Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 30 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 31 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 155 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Super stay We stayed as we needed a hotel near to Chester le Street. This hotel was near, and taxi not expensive, so good. Room was lovely and clean, bed comfortable. Staff were at all times so helpful, in particular in the restaurant. Great, and we will be back. Really speedy wifi too. 08 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by General and WIFI Appearance needs some improvement but otherwise as we would expect. Dissappointed that WIFI is not offered for free as we were lead to beleive it would be. Hotel lacked atmosphere and Tv selection was not easy. No sky sports was dissappointing. Easy road access was useful since we were touring the whole area. Staff were attentive but there seemed to be few around - maybe they were underbooked. 06 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn, Washington, UK Good / excellent. Room was clean, quiet and nicely decorated. I like fresh air so it was great that the windows opened. Good pressure and hot shower. Comfortable bed with duvet. My dog slept well too - at no extra charge! We stayed two nights en route to Scotland and back - a perfect half way break. Would stay again and recommend. 03 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service We stayed one night while visiting some friends. Very freindly staff and fantastic food. Not suitable for a relaxing break as we found family rooms were quite tiny but definitely recomd for 1-2 nights stay. 29 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel or Not Hotel Arrived after a long journey, all I wants was a shower, dinner and sleep. Restaurant closed (again) because of a wedding party! Not only were they in the restaurant but in the lobby making it difficult to check in. Whilst I appreciate the need to accommodate wedding parties, this hotel has function rooms that were not used for the occasion. Hotel guests should and are entitled to restaurant facilities as this is a hotel and not Holiday Inn Express. So overall quality poor, far from the required standard. 29 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First class experience Courteous and considerate staff throughout our stay. The hotel is quiet, clean and relaxing. This is the second time we have stayed here and it did not disappoint the second time. My wife had a very sore knee from a knee replacement and I asked at the bar for some ice to soothe it. The young lady found a plastic bag to put some ice in and then asked if I would like a tea towel to wrap it in. She couldn't have been more helpful and it was much appreciated by my wife who was fine by the following morning. It is service like this that encourages us to return. We had taken my sister and her husband with us and they were VERY impressed even though they have stayed in more expensive hotels. 24 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Little Relaxation. On arrival my wife and I were looking forward to another relaxing break courtesy of Holiday Inn. We were greeted at reception by a very pleasant girl and immediately felt welcome. We booked in and went up to our designated room and on entering were slightly disappointed to see that the furniture was not of the quality befitting the Holiday Inn. The wooden dresser had bits missing and the armchair had seen too many arms. The internal handle on the bathroom door was loose and had to be treated carefully. On inspecting the washhand basin I saw that the strainer was non existant and anything dropped into the basin, ie a ring, toothbrush, bracelet etc. was gone forever. The toilet paper was of a quality that I would use to clean oil off my car engine, but certainly not to clean elsewhere. However, these small anomolies did not detract us from a very pleasant stay and we will return in the future. 24 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by service My only comment relates to your buffet breakfast. I am not a fan of these., however having stayed at Stratford Holiday Inn where tea required you to fill a mug with hot water and then add a teabag I am glad to say that at Washington tea was served in a teapot. Much more civilized and pleasant. Stratford take note. 13 May 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No double rooms available For my second successive visit to this hotel I was told that I had a twin room despite the fact that I had specifically booked a double room for each visit. This was extremely disappointing and meant that I had a poor nights' sleep on each occasion. 06 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by An average hotel I stay here when on business in the area. The hotel bedrooms need upgrading (bathrooms and windows being the priority) but the usual room rates reflect this i.e. not expensive I am always acknowledged as a rewards club member and offered an upgrade (when possible) and points or a drink/snack Staff are always polite and the food quality has improved massively over the last 6-12 months Was rather surprised the last two times (two weeks apart) I stayed as there was no soap in the bathroom to wash my hands. When I checked out and enquired why, I was told that the hotel had run out and was waiting for a delivery. Have you not the common sense to order it from else where or failing that go shopping for some?? 29 April 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dated rooms but great food and staff The rooms are old and not really up to the holiday inn standard. They look a bit dated with things like rusted bath plug holes and dated carpets etc. Just doesn't have that modern feel. On the flip side, the staff were fantastic and the food was brilliant too. If you are not fussy about your room and just want something basic and comfortable its fine. If your after a modern or fancy room you will probably be disappointed. The place really needs a renovation of the rooms to bring them up to the high standard of the staff that work there and the restaurant. 28 April 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Too expensive Since the room cost is anyway very high (compared to all other locations around), the hotel does not provide anything more than avarage plus charging fee for internet, that is really out of question. 25 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Quality Hotel I stay at this Hotel on a regular basis and always find the hotel in a superb position with staff who are friendly and accommodating always and more than happy to oblige. there is ample generous parking. 24 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by An honest hotel! This Holiday Inn has clearly been around a while and one could argue that it is in need of some refurb. BUT, the rates reflect this and the staff are so friendly and helpful, which makes it a great place to stay. I would, however, always pluck for an Executive room - not much more expensive and a tad more comfortable I think. The hotel does not try to rip you off and is what it is: an older HI in a great location with all the usual amenities. I did get the feeling that my roon had been cleaned 'quickly' although basically it was OK. 24 April 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Dissapointing This hotel brands itself as a "Holiday Inn" but isn't even close to on-par with a Holiday Inn Express. Check-in staff were very unfriendly, the corridor leading to rooms was littered with dirty room service dishes, room was well kept and the bathrooms smelt of mildew. As a IHG Platinum Ambassador I hoped to be offered at least a bottle of water or a points vouncher but was given absolutely nothing. No recognition whatsoever. The only slightly saving grace was its location. It was close to family I was visiting else I would have immediately moved elsewhere. Don't waste your time or money at this hotel. 