Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
85%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 705 reviews
85%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

705reviews

  • 5 Stars
    293
  • 4 Stars
    234
  • 3 Stars
    92
  • 2 Stars
    59
  • 1 Stars
    27

Nice Location

By

09 August 2016

club

This hotel is in a excellent location plenty of bars and restaurants literally on the doorstep. We could see the Spinnaker Tower from our window and the Milleninum Walk starts at the Quay and leads you through Old Portsmouth and down the promenade to Southsea.
The only thing we lacked in the room was a chair each. When you book a Double it would be nice if you both had a chair to sit on.

Overall I had no complaints with this Hotel the Breakfast was very good and the Staff without exception were friendly and helpful. A bonus was the £2 a day parking which was very convenient.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable, great location and easy parking.

By

09 August 2016

Gunwharf Quays is a great place and this hotel is the perfect place to stay for this area. The location is perfect and it sits on top of a 1700 space car park !!. The rooms are clean and quiet and decorated as per the normal IHG high standard. While we were there (Aug 2016) the carpets in the entire public areas were being replaced and they were lovely to walk on.
The staff at check in were exceedingly helpful and friendly and gave us all the help and info that we needed or asked for. The only improvement I would ask for is that they added bacon to the breakfast menu. For me its a "must have" in my cooked breakfast whilst I'm away.
Overall, a great place to stay.

Read More
Read Less

Great location poor breakfast

By

08 August 2016

club

Great location and nice room.

Was really upset with the breakfast. Overcooked and the cooked breakfast only had a choice of sausage, scrambled egg and beans.

Read More
Read Less

素晴らしいサービス

By

07 August 2016

platinumelite

レストランがまわりに多く、ミニスーパーもあり、便利。
従業員のホスピタリティはよい。
駐車場もSCのParkingが使えるので、便利。

Read More
Read Less

Refurbishment in progress!

By

07 August 2016

club

We were allocated a room on the same floor as reception which was great for my husband who has limited mobility. It appears that a refurbishment programme is underway at the hotel but the room were in still awaits refurbishment

Read More
Read Less

Great place to stay for City visit or before catching ferry ...

By

02 August 2016

Slightly on the expensive side for a budget hotel but I guess it's a sellers market so close to Ferry terminal.

The location is great, just down the road from the ferry terminal, within walking distance of the city centre and right in the heart of the wonderful redeveloped Quayside area with all the vibrant restaurants, pubs and shops. Parking is secure and plentiful.

Because of the area it can be a bit noisy at night but that is not the hotel's fault.

Room spacious, clean and well equipped and lo, a first, the hair drier will reach a mirrror!

Would recommend this place.

Posted byHotelStaff
05 August 2016
Dear Rustyplough Thank you for your review of our hotel, We do offer discounted rates and you can avail of these by booking direct with us on ihg.com We have a great location and hope you made the best of huge restaurant discounts we offer for all our resident guests. Hope you will visit us again Kind Regards Reception Team
Read More
Read Less

good location

By

19 July 2016

the hotel is a great location for the area and my business needs while visiting.

the hotel was was in line with modern standards

the customer service while staying was not very good....but did improve in the final 5 minutes of my stay

Posted byHotelStaff
22 July 2016
Dear Sluggerstore, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Holiday Inn Express Gunwharf Quays. We apologise for your customer service experience whilst you stayed with us. This is an unusual response to our service, so thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Front Desk
Read More
Read Less

SHORT BREAK

By

15 July 2016

club

Great location for watching the boats and the people going to and fro.
Very relaxing .

Posted byHotelStaff
17 July 2016
Dear JRSAP33, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are very proud of our location and are pleased that you enjoyed watching the boats come in and out of the port. Our main goal is for our guests to feel relaxed and enjoy their stay with us. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Reception Team
Read More
Read Less

Sleep well after a busy day

By

14 July 2016

Had a great time. Went somewhere every day because of the location of the hotel. All staff had a very friendly manner which showed their appreciation that you were a guest at this hotel

Posted byHotelStaff
17 July 2016
Dear Traveller Mike, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you liked our staff and their manner. We do pride ourselves on our customer service. Our guests are very important to us. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind regards, Reception Team
Read More
Read Less

Great hotel in a great location

By

12 July 2016

Great hotel within walking distance of the Royal Dockyard, Spinnaker Tower, shopping area and restaurants.

Posted byHotelStaff
05 August 2016
Dear PhilH999 Thank you for a five start review of our hotel, We hope you made good use of all the restaurant discounts we offer our valued guests. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and hope you will visit us again soon Kind Regards Reception Team
Read More
Read Less

Friendly service, very comfortable beds

By

10 July 2016

club

A very friendly greeting and a good location.
The room was clean and fresh and the air-con was great as it cooled and warmed us as we required.
Breakfast is as you would expect in a Holiday Express, and, compared to other HE Hotels, the breakfast experience is very acceptable.
The lighting is VERY POOR however, and it is difficult to read a book or do any work in.
The internet is very slow and did not support any streaming and watching TV was interrupted each of our four nights by a message on the screen to say that the internet could not support the programme.. which was BBC1 !!
Car parking was in the main Gunwarf Quays car park and was secure, with CCTV and motion-sensor lighting; it only cost £6 for four complete days and nights which I think is REALLY EXCELLENT VALUE.

Posted byHotelStaff
13 July 2016
Dear 007jve, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our team made you feel welcome. We pride ourselves on this. We are in the process of upgrading our internet, so we do apologise for this inconvenience during your stay. Regarding the lighting problem in your room; thank you for bringing it to our attention. We will look into this for our future guests. We are happy that you took full advantage of our inclusive continental breakfast and the great deal we have with the underground Gunwharf Quays car park. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Your Hotel Team
Read More
Read Less

Awful solution for families

By

06 July 2016

club

Chose this as a convenient stopping point for the IoW ferry. Convenient location in Gunwharf too.

Stayed with family

Posted byCustomerCare
19 July 2016
Dear joanna101, Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Please accept our sincere apology if our hotel fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. We value you as our IHG Rewards Club member. Sincerely, Krysllin G. Case Manager IHGService
Read More
Read Less