• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 22 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 23 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express NYC - Herald Square 36th St

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MANHATTAN
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed. Maximum of 2 dogs, 50 pounds per room. Pets must be caged or taken for a walk daily for room cleaning. Rooms must be cleaned daily. Pet deposit amount 50.00 USD per stay.
Pet deposit amount  50.00    per stay

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Empire State Building
Distance From Hotel:0.3

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:135
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:93
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:42
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:135
  • Total number of accessible rooms:13
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:19
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks.

Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and McLennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in
View More

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks.

Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and McLennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near The Empire State building and minutes away from Times Square. Our hotel's guests can stay productive in our 24-hour business center with copy, fax, printing and computer services, as well.

There is so much to do whether you want to catch a Broadway play or , visit the Modern Museum of Art, browse the shops on Fifth Avenue or enjoy the sites at Chelsea Park, The Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street is located near the best of Manhattan and Times Square. Our hotel's guests can go skating at Rockefeller Center, stroll in Central Park or Bryant Park or take an evening cruise around New York City.

You'll take delight in magnificent, skyscraper views, our impeccable customer service and terrific, complimentary amenities. Take advantage of our free, hot breakfast bar. Everyone's a star at our Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel. With a name you can trust and a price you can afford, we'll indulge you with a practical and convenient stay.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express 36th Street is uniquely located in the heart of the Fashion District between 5th and 6th Avenue. This Hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. We are minutes away from the Empire State Building, Times Square and and so much more.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 207 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall a good hotel, a few problems I brought my kids and my grandkids here for a 4 day vacation to NYC. I booked 2 rooms and we were very happy with the staff, the location and cleaniness. Room were smaller than I'm used to, but I was expecting that since it is NYC. I do have a complaint about the Kid's meal offered through Holiday Inn. I looked through the services offered and it was advertised in full colour that kids ate free if accompanied by adults. Although the kids wanted to go to McDonald's,, I persuaded them to eat in the Prime Cafe Restaurant which was attached to the hotel as it would be nicer than McDonalds and economical. When I got to the restaurant they told me no deal existed. I must admit the restaurant waitress and the Maitre'd were very very accomodating and offered to fix the kids chicken fingers even though they were not on the menu, but we were charged for the kids's meal along with their drinks and no free dessert. This was NOT what we were expecting. I went to the front desk of the hotel and explained the situation and they at first tried to tell me that was only a lunch and breakfast deal, but how come there was a logo of a moon and stars, and it said PM meals,, clearing pointing towards evening meals. Anyhow, the front desk staff did give me a voucher for free breakfast the next morning, but we were not able to use them as one of the kids was not feeling well. I guess, I just feel that if you advertise free kids meals, then you need to inform the restaurant so they can provide it. In hindsight I should have brought the kids to McDonalds as they barely ate and it would have cost me a lot less. Despite my complaints,, I will admit the food was delicious and the staff very courteous and helpful. Other minor problem was the dofus upstairs who took a shower without using the shower curtain and this caused the ceiling to leak over our tub. I informed the front desk and they had someone there instantly to fix the problem and everyone was very apologietic,, so they do respond to maintenance problems promptly. Internet service was not always strong , and I had trouble with connection, but others in my party seemed okay. Overall,, I very nice place to stay, and I'll be back, but not with the grandkids,, I'll find a place that does offer free kids meals. 12 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous front desk staff and great location! Room was large ( for NYC) and all the staff incredible service oriented and friendly. Would definitely stay there again!! 