• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 21 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 22 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: LONDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:24
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Italian
  5. Punjabi
  6. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide Dogs or Service Animals are accepted

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Tate Modern
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
London Eye
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Borough Market
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
The Shard
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:6
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:20
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of accessible rooms:24
  • Total number of floors:7

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room,
View More

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room, decorated in contemporary colours, and start each day with an Express Start Breakfast in our lively Great Room.

Getting around London is easy with London Bridge and Waterloo stations just a short stroll from the hotel. Cross Blackfriars Bridge to get to the London Stock Exchange, Royal Courts of Justice and Bank of England.

We're just minutes from the lively cafes, theatres and galleries that dot London's trendy South Bank. Walk along the River Thames to the Tate Modern gallery, housed in a converted power station, or stroll over the futuristic Millennium Bridge to elegant St Paul's Cathedral. Why not stop by Borought Market for food tasting en route to the Shard.

Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark's central location puts chic bars and restaurants on your doorstep. Ask staff to recommend their favourites or do your own research via free wireless Internet in our open-plan Lobby.

View Less
Features
The hotel is situated in an ideal location; 5 minutes walking distance to Southwark Tube Station and Blackfriars Station. Come and enjoy the most famous London attractions as the London Eye, Tate Modern, and Tower Bridge on the Riverbank.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 238 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in great location This hotel is in a great location. The rooms are really comfortable and have been refurbished since I was there last - very stylish! Great breakfast too! The location is very convenient for the city, Columbia Road Flower market, the bars and restaurants in Hoxton Square and Kingland Road. It is a bit noisy because of the area but it was worth it for all the other benefits. 14 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place It's a nice hotel with lovely room, shower was brilliant!. Only annoyance was the fact the noisy air conditioning unit was on and the controls for it didn't do anything even though they looked to be working?!. Resulted in an annoying drone sound all night and bit chilly. 07 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value in central location. Easily accessible from all London airports and mainline stations just a few minutes walk from Old Street underground. There are a few eating establishments in the area for lunch or supper and a small supermarket nearby. Hotel reception staff are welcoming and helpful - allowed room access on our early afternoon arrival - provided fresh milk at my request. Room and facilities were clean and comfortable. On the down side the lighting could be brighter over mirrors, shower could be a touch hotter and room heating/air con controls more responsive. The inclusive breakfast is comprehensive and while not four star is perfectly adequate with everything from cereals to hot dishes provided. Overall the accommodation is excellent value for money in a reasonable location. It's worth mentioning that all the staff were incredibly pleasant and helpful - that really adds to the visit. 07 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, quiet room in the centre of London, disappointing breakfast Good clean & comfortable room, and the staff were polite and friendly, but breakfast felt like a packed school dining room. Quite poor choice, and extremely busy with long queues for food and an atmosphere of "every man for himself" rather than a feeling of calm and service. They had a luggage room where we could check in our bags early which was brilliant. We'd just stayed at a Premier Inn the night before where the breakfast was just fantastic and level of service exceptional so by comparison we were slightly disappointed. 06 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by One night stop over The room was booked because my girlfriend and I went to a gig in Shoreditch and wouldn't have made the train home once it finished. What can I say, it was a bed to sleep in, bed was very comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful when needed, for just one night it was good enough. The only thing I am struggling with is that we booked into the hotel in mid October and I was only billed for my stay today (6th November) this is the only time I haven't been charged immediately upon check out. Rather annoyed about the late billing. 06 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was superb My stay was an excellent one from the momemnt I walked into the hotel, the staff were very friendly and were excellent right throughout my stay. They could not do enough for me and my family. Highly recommend this hotel and definately will stay here again. 04 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and good standard services Great location. Very handy for the tube and shops. Food was good. Staff were friendly. The only issue that I had was the sofa bed which was not very comfortable. 02 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable Had a good weekends stay but had to change rooms after the first night as the first room was too noisy due to a noisy water tank or the plumbing. Could not fault reception as they changed our room immediately. Breakfast was the same each morning but still had a wide choice. 