite the fact that the hotel was full (Edinburgh Festival was in full swing). definitely recommended. 24 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Cheap'ish & cheerful Convenient location for all that's going on during the Edinburgh Festival month of August. If it is luxury you seek, try elsewhere (and pay a lot more) but the hotel was clean, the staff friendly and helpful. Worst thing was the ghastly coffee served at breakfast. 24 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by A real disappointment We have stayed in several Holiday inn and Crown Plaza properties in the UK, USA and Europe. In comparison to other holiday inn properties, this was a massive disappointment. Quite how a property that does not have wardrobe to keep clothes, a shower that is so feeble that it takes two minutes to get wet under it, rooms that are not ready for your occupation at 10pm at night and interenet that does not work for half the time one stays there, is given four stars is beyond me. This deserves two star rating. 22 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Holyday Inn Express,royal mile,Edinburgh is located perfectly in old town. Walking distance to almost everything...botn streets and nature. Great for modning-run to arthurs seats ! 22 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Helpfull Staff Staff went out of their way to help good choice for breakfast room was comfortable and cool 22 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and very helpful staff I would highly reccommend this hotel if sightseeing in Edinburgh. It is located close to all the main sights and the station but rooms were very quiet even in Festival week. The staff were extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and advice on how to get to the various sights. Rooms were clean, airy and spacious. There was a good selection for breakfast and space to sit even though the hotel was busy 19 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk staff just lovely I have stayed in luxury hotels around the world. The patience, kindness, knowledge of their city, good humor, and competence of the FOH staff here are equal or greater than any of them. When they didn't know an answer immediately, they found out fast. They performed services similar to those done by a concierge. When I asked the same question more than once, they smiled, but still answered. 19 August 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>