• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 13 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 14 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - South A45

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.2MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish
  3. Russian

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Drayton Manor Park
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces61
  • Car Parking Available
  • Our hotel has a two-level car park. There is a parking charge of £5.00 for non-IHG Rewards Club members and £3.00 for IHG Rewards Club members. Please note that there is a maximum vehicle hight restriction of 1.8 metres.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 5.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:83
  • Total number of accessible rooms:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Enjoy a relaxing stay at this Birmingham hotel, if you are looking for somewhere comfortable and well located to stay during your trip to Birmingham.


It offers on-site parking, as well as many other conveniences, such as a bar, restaurant and state-of-the-art meeting rooms, with all of the computer facilities/office equipment that you need. Breakfast is also included and gets your day off to a
View More

Enjoy a relaxing stay at this Birmingham hotel, if you are looking for somewhere comfortable and well located to stay during your trip to Birmingham.


It offers on-site parking, as well as many other conveniences, such as a bar, restaurant and state-of-the-art meeting rooms, with all of the computer facilities/office equipment that you need. Breakfast is also included and gets your day off to a good start with a continental choice and three hot items.


Expect a warm welcome from our friendly team at this Birmingham Hotel. The staff go out of their way to make sure visitors enjoy their stay in Birmingham with maximum comfort, making it stand out from other hotels in Birmingham.


We offer high quality bedrooms, meeting rooms and a fantastic restaurant. Take a look around the hotel yourself via our virtual tour.


The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham–South A45, is situated on the Coventry Road, conveniently just off the M6, making it easily accessible for conferences, events, parties or a quick stop-over if you’re making a quick visit to the city.


This Birmingham Hotel is also near to the Birmingham International Airport (BHX ) and Birmingham’s city centre, both situated only five miles away.

