Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 20 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 21 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 224 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable Room was a decent size and was spotless. The bed was really comfortable so apart from a slight noise emanating from the heater we had a good nights sleep. On the negative side it took quite a long time to get served in the bar (only one person appeared to be serving) and it took 40 mins to be served with a light snack which meant we had to eat it up fairly quickly in order to catch our taxi to the LG Arena. Breakfast was plentiful and the choice was OK but it was overcooked (especially the bacon) but it did not stop us from eating it. All in all we would still choose to stay there again should the occasion arise. 21 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff Was dreading staying here after reading some of the reviews but we were pleasantly surprised & the staff were VERY HELPFUL especially when we couldn't get our iPad to connect to wireless.. Breakfast was OK but to be fair we were very late for it. It is not a 5 Star hotel so don't expect 5 Star experience. We had a good time overall. 20 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice of hotel Only had an overnight stay, but would stay here longer if needed. Staff on reception were so helpful when asking about going into the centre of Birmingham, printing out directions and places to park. Breakfast was good only could have been hotter, but we were late going down. Room was clean and comfortable, however bed was soft, but this s a personal preference. 19 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Another great Holiday Inn Express We have previously stayed at another HIE in Manchester for the first time so we knew what to expect. Check in was quick but friendly. The room was exactly as the Manchester room. Love the tea and coffee facility, little things makes all the difference. Bathroom tiles need replacing but other than that all good standards. We stayed because of the location to the LG Arena, which was only a £5 taxi ride away. Breakfast was varied and plentiful ; hot and cold options (and the sausages were lovely). Very clean work surface with lovely staff making sure you have all that you need. For a budget hotel I would defiantly recommend Holiday Inn Express. I was previously Crowne Plaza customer. 14 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would return Made to feel very welcome and staff were helpful. Very convenient for the NEC but taxi is about £8 12 December 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by never again! dirty room and a sorry excuse for a breakfast buffet. 11 December 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by VERY AVERAGE AND VERY COLD The rooms are always really cold in this hotel and the little heater is poorly positioned so, even on the highest setting, it is never cosy and warm in the room and I have always been told there are no blankets available. I asked about the shuttle bus to the station the next day and was told the times. When I turned up at that time I was asked for my token as I should have booked a seat. I was never told about the booking and/or £2 charge as this had always been free in the past. Also very overpriced. 07 December 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by All been said! Location/shuttle bus £2) all plus points. Room / Bathroom clean and bed comfortable. Room cold on entry but thermostat allows adjustment and after return from dinner was warm through a cold night. Main bone of contention as is obvious from other reviewers is the standard of the "inclusive" breakfast. Lack of staff to clear dirty items/tables and supplies of the various items which generated cold food all negative points. The scrambled egg was obviously made from egg powder and was pretty solid. The in evening house food from comments seems poor but there is a first class pub/eating house adjacent to hotel which provides a good selection of first class food/drink. No problem booking in or out. Consider hotel expensive for what it is and at best is average. However would use it again. 02 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good position, friendly staff comfortable hotel with helpful staff. No complimentary WIFI which is definitely a downer in this day and age. 01 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by staff the staff in the dining room, where do I start. could nt be bothered came to mind. we asked for clean cups. response I will see if there are any ready. 10 mins later the same person we asked again. eventually she did bring some out, we pick up a few a they were dirty. Breakfast was cold and they were running out all the time. other people were complaining regarding this. The reception staff on the other hand. nothing was to much trouble, they were all very polite and a credit to the company. 29 November 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Grossly Overpriced Booked this hotel at short notice to attend the Classic Car show at the NEC. Robotic service from the check in girl with the word thank you only uttered once. Room 117 was a disaster. Stains on the sofa bed, cobwebs above the bed, kettle did not work unless you jammed it at an angle with a coffee sachet, the desk supporting leg was broken and jammed at a silly angle, mould in the shower, cracked tiles on bathroom floor, extractor fan that sounded like a washing machine on full spin all night! (Pictures attached). The rules prevent the price we paid being published but for just over half the amount, we could have stayed in an executive room at the Zoo Holiday Inn, Edinburgh. Bar area quite pleasant, slow service but nice lad serving. Girls on the desk seemed preoccupied with preening constantly rearranging their hair. Tables were cluttered with dirty plates and glasses. Eventually all was cleaned up. Breakfast area large and roomy. Orange juice so weak as to be tasteless. Chose a croissant but so hard and stale was inedible - really was like cardboard. We did not try the cooked food. Check out fast and no mention of rewards points. It seems we now have 3 accounts because Holiday Inn cannot sort the problem out. Emails are ignored because we cannot find the the 3 sets of numbers and don't have a clue what the security codes are. We are actually platinum but we get a new account at every hotel it seems, so we are shown as club. We are at a loss to understand why Holiday Inn cannot resolve this after so many stays at their hotels in the last few years. 