• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 18 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 19 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: LONDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:24
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Italian
  5. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide Dogs or Service Animals are accepted

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Tate Modern
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
London Eye
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Borough Market
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
The Shard
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:6
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of accessible rooms:24
  • Total number of floors:7

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room,
View More

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room, decorated in contemporary colours, and start each day with an Express Start Breakfast in our lively Great Room.

Getting around London is easy with London Bridge and Waterloo stations just a short stroll from the hotel. Cross Blackfriars Bridge to get to the London Stock Exchange, Royal Courts of Justice and Bank of England.

We're just minutes from the lively cafes, theatres and galleries that dot London's trendy South Bank. Walk along the River Thames to the Tate Modern gallery, housed in a converted power station, or stroll over the futuristic Millennium Bridge to elegant St Paul's Cathedral. Why not stop by Borought Market for food tasting en route to the Shard.

Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark's central location puts chic bars and restaurants on your doorstep. Ask staff to recommend their favourites or do your own research via free wireless Internet in our open-plan Lobby.

View Less
Features
The hotel is situated in an ideal location; 5 minutes walking distance to Southwark Tube Station and Blackfriars Station. Come and enjoy the most famous London attractions as the London Eye, Tate Modern, and Tower Bridge on the Riverbank.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 267 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and reasonable The HI Express was conveniently located in easy walking distance of Old St tube station. It is on a busy road, but the room we had was at the rear of the property and it was very quiet. The staff were very friendly and attentive, willing to help. We stayed a Friday and Saturday nights and the breakfast area was extremely busy on both Saturday and Sunday mornings, but we found somewhere to sit on both days and the layout allowed us to have breakfast in comfort despite the numbers there. The food was replenished frequently and tables cleared quickly. We left our bags in the luggage room on Sunday after checking out - the system was relatively secure with the room being locked and a tag being applied to each bag. The receptionist only let you take your bag from the room if you had the second part of the numbered tag. It saved carting everything around London all day and a quick trip back to collect them before heading home gave us an extra hassle and bag free day. The sofa bed our son slept on wasn't the most comfortable (and I wouldn't have liked to sleep on it), but he didn't moan and seemed to sleep well - with all the walking we did I guess we must have worn him out sufficiently! A convenient location to get back to following going to a show on Saturday night. Would I stay again - definitely yes! 06 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Good Stay Not the cheapest HIE I've stayed in but it met all the expectations I have for this brand. The room was quiet once the A/C was switched off and the decor and furnishings were to a good standard and well maintained by the chamber staff. Reception was always helpful and friendly. The bar was prompt in service and never too busy. Breakfast was well received and well stocked. If I had a niggle it was the frugality of the comp tea and coffee in the rooms - but not enough to moan about it. 06 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room and Comfort I booked two rooms (31/1/2014) for my friend and myself. Both rooms air conditioning internal fan was too loud and prevent even a deep sleeper from having a good sleep. Same complain come from my friend. The heating system in the room take long time to work and not efficient enough to warm the room especially at early morning hours. I was using the express for many years and they provide excellent comfortable rooms but not this time. 05 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff service My daughter and I were extremely pleased with the quality and size of our double bedroom. The reception staff were also very helpful, looking up directions and giving us a map of where we were located and where we wished to travel to. This hotel is easily within walking distance from Liverpool Train Station where we had travelled to from Stansted Airport. I would highly recommend this hotel for the price and quality provided. Thank You Linda 03 February 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel but air condition too noisy. This is a nice hotel in a good location. My stay was spoiled by an unbearable noise from the air conditioning even when turned off. I did not get any sleep during my one night stay. The staff acknowledged there was a problem apparently caused when the hotel was refurbished, they apologised but could do nothing about it. Not up to the expected HI Express standards. 31 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient for city We have used this hotel on a number of occasions, it is within easy reach of the city with a bus stop opposite the entrance , the breakfast is good with a variety to choose from , the beds are comfortable and bathroom layout pleasant, my only criticism on this latest visit was our rooms air conditioning was a bit noisy and blew cold even when adjusted not something we had on previous visits ,the room next door had the bathroom on the wall adjoining and noise came through when they ran water flushed the loo etc would have been a problem if we were wanting a lie in . 