View Less
Features
Our Birmingham hotel is on one of Birmingham's major arterial roads. It therefore has great connections to Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham International Airport, the National Exhibition Centre, NIA and LG Arena. We also have 83 rooms at the hotel, if you are looking to stay in Birmingham, and all guest rooms have Internet access. You can also take advantage of our business services.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 216 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and service We found the staff very helpful.polite and informative, the hotel was ideally situated for our visit to the NEC and a shopping trip to the Bull Ring ! Easy access to the motorway network and very comfortable rooms. We will definately come back ! 13 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast Our room smelt very strongly of damp which came from the bathroom and our carpet was threadbare in some places, however, our older children stayed in a different part of the hotel and their room was lovely. The breakfast was fantastic, lovely hot tea and coffee and lots of choice from the buffet. The room where breakfast was served was tired and around the door and skirting into the kitchen was filthy. Some areas need a bit of an update but overall a good hotel for the money. Would be nice to have snacks available in the bar after 10.30 12 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Typical Airport Hotel Stayed night of november 5th. Like a number of platinum level visitors recently i was not offered the points or drink option. I did query this but nothing was done. Management were aware of this from recent feedback but had not "made it happen". The room was a queen executive and was of high standard and in quiet area of hotel. Food in restaurant was quite acceptable but a little pricey. The shuttle service to airport was good with a polite and helpful driver. Overall the visit was not quite as impersonal as many airport hotels provide. Will stay there again when i fly from Birmingham 10 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No response to feedback from hotel I have stayed here more than once and have laboriously completed the feedback form in the room expecting a response from the hotel. On giving to reception staff the first time, I was assured I would be contacted. The second time I did so, I told them I had not had a response from my first feedback. I was again told I would definitely be contacted. No communication has been received. Why bother to ask for feedback and ignore it if the customer isn’t happy? 06 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by So near and yet so far...Gold Elite Benefits? I stay 2 to 4 times a year in the HI BHX so I am pretty used to the premises. As A Gold Elite IHG member I should have been offered a complimentary upgrade of room-I was not and I had to ask for this and happily it was given as there was availability. As A Gold Elite IHG member I should have been offered a complimentary drink or 300 IHG points-this was never offered (This was offered in the HI I stayed in Coventry in the previous 2 nights). At Check out My Bill was incorrect with charges for Room Service and car parking which I simply had not incurred-these errors were removed/addressed directly by reception. Finally the complimentary bus shuttle to the Airport simply stops between 2 and 3 p.m. each day which unfortunately for me is the time of day when I need to travel to the airport-so I ended up (and not for the first time) paying for a Taxi myself. To be fair the staff are typically courteous and I have never been refused a late check-out-again which is one of the Elite member benefits, however it does seem that small improvements and better staff knowledge of the IHG program would eliminate unnecessarily irritating regular/repeat customers. 05 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Loud music through the night, very little sleep Me and my family had a two night stay at this hotel as we were visiting Casbury World. The first night was awful, our family room was right upbove the function room, loud banging music till the early hours of the morning. Then when finally the music stopped and we thought we could get some sleep, drunk students were returning back to their rooms and carrying on with their party. The second night was peaceful and relaxing so we caught up on out sleep then. The pool and food was lovely but my advise would be find out if there is a function at that hotel before you book otherwise you are in for a noisy night. 02 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff but ridiculously expensive bar prices! Stayed here for a birthday party, also at the hotel. Reception, housekeeping, breakfast room & events staff were excellent; the lady on the bar the night in question was pretty miserable by comparison! She also managed to charge a variety of prices for the same rounds of drink orders. £19 almost for a double vodka and coke was simply extortionate and made many feel she was on the take! A shame really as it put a nasty twist to what otherwise was an enjoyable time. 02 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Stay Stayed one night, Comfortable Stay, and Rooms Improved from last stay, Although we was give an upgrade, so maybe they still have some tatty rooms. Bad Points : No Plat Customer Greeting No Drinks Voucher or Extra Points for PPC, although they do offer 20% off Food, But I had to ask, and on check out had to have bill corrected as they forgot my discount !! Charge for Car Parking Food & Drinks ££££ Messed Bill Up ( Had same problem with this Hotel last year ) Good Points : Upgraded to Excec Room, which is very nice 01 November 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service Got to hotel was over charged by £35. Then got told dinner room is closed due to staff problem. Then got moved from the wrong room. Next morning was over chagered £79. 29 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unpolite and not trained I stayed in this hotel 2 nights and that was enough. When checking in the staff had no clue about IHG memebership statuses and their meaning. I got after long waiting a room in the basement with a view right into a wall. The room was not clean and it smelled like someone died there. I did go back to the reception and told them about this and in the end they manage to get me to another room thats also why my judgement goes up and down in the rating. Staff in the restaurant was really serviceminded so a star to them but the restaurant was so cold that you thought a pengiun would appear anytime. The last night i had dinner in the bar and that was the most rude person ever when taking the order there was a big sigh like why you come here to distrub me, I manage to order then when the food came she just threw the plate on my table. Checkout took forever since i needed the room bill on one paper and the food on the other. So sorry not to be recomened this place 28 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff very helpful and clean throughout. We had a lovely night, the room was very comfortable and we were surprised that we couldnt hear any airplanes at all even though we were overlooking the take off runway. The pool etc was lovely and clean and well equiped. The restaurant a little pricey but on the whole a very nice experience. 24 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value with comfy room. Enjoyed an excellent overnight stay in a well decorated and equipped room. Bathroom was of a very high standard with quality fittings. Courteous hotel staff added to an enjoyable experience. .... Only small criticisms are the poor mobile phone coverage despite being located in an highly commercial area, and the high hotel charges for in room broadband. 23 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by average and tired.... To say the decor is tired is understating the situation. The frayed arms on the chair were sad and the state of the paintwork outside of the ground floor circulation areas did not give a good impression. Breakfast wasn't worth the cost (especially in comparison to some low budget competitors). My poached eggs were swimming in so much vinegar it discoloured the egg white and was strong enough for my colleague to comment on the smell. The fridge didn't work in the room. I had been unaware of the cost of parking which was £8.50, which seems a bit steep for someone staying in the hotel when there isn't any alternative! The staff attitude wasn't particularly welcoming in the restaurant or reception and the queue to check out in the morning was lengthy. Definitely won't be returning - felt like the hotel is complacent due to a steady stream of occupancy based on its location. Shame. 