Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
88%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 714 reviews
88%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

714reviews

  • 5 Stars
    348
  • 4 Stars
    242
  • 3 Stars
    69
  • 2 Stars
    35
  • 1 Stars
    20

Good place for a short stay

By

18 January 2017

Modern and fresh, this hotel is conveniently located on the main A12 between Colchester and Ipswich.
We have stayed here several times when visiting family in the area and the rooms have always been clean and comfortable.
Probably best suited to families staying one or two nights or business people on the move.
There are no obvious businesses/eateries in walking distance but do your research and there are plenty of pubs serving meals within 2-3 miles.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent Holiday Inn

By

18 January 2017

club

Very clean hotel with great reception staff. Highly recommended

Read More
Read Less

Great service

By

17 January 2017

club

The staff were friendly and the place was spotless with very comfortable beds, would highly recommend Thankyou!

Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn Express Colchester

By

16 January 2017

Excellent value for money. Staff very polite, friendly and helpful. I drive from London to Colchester every weekend and now will only stay at Holiday Inn Express. So much so now on first name terms with most of the staff who all go out of their way to accommodate.

Read More
Read Less

Usual good product with one important fault

By

16 January 2017

club

I regard HI Express as about the best in the market sector, especially as here when the room rate happens to be very low. However, contrary to all previous experiences, our room at Colchester had just about the most broken-down mattress I've ever experienced (and that includes having lived in hotel staff accommodation).

I don't recall complaining much before - things can go wrong. What makes this an exception is that the fault here could easily be discerned with ever the most cursory of quality checks and it doesn't happen suddenly. I remain a fan of HI Express, but this was a seriously uncomfortable experience.

Read More
Read Less

Great

By

12 January 2017

club

Great on downside, internet very slow, rooms were great, not ce and peaceful loved the massive shower

Posted byHotelStaff
18 January 2017
Thanks for your kind review. We've had internet issues when fully booked sometimes. This will be amended soon. We've had work done installing BT sports and the Wi-fi connection will be next. There's a few cold spots at times. The rooms are well looked after and maintained to a high standard. The decor is aimed at being modern which includes that big shower. Thanks again Wayne Garton Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great greeting clean room.

By

11 January 2017

club

Great receptionist good food comfortable room at a good price. Only drawback further from Colchester than expected but my fault for not checking distance. Got over that with no probs.

Posted byHotelStaff
18 January 2017
Thanks for your kind review. All our receptionists are trained exceptionally well, it takes longer than people think. As its generally the first face to be seen as a guest walks in, its only right that they are given a warm and helpful welcome. It is about five miles from Colchester town, which is about fifteen minutes by car or a £10 cab fare. We are always happy to help with travel directions or by arranging cabs for our guests. Thanks again Wayne Garton Guest Service Manager.
Read More
Read Less

Business as usual

By

08 January 2017

club

I had a lovely stay at the hotel and would use it every time I'm in the area, it's in a great position for traveling and the hotel staff are probably some of the most helpful I've experienced and I travel a lot all the facilities you need are right there and you don't get disturbed when you are in your room.

Posted byHotelStaff
18 January 2017
Thank-you for your kind review. All of the staff at the hotel work hard to give our guests the best possible stay. Our facilities are always at hand if needed. We have two night porters who also do amazing work to ensure a peaceful night sleep for everyone. Thanks again Wayne Garton Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Highly Surprised

By

05 January 2017

On looking at the hotel on the website, the picture of the hotel reminded me of another hotel chain, and I thought, ''ah, this hotel has been bought from this 'other' chain, and re-vamped'', but on closer inspection, I could see that it was built from new. This Express is unusual, as it has only two floors, unlike most Expresses, but I was amazed how nice it was inside..
I am a Priority Club member, although I think this title has now changed, and have used the Express chain for many years, even in the USA and Canada, I have to say, that the Americans are generally better at the hospitality business overall, than the UK, but I was extremely pleased with this Express.
I couldn't fault it on any point. If I were to give a negative remark, it would only be that the hotel sits behind a not very good looking filling station on the A12.
Being next to a ''trunk road'', it is also easy to get to places.

Posted byHotelStaff
07 January 2017
Thank-you for your kind review. It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Being as well traveled as you are we can take extra pride in your compliments. All of our staff work hard and we aim to excel in every department. Thanks for your acknowledgement, it means a great deal to everyone at Holiday Inn Express-Colchester Wayne Garton Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Good service, very comfortable

By

04 January 2017

club

I would have no hesitation in recommending the Holiday Inn Express in Colchester.

Very satisfactory and good value.

Posted byHotelStaff
05 January 2017
Thank-you for your kind review. I believe the best form of advertising is word of mouth, you just can't beat recommendations from people you know. We are expanding our breakfast menu very soon, it will have bacon as well as other additions. Thanks again Wayne Garton Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Review

By

01 January 2017

club

The hotel has always been great.would always stay here. Our only one concern is we miss our king size bed. as the hotel has only a double bed,also mattresses too soft and bouncy. Need upgrade on this. All other facilities are super real value for money.
Breakfast could include bacon tomato and mushrooms. Otherwise such pleasant staff. And perfect. Thank you. And a happy new year. To all.

Posted byHotelStaff
05 January 2017
Thank-you for your kind review. All our rooms are either doubles or twins, unfortunately we have no king size beds. The mattresses vary slightly from soft to firm but are routinely checked for any wear and tear. Bacon will be coming soon. Its part of our new breakfast selection along with a few other additions. The staff here enjoy their work and we have high standards which we aim to meet every time. Thanks again and Happy New Year to you too. Wayne Garton. Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn Colchester

By

01 January 2017

club

Great location for Colchester with its limited parking ! Spacious and clean rooms, excellent value for money

Posted byHotelStaff
02 January 2017
Thank-you for your kind review. We aim to keep our prices competitive with the local market. At times, when fully booked it can be a little difficult to find a parking space but there are enough for the 101 rooms with have here. The location works well for us. With Colchester town and dedham village in close vicinity people don't have to travel too far for entertainment. Thanks again. Wayne Garton Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less