Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Chicago Magnificent Mile

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 617 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent room view, staff and stay We had a wonderful time and truly enjoyed the hotel and rest and pool. Great room and wonderful staff. Thank You! Would love to come again. 09 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Getaway We stayed at his hotel over the weekend and it was an overall good experience. We were upgraded to a suite because we are platinum members. The conceirge gave us water, chocolates, drink vouchures for both starbucks and Michael Jordan's steakhouse upon arrival. I thought that was a really nice perk! The breakfast that we got included in our rate was worth it as well. Overall, we had a great time! The only complaint was, the bed was kind of difficult to get used to the first night... it was comfortable, but maybe a little too soft. 08 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, Great Location, fantastic pool, very nice staff This is just a great hotel in the best location possible on North Michigan Avenue. I really love the Olympic size swimming pool, with 4 lap lanes, and Roman architecture, and the pool is heated to a comfortable swimming temperature. Not cold at all, which is amazing since Chicago is suffering a super cold minus 18 degrees Fahrenheit freeze and blizzard right now. Very very wonderful pool. . Very nice restaurants and bars with super nice waiters. I like the chocolate and cheese bar and Michael Jordan place, and breakfast restaurant. Front desk staff and bellmen and all staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. Just a super hotel. Elevators are quick, access is easy. Very nice benefits and recognition for Platinum members, too. Everything was perfect and i have extended my stay for two more nights, because it is a great place to stay in this cold winter freeze. 07 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff The front desk and concierge were exceptional-going out of their way to help and very friendly.Will continue to stay with you! 06 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Below expectation Concierge is not, perhaps because it's new year eve an the first two days of the near year. At many occasion, there is no one in the concierge. The concierge actually left at 5:00 pm. One night around 1:00 am, my son had asthma and I want to have some hot water. I called the front desk and he transferred me to room service where there is no one to answer my called. There were no slippers in the room. The house keepers sent me only upon request. There was no laundry bag and no envelopes. In short, it is disappointing . 06 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Views and Location We had a great stay with only a few exceptions. The view was amazing from the 36th floor. We had the lake on one side and city on the other. The room was kinda blah but nice enough. The bathroom was a bit dated. The tub wouldn't drain when taking a shower. We ordered towels as there were only a couple in the bathroom and went quickly. It took over an hour for them to come up. The bar was fun and everyone very nice. The food was just ok. Spent a lot of money in there. Room service the last night came from Michael Jordan's steak house. The steak was awful. It looked like a cooked brick. Strange flavor. Something sweet. The mashed potatoes were borderline at best. I would not recommend it for the $115 tab. The location is great but we went to eat and drink and ring in the new year. I might stay at a more updated place next time. 06 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay in Chicago Aspects of this hotel are great, aspects are good. Overall we had an amazing time in Chicago. Such a fantastic location close to anything you could possibly need (food, shops, landmarks, transport etc). The presence at the front of the hotel was exceptional and full credit to the team out there they do a fantastic job even if it is VERY cold. Breakfast was alright. Good food selection but nothing to WOW about the service. For example we had to ask for a lot of things that you would expect to be at the table (e.g milk/cream for tea and coffee). Also there was no chef on in the kitchen so unless we asked we would not have known about the waffles etc. Room was very comfortable and a nice space to stay in. Housekeeping staff did a lovely job and room was always serviced well. However we found it rather bizzare that it would cost $5USD to get two teaspoons sent to the room to eat our icecream . . . We had to go down to the bar to ask for them instead - very unlike an Intercontinental property. Overall through we would stay again if returning to Chicago. The feeling of being comfortable and safe in an amazing city was worth it. 06 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Service Our bags did not arrive at our room. We had to retrieve luggage ourselfs from storage. Coffee bags and or cups were missing each day of our stay. New steak house on the premises is fair at best, I was expecting more from a NAME restaurant. The Consierge were kwonledgeable and corteous. 05 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Most excellent staff ever but POORLY managed. First off I have to say hats off to the entire staff at this hotel from the front desk staff to the maids and restaurant staff. They were so awesome, they got us whatever we wanted instantly, and they were so friendly and polite. The maids did a great job on our room, and even asked us if there was anything specific they could do. What I could just not understand were all the rules that seemed almost designed to make us never stay there again. We have a newborn so we asked the staff to clear the refrigerator so we could store milk in there with other infant stuff. They were going to charge us $25. We don't drink so we would not have used anything in there, so its not like they were losing any money over at least taking the alcohol out of the fridge. They had a fire drill at 9 am that was so loud that it woke my wife and the baby up. They turned off the alarm sirens, but made loud public address announcements every 3-5 minutes. I was greeted by one of the drill participants dressing down a maid in the hallway about the drill which was not something I wanted to see. I get enough of the corporate nonsense at work. I don't need to see a hard working maid getting hassled by some stupid manager in the hallway. Pick up a broom or something and do some real work! They have a dinky little fitness facility that they actually charge you to use, and then instead of putting you on a list or computer, they make you carry around a paper card for your entire stay. They wouldn't let me pay cash for anything which was inconvenient. If they got rid of the towel service and the employee they have there to hassle you about whether you are allowed to be in there or not, they could probably let you in for free. The worst part was my brother was having his wedding there and dropped about 50 grand. You would think they would have his picture to the staff and tell them to treat him extra special, since he was spending so much there on his wedding, but he had similar complaints. I guess I just feel like the staff was trying as hard as they could to make our stay memorable, but they just couldn't due to poor management. Please do not respond to this review. I have read the corporate responses you guys have gave to other reviews and am not impressed. Instead think about getting a real job. 05 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! We enjoyed a lovely weekend in Chicago, with the Hotel Intercontinental as our home base. At check-in we requested a room in the historic tower, close to my sister & brother-in-law's room. The young woman at the front desk was able to fulfill our requests The room was large & comfortable, and the floor was quiet. We shopped up & down Michigan Avenue on Saturday. During the course of the weekend, we visited several nearby restaurants, but appreciated being able to relax at the end of each evening at Eno and/or the bar of Michael Jordan's restaurant. 