31 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great for a short break Enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express. The Hotel was warm, clean and good value for London. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the location was handy for the Old Street Tube station. Although the surrounding area is quite scruffy and run down. Only gripes are.... Only one pillow each and no bacon. 26 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by RELAXING HOTEL CLOSE TO CENTRE OF LONDON VIA OLD STREET STATION We recently had a short break in London and chose this hotel, we were very impressed for the price. Lovely room, comfortable beds and great buffet breakfast. Would definitely recommend a stay, we will be booking again next year. Thank you. 18 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location Stayed at the this hotel to have a night out around hoxton square and old street. This is perfect location for that. We had a double room with sofa bed. On arrival we didn't have any bedding for the sofa bed, so I asked at reception if we could get some. The guy on reception was very abrupt, and refused to give us bedding for it. Surely if we have paid for this room we should be allowed to sleep on the sofa if we want? Anyway, problem was resolved when I asked housekeeping directly, who were more than happy to make the bed. Other than that, hotel was lovely, very modern, breakfast was lovely, although abit manic and I would stay there again. 17 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxed Weekend Just need more in-room amenities (i.e., microwave/fridge) for those who would rather not have breakfast at the time breakfast is served. Overall good experience. 16 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Smal Room London is Expensive. This was a less expensive place than many others. However, we had two adults and two children in a "Family" style room. Ther was hardly any room to move in the room for four people. It was modern and clean, the staff was good and the breakfast was good. Good location to the subway. Everything was good except the price in London for a tiny room. 08 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The location is the only reason you would want to stay here In the heart of the Old Street/Shoreditch area which means you have loads of great bars and restaurants right on your doorstep. Took me a whole day to get an Iron to iron my shirts. I realize its a budget hotel but not having any available and not knowing where they have all gone is not really on. The icing on the cake was the second evening when I (again) inquired for a iron and ironing board at reception only to be told (again) that none were available. Only for another member of staff to open a cupboard full of ironing boards and presented me with one. Moral of the story, don't listen to anything the front desk staff say! Hotel rooms are nice. Newly refurbished and clean. Air conditioning is noisy though and kept me awake one night. Good for exploring Old Street. Thats about all 07 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top-Lage Zwar liegt das Hotel nicht direkt im Zentrum, aber dafür direkt an einer Bushaltestelle, die zur Oxford-Street fährt. Auch die U-Bahn ist nur wenige Gehminuten entfernt. Die Zimmer sind ausreichend groß, das Bad offenbar neu renoviert und alles ist sauber. Das Frühstück ist für englische Verhältnisse ausgesprochen gut und reichhaltig. Es gab auch genügend Sitzplätze im Frühstücksbereich, da gab es überhaupt nichts zu bemängeln. Im Hotel gibt es eine kleine Bar, die bis nachts offen hat, sodass man auch dort noch mal etwas trinken kann. Wir waren jedenfalls sehr zufrieden undf würden dieses Hotel jederzeit wieder bucxhen. 04 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT Staff and great location Extremely pleased with my stay at this hotel. As an IHG platinum member, I am always searching for value on my leisure stays. This place was in perfect location...many bars/restaurants nearby (within 5-15 minute walk). Train rail about 10 minute walk that will take you to main train stations. The room was excellent, plenty of power outlet locations, bed was comfy, bathroom was superb (appeared to be newly renovated), free WiFi throught hotel (HUGE PLUS), and most importantly staff was beyond superb. Very friendly and helpful...pleasantly inviting smiles. Thanks to Yasemin and Syliva for the wonderful service. Cons: Bathroom lighting was a bit shadowy, television in room did not work, no complimentary bathroom items (shampoo, lotion, etc.) that you would normally find in hotel. Bar/lounge is near check-in (I assume to dual purpose check-in and bar service) which isn't bad but bar is not comfortably functional to sit at but, there are lounge chairs/tables adjacent that suit the situation fine. Nightly rate is a bit high for offereings but overall, good hotel. Variety of breakfast items but hot items were not to my liking. A lot of cold cereal to choose from though. I had breakfast only one of the three mornings there. However, because these cons are personally specific to me, they would not deter me from recommending this place and rate it anything less than an excellent. Lastly, I flew to London so did not require parking but it was 30pounds per day which is a huge negative. Parking should always be complimentary at hotels. 03 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible service If you arrive later in the day, you could end up in smoking room. This is due to their policy of the customer needing to specify you DON'T want a smoking room, even if you didn't book one. Management also rude and unhelpful. Breakfast also really poor selection and quality. Overall, terrible value, you can get much better for same money or less. 29 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect services by welcoming team Great vacation in London, welcoming and helpful hotel team, perfect public transportation options, comfortable room and 100% breakfast. RECOMMENDED! 