• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MANHATTAN
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed. Maximum of 2 dogs, 50 pounds per room. Pets must be caged or taken for a walk daily for room cleaning. Rooms must be cleaned daily. Pet deposit amount 50.00 USD per stay.
Pet deposit amount  50.00    per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Empire State Building
Distance From Hotel:0.3

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:135
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:93
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:42
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:135
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:19
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks.

Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and McLennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in
View More

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks.

Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and McLennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near The Empire State building and minutes away from Times Square. Our hotel's guests can stay productive in our 24-hour business center with copy, fax, printing and computer services, as well.

There is so much to do whether you want to catch a Broadway play or , visit the Modern Museum of Art, browse the shops on Fifth Avenue or enjoy the sites at Chelsea Park, The Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street is located near the best of Manhattan and Times Square. Our hotel's guests can go skating at Rockefeller Center, stroll in Central Park or Bryant Park or take an evening cruise around New York City.

You'll take delight in magnificent, skyscraper views, our impeccable customer service and terrific, complimentary amenities. Take advantage of our free, hot breakfast bar. Everyone's a star at our Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel. With a name you can trust and a price you can afford, we'll indulge you with a practical and convenient stay.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express 36th Street is uniquely located in the heart of the Fashion District between 5th and 6th Avenue. This Hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. We are minutes away from the Empire State Building, Times Square and and so much more.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 125 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by CONSTRUCTION SITE ! I fell in love with this great location and fine hotel two visits ago. I live on the East End of Long island and find this hotel in the perfect location in Manhattan - a few stops south on the convenient 1 Train and you are anywhere up/down town. The rooms are immaculate, comfortable, accommodating, as is the staff friendly, professional, and helpful. BUT CALL FIRST! THE JACK HAMMERING BEGAN AT 8:06 AM!!!! I had a late meeting and planned on sleepinglate due to the great check out time of Noon.. I had to LEAVE the hotel. The hammering was so loud it scared me - a former New Yorker! Imagine....... October 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel. My wife and I and our grandson visited the hotel and New York City the first weekend of October. We had stayed in the hotel the previous year and had such a positive experience that we decided to stay there again. We were not disappointed. The staff was courteous and efficient; housekeeping was spot on and worked without being intrusive. Reservations were easy. The stay was everything we hoped for and more. October 14, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Nice spot, perfect design Central. We used to be near Time Square, but this hotel near Chelsea and Madison Square Park shows us a new area of NYC. Even if the room was pretty small for a family of 4, the room has a nice modern design, confortable beds, up-to-date bathroom, and good front desk service. October 14, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I would recommend this hotel as well as stay there again. Like most hotel rooms in NYC, it was small. That said they did a great job with the space. Fresh look. Comfortable bed. I liked the location as it was easy to get uptown, downtown & on the PATH. There are a couple of subway lines nearby. I've been to NYC several times & I chose the hotel based on price & previous reviews. I would definitely stay there again & recommend it to others. October 11, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super staff equals super stay. While the beds are comfortable, plush and inviting and the rooms are ultra roomy for NY; it's the staff that made our visit so memorable. From the desk to the bar to the restaurant to the housekeeping staff: EVERYONE was helpful, welcoming, friendly and very competent. Thank you all so much. October 8, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A comfortable stay Nice, refreshing, comfortable, excellent service, cleanliness and in a perfect position. Particularly pleasing is the location in the flower district. You are in the very heart of manhattan, but feel like living in the middle of a garden. October 5, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, front desk and other staff, cleanliness, comfort, and safety The location was excellent for our purposes of walking uptown and down town and to connect with the subway if needed. The front desk staff are efficient, courteous, helpful and always smiling/welcoming you and providing good advice. We needed some support form a service person and had it within 15 minutes with the problem resolved. The room is comfortable size for a large city hotel; very modern look and exceptionally clean in the sleep and bathroom areas; we did not hear outside noise; the beds were comfortable and there were nice pillows, plenty of towels and hot water for showers; and, amenities such as the free safe, flat screen TV, Kreuig coffee maker, bathrobes and ironing board in the room were appreciated. October 1, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Big, comfortable bed with lots of pillows! The bed was very comfortable and the shower was nice and hot. Room was clean. There were minor problems