Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 21 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 22 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 240 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Total Experience The check-in was to the standard experienced in many of the chained establishments and did highlight at check-in that i was a valued priority member. Found in the morning that I had no milk available to make a coffee? When using the bathroom of which i was on the third floor found that the hot water was intermittent when using the shower in that either was to hot to stand under or that cold I did not wish to be in the shower. The hot tap made a sound of a set of badgers squealing at daybreak which i thought could be heard from fellow residents due to noise levels! The breakfast experience I have to say was slick and efficient on both days however did feel that on day of checking out it was more structured and pleasant with plenty of meet and greet and selection available which was not present so much on first morning. The layout of items was user friendly without having to stop fellow residents in obtaining breakfast. Having two toaster stations made the speed of a highly sourced commodity beneficial. One observation in such a busy establishment would be putting buutter portions close to the toasting machines if needs be in a bowl of iced water rather than one point of collection being next to the Youghurts? Found the staff Tracy and Jan most engaging and organized with polite welcoming conversation not forgetting the staff member who was on waste collection whos name has escaped me (sorry ) he was most helpful and sped up the breakfast process. Checkout I feel could be better as I saw the staff members who cleared the late shift back on duty the following morning? does the chain have dispensation from the working time directive with staff members only having five hours between shifts?! in my view this does not allow them to be at there best to deliver customer service.let alone if opted out of the WTD ? I would use the hotel again but do feel there is some customer experiences that could be better however check- in and breakfast service day two well done and thank you for the quality experience. 12 March 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Access to NEC We booked this hotel to attend Focus on Imaging at NEC. Hotel description states it is a 15 minute walk to NEC. When we asked the way at reception we were told you could walk but it was on roads without pavements and across car parks so wasn't recommended. You could drive or take the shuttle bus to the station and walk across. Driving would have meant queuing into the car parks and incurring a £10 parking charge and the shuttle bus would have cost us £8 there and back for 2. We therefore went for a walk, saw the hole in the hedge across the dual carriageway that people obviously used and went that way. Climb through the fence, short grassy walk, across a bit of car park and onto the pavement. Hotel was comfortable and quiet, breakfast was fine. Reception staff ok but not particularly helpful or cheerful. Breakfast room staff cheerful and helpful. Hotel description misleading. Might stay again now we know where the hole in the hedge is! 11 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and great value Have not stayed at a Holiday Inn Express for quite a few years, so didn't have high expectations. I was pleasantly surprised how much the brand has improved. Firstly, the service was excellent from the front desk welcome and efficiency to the bar and food provided in the evening. The biggest thing I welcomed was the inclusion of a full english breakfast, which was one of the reasons for not staying at an 'Express' recently. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was of peace and calm. 10 March 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel is modern and inviting on approach ,shame the staff where not the same. When we approached the hotel, we thought "what an attractive hotel, when we went inside we thought "what an attractive reception area, then we looked at the staff and that's where it all went wrong.. The receptionist,s first grunts where .... Yerrrrr.. We thought we would give her the benefit of the doubt ,but it didn,t get any better... The staff that where on duty when my wife slipped out for more milk I the evening didn,t even respond to her conversion and just pointed in the direction of the cartons, then wen back to there conversation.....seems like we just got in there way.... We mentioned the room was to cold but the receptionist on the evenin couldn,t do anything she said in a bored way an returned to her more important conversation... We brought these matters up with the deputy manager the following day when we checked out, she was very understanding and helpful and said she would let the manager know and the manager would ring us the following day as she was of that day....guess what !! She has never rung... They say bad staff are led by bad managers.... 01 March 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Birmingham NEC not the best :-( After staying in Stratford holiday inn express and having an excellent stay i decided to book birmingham NEC. I must say the room was the same very comfortable and clean. Unfortunately the breakfast was very disappointing, everything had run out at 9.00am and while waiting for more food everything else was going cold. Then after finally getting a breakfast there was no cutlery to eat it with! Short staff was given as an explanation, but I'm afraid it was more like very bad management! I had recommended this chain of hotels to our friends so was very diasappointed that it was so poor! 01 March 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Basic but if you have to Basic business hotel in middle of no where only stay if you need NEC or airport 24 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable express Comfortable stay. Rooms of a good size with average size bathroom. Clean and tidy. Breakfast good. Friendly staff. Good restaurant next door. Use this hotel many times going to dog shows. 