Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Athenaeum Athens

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 143 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the new rooms If you're staying on the 7th or 8th floor they just remodeled the rooms and they're awesome! 20 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Couldn't be better Everything was perfect....from the airport pick up to the club check in. 18 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable view and great stay Be warned, the Athenaeum Athens is quite a way from down town Athens......but the view of the Parthenon floodlit at night makes it all worthwhile, not to mention the brilliant service if one stays on the club floor, as we did. There is a regular shuttle bus to the downtown area so the area in which the hotel is situated is not of concern, unless you want to walk. Rooms are as always very good, linen and sleep quality exceptional. My only criticism is that, surely in a club floor room, there should be a real coffee machine and not those awful sachets of instant coffee. 15 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel in Athens My husband and I stayed here in October 2013 as part of a Trafalgar tour. The hotel is beautiful. The room was spacious, and very comfortable. The hotel is very accessible to all the sites in Athens and the hotel provides a very convenient shuttle bus to the centre of the city. The Garden Top Restaurant was superb, and the view of the Acropolis at night is breathtaking while you wine and dine. The meal presentation is exquisite and the meal itself is out of this world! I highly recommend this hotel. 15 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay at the hotel We stayed at the hotel last week for 8 days during our visit to Athens. They stay was good and staff were very good and helpful. The service we got from the staff and the restaurant was very good. 10 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SERVICE THE GENEROUS AND KIND SPIRIT OF YOUR GUEST RELATION MANAGER "LIA" AND THE DOORMAN--"TOM " WE ARE AN OLDER COUPLE AND THESE PEOPLE TOOK QUALITY TIME TO EXPLAIN THINGS TO US AND TO BE EXTRODINARILY HELPFUL. THANK YOU 09 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel in athens As far as athens is concerned, not many nice hotels to choose from. Intercontinental is probably one of the best. Location is a bit far, however there is a free shuttle that takes you into town. Nice Lobby, decent gym. If you are an ambassador member you get an upgrade to a decent sized room. Get slow internet that hardly works and thats about it. No Club access, and when you ask they will deny you in a pretty mean way. Overall pretty decent property. 09 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the top as usual breakfast is superlative, the staff is devoted to clients, the environment is luxury, rooms are fantastic 08 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the best 5 stars hotel in Athens I have been several times and always the athmosphere is great and I have everything I may wish 07 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal base for Athens Check in welcome ,friendly and informative. Breakfast great ,all staff friendly . Wi Fi. Strong and easy to access 06 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Athens Wonderful hotel loved the room very quiet facilities grand Dropped earring in sink drain and the plumber came up and got it out for me loved the special treatment The concierge was extremely helpful with restaurant recs We would stay there again very good value for your dollar 02 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made to Feel Special It doesn't matter who you are, whether you are wealthy or not quite, the staff at the Athenaeum make you feel special in a way that is pitched just right. 22 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel This is an excellent hotel with great service from very helpful staff, an excellent room and very good food. A complimentary shuttle bus is provided to take guests in and out of the city. Would have loved more time to get a chance to experience more of the amenities.. Overall one of the best hotels I have stayed in.. 14 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very stay in this excellent resort Our cruise with Silversea was topped ending with our accomdation in the luxery balcony suite at Intercontinental Atheneum. Everything was perfect. 10 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay I experienced an enjoyable stay at the Intercontinental in Athens. The room was very comfortable and the staff were very helpful. My only negative comment is that, for a hotel of this category, the internet and Wifi should be free as it is in hotels of a much lower category. It is incomprehensible for a hotel of this level, that claims to be the right choice for the astute businessman, to charge for the access to the internet. I can understand a charge for the business centre, but the internet? In today's world it is like charging for the use of the phone in one's room 40 years ago!!! Also the voucher for a free drink that all guests receive upon registration should be allowed to be enjoyed at any bars of the hotel, including the roof garden bar. Kind regards, Katia Tavernier 01 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by well-meaning, but ill-informed With the exception of the guest relations staff, all the other people at the hotel were quite friendly and tried to be helpful, the information provided was often incorrect or misleading.The women at guest relaltions were outright rude and obnoxious 01 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 3-Night Stop-Over We stayed here for a 3 night stop-over before heading off on a cruise. The hotel is situated a little out of the centre of town. You can walk in and it will take approx. 1/2hr. The hotel has a lovely foyer, however I feel the rooms are a little dated especially for an Intercontinental. The hotel staff was amazing and we were very fortunate to be upgraded to a suite. The room was comfortable and clean and suitable for a stop-over. The view from the roof top restaurant has an amazing view and ambiance. Unfortunately didn't get to eat there as we were on the run most days. We did have dinner downstairs and was very happy with the meal. 30 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, helpful staff, great service The warm welcome and helpful staff made our visit memorable. 