27 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent weekend stay Excellent weekend stay. Room very comfortable, clean and modern interior. Bathroom was particularly lovely - nice double shower, plenty of hot water whenever needed. The staff were all very friendly - always stopped to say hello. The breakfast was fresh and hot food fresh and hot - they even made us fresh scrambled egg! We thought our stay was very good value and we would be happy to stay again. The tube station is only a few minutes walk, so very convenient. Thank you! 26 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable and quiet Very good place to stay in central London. Family room was quite tight for four with the sofa bed pulled out, but I don't think you'd find much better in this location. Breakfast was busy self-service but all pretty nice, although lacking in bacon! Free wi-fi and 5 minute walk to the tube 26 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very clean and welcoming The location was ideal for us as we were attending a Ball in The Brewery not too far away. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the free breakfast was good and the free wifi a bonus. We will most definately use this hotel group again 25 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy and room smelly Had to be moved for second night due to noisy air can. The 2nd room was smelly and surrounded by very noisy people. generally the hotel was not of the standard expected for the price. Premier Inn is better. 22 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by We`ll come back again! Friendly and helpful staff at any time - quiet room (only the double couch was hard to sleep on) - very good breakfast and only 3 minutes to Old Street subway station. Parking is rather expensive. 21 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Too Small, Pricey for What You Get and Terrible Elevators The wide angle pictures are deceiving as the rooms are very (!!!!!!) small and if you have more than two people (we had 3), you cannot even move in the room. The main bed was comfortable enough, but the pull out was terrible and the springs even poked through. We booked the room based looks, previous ratings, price, and location. The location was great. The price was terrible and again deceiving as for a third person there was an extra change - in US$, we paid well over $300 per night - about twice as high as a comparable Holiday Inn in the US. Finally one elevator was out of service and the second broke down - you would think the first would have been taken care of as this has been a common complaint in many of the past reviews. On positive notes, the staff were very nice and helpful and there were some nice restaurants and pubs within walking distance! 19 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Hotel and good quality room All the staff were really friendly and made me feel very welcome. Accommodation was exactly what I'd hoped. Quiet, good order and value for money. One of the best 'express' hotels I've stayed in within the confines of the City. Only downside was the bar was a bit 'lacking in inspiration' but given the wide range of choices nearby that really wasn't an issue 13 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel and good service The hotel is in a great location for visiting London, recently refurbished with good facilities and excellent cleanliness of the rooms, quite spacious. The breakfast is not very different for an Italian, but good. Staff really helpful and friendly. Recommended to all. 11 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unprofessional staff. Woman at the reception was plain rude, let alone she gave IHG member recognition. I had asked for a room away from the busy street in advance, which I was not given. When I asked to change rooms, she promptly replied there were no other rooms available, without actually checking. I asked her to 'check again'. She got visibly annoyed, but reluctantly gave me another room. I do wish I wouldn't have had to insist on her providing service. When I called the button marked ' taxi' it turned out to be not functioning. When I called reception, I had to call back twice, because there was no one picking up. I had never before experienced calling the reception and no one answering, and I travel every other week. Rooms are clean. Wifi is not free. They didn't offer it to me, although they should do that to Gold members. Use of business centre is not free. 10 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Modern and smart Modern and clean with good facilities in room and excellent bathroom. 06 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by surprisingly quiet I was pleasantly surprised by how quiet it was in my room, despite being so central. 04 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by ridiculous price for a tiny room we booked a family room (2 adults, 1 child), paid a ridiculous price and had a standard double room - in this special case a tiny one with no space at all. If you want a nice holiday hotel, this is not the right one. 04 September 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Visit The Famous Tate Modern Museum, Only 5 Minutes Away London skyline Why Not Meet a Friend or a Colleague Over a Coffee or Drink Hotel Lobby WiFriendly Staff is Here to Help You Don't Miss Out and Visit Tower Bridge Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Southwark View of St Pauls Cathedral Stay Informed Watching the News in a Newly Refurbished Lobby View On The Green Wall Of The Hotel View on the Bankside Area and the Shard View Holiday Inn Express Southwark from Southwark Street Walk To The London Eye Along The Thames Riverside
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 21 Aug 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 22 Aug 2014)
Check Availability
Loading