21 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Letting the Holiday Inn down First room proffered was dire; small, smelly and in poor order. The alternative was much much better. Gym area was out of service, although the steam room is pleasant. Food is of reasonable quality, but terribly overpriced. All in all, this feels like a hotel that only expects people passing through Birmingham. It makes no attempt to woo a guest back, so I shall not be returning. 21 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Reception Service On booking in the receptionist seemed more interested in getting back to a caller she had on hold than answering our questions. On booking out the same receptionist wasn't paying attention so I had to repeat myself. The restaurant staff at breakfast were very helpful and professional. The breakfast was excellent. The room was comfortable enough but you couldn't have a stand up shower because the shower hose was far too short. The sink waste pipe seemed to be partially blocked as water took an age to disappear. In future we will go back to using the Holiday Inn Express at the NEC. 19 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping Issues When I arrived at the hotel (around 5 pm on a weekday), there was a rather long queue at reception, so I had to wait a good 10 minutes before being able to check in at all. I did receive an upgrade to an Executive Room which was appreciated as the room was renovated and decently sized. Unfortunately this hotel seems to have housekeeping issues though, as upon arriving in the room I found an opened pack of Kit Kat by the mini bar, and later I discovered large holes (around 5 cm in diameter) in the sheet, right at the top where you can't miss it. Staff are friendly, no complaints there. 16 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Need more staff! I originally booked a triple room on line which was good value for money but decided to come a night earlier on my own. When I checked in I asked if I could stay in the same room which the receptionist said I could however when I arrived in the room at about 11pm there was only one large bed so it wasn't suitable for 3 but was a very nice room. In the morning at 6am when I was leaving there was a massive q and only one receptionist so I checked out and took all my stuff. This was really inconvenient as my daughter then took the car with all my stuff in it. When we went to check in again at 6pm we were given an awful room right by the runway with a tree scraping on the window! I queued again but was told that an Executive room which if had the night before was not available. Luckily I had earplugs! I guess it was cheap but unfortunately the service and noise of the 2nd night let this down. The executive room was lovely and quiet on the top floor. 14 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room We were given an upgrade to a suite what a wonderful surprise the bed and decor were wonderful I would like to know where to get the duvet and bed linen from please. The only down side breakfast wasn't very hot and bar was a little slow. The directions and having to take your car to the car park were very vague and didn't seem to be bothered thus when we got back 7!days later we had parked in the wrong n c p car park. We were left to sort it out ourselves. 07 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Worst stay in a hotel I have ever had. Long and short of it is I waited over an hour to be collected from airport, despite being told there was a collection every half hour and calling numerous time. Room wasn't very clean, black curly hairs on bathroom floor. So noisy I hardly slept a wink - endless running up and down the corridors, slamming doors, shouting. I called to complain in the middle of the night and on checking out the receptionist said there was nothing they could do about it and would not give me any discount, told me I would have to contact manager afterwards (on an email address that doesn't exist or a number nobody answered). Despite trying three different email addresses, nobody has responded to my complaint. Pool was very nice, but a decent sleep is more important! If you want a good night's sleep after a flight, don't go here on a Saturday night as they are clearly more concerned about the guests at their functions from than the rest of the guests in the hotel 28 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal for my journey abroad It is always a pleasure to stay at the Holiday Inn. The room was comfortable for the very brief time I was there (1 evening). I especially was pleased with how welcoming, pleasant and helpful the staff were. For me that makes all the difference. I had not been able to print off my boarding pass before checking in and the person on the desk was very helpful and patient, and she was able to do this for me. The only downside was that there was no WiFi in the room and it meant I had to go down to the lounge area to get online. But apart from this my very brief stay was pleasant. I was able to park my car through the deal as well, for what I thought was a reasonable price. So all in all I was pleased. 24 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by better than expected easy to find and 5 mins from NEC. Room was comfortable, gym a little small and evening meal was good, although not great value, wine especially expensive. All staff helpful and smiling. Will revisit when next at NEC 23 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel but needs to improve customer service Hotel was comrfortable and well placed for an overnight stay at the airport. Hotel was busy and on arrival the IHG Priority area was not staffed so there is no benefit for Platinum frequent traveller. I was also extremely disappointed that I got no response to two phone calls made direct to the hotel to seek advice on the airport shuttle. I was held twice on the line with it ringing out. In summary - experience could have been so much better if their customer service was improved. 23 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrific Terrible experience and well below what you would expect of Holiday Inn standards. Room stank of urine, was old, dated, dirty and shower only had a trickle of water coming out. Staff were extremely rude and unhelpful and suggested we call our travel provider when we complained about room?!?! Never again and definitely wouldn't recommend it to anyone heading to Birmingham. 21 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by exel service Good and courteous staff at reception and bar Suggest to privide veg items more in the menu and in the rooom service 11 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service, impossible to relax! Dear Holiday Inn Birmingham! I stayed in your hotel one night, and it was my worst experience so far! From my room about 2 meters distance there was an air conditioner on the wall, which was unbeliveable so noisy. It was impossible to sleep in. I stayed in several Holiday Inns and it was the wrost by far! I don't recommend this hotel to anyone, and this room shouldn't be let out. Also one of your staff, was not friendly and helpful at all. She tried to get rid of us as soon as possible. 09 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good option for overnighter and holiday parking We always use H.I. at gatwick for airport parking so decided to try birmingham this time.Reception v good. Room comfortable. Bar staff not fantastic. Free bus to airport drops at train station not airport. But it is literally 2 mins by monorail. 08 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable night and excellent service Very comfortable stay with excellent customer service. 08 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very convenient This hotel is ideally situated for both the airport and the train station. We found it very comfortable and the staff were excellent. We would recommend it to others and use it again ourselves. 06 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and excellent relax just reminder to put the family room for 6 personnes, 2 adults and 4 childrens 04 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and good breakfast Very comfortable bed and the room was very nice but only milk, coffee, tea and towels for one person despite there being two of us. Also when we tried to use the phone for room service and reception the phone wouldn't work. Furthermore we did arrive at 10.30pm and asked for a coffee in the bar we were told that we were too late. After a long journey from London and a long day it was all a bit below par. 03 September 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Select to close.
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 Front of Hotel A warm welcome awaits you at the Holiday Inn Express B'ham-South Front Desk Our staff will make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive The Great Room
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 13 Jul 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 14 Jul 2014)
Check Availability
Loading