09 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, friendly staff, decent location The rooms were very clean and comfortable, a little smaller than you may get elsewhere for the price, but it is NYC. Hotel staff I dealt with were very friendly and accommodating, as were the restaurant staff (not HI employees, from what I gather). Check in/out was very smooth. Location is good if you are spending time from Midtown down, lot of things w/in walking distance, or a short subway ride. Parking was a bit of a hassle, but again it is NYC. The discount you get for the garage is actually about half price, so that is definitely a plus. Overall I'd stay again if going back to the area. 07 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, terrible elevators We really loved the location and the front desk staff was great. The problem is that there are only 2 elevators, and not only were they overloaded with guests, but one seemed to be used by the cleaning and bellhop staff a lot. It took a minimum of 5-10 minutes every time we wanted to go up or down, which ended up being pretty time-consuming. The other problem we had was that at 8:30 am on Sunday morning, someone opened our door without even knocking, to see if we had checked out! Luckily we were both up and dressed, but that could have been kind of ugly. Other than that, room was nice and clean, hotel was quiet, and things with the elevators did get better on Monday when most people had left. 07 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location and a nice view Stayed 8 nights in May for a business trip. The location of the hotel is very good, not far from subways and close to both Chelsea and Midtown. Initial impression not so great, tiny lobby and the music from the attached restaurant was so loud I couldn't hear the desk person - the music was way too loud every day. Front desk staff very nice, put me on a high floor with a view of the Empire State building. Room was small, closet was too narrow to fit hangers - had to turn them at an angle. Bathroom was tiny with mold in many places. Why can't hotels use scrubbing bubbles and get rid of it? Room was comfortable, lots of TV stations. The air conditioning unit worked well but it was either on or off, you couldn't set a thermostat to operate it automatically. It made a lot of noise so had to crank up the TV volume. Overall was good for the price. I stayed at a Hampton Inn two blocks away last year and it will be my choice next year. Bigger rooms and free breakfast. 06 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great budget hotel I stayed here for business as it was under our budget and the reviews were good. I found the rooms to be clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly, professional and happy to help. I'd certainly stay here again. 22 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Four day business visit May 12 - 16, 2013 The hotel is clean, the staff helpful and the rooms adequately equipped. The only issue is two elevators which can at times slow return to ones room or exit in the morning. Overall I would recommend the hotel to my friends and family....it is conveniently located to most activities on Manhattan Island. 21 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location, Location, Location This is at least the 6th time I have stayed at this property and for my needs, it is ideally located. The rooms are small... it's NYC but they are clean an well appointed. The staff is friendly and helpful. Forget the restaurant; the food is not very good; there are so many better within walking distance. 15 May 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Gross, unpleasant room Ugh. Smoking room on a smoking floor. Staff is very nice, but the hotel is shabby and uncomfortable. Not staying here again if I can help it. 15 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience I had an awesome time at this hotel. The staff was pleasant, courteous and very helpful. The room was clean and quite comfortable. The location was easily accessible and within walking distance of a variety of restaurants and shops. My overall experience was definitely a great one and I look forward to visiting again. 14 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room situation I was traveling with my niece and would have preferred having 2 beds rather than a king. Only smoking rooms with 2 beds were available. 12 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Reasonable hotel with good location to visit either uptown and downtown; but you have to be ready spend 10-15 min by walk to reach touristic centers. Room was clean and service was OK. It was a bit noisy morning because of some work outside, the conditioner worked quiet good but too noisy as well. Shower is mounted in the wall that typical for America's hotel but is not convenient and comfortable to use (personally). Hotel has 2 elevators only and 25 floors, so at peak time we had to wait elevator for 5-10 min. 06 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and wonderfu service My many thanks to Pilar. Im from New Hampshire and she gave me and our friends some great tips on wear to shop and places to sight see. We took a 6hr guided tour and it was fantastic. All of us had splendid time. Thank you Pilar for all yor help and especially your friendlly smile and personality. Your friends from, New Hapshire 29 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT STAY IN CHELSEA Upon arriving at the hotel I was somewhat taken back as I expected the lobby/hotel to be larger. The area was small for the actual amount of guests this hotel can accommodate. I had a great check-in with Matthew who was very friendly & helpful. I had booked a room on the 21st. floor with a great city view. When arriving in the room it was obvious that it had been freshly cleaned and the air had a strong chemical smell. I mentioned it to Matthew and I was moved without any problem at all. The rooms are small, but typical of most older New York City Hotels. There are not many rooms on each floor which makes this hotel very quiet in the evening. The restaurant staff was very friendly, good food, reasonable priced, and generous portions. The waiter Jose took note of my choice of cocktail and served it perfectly every day/evening for the 4 days I was a guest in the hotel. I was there on business, but this hotel is in a great location for walking distance to any attraction or shopping on 5th Ave. I would definately recommend this hotel. 