29 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous hotel! Wonderful professional and knowledgeable staff. Five perfect sleeps in a large and super clean room. Highly recommend this fine hotel! 27 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Place to Go ... Beyond expectations Perfect Location Spacious rooms Amazing stuff they made my experience in Athens such a wonderful one 27 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay We stayed 3 nights and that was perfect. Best room confort since long time. Thank you very much 26 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience We enjoyed our stay at Athenaeum Intercontinental Hotel. It was very comfortable, clean, with everything we needed for a restful night. The food was great. It was quiet and we really love the atmosphere. Thank you for a nice experience, Ed and Rae 26 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic room for a family of 4 A lovely modern and clean hotel. Excellent value if you can get a deal that includes breakfast, as at 39 euros per person breakfast and food at the hotel is expensive. There is not much around the hotel which was the only drawback but the courtesy bus service takes you into town with a host of tavernas and shops. Staff were very friendly and attentive. There is an outdoor pool at the hotel which was great to cool down after a days sightseeing in the centre. We were offered an upgrade (at a cost) when we arrived, but when we saw our room, it was more than we could have imagined, A large bedroom with 2 double beds and TV, a sitting area with 2 sofas and TV, and also a dining table and chairs. An excellent arrangement for a family of 4 and I would not hesitate to stay here again. 25 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic, but... Staff were very friendly and efficient... Everything you'd expect from a hotel in this price range. Bed was extremely comfortable and amenities fantastic. Also liked that the hotel had interesting pieces of art. However, there were just two points that my husband and I were not happy about: 1) we were boarding the last evening shuttle back to the hotel and politely let others who were there board first. When it was our turn to board, there were no more seats so we stood in the middle aisle, which we didn't mind doing. But the driver told us that this was not allowed and were made to leave the shuttle! My husband and I were rather miffed over the fact that we waited, were polite to other passengers, then were made to leave and take a taxi back to the hotel. 2) I am a vegetarian and ordered a vegetarian omelet at the club lounge. When the omelet came, there was ham in it! Very poor form from a hotel of this standard. 25 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No coffee No coffee served on roof garden. I can't imagine what is thereason not to. We had to find another place with acropolis view to enjoy a coffee. 22 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Aircondition is warm We stayed at the renovated section of the hotel (Room 704 & 706) . Aircondition is not very cold. Hotel location is excellent. Overall it was a nice stay. 21 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect View, Perfect Hotel The Athenaeum Athens InterContinental Hotel is a wonderful hotel that makes any visit to Athens special. It is beautiful, full service, and staffed by some of the nicest people I have ever met. The Club Level is a real value, as the Club Lounge is lovely, with a fantastic view of the Acropolis, and a staff that is simply excellent. Any and every need is met, and every question answered with a smile. My thanks to each of them for making our stay so wonderful. This was our second stay as a family group, and next year we will return for a third stay. There is no place in Athens that would be as good, as clean, as friendly... 5 stars in every category. 21 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great serhotel and service We were a family of four and stayed at this hotel for over a two week period. We had reserved two club level rooms in advance. The staff was courteous and proffesional at all levels from reservations to housekeeping. The breakfast buffet selection at the club lounge in the morning was good as well as the canapes and open bar in the afternoon. Our rooms were comfortable and well appointed. We were made aware that all rooms are not updated or look the same. Also all rooms do not have the view of the acropolis as shown on their web site due to the construction of a new highrise building a few blocks away from the hotel. Finally, there has been much to do about the location of the hotel from some reviews and the number of gentlemens clubs found in the vicinity. Going out to dinner in the neighboorhood late evening we walked safely by few of these establishments with my wife and kids and did encountered any outside activity that would be considered offensive or made us uncomfortable to walk by these establisments. 19 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel to relax and enjoy the view Had a cracking time at this hotel - great and friendly staff and excellent club level benefits which is worth paying the little extra for - nice relaxing pool side too. Will visit again! 19 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Excellent accommodation, great value, excellent staff, it was an excellent way to end our trip in Greece 15 August 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Athenaeum Athens
  • Syngrou Avenue 89-93
  • Athens , 11745
  • Greece
  • Front Desk +30-210-9206000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, Greek, English, French, Italian, Russian

Pet Policy

No dogs allowed except guide dogs.
  • Local Time

    6:01 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      2:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • Euro € (EUR)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 10 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking