• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 20 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 21 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
St James Park Football Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces432
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is available at the Grainger Town Council owned Car Park and is free from 5pm until 8am. Car Parking charges apply after 8am and must be paid in advance of parking. Please ensure you are not in a Permit Holders Bay and are in a clear bay.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Premium Internet Service

Premium Internet service has twice the bandwidth of the standard Internet service and is usually recommended if you plan on streaming movies or you do a lot of online gaming.
Wireless Internet available
Premium Internet Fee£ 5.00 5.0  GBP

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:57
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of accessible rooms:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas
View More

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas Cathedral. If you’d like to experience the thrill of top-flight football, visit the home ground of Newcastle United, St. James' Park. Whatever your interest, Newcastle is an outstanding city to explore.

Unwind over drinks in our 24-hour lounge bar, complete with a pool table, large screen TVs and free Wi-Fi access to help make your budget city break even better. Families too can save money in our Newcastle hotel as under 18’s stay for free when sharing a parent’s room.

Start your active day off with a buffet breakfast featuring a tasty range of hot and continental items.

Getting to and from our hotel is a breeze too. Newcastle Central Station and the Metro are only five minutes away and when you have a car, our hotel can be easily reached from the A1. Secure parking is available at the Grainger multi-story complex, pay and display car park adjacent to our hotel.