with the wifi -- had trouble connecting at times. Suggestion: Include a nice English Breakfast tea along with the coffee in the room. September 25, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average stay with a few issues We selected this hotel due to the location and proximity to a few college tours for my daughter. The hotel itself was a decent property in NYC standards. The room size was not bad for a double in NY. It was fairly clean with some exception to older sheets and a need of a better vacuuming. When we came back to the room in the evening it was 53 degrees outside and we went to turn the heat in the room on. Only to be told that the heat was not operable. We then went to use the tv and the remote control did not work. I called the front desk and made them aware of the issue to have it corrected during the next day. The issue still existed the next evening when we returned to the room. They did come up and correct the problem at 11pm the next night but it was not something that anyone like to deal with at 11pm when you have walked allover NYC for two days straight and only want to relax. With those two issues as well as carpet cleanliness there are many worse properties that you could stay at. They did tend to issues at hand and try to resolve them in an immediate fashion though with no manager recognition ever taken to the issues. September 23, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1st Time The hotel was clean and upscale for the price the nice part was the key scan in the elevator which is nice, all hotels should have this security so not anyone off the street can just walk into the elevator and go upstairs! September 23, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable rooms-small rooftop bar Rooms have a boutique feel!! Downside no great views! Great access to the Red line #1 train!!!! Restaurant is small and dark, put rooftop bar has great potential! Will certainly stay here again September 12, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room poor customer service I found the front desk staff to be cold and not welcoming. We were not greated warmly upon arrival nor during most of our stay. Normally there were always two people at the front desk and they both were always on the phone with there heads down. They did not seem to be on personal calls but I think one of them could have acknowledged guests when entering and leaving, just by a nod of the head. After checking in we decided to get something to eat at the restaurant downstairs. We were told we would need a reservation becasue they were booked. At the time there was one person at the bar and two people sitting at a table. The rest of the restaurant was empty. She said she would have to check with her manager before sitting us. Granted we were not dressed the best and had just gotten off an early morning flight that started from the west coast and was very tired and hungry. Maybe that was a factor. If it was she could have nicely asked if we were guest, where we were from, and suggested having our meal sent to our room. My needs would have been met and the restaurants. Instead we walked to a pizzaria down the street, brought it back and ate in our room. The one person who stood out and was extremely helpful was Russman or Rossman (not sure of the spelling). He had a great dispostion, very helpful with directions, helped with my luggage and bags, and helped me with my transportion needs. There was one other person who was helpful and greeted me with a smile but I am sorry to say I did not get his name. He was also an employee dressed in all black. He was very fair and with I think reddish/brown facial hair. September 10, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, efficient, nice room Stayed for three nights late August 2012, very happy with the experience -- room clean, beds great, no complaints. Aircon unit a little noisy, is only issue, but not critical. September 5, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stylish hotel, extremely comfortable but did not care for the shower This was our first stay at the Hotel Indigo. We like the area and it is very close to our daughter's college. The room was a very nice size and the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. I think the hotel's atmosphere is very stylish but I did not care for the unique shower design of the 1/2 glass door. We had to stand directly under the showerhead to try and avoid the water from running off of our bodies and onto the floor. Even after standing close to the wall the water still got onto the floor...this annoyed us!! The front desk staff was very helpful..they stored our bags for us after we checked out for 3 hours until we left the city. August 29, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Space, Great Location I love this area of the city and as my daughter just started at FIT it is even more convenient to stay here. The door, desk staff are very friendly and helpful. The bar staff was more interested in watching the game than making sure i had a beverage in front of me, good thing there are plenty more bars around! breakfast staff was good and the eggs benedict were good as well. Rooms are great this was my second stay here and will absolutely return. August 26, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Boutique Hotel I stayed one night while I was on a whirlwind Business trip. The hotel was located near my meetings which is one reason I chose it. While it does not have all the frills of a 5 star hotel, they have done a wonderful job making the rooms and ambience appealing. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful- always a big plus with me. Room Service has limited hours, but there are a few restaurants nearby and delivery service available from some restaurants. Quiet Room, No View, Bed OK-comfortable, not plush, Keurig coffee in room..Great size room for NY! August 20, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by A little warm....A little dirty.... Have stayed at this property before and always enjoyed it. This stay the A/C was less then par, and I found the bathroom to be dirty upon my arrival. The hair dryer was filthy, and the caulking in the shower was full of mold. ( maybe it should be removed and re-caulked.) I would give this hotel another try, but for a small hotel I expect a little better quality control. August 20, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unexpected little gem of a hotel! I had to check out of my original hotel, due to internet being down and I had to work in my room. I booked at the last minute at Hotel Indigo. The room was far nicer and more reasonably priced than the one I had just checked out of. The amenities were great and made my three days in NYC very, pleasant! The staff was friendly, the rooms were immaculate and I would defianately staff there again. August 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, super service and a great value. Planning a look weekend in Manhattan often means cramped quarters, or surly service, or some other negative just to enjoy the vibrancy of the world's greatest city. Not so, if one chooses Indigo. The bed is triple sheeted, firm yet very comfortable. The staff are friendly, courteous AND efficent, and the over all experience is an upbeat one. August 8, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Location, Reasonable Accomodation Was slightly dissapointed at this hotel. Had heard a lot of hype about Indigo and this was my first stay at one. I have been a Platinum Elite member for over 10 years. The room is bigger (not big) by NYC standards. Not sure I liked the wood floors throughout the space, but it was attractive looking. Water pressure in the showers was very weak. The wood bath stool was a nice touch. I agree with other commeters that the overall lighting in the bathroom was very low and needs improvement. I also found the lack of a shower door annoying as water would be on the bathroom floor every day. The bed was comfortable and the HVAC system was mostly quiet and acceptable. The curtains in the room did a poor job of keeping light out of the room. They really need to fix that because in combination with the white walls, the room got bright very easily and made it hard to sleep in late. Noise levels from the street were moderate and acceptable. Hallway noise could be a bit much at times. Speaking of hallways, apparently there is little to no AC in the hallways. In combination with the Halogen lamps lighting the hallways, this made waiting for an elevator very uncomfortable on hot days. The biggest annoyance in the room was the lack of outlets to plug things in. Given that this chain is supposed to be catering to a more younger, hipper group, I expected things like an outlet not to be such an issue. Finding places to leave phones, ipads, laptops and such within reach of an outlet, but not on the floor, was difficult at best. They should look at the lamps that many of the newer hotels get that have outlets built right into the base. Overall, not a bad room, great location, and ok staff. Just did not live up to its hype. July 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the Stay We really enjoyed the coziness, and feel of this hotel. Very clean, and well organized. The room was a bit small, but did not lack class and character. Very comfy bed. We will be back, hope we stay on the 17th floor again. July 14, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient location, nice hotel Very convenient, central location. Helpful and friendly staff. Room was spacious (by NY standards) and comfortable. I would certainly stay here again. June 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great boutique hotel Stayed here for New Year's Eve 2011 and the place was perfect. Not too far away from the ball drop, the room was clean and had modern decor. It was also very quiet even being near the elevator which you really couldn't avoid since there are only a few rooms on each floor. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in the city and can't wait to go back again. June 7, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Newf2 Attending Westminster Dog Show as professional photographer. Ideal location close enough to easily walk to Garden but didn't have to listen to barking dogs all nite. Wanted a more upscale facility. This fit the bill. Would gladly stay there again. June 6, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time ... the room was big enough for pre dinner cocktails with friends. There is an awesome roof deck to lounge around. It was closed when I was there so my group had the whole thing to ourselves sinker sinker... Chelsea boys everywhere. I will stay here next time. June 6, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the Indigo My husband and I had to go to NYC for a day and overnight and decided to stay at the Indigo. We had already stayed at the Indigo at Paddington Station in London, had a nice experience, and decided to stay at the Indigo in Chelsea. We were upgraded upon check-in to a beautiful room that included a seating area with a large sofa and two chairs, plus there was a wet bar and fridge. The bathroom was quite large, with a huge shower and double sinks. The only negative about the bathroom was the fact that the lighting was less than acceptable for a female trying to put on her makeup; it was hard to see what you were doing. Other than that, we found the room great and loved our stay there. After walking around the city on a fairly warm day, it was a nice retreat to go back to our room and chill out for a few hours before going out again for dinner and jazz at Dizzy's. The hotel is centrally located near a major subway line and getting around was easy as can be. We would stay here again in a New York minute! we love you, Indigo. June 6, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value in Chelsea I travel to NYC frequently and stay at the Indigo whenever I can. Great central location in Chelsea and a great value. Highly recommended. June 6, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5
Enjoy a relaxing stay in the Fashion District.
Enjoy a relaxing stay in the Fashion District.
Select to close.
Enjoy a relaxing stay in the Fashion District. Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square Front Desk
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.