Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
87%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 669 reviews
87%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

669reviews

  • 5 Stars
    318
  • 4 Stars
    232
  • 3 Stars
    66
  • 2 Stars
    35
  • 1 Stars
    18

Functional but very comfortable

By

29 September 2016

club

As always with the Holiday Inn Express the stay was very pleasant, staff were very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Added bonus was the hotel was either brand new or newly refurbished and was therefore very smart and clean. My only negative was the green LED lights that show up in the rooms to indicate where the emergency lights are and the blue mood lighting in the bathroom that I didn't realise you could turn off until the following morning! Both of which kept me awake but unfortunately it was nothing that could be avoided by the hotel or staff!

Read More
Read Less

comfortable bed

By

28 September 2016

I thought this review was only going to take ten minutes

Read More
Read Less

Family visit

By

27 September 2016

club

We stayed here as it offered adjoining rooms so that we didn't have to sit in a dark room or sit in the hallway with a bottle of wine whilst the children slept!

The hotel is right on the a12 so great for getting to Colchester however, as a light sleeper, I was a little concerned.

Room quality was excellent and the noise was not an issue at all. The only gripe I have is that there were 2 green lights in the room that could not be turned off although the adjoining room did not have these so not sure why ours did.

Staff were very helpful throughout and I would return (only with some tape and some blackout patches!)

Read More
Read Less

Exceeded my expectations

By

26 September 2016

club

I was expecting fairly standard budget accommodation but was pleasantly surprised by the room size and the huge shower. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient.

I was surprised there was no bacon on the cooked breakfast menu and thought the restaurant food was a bit over priced for what it was.

Read More
Read Less

Quite a nice hotel

By

26 September 2016

platinumelite

Good location close to A12, quite modern and good breakfast. Wifi ok and most facilities, a little surprised not to be offered either 500 points or a free drink as IHG platinum member. Well priced hotel for location and would stay again, plenty of parking, room very quiet.

Read More
Read Less

Very clean

By

22 September 2016

club

The staff in charge of cleaning the rooms were very efficient and friendly.

Read More
Read Less

bed and great service

By

22 September 2016

hotel was good, but the food could have been better.

Read More
Read Less

Expressive

By

21 September 2016

club

first time we have stayed in a Holiday Inn Express and wasn't expecting much,but we was very pleasantly suprised.Lovely greeting from front desk.Lovely family room.Lovely clean bathroom.Comfortable beds. overall very pleased with stay

Read More
Read Less

overnight stop

By

19 September 2016

club

Once we found it, it was one of the best overnighters we have had. Excellent quiet room overlooking the countryside. Easy self service breakfast,

Read More
Read Less

Nice stay

By

11 September 2016

club

Great hotel, lousy breakfast, great staff. the lounge furniture is n't very comfortable for an evening.

Posted byHotelStaff
14 September 2016
DearShed2000 Thank you very much for your time to write us a review ,we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Dominic Cook Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

clean room

By

11 September 2016

club

Clean modern room which was comfortable.
bathroom modern and clean, all extra toiletries were available sewing kits etc

Posted byHotelStaff
14 September 2016
Dear Loops34 Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Dominic Cook Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Lovely staff and clean hotel but too noisy

By

10 September 2016

club

The hotel is clean and staff nice but the room we had was so noisy that my whole family got no sleep and it was a total disaster, we just could not wait for the morning to get up.

Posted byHotelStaff
14 September 2016
Dear Ozzybear Thank you very much for your time to write us a review . I am sorry to hear that you could not get any sleep. It will certainly be something I will be investigating immediately . Although the previous issue I am delighted to see the staff delievered a good service to you and your family . We hope you choose to stay with us again . Kind Regards Dominic Cook Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less