26 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff and great location This hotel is one of my top choices when staying in Manhattan. It's located in Chelsea, so it's not as hectic as the mid town areas. The staff is exceptionally friendly, accommodating and helpful. The rooms are on the small side, but very clean and modern. They do have a restaurant on site, however I have never tried it. 25 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff The room was small for 2 people. Nice view helped. Clean and comfortable. Hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and very accommodating. 23 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful This location is great if your are a first timer to the big city. You are right in the center of everything. Transportation is just outside your door or metro is down the street. You can walk to Times Square, The Empire State Build., you couldn't ask for a better place or location. The staff are always there to help and very friendly. The Holiday Inn is very clean and the Cafe has great food. My hat 's off to Vinnie for covering my breakfast one morning, because you did not have what I wanted on the menu. The best customer service I have had in a long time and I work in this field as well. So nice to be on the receiving end of great service. Good job everyone, keep up the great work. I hope to be back in a couple of years. 22 April 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by HolidayInn Express Herald Square The hotel was ok and the food was ok. Customer service was horrible. Tamara is an excellent people person and representation of this hotel. If you have an issue please try to make contact with her at the front desk and she will make sure you are well taken care of during your stay. All others are extreemly rude!!! 22 April 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by One of my worst hotel stays This was booked with frequent stay points, so you can guess I've used HI before. In addition, as a platinum member my room was supposedly upgraded. Tiny room hardly any storage space, dirty carpets - bed head board with finger and other marks over it. Tiny bathroom. Reception area a joke, the picture might as well be a different hotel. This hotel would fail the requirements of HI Express, never mind its parent. This is one of the worst HI properties I have ever stayed in, naturally I don't plan to go back. On checking out nobody enquired if I had enjoyed my stay - staff didn't care. Conversely, I booked my son for 1 night in the Midtown HI, his room was a good size, newly renovated and the staff were friendly. 13 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great Location and centrally located to everything. Rooms are clean. Staff is friendly 12 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Value and location! The Hotel staff from the front desk, the greeters when you enter the hotel to the room staff, everyone was very nice and professional. Helpful and sincere in their efforts. The location was perfect! I will definitely be returning to stay at this hotel on my next visit and recommend this Holiday Inn to all my colleagues, friends and family. Thank You! 12 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Good Location I choose this hotel mainly due to price and location. I was visiting a place just around the corner on a daily basis, so the location was ideal, although I found some time for sight seeing and this was still within reach of most sights. Room was mostly new, nice and clean and air-con worked great. Stayed on the 23rd out of 25th floor, so not too much street noise at night and great view of the Empire State building (rear of hotel). Only downside was the size of the room, a little bit small for my liking, adequate for New York city I suppose, but no floor space to 'swing a cat'. 12 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer service and very clean First, I want to be very clear that I do not know anyone who is in any way affiliated with Holiday Inn. No one hired me to write this, nor did they influence me in any way. My kids and I vacationed last week in Manhattan and stayed at this Holiday Inn. I have stayed at Holiday Inns before, but never this one. The employees at the front desk were genuinely nice....EVERY TIME. That seems to be rare any more. I messed up and only booked 2 nights instead of 3! Talk about being a nervous wreck......don't forget, it was Easter week, so all the hotels were booked! Needless, to say, the office manager worked with me for almost an hour and we got it all worked out. We had to move rooms, but we didn't have to leave. They also gave us until 2:00 pm to work it out and have the room to keep our belongings in until we got the other rooms. I was also reluctant to eat dinner at the restaurant in the hotel, what a mistake that would have been since we didn't have to wait in line and the food was phenomenal! I am not kidding.....I am a very good cook, so it takes a lot to impress me. The prices were reasonable, but the amount you got was bigger than normal and much, much better than Applebees, Red Lobster....ect. There was no wait like he other restaurants in Manhattan. We ate breakfast there every morning and dinner twice, it would have been more but we didn't get back in time one other night. I have been to Manhattan at least 30 times and I will stay here again and will eat here even I happen to have to stay in another hotel. Great job, thank you so much for a wonderful experience! 