Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 29 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 30 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 141 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Dissapointing This hotel brands itself as a "Holiday Inn" but isn't even close to on-par with a Holiday Inn Express. Check-in staff were very unfriendly, the corridor leading to rooms was littered with dirty room service dishes, room was well kept and the bathrooms smelt of mildew. As a IHG Platinum Ambassador I hoped to be offered at least a bottle of water or a points vouncher but was given absolutely nothing. No recognition whatsoever. The only slightly saving grace was its location. It was close to family I was visiting else I would have immediately moved elsewhere. Don't waste your time or money at this hotel. 21 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay A great place to stay, clean , tidy and great staff. Well Done 19 April 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very disappointed !!!! We have stayed here before & had no complaints but this time that was not the case. The 2 rooms we were allocated could not have been further apart, my husband & I on the 6th floor, my son on the lower ground floor, really quite isolated from the rest of the hotel, accessed by a very tatty corridor. After discussion he was moved to the 4th floor, this was acceptable until we accessed the room he had been given. Oh dear!! already occupied!. The couple in that room arrived as we were leaving, they had also been to complain about their parties room & when they tried to access the room their key had been deactivated, back to reception again. The matter was eventually sorted out & as compensation we received one free breakfast. Unfortunately our sleep was disturbed by noisy guests in neighbouring rooms, I do appreciate this is unavoidable. At breakfast the dining room was occupied by two rugby teams who seemed to have taken over!. I would have appreciated a little control by the restaurant staff, as would I imagine some of the other guests. Sadly I don't think we will be staying here again. 10 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by our stay The room was just what was expected clean and comfy for what we paid for. Overall we had a very pleasant stay. 28 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by unsure Stayed here a few times and its been pretty good however last stay had some noisy neighbours playing very loud music and shouting (bit of an understatement, like having a room next to prince harry just less cool) which disturbed few other guests too (heard them shouting to turn it down). At 3am the noisy bunch return bragging loudly about being intimate with others in subway (classy bunch). Could do with a closing door time to prevent this or a scary looking bouncer to enforce warnings about noise maybe try to drag people to the bar so its peaceful for others. 26 March 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Ripped bed covers I have stayed at this hotel on a regular basis when travelling on business. I checked in around 4.30pm went to my room only to notice a huge rip in my duvet cover. I informed reception of this who told me this would be replaced straight away. By 10.30pm this still had not been replaced so I complained again. This then happened about 15 minutes later. Poor staff and poor service. This really has left me with a bad experience with this hotel. I am uncertain I will stay here again. Also long queue to check out which I couldn't afford to wait in, to date nobody has contacted me with regards to my bill....... 18 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly staff. Stayed one night to visit family and friends in Durham. Have used this hotel quite a few times on business and the staff are always friendly and welcoming. Rooms are a bit tired but then most of the Holiday Inns I stay in are much the same. Free Wi Fi at last!! Good location for visiting Durham and Newcastle. 30 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and really good value I have stayed here 3 times in last 2 months and have to say that what makes this hotel a must in the area is the attitude of the staff, from the welcome at reception through the bar and dining staff they cannot do enough to make your stay pleasant and issue free. The rooms are really good value and with great internet access ensure I can arrive early and finish work stuff before dinner. Which brings me to the restaurant, evening meals are okay, there is also an effort to put on something different with specials menus which is good. My only complaint would be breakfast, on all my stays the bacon has run out and the toast is hot bread unless you put it through the machine about 5 times. That said, all in all I really enjoy staying here and with work bringing me to the area regularly I will definitely choose to stay here every time for the great value but mostly for the lovely staff. 14 January 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by freezing rooms Even with the heating blasting on full at 30c such a cold room with the thinnest summer duvet and no blankets ............ not good if id slept in my car it would have been warmer 12 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stayed a few times now as a Ihg employee & as a non Ihg employee, staff are friendly & helpful excellent service & breakfast deffo recommend & I will be staying again. Although in need of updating it's clean, comfortable & excellent service 10 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value stay Wonderful breakfast. Friendly staff. Only let down by failure to service room. 05 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We had 2 great nights here. Service was excellent, rooms were clean & comfortable. Our only complaint was our 2 rooms were on separate floors. Our 6 month old puppy thoroughly enjoyed her stay as well & thought it great fun racing down the corridor to the room. Staff were very welcoming to all of us. 03 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by always good always very friendly staff rooms are done for better standarts noisy street dobble glazing would help!!! 01 January 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room 501 For an upgrade, this room was below average value for money. The sofa-bed needed cleaning--it was covered in glitter and stains. We couldn't use the room safe because we were unable to open the safe door. The duvet was of very poor quality and there were no extra blankets in the room. However, the room was quiet, there was ample hot water and the breakfast was adequate. On request staff did provide 2 bathrobes. 