Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
85%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 348 reviews
85%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

348reviews

  • 5 Stars
    175
  • 4 Stars
    102
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    15

Location and Service

By

September 28, 2016

Can't beat the location near Drake University. Staff was friendly and we slept well. Loved the choice of two different type of pillows. Breakfast could be better but it was fine.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 28, 2016
Bulldog Bart we loved having you as our guest and hope to see you again!
Read More
Read Less

average quality /average stay

By

September 26, 2016

improve quality of humidty/air conditioning in rooms. Second time I stayed here, same experience

Posted byHotelStaff
September 26, 2016
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the humidity issue you experienced during your stay. This will be addressed immediately.
Read More
Read Less

Unique hotel but older rooms, unfriendly staff

By

September 07, 2016

club

If we came to Des Moines again, I may consider finding a hotel in a better-looking neighborhood (this one made me nervous and was a bit noisy), but it was convenient to the locations we visited and had what we considered a good price for a hotel with a good breakfast included. I would probably only choose it based on me being an IHG rewards member. I would definitely recommend the front desk staff receive some coaching in being friendly to tired travelers. It took us a while to get the staff's attention and we barely got a "hello" during our quick check in. I was a hotel front desk clerk myself back in college, and I know how hectic it can be, but I always was friendly with people coming in because it was important to keep people coming back. I commend the housekeeping staff for the excellent job keeping the hotel beautifully clean (I was a housekeeper too, back in the day) and the bed very comfortable; but management could be more attentive in general to bigger room maintenance - wallpaper issues, bathroom ceiling, etc. Overall, just okay.

Read More
Read Less

MR

By

September 02, 2016

Over all it wasn't a horrible experience but the room need ed repairs that should have been made. Bedding a bit hard but reasonable for an average hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 02, 2016
Thank you for your stay with us and the helpful feedback. We apologize for any maintenance issues that may have gone overlooked. These will be addressed immediately. Thank you again and take care.
Read More
Read Less

Staff was very freindly.

By

August 30, 2016

club

Lobby was hot. Hotel had no pool or hot tub. Parking area was sufficient and the breakfast was good.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 30, 2016
Thank you for your stay and feedback CamperBob. We apologize for the warm lobby. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you enjoyed your time in Des Moines.
Read More
Read Less

Quiet room.

By

August 23, 2016

The room was very quiet and not much noise outside or in the hallway.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 25, 2016
We are thrilled you had a quiet and relaxing stay with us. We hope to have you as our guest again.
Read More
Read Less

Good place to stay

By

August 22, 2016

platinumelite

Clean, good breakfast and convenient. Worked out well for business and to drop my daughter off at college.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 24, 2016
Thank you for your stay and feedback. We are pleased your stay went well for you. We wish your daughter a wonderful school year at Drake University.
Read More
Read Less

Good stay for the money

By

August 19, 2016

The area can be a little sketchy, however, we did not encounter any problems with our cars or UHAUL truck. We enjoyed eating at the Drake Diner which is right beside the hotel. Rooms was OK and the same with breakfast. Average room and the cost was less than those in the area. Clean rooms and bathroom.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 21, 2016
We appreciate the feedback iowagal78. We are pleased that your stay with us was pleasant. We hope to see you again shall you return to Des Moines.
Read More
Read Less

Great Service from the Staff

By

August 08, 2016

club

The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The hotel was about as expected. It is an older building but is kept up pretty well. The parking lot was quite small and was full by the time we arrived so we had to park in an adjacent office building lot. I must confess I didn't check thoroughly enough when I booked the room but this hotel does not have a pool, which was disappointing. Overall not a bad experience though.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 10, 2016
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate the kind words about our staff. We apologize for the tight parking situation. We hope to see you on a return visit to the area.
Read More
Read Less

Excellent

By

August 05, 2016

Great Location, reasonably priced, clean and nice staff!

Posted byHotelStaff
August 05, 2016
We loved having you as our guest Betty and truly appreciate the kind words. We hope to see you again.
Read More
Read Less

Quaint location, quiet

By

August 01, 2016

club

The location is off the beaten path, but it is a nice property. We were only disappointed that there was no pool.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 01, 2016
We appreciate your stay and the feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately there is no pool at this property. Take care and hopefully we will see you again!
Read More
Read Less

The worst Wi Fi & no Cell Phone Coverage

By

July 29, 2016

The major factor that would remotely constitute a good review starts with R-E-L-A-X-T-I-O-N. Having to walk all the way down and out the front door just to make a phone call is ridiculous. I was told by the staff that this property used to be a dorm for Drake University. I can't understand why anyone would ever come back to this place. I have Verizon and never have connectivity issues practically anywhere. The second I enter this building my signal goes from 4 bars to 1/none.
The Wi Fi isn't any better. I was originally on the first floor and requested to move up to the top floor aka the 2nd floor hoping for a better signal. NO DICE.

Fortunately I was able to utilize Wi Fi calling with my iPhone. That was equally a terrible experience. I don't know if it's lead paint or this building perhaps was once a bomb shelter. COMMUNICATIONS 0 stars.

Now the rooms are equally as bad. The doors even when closed have gaps in them. in other words when you turn all the lights out and try to go to sleep you see a large ray of light from the crooked door.

Both rooms I was in were supposed to be clean and there were long hairs in the showers, the bottom floor room had some strange insects coming out of the drain, and lastly some tiny fly's or gnats were present.

The only bright side was the staff. They did accommodate my every request and always had a good attitude. It's unfortunate the hotel was horrible because the staff deserves better.

Bottom line........ Overall...... 2.5 stars.

How on earth this place is listed as 4.3 stars I find to be insane. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 30, 2016
We appreciate the feedback Sweat Pants87. We sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. These issues are very concerning and will be addressed immediately. This is an older property but we keep cleanliness and regular maintenance as top priorities, and that makes the issues you encountered all the more disappointing to us. We are truly sorry we let you down but appreciate the feedback as to help our future guests. Thank you and take care.
Read More
Read Less