29 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Crash pad if that's all you need It's expensive for what you get - a pretty basic hotel with no character to be used as a sleeping base only - but it's central London. The bathroom is incredibly small and you have to slide round the door and brush the toilet bowl to get in. I really dislike the all-in-one soap dispenser for the sink and shower cubicle. I kept worrying what if it runs out whilst I am in the shower - it is impossible to judge. However it was clean. The room itself whilst basic was OK, clean and conformtable. There is no wardrobe, just a few hangars on a pole - not room for many clothes. OK for hanging a suit and shirt but otherwise living out of an overnight bag. Self-service breakfast selection was good and staff were helpful both at check in and dealing with a couple of queries about local amenities. So overall, an expensive but basic crash pad, conveniently situated, with just about what you need for an overnight stop and no more. 27 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Myself and my girlfriend stayed here last weekend and I feel compelled to compliment the staff! The reception staff on the Saturday afternoon were efficient, courteous, and helpful. Having been out for the evening and returning approx. 1am, we found the gentleman covering the desk 'Joel', to be helpful, engaging, and pleasant. All in all it was thoroughly good value for money, to stay somewhere so central to the nightlife, so well run, clean and hospitable would be far pricier in alternative venues. Thank you! 23 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No thrills, but excellent value and perfect location for having a good time in trendy Shoreditch. Rooms are about 25sqm large. Last generation design of Holiday Inn Express (quite elegant blue/wood design, lots of light). Bedroom with comfortable bed. Small open closet. Flat screen television with good selection of English channels. Bathroom with walk-in shower with Gröhe shower head. Soap/shampoo dispenser. View over the rear of the buidling (perfectly quiet despite being in a very living district) Efficient air conditioning. GOOD - Excellent location at Shoreditch, one of the hippest district full of trendy boutiques/restaurants and art galleries. - Very smiling and attentive staff - Decent breakfast, but you can easily skip it (numerous places around to have a brunch, like the very popular Breakfast Club next to the hotel). - Pretty fast wifi - Perfectly clean and quiet BAD - Nothing 22 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bed too soft I've stayed here a few times.. The bed is quite soft & although you have a choice of pillows I found them either too soft or too hard! Bathroom was nice and unexpected surprise. 14 January 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Spoilt by air con noise Stayed for one night usual HIE experience and facilities, I use them regularly so reasonable value for money especially outside central London. I asked for and was given a quiet room at the rear of the hotel. However, despite switching the aircon off there was water filling/circulating noise from the central system, coming from the ceiling vent inside the room. Impossible to get and stay asleep even with ear plugs. 13 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Value Fantastic quality for the money . Super breakfast too. Went to the Barbican to see Richard II a nice walk down there and back . Well placed hotel for old street tube 2 mins walk . A Holiday inn express hotel so much better than others of type . 08 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by After Christmas Break in London We chose the Holiday Inn Express in Old Street as it was reasonably central, good price for a family of 4 with older children. Rooms were clean, bathroom lovely and the breakfast was good - although very busy. Staff on reception were very helpful nothing too much trouble. We used the underground for most travel and also used the No 135 bus to come back all the way from Canary Wharf after being ice skating there. We will use this hotel again. 04 January 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by NO CHILDREN IF YOU WANT SLEEP First aim of an Hotel is to sleep correctly. The probem if you have children is that they should sleep in a sofa with a sprung mattress smashed and a mattress down ! The only answer of the direction is to provide you with an additionnal duvet to attenuate the pain due to springs ! If you don't need the sofa is OK if not you should find a better ressort...(or go to Barcelona where the Holiday Inn Express has got 2 real comfortable beds :) ) Best regards 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great location and top Hotel! Perfect place to stay in Town as very close to the tube for getting places. Clean, safe, lovely comfy beds and pillows! X 02 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for money w/ good b/fast Had 4 rooms between 2 families for 5 nights. Good choices for b/fast. Great value for money with good location. Neat and clean rooms although a bit small. Nice location. Will stay again. 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect bedroom Staff is very pleasant, services are very good, beds very confortable. Breakfast is perfect. Thks ! 27 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Well located in Central London. Good Staff, Good Breakfast. Though the Lift and the Room keys were a challenge during the stay. One of the Lift started working only after 4 days of stay and the Key Cards were a challenge. Most of the staff baring one were extremely courteous and made our stay memorable. One staff appears to have had a bad day and could possibly have been more courteous rather than curt. 26 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lifts We arrived and was served very quickly. Staff very good and helpful. Even googled taxi firms for me that had wheelchair friendly cabs. Room was excellent very clean and tidy. Breakfast on the Sun morning was very nice and plenty to choose from. We went shopping Sunday and arrived back to hotel at approx 3.30pm to be greeted at the lifts with signs saying out if order on them! Heart sank as being in a wheelchair and we were on floor 4, But staff came running over explaining we were being moved to there sister hotel at no cost to us. The manager on duty was excellent and all staff on at that time wet excellent. They had arranged everything for us which was fantastic. I understand some hotel guests were very upset about the lifts not working but you cannot blame the staff they did everything in there power to help everybody. We would stop here again. 20 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for money Stayed for one night before my exam. Extremely helpful staff. Breakfast was very good too. Overall great experience. 19 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Why the policy? I have been a customer of IHG for many years. For the first time, when checking out after 2 days of a three day reservation I was told I had to pay £50. I made the point that the reservation was able to be cancelled up to 2pm on the day of the first stay, but apparently that only applies to the first day. So I would be better in future booking 3 one night stays, as ones plans (in my case a board meeting was cancelled) do change. Staff quoted policy, could not have me speak to manager and simply followed up my query with an email reiterating policy. So for my December visits to London I am staying with an alternative global hotel Group who my employer gets a good rate with, and will not be returning to IHG unless they acknowledge the unfairness of the policy and refund me the £50. 05 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Internet service The speed of internet has been very poor for 2 days and I have had to pay extra to obtain a proper service. 04 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic value and in central London Great value hotel, in a very central part of London, within minutes of the tube and they throw in breakfast! Would recommend and the area has a great vibe. 03 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Experience at Holiday Inn Express - London City Great Hotel, Helpful Staff Good Breakfast. I was very happy with my Room and Stay-over in London. 29 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location very expensive for a 4 star hotel Great location of the hotel with excellent and very polite staff.The aircondition making funny noises all night plus the poor breakfast are in contradiction with the high price. 26 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by November stay (business days) The only 2 pros are location and room being rather clean, while everything else is unfortunately on a very low level, which includes completely no facilities (up to no slippers in the hotel and unavailability of irons in the evenings), extremely limited number of TV channels available for free and breaking down air conditioners. Staff is unable to answer questions except of how to order a taxi (which is done using the wall phone by the customer himself). I would rather pay for the breakfast separately than having it included in the room price - its quality is totally unacceptable. 24 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just what we needed In London for a wedding and this was the icing on the cake!! 20 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good, clean, quiet hotel The hotel room and shower were very clean and comfortable. A shelf in the shower room for wash bags etc. would haver been useful. It was very quiet during the night which is a bonus in such a central position. The breakfast was excellent, lots of variety and plenty of it for the price. The staff were very polite and helpful, even on the very busy Sunday morning. Television reception and internet connection were efficient. 18 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Room is heated whether you like it or not Despite claiming to be airconditioned the choice of temperature is between 21 and 24 c. 21 is just too warm to sleep for me and as it was only 8 c outside it's also waste of energy. The windows are sealed shut with some tosh written on them that this because of fire regulations. This is nonsense 17 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in great location This hotel is in a great location. The rooms are really comfortable and have been refurbished since I was there last - very stylish! Great breakfast too! The location is very convenient for the city, Columbia Road Flower market, the bars and restaurants in Hoxton Square and Kingland Road. It is a bit noisy because of the area but it was worth it for all the other benefits. 14 November 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Visit The Famous Tate Modern Museum, Only 5 Minutes Away London skyline Why Not Meet a Friend or a Colleague Over a Coffee or Drink Hotel Lobby WiFriendly Staff is Here to Help You Don't Miss Out and Visit Tower Bridge Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Southwark View of St Pauls Cathedral Stay Informed Watching the News in a Newly Refurbished Lobby View On The Green Wall Of The Hotel View on the Bankside Area and the Shard View Holiday Inn Express Southwark from Southwark Street Walk To The London Eye Along The Thames Riverside
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 18 Sep 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 19 Sep 2014)
Check Availability
Loading