Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
95%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 696 reviews
95%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

696reviews

  • 5 Stars
    442
  • 4 Stars
    192
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    7

Just needs a draught beer!

By

August 07, 2016

club

Everything was fine, clean and secure though I wuld have loved a draught beer to be served in the bar area.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 09, 2016
Dear Joshua111, Thank you for your 5 star review. We are very centrally located with numerous bars and restaurants within a minute’s walk from the hotel. Although we do not have draught beer in our lobby bar we do stock a range of bottled beers, wines and spirits.
Read More
Read Less

excellent acceuil et service rendu par les collaborateurs

By

August 06, 2016

club

hotel a recommander proche des monuments et du centre historique ainsi que de la gare

Read More
Read Less

Great rooms, Great location

By

August 04, 2016

club

We had a wonderful stay. Safe and convenient location to experience Edinburgh - Old Town.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 06, 2016
Dear MacDFarm, Thank you for taking the time to give us a 5 star review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile. We are all so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us and your comments have given the team a big smile ready for their busy day ahead! Location for the hotel could not be better. We are on the Cowgate just off the Royal Mile, about a couple hundred yards, so close enough to the sights of the Old town of Edinburgh without breaking a sweat, but far enough away to be away from the hustle and bustle that comes with the mile making sure you get a good night sleep. Again thank you for your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read More
Read Less

Good location

By

August 02, 2016

club

Hotel is located in the heart of the city but there are less amenities than at other Holiday Inn Express in terms of food options (no hot foods outside breakfast time). Breakfast quality could also be better Otherwise the hotel is located in a very nice building and the rooms are clean and could get good night sleep. Staff was helpful as well.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 06, 2016
Dear ad_so, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile. The location of the hotel is brilliant in that we are in the heart of the old town of Edinburgh located just off the Royal Mile on the Cowgate close to all the sights of city. Everything is in walking distance, the castle, the place and the hop on hop off sightseeing bus. We do a limited 24 hour menu of pizzas, curry and chilli con carne. As a city centre hotel we do not get the demand for hot food after breakfast as other Holiday Inn Express hotels who do a more extensive menu in the evening. Everything you need is on our door step with plenty of cafes and restaurants all within 5 minutes walk or you can order in and we would be more than happy to supply plates and cutlery. It is great to see that you had an enjoyable time with us and your room was to your satisfaction and the team were on hand to help assist you in any way. I will pass your comments on to the team and see if there is anything we can do to improve the service to our guests. Again thank you for your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Read More
Read Less

Convenient

By

August 01, 2016

club

I was using this stay purely as a convenient stopover between visiting Arbroath that evening and Lille via London and Eurostar the following evening.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 05, 2016
Thank you Torrman for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are glad that you found us the ideal stopping point for your journey and we hope you managed to get out and see some of Edinburgh's many attractions. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are passing through the city.
Read More
Read Less

as expected great stay

By

August 01, 2016

club

great place to spend the night, just a block from shopping and site seeing

Posted byHotelStaff
August 01, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we are happy to hear that you took advantage of our great location in the middle of the historical old town of Edinburgh. Just a few minutes’ walk from all the main attractions and the New Town with all its shopping. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Read More
Read Less

Location excellent, walk to everything

By

July 31, 2016

The hotel is connected by alley to the main road of the Royal Mile. Access to food, transportation, hiking is all right out of the front door. Staff was knowledgeable of area and local bus routes. they were extremely helpful. So close to everything we were able to leave in the morning, come back after lunch and take a break, then resume our adventures an hour or so later. The room and bathroom were spotless, my only complaint would be that the shower smelled of mildew (although it appeared very clean!).

Posted byHotelStaff
August 03, 2016
Dear 24janzach, Thank you for the amazing 5 star review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express – Edinburgh Royal Mile. The hotel is on the Cowgate, just a short walk to the Royal Mile, but in a nice quiet location away from the activity of the Mile itself. There are many restaurants with in walking distance of the hotel, all different cuisines from Scottish food to a wide range of international fare. The bus service is excellent and the Hop on and Hop off bus can be found about a 2 minute walk from the hotel and Arthurs Seat is always a good way to start the day with breath taking views of Edinburgh. Everything is literally at you door step. It was great to see that you had such an enjoyable time with us and took in the delights of Edinburgh. I am very sorry to hear that this was slightly marred with a smell from the shower room. We have invested this, found the cause and taking remedial action with our Head Housekeeper. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Again thank you for a wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable central hotel

By

July 31, 2016

Very conveniently sited City Centre Hotel for both business and sightseeing. Comfortable and good service from staff

Posted byHotelStaff
August 05, 2016
Thank you 66Patrick for staying with us and for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back the next time you are visiting Edinburgh.
Read More
Read Less

Great location for a good value hotel with some of the best staff in Scotl

By

July 30, 2016

club

Another stay at the Royal Mile and a pleasure as always. AS well as the great location the staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel clean and comfortable.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 01, 2016
Thank you for your 5 star review and coming back to stay with us again. It is wonderful to hear you had a great stay again and the lovely words about the hotel team. We can’t wait to welcome you again next time you come to Edinburgh.
Read More
Read Less

Very comfy bed and welcoming staff

By

July 28, 2016

club

An ideal hotel to explore Edinburgh.The hotel is near the train station and attractions.Two little gripes were that the lift operation with your door card was not explained when we arrived..we were expected to read the imstructions in the lift after a long journey.the breakfast would have been much more inviting if there was bacon on the menu...not everybody likes sausage beans and scrambled egg.So I had to stick to cereal and toast something that I would have at home, its always nice to treat yourself to something different on your holidays!

Posted byHotelStaff
August 01, 2016
Thank you Professional Citybreaker for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are currently working on our inclusive breakfast offering so your feedback is appreciated. It was great to read that you found us an ideal location for exploring and thank. We hope to see you back at the hotel on your next visit to the city.
Read More
Read Less

Location

By

July 27, 2016

club

Great location for the Royal Mile, the Castle and Esplanade, and within walking distance of most of the city centre attractions, parks, gardens and shopping.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 01, 2016
Thank you Richard_54 for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here and found us an ideal location for exploring Edinburgh's many sights. We hope to see you back at the hotel on your next visit to the city.
Read More
Read Less

Great Staff

By

July 26, 2016

It's really good choice of staying with the great staff of Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mil, everyone is so kind and warmhearted, especially Mr. Albert in the receiption front desk, who really helped us a lot for finding the lost shoes of my son in Holiday Inn York Hotel, keeping contact with the housekeeping. Regret when we left he wasnot on duty, here taking the opportunity I would like to say thanksto him, please pass him my sincere thanks and greetings.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 01, 2016
Thank you Jason999999 for staying with us and for your lovely 5 star review. It was great to read the wonderful feedback about our team here, especially Albert. I will certainly pass your comments on to him. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Read More
Read Less