01 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful Christmas There was nothing to fault at all. The room was spacious, warm, good lighting, comfortable bed and very clean. The staff were helpful and very friendly. You took dogs which is great, and good walks around the hotel. The cream was Christmas morning when Santa had left a stocking on the door handle, full of goodies, that was extra special, thank you so very much. We will be back, incredible value and breakfasts were great, thanks 01 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Richard Angus We stayed for 3 nights over Christmas as a base whilest visiting relations. The service was great as was the Breakfast freshly cooked and well presented. The Christmas stocking was a good festive tuch. 31 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Nice hotel, ideal for our purpose as we where visiting family. The staff in reception and the breakfast room where lovely, friendly and helpful especially the small lady with dark hair and glasses. 31 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by May not look much, but... This hotel may not look like the nicest hotel in the world as you drive past on the A1M, but when you get inside the welcome you receive and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff mean it is one of my favourite IHG hotels. I would recommend a stay here to anyone. 27 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Washington England The reception staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful. Room service was great and the food was good. This is the reason we always stay here when we visit the North East. 14 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disaster Problems with my room key not opening the room, even after trailing all the way back to reception with my luggage to have it redone, ended up with a move to another room on a different floor. At no time was I offererd help with my luggage or anything beyond a very cursory apology, I then couldn't get logged on to the complimentary wifi from my new room and when no-one would answer the phone at reception I had to trail all the way back down to be given a voucher and no apology for this problem. Overall appalling customer service! I hesitated to stay in this hotel based on previously not being too impressed with it, but this thoroughly confirmed this hotel as one to be avoided in future at all costs! 13 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not impressed arrived to be told I had been upgraded. it was exactly what I had booked. room was short of complimentary drinks, dressing gown and slippers. the drinks area had not been dusted at all. the bedding was clean but well worn. the pillows were old. the room itself was in need of redecorating and carpeting. breakfast was slow and shortfalls were quite noticeable as people had to wait quite a while for food to be replaced. I did report the room to the receptionist and was told I should receive contact from the manager the following day. I am still waiting. not good enough. do not know if I would use this place again. good point staff were very pleasant. 13 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No Problems. We have stayed at the UK Washington Holiday Inn on several occasions and have never been disappointed. Our room was clean and tidy and very comfortable. 10 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Value for money This s reasonable hotel with reasonable level of service - although during my stay hotel run out of Bonus Points Vouchers so did not get any. Staff was happy to change my room but were not able to setup complimentary Internet access in the room. Got the Lounge access but this was only for one device. All in all - good stay but nothing special to write home about. Dinner was good but I avoided breakfast. 02 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Old & dated This hotel needs a full upgrade. It is worn & shabby with nothing going for it at all. Breakfast is £15 each which s ridiculous for the NE go to the toby Carvery 2 mins away & its only £3.99! We were greeted as Platinum members & told we could choose 500 point bonus or 2 free drinks we chose the bonus but didn't get the points! We ordered a morning paper which didn't arrive. Really shabby but clean rooms everything old & in desperate need of a face lift. 02 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vending Machine! Try always to stay in Holiday Inn's when travelling, due to general good quality and price, also due to the Priority Club scheme which is great. This stay was a short overnight for work, hotel was of the standard you would expect but the stand out experience was with the guy on the front desk. I checked in at 0030, after a four hour drive and was starving. Obviously the bar was shut, but the guy on the front desk offered to get me some crisp from the staff vending machine. Just a small gesture but equally a really nice touch! 01 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decidedly Mediocre We booked an internet package so we'd be able to do some work when there but on reaching the room we found no internet service available even after entering our name and room number to the hotel's system. We called reception and they sorted it our for 24 hours. The following evening we got back and had to ask the reception staff to activate our internet connection but was told they cannot do that and to simply choose one of the paid options on the hotel's system and take it up with the reception staff when checking out. Not very professional. On the friday when we arrived and we had the problems getting online we had equally as much difficulty in getting the reception staff to answer the phone so ended up walking back down to speak to them. The room was ok, the food was ok, the staff were ok but the Holiday Inn doesn't market themselves as being "an OK hotel chain" and they don't charge "OK" prices so not great value. 29 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Room The first room I was offered was a non smoking room which smelled like an ash tray. I declined that room and was given a room which had no bed side cabinet on the wall side of the bed because the bed was within six inches of the wall, not very convenient for getting in or out of bed. It was the smallest and worst room I have ever had at any Holiday Inn. As a priority club member I expect to be treated better than this. 28 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable experience From arrival to leaving we were served well by the staff. One member of housekeeping staff was about to go home but not only brought an extra duvet to our room but cheerfully insisted on remaking the bed for my wife. She even apologised for being out of uniform! Huge choice at the buffet breakfast. Would stay again if in that area. 21 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A bit dated but clean and great staff Hotel needs a facelift, but the facilities are fine for a night or 2 and the staff at reception, bar and at breakfast were very pleasant and efficient. 19 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great as always This is not the best looking Hotel in the Group but i have stayed there many times. I always like staying at Washington as i find the staff great and the food is amaizing! Dont let the old look of the building put you off !!! Its always amaizing Value Keep up the good work 12 November 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>