Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
95%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 723 reviews
95%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

723reviews

  • 5 Stars
    454
  • 4 Stars
    202
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    8

Excellent place to stay

By

27 September 2016

This hotel is very modern, very clean and very well run. Breakfast choice and quality exceeded our expectations. Will make this our first choice on our next visit.

Posted byHotelStaff
30 September 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh Royal Mile. It is always a pleasure in welcoming our advocates of the IHG group and that we were what you would expect from the Express brand; a nice, clean and comfortable room with our Express start continental buffet breakfast with sausage, beans and scrambled egg inclusive in your room rate. Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read More
Read Less

Good location

By

26 September 2016

club

Location of the hotel is close to the Royal Mile, and easy access to the town center.
There should be more variety at the breakfast, specially dark bread and bread with more corn and seeds.

Posted byHotelStaff
27 September 2016
Thank you CTrud63 for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are glad you found us an ideal base for exploring Edinburgh's many fabulous attractions. Your feedback regarding our breakfast is greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to the city.
Read More
Read Less

holidayInn Edinburgh

By

20 September 2016

club

Hotel in buona posizione, facile da raggiungere.
Camere pulite, colazione buona.
Operazioni di registrazione veloci.

Posted byHotelStaff
20 September 2016
Thank you Stefp for your lovely 4 star review. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found us to be in an ideal location for sightseeing in Edinburgh. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Read More
Read Less

Our "Go-To" Edinburgh Hotel

By

17 September 2016

club

The Holiday Inn Express- Royal Mile has become our first choice for a stay in Edinburgh. Convenient location, clean rooms, reasonable prices, and most importantly, the staff is exceptional!

Posted byHotelStaff
18 September 2016
Thank CmdnPearl for staying with us and for your lovely 5 star review. I am so glad to read that we are your 'go-to' hotel in the city. I will pass on your comments to our hotel team who work exceptionally hard to ensure everyone enjoys their stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Scotland.
Read More
Read Less

Good location

By

17 September 2016

Only one minor gripe is that there is no power outlet next to the bed.

Posted byHotelStaff
18 September 2016
Thank you GYB2 fro staying with us and for your 5 star review. We are happy to read that you found us a great location for visiting Edinburgh's many sights. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city.
Read More
Read Less

excelente referencia

By

13 September 2016

club

excelente atención, limpio, muy bueno el desayuno, ubicación fenomenal, servicio de primera

Posted byHotelStaff
13 September 2016
Dear esifontes, Thank you for taking the time to give us a 5 star review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express – Edinburgh Royal Mile. Location of the hotel is brillaint as you are so close to all the sights of the old town of Edinburgh. The castle and Holyrood place is a 10 minute walk from us and the Royal Mile is a couple hundred yards from the hotel. We do an inclusive breakfast for all our guests with continental options and sausage, beans and scrambled eggs. Again thank you for the wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read More
Read Less

Used to Amenities provided in the US

By

12 September 2016

I understand not stocking individual toiletries in the guest rooms, but at least have them available if a guest asks for them. Also, providing wash cloths as part of the towel set would be most helpful. This hotel was unable to accommodate either request, and that is different from what I have experienced in locations in the US.

Also, the breakfast area had some good offerings for the meal, but the seating area and service area were very cramped and crowded. I did miss the cinnamon rolls that you see in almost every US location.

Our guest room was also very small with little spare space for luggage. There were two of us in the room and it was somewhat difficult to relax in the room at the end of a long day of sightseeing due to limited space.

Posted byHotelStaff
13 September 2016
Dear CBDallas, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express – Edinburgh Royal Mile. Our bathroom supplies are with a local supplier called Scottish Fine Soaps who do excellent products and are very popular items with everyone. We can certainly look at getting individual items and have passed your comments on to the General Manager who will look in to this. We do not have wash clothes in the bedrooms and have these available at reception on request. Though again will look at what alternatives we can offer. We do a continental buffet breakfast with sausage, beans and scrambled egg available to all our guests at no additional charge to ensure you get started for your busy day of walking around Edinburgh. We do have a traffic light system to allow our guests the choice of when to come down for breakfast to ensure that they have a relaxing time downstairs. Unfortunately there is times where everyone comes down in quick succession and this can lead to queues. Our rooms are of a standard size set out by IHG and the Holiday Inn brand family and we do try our best to maximise the space available to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay with us so it is with great sadness to hear that we did not manage to do this the best way possible for you. Whilst the Brand does make sure that we keep in line with standards so one Express hotel is the same as others you will receive some differences to Express hotels in the US with breakfast items for local items and health and safety legislation particular to that country. Again thank you and we hope to be able to welcome back again soon
Read More
Read Less

Good Location and value for money

By

10 September 2016

club

Friendly staff and overall clean hotel for our stay
The location is perfect for walking to the tourist attractions, like the castle, palace, Arthur seat and the famous Carlton Hill

The breakfast is of limited choice, but is sufficient for us
as it has what we needed.

Thank you Edinburgh Holiday Inn express

Posted byHotelStaff
11 September 2016
Dear George London, Thank you for your lovely review. We do have an excellent location in the heart of the old town which means easy walking distance to all the city has to offer. We are glad you enjoyed our buffet breakfast with hot selection of sausage, scrambled egg and beans which is included for all of our guests. Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read More
Read Less

Excellent Hotel

By

09 September 2016

club

We stayed at several hotels during our recent trip to the UK, and although several other hotels we stayed in were fancier/more stars, the Holiday Inn Express was our favorite. This hotel is in an excellent location, very close to the Royal Mile and Waverly train station and easy to find. The staff was extremely efficient, friendly, and polite. The room was spacious (especially for a European city) and well laid-out. The included wi-fi was easy to log-onto and fast. We had great control over the air conditioning. The room was quite, and had thick curtains to block out the light at night. The included breakfast included several options and the dining room included plenty of space to eat. Highly recommend overall.

Posted byHotelStaff
11 September 2016
Dear VoteforKnope, Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us with its easy access to all the city attractions. Everything is all within walking distance with the Hop on hop off sightseeing bus a 5 minute walk from the hotel and the castle and Holyrood place about 10 minutes walk. Edinburgh has many hills, but you can walk around at your leisure and everything is open reasonably late during peak season. Again thank you and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Read More
Read Less

Overnight Stay in Edinburgh

By

06 September 2016

We loved the location of this hotel as it was in close proximity of the Royal Mile. We also liked the pricing of our stay as it was very reasonable for the timeframe we booked compared to other hotel chains in the area.

Posted byHotelStaff
06 September 2016
Thank you theradiothrill for staying with us and for your lovely 5 star review. It was great to read that you found us the ideal location for exploring Edinburgh and at good price. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are visiting Edinburgh.
Read More
Read Less

Space of Room

By

03 September 2016

Room was too small and old. No refrigerator was provided.

Posted byHotelStaff
05 September 2016
Thank you C Ming for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you did not find our rooms to the standard you were expecting form a Holiday Inn Express hotel. Whilst we do not have refrigerators in our rooms if you do require anything chilled we are able to store it at reception. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Read More
Read Less

Quiet room and good service.

By

01 September 2016

Great stay as expected. Only down side was the pullout sofa bed was the most comfortable and the bathroom door would shut extremely loudly. Breakfast was good, room was quiet, quick check in/out.

Posted byHotelStaff
01 September 2016
Thank you clubnp for your lovely 5 star review. It was great to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that we lived up to your expectations. I am sorry to read about the sofa bed being uncomfortable and the noisy bathroom door. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Read More
Read Less