21 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay A great place to stay, clean , tidy and great staff. Well Done 19 April 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very disappointed !!!! We have stayed here before & had no complaints but this time that was not the case. The 2 rooms we were allocated could not have been further apart, my husband & I on the 6th floor, my son on the lower ground floor, really quite isolated from the rest of the hotel, accessed by a very tatty corridor. After discussion he was moved to the 4th floor, this was acceptable until we accessed the room he had been given. Oh dear!! already occupied!. The couple in that room arrived as we were leaving, they had also been to complain about their parties room & when they tried to access the room their key had been deactivated, back to reception again. The matter was eventually sorted out & as compensation we received one free breakfast. Unfortunately our sleep was disturbed by noisy guests in neighbouring rooms, I do appreciate this is unavoidable. At breakfast the dining room was occupied by two rugby teams who seemed to have taken over!. I would have appreciated a little control by the restaurant staff, as would I imagine some of the other guests. Sadly I don't think we will be staying here again. 10 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by our stay The room was just what was expected clean and comfy for what we paid for. Overall we had a very pleasant stay. 28 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by unsure Stayed here a few times and its been pretty good however last stay had some noisy neighbours playing very loud music and shouting (bit of an understatement, like having a room next to prince harry just less cool) which disturbed few other guests too (heard them shouting to turn it down). At 3am the noisy bunch return bragging loudly about being intimate with others in subway (classy bunch). Could do with a closing door time to prevent this or a scary looking bouncer to enforce warnings about noise maybe try to drag people to the bar so its peaceful for others. 26 March 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Ripped bed covers I have stayed at this hotel on a regular basis when travelling on business. I checked in around 4.30pm went to my room only to notice a huge rip in my duvet cover. I informed reception of this who told me this would be replaced straight away. By 10.30pm this still had not been replaced so I complained again. This then happened about 15 minutes later. Poor staff and poor service. This really has left me with a bad experience with this hotel. I am uncertain I will stay here again. Also long queue to check out which I couldn't afford to wait in, to date nobody has contacted me with regards to my bill....... 18 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly staff. Stayed one night to visit family and friends in Durham. Have used this hotel quite a few times on business and the staff are always friendly and welcoming. Rooms are a bit tired but then most of the Holiday Inns I stay in are much the same. Free Wi Fi at last!! Good location for visiting Durham and Newcastle. 30 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and really good value I have stayed here 3 times in last 2 months and have to say that what makes this hotel a must in the area is the attitude of the staff, from the welcome at reception through the bar and dining staff they cannot do enough to make your stay pleasant and issue free. The rooms are really good value and with great internet access ensure I can arrive early and finish work stuff before dinner. Which brings me to the restaurant, evening meals are okay, there is also an effort to put on something different with specials menus which is good. My only complaint would be breakfast, on all my stays the bacon has run out and the toast is hot bread unless you put it through the machine about 5 times. That said, all in all I really enjoy staying here and with work bringing me to the area regularly I will definitely choose to stay here every time for the great value but mostly for the lovely staff. 14 January 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by freezing rooms Even with the heating blasting on full at 30c such a cold room with the thinnest summer duvet and no blankets ............ not good if id slept in my car it would have been warmer 12 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stayed a few times now as a Ihg employee & as a non Ihg employee, staff are friendly & helpful excellent service & breakfast deffo recommend & I will be staying again. Although in need of updating it's clean, comfortable & excellent service 10 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value stay Wonderful breakfast. Friendly staff. Only let down by failure to service room. 05 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We had 2 great nights here. Service was excellent, rooms were clean & comfortable. Our only complaint was our 2 rooms were on separate floors. Our 6 month old puppy thoroughly enjoyed her stay as well & thought it great fun racing down the corridor to the room. Staff were very welcoming to all of us. 03 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by always good always very friendly staff rooms are done for better standarts noisy street dobble glazing would help!!! 01 January 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room 501 For an upgrade, this room was below average value for money. The sofa-bed needed cleaning--it was covered in glitter and stains. We couldn't use the room safe because we were unable to open the safe door. The duvet was of very poor quality and there were no extra blankets in the room. However, the room was quiet, there was ample hot water and the breakfast was adequate. On request staff did provide 2 bathrobes. 01 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful Christmas There was nothing to fault at all. The room was spacious, warm, good lighting, comfortable bed and very clean. The staff were helpful and very friendly. You took dogs which is great, and good walks around the hotel. The cream was Christmas morning when Santa had left a stocking on the door handle, full of goodies, that was extra special, thank you so very much. We will be back, incredible value and breakfasts were great, thanks 01 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Richard Angus We stayed for 3 nights over Christmas as a base whilest visiting relations. The service was great as was the Breakfast freshly cooked and well presented. The Christmas stocking was a good festive tuch. 31 December 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>