21 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Price and Location to the LG Arena Great night sleep for a great price. I would stay here again........................ 16 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good room. Poor breakfast. The room and the staff were great. Certainly better and more comfortable rooms compared to competitors at the same price. However , it was all let down a bit by the breakfast. The choice was poor for the sort of continental breakfast I like. The english breakfast was available in masses, but did not look appealing. I would not of had a problem with an english breakfast if it had been more appetising looking. 14 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by overpriced lLooking forward to relaxing after trade show, staff good, Room poor, rubbish in both bins, bed looked like it had had someone rest on it. floor gave the appearance of not been hoovered. tear in duvet cover.. Overall impression well overpriced, could do with an upgrade 12 February 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It's OK, but Pros: Clean and fresh room and fairly quiet at night Cons: 1) In room kettle worked intermittently, had to use wedge for it to locate to boil 2) Mean with tea (2 teabags, not good if you and 2nd person like to have more than 1 cup of tea each , rubbish cartons of milk in room 3) En suite - push up plug in sink broken 4) Breakfast - (please note I am vegetarian, so comments apply ONLY to NON MEAT items) 5) Scrambled egg was dry and rubbery 6) No proper butter, only some rubbish butter blend 7) Poor quality sliced bread and poor quality preserves 8) TV channels - poor - HIEX could not even supply all the FREEVIEW channels Other than that, HIEX was conveniently situated for business trip and more importantly room, en-suite and facilities were clean. So probably will stay there again, just for the convenience. 09 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No hot water!! Took me 3 attempts to get into my first room which smelt and the bathroom light didn't work. I was given a new room, went out and crashed. It was only in the morning I discovered there was no hot water so ended up having a cold shower. Went for a lateish breakfast (8.45 a.m) and found a very limited choice - i.e. a couple of cereal options and toast. I've stayed here before but won't be doing so again. Only saving grace is that the receptionist was very nice and helpful. 07 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel Second time I've stayed here and both times were great. Very handy location for events at the NEC. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Will definitely stay again. 31 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by very nice people in reception. Very nice hotel. The beds are not to good ,but it is not to expensive to stay. Breakfast is good but not super ,because the price is low. 19 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by nice room and service; food needs work A comfortable stay in a pleasant and well located hotel; bedroom was clean, comfortable and quiet, although the lighting at the desk area was minimal. Microwaved bar burger with fresh chips was both expensive and mediocre; breakfast was OK but could use a better choice. Staff were excellent and helpful. 17 January 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by FOOD Evening meals of poor quality, food served still frozen, inadequate untrained staff, half of menu not available. poor value for money. 11 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable Room was a decent size and was spotless. The bed was really comfortable so apart from a slight noise emanating from the heater we had a good nights sleep. On the negative side it took quite a long time to get served in the bar (only one person appeared to be serving) and it took 40 mins to be served with a light snack which meant we had to eat it up fairly quickly in order to catch our taxi to the LG Arena. Breakfast was plentiful and the choice was OK but it was overcooked (especially the bacon) but it did not stop us from eating it. All in all we would still choose to stay there again should the occasion arise. 21 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff Was dreading staying here after reading some of the reviews but we were pleasantly surprised & the staff were VERY HELPFUL especially when we couldn't get our iPad to connect to wireless.. Breakfast was OK but to be fair we were very late for it. It is not a 5 Star hotel so don't expect 5 Star experience. We had a good time overall. 20 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice of hotel Only had an overnight stay, but would stay here longer if needed. Staff on reception were so helpful when asking about going into the centre of Birmingham, printing out directions and places to park. Breakfast was good only could have been hotter, but we were late going down. Room was clean and comfortable, however bed was soft, but this s a personal preference. 19 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Another great Holiday Inn Express We have previously stayed at another HIE in Manchester for the first time so we knew what to expect. Check in was quick but friendly. The room was exactly as the Manchester room. Love the tea and coffee facility, little things makes all the difference. Bathroom tiles need replacing but other than that all good standards. We stayed because of the location to the LG Arena, which was only a £5 taxi ride away. Breakfast was varied and plentiful ; hot and cold options (and the sausages were lovely). Very clean work surface with lovely staff making sure you have all that you need. For a budget hotel I would defiantly recommend Holiday Inn Express. I was previously Crowne Plaza customer. 