Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
88%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 709 reviews
88%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

709reviews

  • 5 Stars
    344
  • 4 Stars
    242
  • 3 Stars
    68
  • 2 Stars
    35
  • 1 Stars
    20

Great

By

12 January 2017

club

Great on downside, internet very slow, rooms were great, not ce and peaceful loved the massive shower

Read More
Read Less

Great greeting clean room.

By

11 January 2017

club

Great receptionist good food comfortable room at a good price. Only drawback further from Colchester than expected but my fault for not checking distance. Got over that with no probs.

Read More
Read Less

Business as usual

By

08 January 2017

club

I had a lovely stay at the hotel and would use it every time I'm in the area, it's in a great position for traveling and the hotel staff are probably some of the most helpful I've experienced and I travel a lot all the facilities you need are right there and you don't get disturbed when you are in your room.

Read More
Read Less

Highly Surprised

By

05 January 2017

On looking at the hotel on the website, the picture of the hotel reminded me of another hotel chain, and I thought, ''ah, this hotel has been bought from this 'other' chain, and re-vamped'', but on closer inspection, I could see that it was built from new. This Express is unusual, as it has only two floors, unlike most Expresses, but I was amazed how nice it was inside..
I am a Priority Club member, although I think this title has now changed, and have used the Express chain for many years, even in the USA and Canada, I have to say, that the Americans are generally better at the hospitality business overall, than the UK, but I was extremely pleased with this Express.
I couldn't fault it on any point. If I were to give a negative remark, it would only be that the hotel sits behind a not very good looking filling station on the A12.
Being next to a ''trunk road'', it is also easy to get to places.

Posted byHotelStaff
07 January 2017
Thank-you for your kind review. It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Being as well traveled as you are we can take extra pride in your compliments. All of our staff work hard and we aim to excel in every department. Thanks for your acknowledgement, it means a great deal to everyone at Holiday Inn Express-Colchester Wayne Garton Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Good service, very comfortable

By

04 January 2017

club

I would have no hesitation in recommending the Holiday Inn Express in Colchester.

Very satisfactory and good value.

Posted byHotelStaff
05 January 2017
Thank-you for your kind review. I believe the best form of advertising is word of mouth, you just can't beat recommendations from people you know. We are expanding our breakfast menu very soon, it will have bacon as well as other additions. Thanks again Wayne Garton Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Review

By

01 January 2017

club

The hotel has always been great.would always stay here. Our only one concern is we miss our king size bed. as the hotel has only a double bed,also mattresses too soft and bouncy. Need upgrade on this. All other facilities are super real value for money.
Breakfast could include bacon tomato and mushrooms. Otherwise such pleasant staff. And perfect. Thank you. And a happy new year. To all.

Posted byHotelStaff
05 January 2017
Thank-you for your kind review. All our rooms are either doubles or twins, unfortunately we have no king size beds. The mattresses vary slightly from soft to firm but are routinely checked for any wear and tear. Bacon will be coming soon. Its part of our new breakfast selection along with a few other additions. The staff here enjoy their work and we have high standards which we aim to meet every time. Thanks again and Happy New Year to you too. Wayne Garton. Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn Colchester

By

01 January 2017

club

Great location for Colchester with its limited parking ! Spacious and clean rooms, excellent value for money

Posted byHotelStaff
02 January 2017
Thank-you for your kind review. We aim to keep our prices competitive with the local market. At times, when fully booked it can be a little difficult to find a parking space but there are enough for the 101 rooms with have here. The location works well for us. With Colchester town and dedham village in close vicinity people don't have to travel too far for entertainment. Thanks again. Wayne Garton Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

good service

By

30 December 2016

club

this is a very well run hotel, might i suggest that there
are a varity of morning papers, and i would like to see
bacon on the breakfast buffet.

Posted byHotelStaff
02 January 2017
Thank-you for your kind words. I'll get straight to the bacon...........it will be available very soon and its part of our new breakfast menu. The team here work extremely well together and have a great deal of care for the hotel and our guests. As for the papers, its a very valid point you've raised. I'll speak with the deputy manager and see what I can do. Thanks again Wayne Garton. Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Good overnight stay

By

29 December 2016

Outstanding value for a family stay. Perfectly adequate for a comfortable overnight stay.

Bonus of included breakfast.

Posted byHotelStaff
02 January 2017
Thank-you for your kind words. We aim to keep our prices competitive and we continuously review the guest rooms for any signs of wear and tear. Breakfast is always included with us and we're expanding the menu very soon so there will be even more to choose from. Thanks again Wayne Garton Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Horrendous

By

15 December 2016

Stay ruined by noisy, drunken people in next room. We were terrified as they banged on our door at 4.00am and ran up and down outside, shouting and swearing. Despite other guests having the same problem, management were in denial the next morning,saying the room was a store room and not occupied. My suspicions were raised by the fact that there was not even an apology only a denial that it could have happened.

The next day we were given false information on breakfast times such that we had to quickly scramble to get something while other guests who had been given the same faulty info, missed out altogether.

Posted byHotelStaff
18 December 2016
I'll start by apologising for being given incorrect breakfast times. We do however have a few new members of staff and they are trying their best to learn everything. It takes time and there's a lot to learn. I understand that it can be intimidating when other guests are being disruptive and for this I am also sorry. We do have two night porters in the hotel every night and there are instructions by the phone on how to contact them should you need any assistance. Upon receiving your complaint you were re-assured that the room next to you was empty, used for storage and had no power. However you declined our offer to show you the vacant room and any attempts to pacify the situation were waved off. Wayne Garton Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Good quality every time

By

15 December 2016

club

I use this hotel when making visits to my elderly disabled mother, and It's good to know I will have a clean, comfortable room after a long drive down from Shropshire, and a decent breakfast in the morning. Staff are always helpful and cheerful.

Posted byHotelStaff
18 December 2016
Thank-you for choosing to stay with us. Our team is very hardworking and we all enjoy working together, this I believe outwardly shows and it makes our guests feel welcome. Our breakfast with have a wider selection after the New Year aswell. Thanks again for your kind words. Wayne Garton Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

friendly, helpful staff

By

11 December 2016

club

Throughout our staff all staff we met were helpful and friendly. The cleaning staff were considerate and welcoming. Staff at breakfast were friendly and hard-working.

Posted byHotelStaff
18 December 2016
Thank-you for your kind words, our team try very hard to excel. We are a close team that enjoys working together and this shows when we get great reviews . Thanks again, Wayne Garton Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less