Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portage

6295 Melton Road , Portage, Indiana 46368

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
93%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 407 reviews
93%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

407reviews

  • 5 Stars
    300
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    10

Happy to be back verse Candlewood

By

August 14, 2020

Everything was great only issue was after a couple hours the air conditioner would go off even though I had it set on constant fan. Just had to get up and shut it off and turn it back on a little inconvenient but part of life.....

Read More
Read Less

Great place to stay

By

August 12, 2020

I was traveling with 3 of my kids and stopped for the night. We got a suite which was very comfortable and spacious. Property was very clean and well maintained. Definitely will stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

Good Job

By

August 11, 2020

club

Room was updated, clean, and comfortable. Bathroom was spacious and bright. Very impressed with the selection of DirecTV channels in the room. Breakfast was awkward due to COVID restrictions but it was fine.

Read More
Read Less

Some good Some not

By

August 11, 2020

platinumelite

This is a newer property and we normally stay elsewhere when we visit the Dunes but decided to try this out. The good...staff are friendly and professional. Common areas and pool area were clean. Masks are required (per Indiana statute) and we saw almost universal use of masks- a very good thing. The room darkening shade design is among the best I've ever seen. We stayed 3 nights, and due to the pandemic housekeeping does not service rooms except after the 3rd night. We did request service after the second night. We had to place used towels outside our door or take them to desk to get new ones. Our room, reserved for 4, only had 2 sets of bath towels etc. We had to place our trash outside our room and get new bags from the front desk. Our ice bucket had water in the bottom of it and the bag was wet, there was a medicine cup under the nightstand, and, disgustingly, a piece of dried gum was stuck to the side of the headboard closest to the window. This is not what I expect. I notified the desk, and showed the attendant pictures. We did appreciate being provided with a roll away bed (but you can't reserve them- even if you are a platinum elite rewards member). However, and this is a design flaw, not the management's, the room is so small (especially narrow) that the roll away was literally wedged between the bed closest to the window and the window. Also there are design flaws that allow abundant hallway noise to be heard- especially the closing of room doors "ka-thunk" and we could hear people walking around in the room above ours. Finally, the room lighting is very poor...it is dimly lit to the point it was difficult to read a book or anything. These things- small room and noises, might be acceptable in a Days "out" or similar hotel, but not in a hotel of this category. The breakfast we were offered did not change at all (except for running out of some fruit and yogurt) all 3 days we stayed...not good. I mentioned my frustrations at checkout and was not satisfied with the response. We visit the Dunes area almost yearly but are unlikely to stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

Short vacation

By

August 06, 2020

platinumelite

This was our second visit at this Holiday Inn Express. Excellent location, the hotel is only 10 minutes drive from several beaches. Rooms are specious, clean and beds are very comfortable. Breakfast choices were very limited due to Covid-19 but I appreciate that it was available for the guests. Many hotels in the area has only to go “snack” breakfast or nothing at all. Pool was closed, which was a bummer since we mainly choose this hotel because of the pool. Few restaurants are walking distance from the hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Clean and friendly

By

August 03, 2020

The lobby and rooms were very clean. The staff was extending friendly, and very willing to assist in making the stay very enjoyable.

Read More
Read Less

Iowa road trip

By

July 31, 2020

club

Hotel bed and pillows were very comfortable overall cleanliness of the lobby and greeting of the staff was excellent

Read More
Read Less

Great express hotel, poor breakfast

By

July 29, 2020

club

We went stayed at the express hotel for one night for a weekend soccer tournament. This was great as we wanted something less “busy” and didn’t need anything extra as we were to just spend one night and liked how it was somewhat less quieter/busier. The staff was extremely helpful and was nice to bring up extra towels and cutlery when I called them. My only complaint would be the complimentary breakfast. With the soccer tournament having early games, we went down to get something to eat before the game only to find they only offered biscuits and gravy and cereal/milk. Now this sounds like okay options, except if you’re a vegetarian/vegan. Where are the non-meat options? Dairy free? We ended up having dry cereal. I hope this is something this hotel could improve on.

Read More
Read Less

Clean Spacious Rooms

By

July 28, 2020

club

Our family was very pleased with our stay at Holiday Inn Portage. The rooms were up to date, clean, and spacious. Breakfast was not the usual that we expect at Holiday Inn, but we know they have a lot of restrictions on them during this pandemic. Would definitely stay here again!

Read More
Read Less

vERY clean and new

By

July 24, 2020

Had 9.5 rating on clean accommodations. I found the prior ratings to be accurate and met the needs of this very strange environment we are all experiencing.

Read More
Read Less

They accommodated our soccer team

By

July 22, 2020

club

A great place to stay as a lot of the other hotels nearby were really worn down or old. We would go back

Read More
Read Less

Shower improve

By

July 21, 2020

club

I was in a room with a handicap accessible bathroom because it was the only room available. There is nothing holding the water in the shower. Half of the bathroom floor got wet and I almost fell.

Read More
Read Less