View Less
Features
Highlights of our hotel include a city centre location, rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout and free car parking adjacent to the hotel from 5pm until 8am. Akbar’s Indian restaurant is across the courtyard!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 234 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service, old building and terrible beds. After our recent stay over Christmas I must say we where very disappointed. The rooms where old and not very clean there was an old water bottle under one of the beds and evidence of a spilled drink down one of the plug sockets. The staff at the bar and reception where fine and friendly, however after ordering room service where all 3 meals were incorrect we found the bar managers attitude very poor in dealing with the complaint. He spoke over both me and my wife when we were trying to explain the problem and said as we had eaten the other meals there was nothing he could do. On the last night the toilet broke and flooded the bathroom which resulted in us having to move rooms, the room we moved to had not be cleaned properly either there was food on the floor and under the beds On leaving we reported the issues to the reception who said they would report our concerns to the hotel manager however as yet we have heard nothing. Overall we were extremely disappointed with our stay and wouldn't recommend this particular holiday Inn to anyone. 02 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great rooms but a cool reception We stop at this hotel quite often because of its location, spacious rooms and overall good quality, however, we have noticed a reducing standard over the last couple of visits. Although the main bar area is warm and welcoming after a recent up-date the corridors need attention and on this occasion were cold as was our room; it took the panel heater a full 24 hours at full blast to get the room comfortable. On the positive side, the rooms are very clean and of a high standard. We have also noticed a change in how other guests use the hotel, there is a tendency of swimwear and pyjamas in the reception and excessive noise in the early hours. This is not a one-off event but a nightly occurrence. Whilst the Holiday Inn is not directly responsible for the behaviour of their guests such behaviour is not to be encouraged. The bar and reception staff are, generally, very good but do seem over stretched at times. We will stay again but have concerns. 01 January 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by small bed & duvet, cold bar, inefficient staff We were not impressed when we saw the small double bed and even less so when we tried to cover ourselves with the small duvet. The wash basin was badly stained. No lime in bar for gin & tonic. Bar area cold and draughty. Meal for our family in restaurant was a fiasco despite us being the only customers. Probably because the other guests were eating in the bar area as food in there was half the price. Wifi very costly so didn't use it. Breakfast very expensive. In fact the only good thing about our stay was the warm croissants.. 01 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by no problems at all Very friendly, clean and reasonable price. Great Breakfast too I don't bother with reviews usually, but this deserved one All good 18 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great value great value, very friendly staff and quality rooms. i will stay again next time im in town 16 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, but noisy room Location was great - handy for the A1 and A19. Staff friendly and food tasty. Room clean, but incredibly noisy as next to stairs AND exit to car park, so smoking and talking right outside our room. Please use this hotel, but avoid room 53! 05 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A Slight Disappointment on this visit Have stayed several times, always excellent on all fronts. Now receive a voucher for a free drink as Gold Elite guest. Presented voucher for a glass of wine, which my wife enjoyed. On check out was informed a charge for this had been made against my account. Matter was resolved as soon as I told reception staff member that I had used my voucher for this drink and paid cash for further drinks. It shouldn't happen. The breakfast was not as good as usual, sausages were greasy and black pudding too hard to cut into, hash browns different in size and shape to before and very greasy, with fat oozing out. This was on both mornings, not just a one off. Other than this everything was up to the usual excellent standard and I would highly recommend this hotel. 30 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Do you really want a review? We have stayed at The Holiday Inn, Seaton Burn before and had no hesitation in staying there again but there were little things that annoyed us. On arriving, my wife requested a second comfortable armchair as we both have back trouble and an upright chair would be uncomfortable. The receptionist told us that it would be organised but it wasn't. My wife reported that the table lamp wasn't working and this was not put right during our three day stay. On the second morning, "Housekeeping" asked if we wanted our room cleaned. My wife thought that she meant dusted, and requested two clean towels. As a result, no clean towels, no beakers washed, the bed unmade and no milk replaced or rubbish removed. On our last night, someone in the hotel 'phoned at 3.55.a.m. to request the Police. He had obviously selected 191 and we were in room 19. We reported this to Reception staff on our departure who thought it amusing but promised to look into it!! 28 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service with a Smile I found this hotel 3 months ago and have stayed at it several times since. My job takes me to the North East on a weekly basis and I now wouldn't stay anywhere else. WHY - the accommodation and facilities are okay to good but what stands out more than anything else is the staff. To a man and a woman they are helpful, polite and provide service with a smile. Staying away from home is not great but if you have to then for me this place ticks all the boxes. 24 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Staff! First time in a Holiday Inn. Room was quiet, spotlessly clean and beds very comfortable. Bathroom was tired: old avocado fitments and staining to tiling. The Pool, which was the reason we booked this place, was lovely. Very very clean, warm and not too chemically. Best point however was the staff, especially Kevin the restaurant manager. Our 9 year old son was given a rather small pizza portion for his childs meal (2 small slices). I asked for more and it was duly produced, and Kevin supplied a little extra from the buffet for him whilst he waited for the extra pizza. Our son has Aspergers and can be anxious about such things - Kevin would not have known this (you cannot tell) but was prompt kind and professional as a matter of course. Much appreciated, thank you. 19 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Had an excellent weekend in Newcastle staying at Holiday Inn Seaton Burn. The Restaurant, staff, facilities and comfort throughout the hotel were fantastic. 13 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant hotel but some things need sorting This is the second time we have stayed in an executive room and we are disappointed that the wine, coffee etc was not in the room again. We had to call reception to report this as we had do the first time. We feel that. There is never enough milk for the amount of coffee provided and one shampoo and one shower gel isn't sufficient for a family of 4. We think once is an accident twice is not acceptable. There was an amount of lime scale in the bathroom and the fan/expel air would not turn off all night. We would prefer to have individual changing rooms rather than a large number of lockers as our children feel uncomfortable when changing. On all other aspects of the hotel we think it's lovely warm friendly staff and great value for money. 12 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by relaxed Sunday night stay Nice reception staff, platinum upgraded room and a free beer and snack voucher. Great relaxing stay well done guys! 07 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very happy granddaughter Pleasant, comfortable hotel with helpful staff. Service for bar meals seemed slow, as bar tender mostly had to collect food from kitchen. The cost for wi-fi seemed outrageous. If you just want to download a prepaid e newspaper and check a few emails then it shouldn't cost a minimum of £5. Our experience was that Friday and Saturday nights were noisy because of groups returning from clubbing. The reaction of staff was good as problems arose, but the hotel needs to be a lot more proactive in ensuring that people who want to sleep can do so. Segregating clubbers would be a good start, as would extra staff to patrol. Our granddaughter loved the pool, and so did we. 06 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room We came to stay here on a Saturday evening for a wedding. Room and decor was lovely and very clean. Had a room near the end of the corridor on the ground floor so was fairly quiet until the young people came back from Town but didnt really spoil my nights sleep. Same cant be said for friends in the executive suite on the next floor who had to put up with 45 minutes of noise. Breakfast was nice and i would say all good value for money. Would definately recommend it to friends! 