23 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 3rd stay We have stayed at this hotel now for the 3rd year and again everything was very good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and we'd definitely stay again. Do feel that standard room rates are a bit high for facilities on offer. 20 November 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor impressions When we arrived, the family room was not made up. The member of staff on reception did her best but having to make your own bed isn't the best start. We then went to the bar and what awaited any guest was pleasant. The whole bar area was covered in dirty glasses. The staff didn't get around to clearing the bar / restaurant area for nearly an hour after we sat down. (2115). Breakfast wasn't much better. The hot breakfast, hot drinks and bread kept running out. There was a lot of upset people. We didn't go down to breakfast until after 9-30 but it was hard to find a clear table and a plate was a thing to dream about! The second morning wasn't much better. This time there was less food available and the wait was unacceptable. Overall, the staff we met where brilliant and did there utmost. It was very clear that this hotel needed more staff at busy periods. Keeping food and drink topped isn't rocket science, just better planning is required. 19 November 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unsatisfactory customer care We had booked a room for 3 adults. When we arrived there was no bedding for the third person. We went to reception who tried to put us in a room where someone had clearly been sick so we were moved back to our original room we were told they would send up extra bedding etc we had to phone 3 times to get towels for third person, which was taken away by the cleaner. We were then charged for parking which we felt could have been removed considereing the problems with bedding/towels etc. 17 November 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal for Nec Whilst the hotel was comfortable and clean,very convenient for the NEC, the food served for an evening meal was appalling and because of its location there was little choice but to eat there. The front of house staff were courteous and helpful and special praise goes to the driver who drove the hotel courtesy bus 16 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience Coffee was the most discusting ever drank. - breakfast average Bar area lacked comfort. Staff friendly Would stay again to go to Little owl pob next door 16 November 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not good On arrival we went to our room and my daughters bed was not made up I had to ring for bed linen, then we went out and came back to have a meal next door at the pub and when we got there they were fully booked and was told we should have booked. 4 months before when I booked I asked about the pub and was not told about the booking for a meal , then I rang a week before we went and asked again still nothing. On returning to the hotel to look at the menu for bar meals the staff then took the menus off the tables and told us that it was a curry night and as we do not eat curry we were with out a meal for the night. I rang and spoke to the duty manager no help there, so I contacted the complaints line and was told they would sort it and I would here from the hotel with in 5mins one hour later I rang again and was put through to the USA where a nice lady sorted it out and the staff got in touch with me and arranged for us to order what we wanted and told us it was on them. After that we went to bed and left the next morning if I was to be asked if I would stop again it would be no but when you look under the bed and see wrappers under the put up bed and dust it is not on I have booked else where next time ! 16 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great deal for the night Altogether a great stay - went to the NEC. The people in the next room talked all night, but we didnt think to ring reception, who told us in the morning that they would have rung them and asked them to be quiet. Will know better next time! Very pleasant hotel and staff and good pub next door. 12 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for money Very handy for events at the NEC. Comfortable rooms. Great value for money, especially considering breakfast is included. Large bar area with a good atmosphere. Lovely pub next door too. Only downside is that you have to pay £7 to park your car on the carpark. 