Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
85%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 699 reviews
85%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

699reviews

  • 5 Stars
    290
  • 4 Stars
    231
  • 3 Stars
    92
  • 2 Stars
    59
  • 1 Stars
    27

good location

By

19 July 2016

the hotel is a great location for the area and my business needs while visiting.

the hotel was was in line with modern standards

the customer service while staying was not very good....but did improve in the final 5 minutes of my stay

Read More
Read Less

SHORT BREAK

By

15 July 2016

club

Great location for watching the boats and the people going to and fro.
Very relaxing .

Posted byHotelStaff
17 July 2016
Dear JRSAP33, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are very proud of our location and are pleased that you enjoyed watching the boats come in and out of the port. Our main goal is for our guests to feel relaxed and enjoy their stay with us. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Reception Team
Read More
Read Less

Sleep well after a busy day

By

14 July 2016

Had a great time. Went somewhere every day because of the location of the hotel. All staff had a very friendly manner which showed their appreciation that you were a guest at this hotel

Posted byHotelStaff
17 July 2016
Dear Traveller Mike, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you liked our staff and their manner. We do pride ourselves on our customer service. Our guests are very important to us. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind regards, Reception Team
Read More
Read Less

Great hotel in a great location

By

12 July 2016

Great hotel within walking distance of the Royal Dockyard, Spinnaker Tower, shopping area and restaurants.

Read More
Read Less

Friendly service, very comfortable beds

By

10 July 2016

club

A very friendly greeting and a good location.
The room was clean and fresh and the air-con was great as it cooled and warmed us as we required.
Breakfast is as you would expect in a Holiday Express, and, compared to other HE Hotels, the breakfast experience is very acceptable.
The lighting is VERY POOR however, and it is difficult to read a book or do any work in.
The internet is very slow and did not support any streaming and watching TV was interrupted each of our four nights by a message on the screen to say that the internet could not support the programme.. which was BBC1 !!
Car parking was in the main Gunwarf Quays car park and was secure, with CCTV and motion-sensor lighting; it only cost £6 for four complete days and nights which I think is REALLY EXCELLENT VALUE.

Posted byHotelStaff
13 July 2016
Dear 007jve, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our team made you feel welcome. We pride ourselves on this. We are in the process of upgrading our internet, so we do apologise for this inconvenience during your stay. Regarding the lighting problem in your room; thank you for bringing it to our attention. We will look into this for our future guests. We are happy that you took full advantage of our inclusive continental breakfast and the great deal we have with the underground Gunwharf Quays car park. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Your Hotel Team
Read More
Read Less

Awful solution for families

By

06 July 2016

club

Chose this as a convenient stopping point for the IoW ferry. Convenient location in Gunwharf too.

Stayed with family

Posted byCustomerCare
19 July 2016
Dear joanna101, Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Please accept our sincere apology if our hotel fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. We value you as our IHG Rewards Club member. Sincerely, Krysllin G. Case Manager IHGService
Read More
Read Less

Ideal location

By

04 July 2016

Really good choice of hotel for visiting Portsmouth and particularly The Historic Dockyards. Really helpful staff.

Posted byHotelStaff
09 July 2016
Dear Placeinthecountry, Thank you for reviewing your stay in our hotel. We are so pleased that you took advantage of our brilliant location whilst you were here in Portsmouth. Our staff pride themselves on their service towards our valued guests, so thank you for your positive review. Kind regards, Reception Team
Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

23 June 2016

Used this as an overnight stay before travelling onward. it is a great location and is clean and modern.
I would be pleased to stay here again.

Posted byHotelStaff
29 June 2016
Dear HisTeam, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Gunwharf Quays. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in our location, so we are glad that you enjoyed the local area. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Hotel Staff
Read More
Read Less

Great Location

By

22 June 2016

platinumelite

This Holiday Inn Express is located right in the middle of Old Portsmouth and many of the best attractions. There are numerous restaurants and sites in easy walking distance from this hotel. It is also an easy walk to the train station as well.

Posted byHotelStaff
29 June 2016
Dear toadtraveller, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is good that you got the chance to explore the city a little whilst you were staying with us. We take pride in the fact that we are so close to Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard amongst other popular attractions. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Reception Team
Read More
Read Less

ポーツマス

By

20 June 2016

club

今回はビジネス会議が目的でした。街並みがきれいでアウトレットの店が多くある良い場所にホテルはありました。
個人旅行でも訪問したいところです。

Read More
Read Less

GREAT LOCATION

By

17 June 2016

FOR BUSINESS, LEISURE, SIGHT-SEEING OR A SHOPPING TRIP TO PORTSMOUTH, THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS IN GUNWHARF QUAYS IS THE PERFECT LOCATION TO STAY.

Posted byHotelStaff
22 June 2016
Dear DOAF Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty as an IHG® Rewards GOLD Elite member. I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you visit us again soon. Kind Regards Team Portsmouth
Read More
Read Less

Very friendly and helpful staff

By

15 June 2016

club

Brilliant location. Comfortable bed - great, close by parking with major discount for clients. Good air conditioning and powerful shower. Got the Spinnaker Tower package - great value and wonderful experience. Very close to Historic Museums and Mary Rose, Warrior and Victory.

Posted byHotelStaff
22 June 2016
Dear johnnyh1664, Thank you for a positive review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your valuable comments about our Team and we are pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay. Hope you will visit us again Kind Regards Team Portsmouth
Read More
Read Less