06 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Myself and my wife stayed over for the night and had a meal in the restaurant we had the 2 dine for £30 and it was delicious soup and bread roll and the fish was the best we had ever had along with a glass of wine each great value for money, The rooms were nice and bed was very comfy we booked a spa and the treatment was excellent, Great stay over for the night. 06 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, poor customer service This would have been a good stay if the travel cot had been in our room. Arriving late I had phoned ahead to be assured that the travel cot would be up and in our room. On arrival it was NOT!! There was no cot. This was very poor on your part. A cot had to be brought, this was found to be broken. Another was brought , this was also broken!!! My children were now awake and it was getting later and later. Luckily the beds were comfortable and the children did eventually sleep but shame on you for not getting your service in line. This was a simple request 05 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value last minute break Hotel was easy to find and had plenty of parking. Check-in was speedy. All the staff were friendly, especially to our young daughter. Pool was warm. Had a spacious family room with 2 double beds. We ate in the snack bar and restaurant and had no complaints (though would have been nice to have the kids menu in the room so could choose in advance) Only complaint would be that the bathroom needed at bit of tlc.. regrouting and resealing. But that didn't adversely affect our stay. Would stay there again, would recommend to family+friends. 02 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Fine for an overnight Selected due to the location and price. The property has had a make over in the past but whoever selected the "veneer finish" obviously liked it *a lot* as the knotty effect adorned all of the drawers and surfaces in the room - perhaps someone should have mentioned that a little goes along way. Why is it that a family room for more than two adults only ever has two of everything (mugs etc.) Not sure that the check in staff acknowledged my Gold IHG Membership despite being prompted, so can't judge if I received any added benefits. Recommend it only for those on a budget that want an overnight stop, that wood finish is too overpowering for any longer. 29 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely spacious & comfortable room Stayed at the hotel for a one night stay with my boyfriend. The room was clean, spacious & comfortable. For us it had what we needed for an overnight stay. The reception & bar areas were clean, bright and were welcoming. I would recommend it to others and I would definitely stay here again. 29 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by wedding venue was at a relatives wedding here which we couldnt fault staff really good food lovely and good helpings, venue really pretty since main areas been done up so we booked our room for the night,unfortunately we didnt know there was a cut off date for discount for wedding party, paid for upgrade i was under impression we were getting twin king beds as on a website i'd been on it had showed these but found out when we got there only do1 king bed, or 2 doubles, i booked it after online chat and was booked apparently direct to the hotel not that i realised that.nor that my invoice showed 2 double beds not kings as i didnt bother to check it which was stupid of me but still would have preferred 2 doubles as per invoice. I stated i wanted twin king beds as im a very poor sleeper cos of health problems but got superking & put up sofabed, which was too low for me, paid for executive upgrade but room very poor for this level. no pad or pen, bathroom was avocado green walls there were damaged tiles in a lot of areas and holes filled in with grout and ancient soap holders fitted in the walls think they had been there since the hotel was built!! there was some mould around bath edge and bath definitely seen better days very worn. supposed to get 2 towelling robes as per website in exec pack only got one which was extremely tatty, dirty grey and worn with holes in places and smelled a bit, not what you would wear to go down to the sauna, room itself was ok s/king comfortable and housekeeping had room very very clean dont think upgrade was really worth it though and please do something about your complimentary tea and coffee very bland no taste n only 4 milk portions.Breakfast was really nice very tasty and good choice of buffet breakfast. All staff really nice just shame mix up over beds and poor bathroom stopped a better rating please get your bathrooms up to spec and really bad as expensive for wifi which is pretty bad considering im going to another hotel chain next month for less money with free wifi. told by reception that wi fi free next year shame sons wedding was this year!!!! 23 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor communication Really disappointed that I used my reward points for this hotel. There was poor communication from the staff the moment we checked in. From not allowing the kids to eat free in the room to not informing us about the times of the pool area and how to enter. I like using IHG group as they have a variety of hotels however I have never been as disappointed as I was visiting Seaton Burn what was supposed to be a relaxing mid week break turned into a disappointment. 23 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A warm welcome despite the late hour Arrived at 11.30 at night and the bar was still open, we managed to get a basic sandwich ( white basic bread but good filling. ) Nice breakfast after a good night's sleep. Checkout was a little slow owing to a wedding party arriving to check in but another member of staff came in to deal with our checkout. Would stay there again. 22 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Welcoming Receptionist Arriving for a 2 night stay there was initially a problem with the reservation in the system not showing accurate Rewards Club status of Ambassador member. This was speedily resolved by the helpful reception staff. Subsequent visits to reception to order taxis or settle the account were always done in a pleasant manner. Indeed, I was often acknowledged by name - a very personal service. Indeed, after busy days working within the area it was good to return to this Holiday Inn. I will definitely stay again if in the area. 21 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Repeat visit Once again, very helpful people, who took the time to explain things. Recognised IHG status and made to feel welcome. Recommended, even though some of the carpets on the stairwell areas could do with replacing (which did let the appearance down a bit). 21 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Business stay The hotel is well situated to cover good parts of the area, rooms are good size and comfortable. Food service was poor our first night I was in a big party and the desert was delayed. No free wifi offered compared with express chain, was a little disappointment but stopped me accessing my work email allowing me to relax in the evening. Leisure facilities are small and I had difficulty accessing with the card I was issued with staff didn't seem to care when I returned it. 21 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exellent Stay Had a excellent stay at this hotel, my daughter is quite fussy when eating at a strange place but loved the breakfast here and enjoyed the comfort of the lounge at night, will stay again. 20 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Excellent facilities really friendly helpful staff good gym made my stay very enjoyable as it was my first time at a holiday inn!! Will definately stay again 15 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Great service from great staff , rooms are massive and fitness/gym facilities are good. If I had to give a negative it would be the food/menu it could do with a spice up every so often or even some 'occasional specials' or maybe I've just stayed there to much this year! 14 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thoroughly enjoyable stay All aspects of our stay was most enjoyable from a friendly, professional check in to our upgraded room but most importantly the consistent customer care given by all staff. This hotel is situated a little further away from my business dealings than I would normally like but I will return due to this positive experience. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to business travellers and leisure travellers alike. 14 October 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle city centre Reception at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 20 Sep 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 21 Sep 2014)
Check Availability
Loading