11 November 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Awful food Admittedly we arrived at 9.30pm and they stopped serving food at 10pm but it was terrible. My partner and son ordered cheeseburger and chips, the chips were under cooked oven chips and the burger was just as bad. Wouldn't be so bad if this was reflected in the price but at £8-£10 it wasn't. Breakfast was even worse, there was only scrambled egg which was white and very poor quality sausages. No bacon! It was my partner's birthday too so he was very disappointed. Even the croissants were cold! Some of the staff were helpful and friendly but most were disinterested at best. We chose the hotel as it was said to be in walking distance of the NEC, it was close but the NEC is so big that you have to drive to get to the car parks anyway. For the sake of 10 minutes in the car, I would definitely recommend somewhere else. If you are going on holiday and looking for somewhere convenient to stop for a few hours then maybe but otherwise don't stay here. Definitely the worst hotel I've ever been to. 09 November 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Annoyingly poor. This hotel could and should be rated higher. Unfortunately the friendly check-in staff and the clean rooms (though we'll come to the linen later) are basically undone by the breakfast "service" which comes straight from Fawlty Towers. If you are going to advertise that there is a selection of hot food for breakfast, then please make sure there is. Stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend and on both mornings there was a distinct lack of hot food (specifically sausages) but also NO glasses for fruit juice and NO mugs for coffee on either occasion. The latter did eventually arrive, but not many. So it was a question of elbowing other guests out of the way and just grabbing! Same with the ubiquitous sausages - only more so. The kitchen seemed unable to realise that once one lot had come out, they should put another lot on. Also there was (on the Saturday morning), no-one apparently clearing tables - I did a few. I'm sure that the "snippy" attitude of the breakfast staff was due to stress.........I was only trying to point out that the tray of sausages she had just brought out was virtually gone once I had taken my 2. Not that the cold buffet selection was anything to write home about either. Again, it was a distinct lack of volume as it wasn't being topped up. On to the rooms which at first appearance were clean. However one of the bath towels had 2 holes in it - about the size of a 50p and the sheet on one bed had some sort of (purple?) stain on it. Overall, I think the Hotel needs a Hotel Manager and a Kitchen Manager to get the place up to the level it should be at. Shame really. 05 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent express service Very good in terms of staff, rooms and comfort. I will be reccomending this hotel to my friends and business colleagues. The room was spotlessly clean, as was the shower/tiolet room, and the bed was very comfortable. The heating took a lttle time to overcome the low outside /inside temp, but it was a minor problem. Excellent value for money. 03 November 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by cool the coldest H.I. I have stayed in, no central heating and a poor heater in rooms. corridors cold. receptionist on arrival very sharp, no welcome , just said " I KNOW" SHE ALSO FORGOT HOW TO SMILE . SHUTTLE ADVERTISED AT RECEPTION TO L.G.BUT WAS NOT OFFERED JUST ASKED IF WE WANTED A TAXI BOOKING 02 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ideal location I've stayed at this hotel before when going to a concert at the LG arena, ideal location. Friendly staff, clean room, can't understand why they don't do bacon at breakfast ! 02 November 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room rubish service We stayed for two night at the Holiday inn next to the NEC in Birmingham. The room was comfortable and clean however the service was rubbish. There no tea and coffee making facilities in the room and when i complained it took them over an hour to sort it out. Breakfast on both days was a complete and utter shambles. There were no knives or forks clean we were told they were in the dishwasher so we havd to waite. There were no cups to have a drink they were in the dishwasher. The tables had not been cleaned and the bar area was piled high with dirty plates. I have to say that the satff were not very helpful. 29 October 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by nec visit requested double bed but had 2 singles, mildew in shower tray,really cold in main lounge,no draught beer in stock, excellent shuttle service,friendly staff in my opinion didn't get value for money,would expect some kind of reimbursement 28 October 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Room, terrible breakfast arrangements The room and bed were comfortable and clean. However, there were far too many people at breakfast. A table was hard to find and the food ran out frequently. Queues were long and I was unable to get a full breakfast. Some form of phasing for breakfast or an arrangement of time slots for guests on coach trips or other guests during busy periods would be helpful if practical. 28 October 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient for NEC This is the third time that we have stayed here. It's very convenient if you are visiting the NEC. The adjoining pub/restaurant is also convenient especially as there is now an on-line booking facility which is essential during large exhibitions since many of the exhibitors also stay at the hotel. Two gripes. It is starting to show its age and is in need of refurbishment throughout. Also the practice of charging separately for car parking is more akin to Ryan Air. I appreciate that those without cars will benefit but realistically given its location most guests are going to have a car. If it is intended to stop those visiting the NEC parking for free close by then by all means keep the barriers and validate parking tickets for bona fide guests. 28 October 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by food evening meal good, but speed of service poor without explanation for delay. Nearly went elsewhere to eat. 25 October 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room with pleasant dining facility. We stayed at this hotel while visiting the Caravan and Motorhome exhibition at the NEC. Well placed for visiting Birmingham. 25 October 2012
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>