05 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always Quality Service I have been staying at this Holiday Inn since its inception as a new Holiday Inn, stumbled upon it by location. All I can say, this Hotel has made both business and Leisure stays extremely comfortable and safe. The location is perfect, parking is nearby, or taking the train into town is nearby as well. Staff is extremely courteous, always recognizing me, not just as Priority Membership, but they treat me better than family, always making sure my stay is perfect! The Hotel dining - Prime Cafe is absolutely fantastic, great food, great service, the manager always goes out of his way to make sure I get served, with a personal touch, as well as all the wait staff. Housekeeping is amazing, all I ever done is ask for something extra and no questions asked. Many times I had to extend a stay, and never was a problem, the night auditor was always accommodating. On a personal level, I can only give this Hotel an A+++. It amazes me out of all my stays, the service and quality has never changed and always met my expectations. I HIGHLY recommend this Hotel, even to new comers to Manhattan, you'll will definitely not be disappointed. The location as well as the quality of service, Staff, Dining, comfort of rooms all speak for themselves! Thanks to all the Staff and Dining for your expertise! 02 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and value My family of 4 went to NY for the weekend to attend a wedding and do some sightseeing. This was conveniently located to Penn Station and TImes Square. Rooms were small but had everything we needed. We asked for adjoining rooms and we had the corner 2 rooms. Heating fan was a bit noisy for sleeping the first night, but the 2nd night turned it off and had a great night's sleep. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We ate breakfast twice in the hotel restaurant and thought the food was good and a good value for a hotel breakfast. 29 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendliest staff ever! The staff was so friendly and helpful from the minute we pulled up in the cab. The restaurant, which is privately owned, was about to close when we got back from a show we went to on Broadway and the owner told them to keep the kitchen open so we could eat. The food was phenomenal and the atmosphere was awesome. Beds were a little older and a bit uncomfortable. We got a room with 2 double beds and it was a little cramped, the bed was right up against the heater which was inconvenient and overnight it the air coming out got a little cold but we were also on a corner room so I am not sure if the other rooms are bigger. But the service and professionalism of the staff out weighed everything! We had a great view of the Twin Towers which are still being built! 26 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Big East Tourney Week I stayed at the Holiday Inn 6th Ave for the week of the Big East tournament at MSG Mar. 12-17th. This is the 4th/5th time staying at this property and it never disappoints. The location and the value of this hotel is fantastic. From reservations to check-in and everything in between, the staff at the hotel is eager to please and accommodate. Many thanks to the front desk/office staff (David, Oscar, Nicole, Maybel (sp?), Chanel and Jose) for their professionalism and willingness to go the extra mile for their guests. The Prime Cafe is superb and continues to produce outstanding meals at any time of the day. It is certainly a place I recommend to other hotel guests and locals as a place to grab a wonderful meal/drink. Al- continued success to you sir, will be back to see you soon. Request an Empire State Room (city view 'uptown') and you will not be disappointed. There is something about falling asleep to the light of the Empire State Building.....absolutely fabulous. Keep up the good work Holiday Inn 6th Ave, and we'll see you again real soon :-) 26 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I highly recommend this hotel! My teenage daughter and I spent three nights at this hotel recently and enjoyed it immensely. It was clean, modern, and the staff were professional yet warm and welcoming. Our room was well furnished and just the right temperature with very comfortable beds. The only low point of our stay occurred when some other guests on our floor continued to party loudly after returning from their night on the town at 3:30 am. I made a call to the front desk where they were concerned and apologetic. They sent Security up within 60 seconds and a few moments after that there was peaceful silence for the rest of the night. The onsite restuaurant was terrific. We had a late dinner and breakfasts there and at all times were impressed with the service, prices and quality of food. The French toast was particularly delicious! We would definitely stay there again. 21 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to everything in nyc Had a time while on business. Able to shop,dine, theater all close to hotel. Very helpful staff and nice people in Nyc. 17 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff & Location The rooms are on the small side but are clean, comfortable and the Hotel is in a great location. The staff are excellent, very helpful and the bar/dining room has a great atmosphere unlike many other hotels, with lobby bars. We also appreciate the fact that some Holiday Inn's still welcome smokers 2 of the 25+ floors are allocated for smoking rooms. This is rare in the city and well done for offering people a choice. Overall we would have no hesitation in staying here again and recommending it happily to family/friends. 13 March 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square
Select to close.
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square Enjoy a relaxing stay in the Fashion District. Front Desk
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 22 Jul 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 23 Jul 2014)
Check Availability
Loading