Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
88%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 704 reviews
88%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

704reviews

  • 5 Stars
    360
  • 4 Stars
    211
  • 3 Stars
    72
  • 2 Stars
    36
  • 1 Stars
    25

Brill airport

By

April 24, 2017

club

Clean and friendly stay before flight from Cardiff Wales airport, cant wait for Direct flights from Cardiff airport to Qatar by Qatar airways.

Read More
Read Less

Good Location

By

April 24, 2017

club

The hotel is very close to the airport and ideal for early morning departures. The early buffet breakfast is adequate but the coffee was not of a very good quality. Other drinks were available and there was a good selection.

Read More
Read Less

Great nights stay

By

April 23, 2017

We had a very nice stay. We were picked up from the airport quickly after our flight. All the staff were very helpful.

Read More
Read Less

Friendly staff but not a great nights sleep

By

April 23, 2017

club

On approach the hotel was clean and well situated, especially for airport use. We were attending a local family wedding and had faith that a large chain hotel would provide value and service. On arrival we were warmly greeted and check in was simple. We had requested a travel cot over the phone weeks before our visit for our 1 year old and were pleased that this was not charged and available.

We arrived at our ground floor room and first impressions, although very basic, were good. the room was clean and ready for us but we did notice that a second double bed had been made up instead of the travel cot. a quick pop down to reception and this simple mistake was quickly rectified.

Later that night after travelling 350 miles we got into bed. the bed had fresh sheets but i couldn't help noticing how small it seemed. Then as i began to count the springs digging in my back i realised that i was slowly sliding towards the middle of my bed. Clearly the mattress had been used for many many visitors and was well past its level of comfort, my wife also commented with the same issues. Fortunately we had all the bedding left from the second bed which had been made up so we were able to use the pillows and quilt to even and pad out the mattress.

The room was nice and cool, very quiet and dark with the only light creeping in under the door which did shine straight onto our son no matter where we put his cot, in some respects this was helpful when checking on him but did not prevent him or us sleeping in any way.

Breakfast.... On the phone we were told we would receive a full cooked breakfast as well as a continental style buffet. There were some scrambled eggs, a few beans and what i think were sausages but they were so burnt and dried out i could not be sure and just to be clear, no sign of a rasher of bacon anywhere, how can you have a cooked breakfast without bacon? This was a huge blow as this was all we would have time to eat before we attended the family wedding we had travelled for. The continental breakfast on the other hand consisted of a selection of cereal, fruit, yogurt and some croissants accompanied with juices, tea and coffee. Although not to my taste, this seemed a sensible selection which my son and wife enjoyed.

The seconds nights sleep was just as bad as the first with the exception of being so tired after the first night and a long day we did sleep. I didn't wake up feeling particularly refreshed, more crippled with a particularly stiff and uncomfortable back. Luckily the shower ( arguably the best part of the stay ) had amazing water pressure and went some way to dragging me out of the semi-comatosed state i was in again as it had done the day before.

We cleared our room, attempted breakfast again with an identical selection and some more distinguishable sausages, all i can say is... the coffee was nice.

Check out was simple and the staff were helpful and polite as ever.

Summary...

The hotel is perfectly situated, clean and has a compliment of helpful and polite staff.

The rooms are good value but don't expect any lavish levels of comfort or furnishing.

The bed ( our one and does not represent every bed in the hotel ) was small and very uncomfortable.

The showers are amazing and a welcome start to every day.

Breakfast is great if you like cereal and toast.

Dinner, we couldn't choose from the limited menu so went to the local carvery, that said, this is a hotel, not a restaurant so maybe my expectations were a little high on this point.

The hotel provided adequate accommodation and did meet our needs ( only just ). I'm sure any patrons staying before flying out on holiday will soon forget about any minor issues they have had and will be grateful for the stay so close to the airport.

Read More
Read Less

Good Service

By

April 22, 2017

The gentleman with the beard in the evening ding area was very informative, friendly and attentive.

Read More
Read Less

A great hotel to stay at.

By

April 21, 2017

club

I really appreciated the wonderful service and amenities at this Holiday Inn--very clean and the staff was amazing! I will be back!

Read More
Read Less

Good location for Cardiff and the Vale

By

April 21, 2017

club

Although an airport hotel, the location is excellent for the general area in easy reach of Cardiff, Llantwit, Barry and many other places of interest. There is no noise issue with the location. Very clean and practical modern hotel geared up for one nighters - we were there for a long weekend to visit family but the hotel is still more than adequate. However, this is reflected in the limited range of breakfast and dinner menu, although we did eat one evening to be pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food in the sense that it exceeded expectations. (No Michelin stars!!). Staff friendly, attentive and welcoming. Rooms of a good size, clean, well presented and comfortable - a good night's sleep. Value for money? There are cheaper 'budget' hotels, but not in and around Cardiff the weekend we were there!! A good option to which we will happily return.

Read More
Read Less

Great hotel

By

April 21, 2017

Very clean hotel.
Great staff.
Hotel is very competitively prices.
Taxi and bus services to Cardiff very reasonable.

Read More
Read Less

Great place. Very quiet

By

April 19, 2017

Very quiet even though our room faced the airport. Clean rooms friendly staff. Breakfast is ok if no dietary requirements

Read More
Read Less

Good and Bad

By

April 19, 2017

club

We stayed for two nights at this hotel, which we picked after staying at other Holiday inn's and holiday Inn expresses, unfortunately this stay did not live up to the standard of previous stays. The hotel was clean and the staff generally friendly, but several things let them down. Holiday Inn express advertise widely the free Wifi for reward members, it did not work at all during our stay. Our room key stopped working after the first night, when we went to reception, they could not get the key machine to work, so we were locked out of our room until a member of staff found a work around to replace our key.
The mattress in our room was not very comfortable and I had expected better from Holiday Inn. the bathroom lock did not work which was no a big deal for us, but again another small problem. The other thing that I found unpleasant was the group of people who always seemed to be just outside the front door smoking which we had to pass going in and out of the hotel. Breakfast was adequate, but again a few niggles. The knives ran out and we had to locate a member of staff to get them replenished, the croissants were cold even though they were in a cabinet. The choice of food was not great but adequate. Overall the hotel was generally well maintained, the staff were friendly and helpful, but were hampered by the technology and the systems created a few niggles. I can't fully recommend the hotel, but I also would not say avoid. The place needs some work on its technology and systems.

Read More
Read Less

Brilliant value for money

By

April 17, 2017

club

Wonderful staff made for a perfect stay. The professionalism and friendliness exceeded all expectations.

Read More
Read Less

Relaxing Stay

By

April 13, 2017

Car left at hotel for duration of holiday, upon return we were picked up at the airport after midnight with no problems at all. Upon arrival at hotel we were checked in very quickly and the hotel staff explained all that we needed.
As it was my birthday it was a nice surprise and a very thoughtful gesture to find a birthday card and a bottle of wine in the room from the stall at the Holiday Inn.
Small gestures mean a lot and gives the impression that the staff care about the guests in the hotel.
Thank you for a pleasurable stay.

Read More
Read Less