14 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would return Made to feel very welcome and staff were helpful. Very convenient for the NEC but taxi is about £8 12 December 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by never again! dirty room and a sorry excuse for a breakfast buffet. 11 December 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by VERY AVERAGE AND VERY COLD The rooms are always really cold in this hotel and the little heater is poorly positioned so, even on the highest setting, it is never cosy and warm in the room and I have always been told there are no blankets available. I asked about the shuttle bus to the station the next day and was told the times. When I turned up at that time I was asked for my token as I should have booked a seat. I was never told about the booking and/or £2 charge as this had always been free in the past. Also very overpriced. 07 December 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by All been said! Location/shuttle bus £2) all plus points. Room / Bathroom clean and bed comfortable. Room cold on entry but thermostat allows adjustment and after return from dinner was warm through a cold night. Main bone of contention as is obvious from other reviewers is the standard of the "inclusive" breakfast. Lack of staff to clear dirty items/tables and supplies of the various items which generated cold food all negative points. The scrambled egg was obviously made from egg powder and was pretty solid. The in evening house food from comments seems poor but there is a first class pub/eating house adjacent to hotel which provides a good selection of first class food/drink. No problem booking in or out. Consider hotel expensive for what it is and at best is average. However would use it again. 02 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good position, friendly staff comfortable hotel with helpful staff. No complimentary WIFI which is definitely a downer in this day and age. 01 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by staff the staff in the dining room, where do I start. could nt be bothered came to mind. we asked for clean cups. response I will see if there are any ready. 10 mins later the same person we asked again. eventually she did bring some out, we pick up a few a they were dirty. Breakfast was cold and they were running out all the time. other people were complaining regarding this. The reception staff on the other hand. nothing was to much trouble, they were all very polite and a credit to the company. 29 November 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Grossly Overpriced Booked this hotel at short notice to attend the Classic Car show at the NEC. Robotic service from the check in girl with the word thank you only uttered once. Room 117 was a disaster. Stains on the sofa bed, cobwebs above the bed, kettle did not work unless you jammed it at an angle with a coffee sachet, the desk supporting leg was broken and jammed at a silly angle, mould in the shower, cracked tiles on bathroom floor, extractor fan that sounded like a washing machine on full spin all night! (Pictures attached). The rules prevent the price we paid being published but for just over half the amount, we could have stayed in an executive room at the Zoo Holiday Inn, Edinburgh. Bar area quite pleasant, slow service but nice lad serving. Girls on the desk seemed preoccupied with preening constantly rearranging their hair. Tables were cluttered with dirty plates and glasses. Eventually all was cleaned up. Breakfast area large and roomy. Orange juice so weak as to be tasteless. Chose a croissant but so hard and stale was inedible - really was like cardboard. We did not try the cooked food. Check out fast and no mention of rewards points. It seems we now have 3 accounts because Holiday Inn cannot sort the problem out. Emails are ignored because we cannot find the the 3 sets of numbers and don't have a clue what the security codes are. We are actually platinum but we get a new account at every hotel it seems, so we are shown as club. We are at a loss to understand why Holiday Inn cannot resolve this after so many stays at their hotels in the last few years. 23 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 3rd stay We have stayed at this hotel now for the 3rd year and again everything was very good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and we'd definitely stay again. Do feel that standard room rates are a bit high for facilities on offer. 20 November 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor impressions When we arrived, the family room was not made up. The member of staff on reception did her best but having to make your own bed isn't the best start. We then went to the bar and what awaited any guest was pleasant. The whole bar area was covered in dirty glasses. The staff didn't get around to clearing the bar / restaurant area for nearly an hour after we sat down. (2115). Breakfast wasn't much better. The hot breakfast, hot drinks and bread kept running out. There was a lot of upset people. We didn't go down to breakfast until after 9-30 but it was hard to find a clear table and a plate was a thing to dream about! The second morning wasn't much better. This time there was less food available and the wait was unacceptable. Overall, the staff we met where brilliant and did there utmost. It was very clear that this hotel needed more staff at busy periods. Keeping food and drink topped isn't rocket science, just better planning is required. 19 November 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unsatisfactory customer care We had booked a room for 3 adults. When we arrived there was no bedding for the third person. We went to reception who tried to put us in a room where someone had clearly been sick so we were moved back to our original room we were told they would send up extra bedding etc we had to phone 3 times to get towels for third person, which was taken away by the cleaner. We were then charged for parking which we felt could have been removed considereing the problems with bedding/towels etc. 17 November 2012
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>