05 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum level-w/o Ambassador status Enjoyed every thing about this property,except the brief moment with the gentleman at check in. He acknowledged my platinum status with IHG Priority Club, explained that upgrades were available for our 3 day stay, looking out on Michigan Ave.,which was a customary offering if upgrades are open, then followed that with " for only a $100 per night additional" up charge to our booked rate. I acknowledged we had great rate, most likely because of low occupancy during the holidays,which meant many upgraded rooms were open. He stated that the hotel was booked, by late holiday reservations. I said we weren't interested in the $100 upgrade charge. That was that. Our actual room interior was fine,but I wonder if this particular room view, at a blank wall 30 ft outside the window, was his payback. I found out what IHG Platinum status means at Intercontinental Hotels. Not much. On the other side of this, every other staff member was tremendous. Breakfast in the Continental Room, drinks at Jordan's, room service promptness, bellman assistance, all great. The property is wonderful. 04 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Solace and renewal When I need a change of scenery, I book a get-away weekend in the Intercontinental in Chicago. I had a lovely room, nice view. I was not pleased with the plumbing of the toilet, however. I also think the people at the front desk need to inform the guests that swimming in the pool is free, while being on a treadmill, even for 30 minutes, costs $12. I was glad I brought my suit. 03 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Christmas getaway in our own city We had a fabulous time staying in the heart of our own city. We decided we needed a getaway but couldn't go far at this time of year. The Intercontinental was perfect. Great location near everything we wanted to do for a couple of days. Staff was gracious and friendly, and the accommodations were beautiful and comfortable. 03 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful hotel This is a beautiful, historic hotel in a great location on Michigan Ave. The staff was helpful and friendly and the acccomodations were excellent. The large pool is an added bonus. Special discounts make this a good value. We will definitely stay here again. 03 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Shopping Stay We loved our room and the breakfast buffet included with the room was outstanding. Omelet chef was great too. However, servers were lukewarm in restaurant. I am a tea drinker and a server should always ask if the tea bag should be placed in the water. I like my tea weak and it was stronger than coffee. Not only that on the first day I had an elegant porcelain container of hot water and the second day it was cheap metal (not what I would expect from an upscale restaurant). The room was very clean. They are smaller though but beds were extremely comfortable. Some missing items from room were quickly replenished when requested from housekeeping. 03 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location and service are superb! Wonderful location and pleasant service! Fitness area is great with nice equipment and woman at desk is very dedicated! This is our favorite place to stay on Michigan Ave! 02 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Bad Location is obviously the big seller here and for that you will not be let down....rooms are small but fine, staff is VERY friendly and VERY helpful....overall our kids and us enjoyed the stay,....a few key issues made it less than "tops"... 1) Parking was a disaster, not the price as obviously one can expect to pay $65 per day for an inner city parking, it was simply a disaster getting your car out.....completely disorganized, a very very poor system with folks waiting over an hour to get our car out to leave. Honestly was like a keystone copes episode of incompetent folks with no system and absolutely no care for the client and then upset I didn't tip them after waiting over an hour to get my car. 2) Cabs: the wait to get a cab (in a long line) was odd. Bellman, try as he could, couldn't get a cab ON MICHIGAN AVENUE to stop and collect folks waiting in line for cabs. So all were dressed to the nines standing and waiting for 30 plus minutes for a cab to go anywhere Those two issues marred an otherwise good stay and honestly are something the hotel real should explore to correct because both are correctable. 02 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by expectation were set too high? upon arrival, i was informed that the 'complimentary wifi' was reserved for ihg gold and platinum memberships, neither of which i held. i hold a basic membership, which i was told WAS eligible when i made the reservation #via 800 number#. front desk said, "not true." after strongly stating my disappointment, I was offered complimentary wifi access #i mean, i can get complimentary wifi at my local tim horton's. don't quite see it as a hotel amenity, but maybe i am not understanding something#. equally, upon arrival, as i was handed my room card/key, i asked if the room had been prepared for my twin sons' birthday #when making my reservation, i had asked if the hotel provided anything special for those staying at the hotel to celebrate birthdays, etc., and, they do. for my sons, the amenity was a small, but quite tasty chocolate cake#. the desk clerk looked confused then apparently reviewed attached notes to my reservations, then tried to casually take back the room card she had just handed me in return for another room card - to the room that had been prepared with my request. the room was fine, but small. we had a rate for a room with city view, with parking included. we were...cozy. the hotel site lists amenities which include robes and slippers. my sons were looking forward to padding around in these while resting in the room. the room closet contained two robes and no slippers. and a light bulb was out over the entrance. i called guest services and was told that slippers were only provided upon request #??# but that housekeeping would provide me with an extra robe and 3 pairs of slippers. house keeping arrived and gave me three robes, and no slippers. maintenance then came and replaced the bulb. after dinner, my sons visited the pool #old, but charming# and then we headed back to the room for hot showers. the shower faucet was impossible to turn on. i called guest services, again. was told to pull and turn to right. pull and turn to left. i was pulling and trying to turn so hard the shower wall was starting to buckle. maintenance was called, again. i mostly wanted to cry, at that point. i had spent much time organizing the visit to Chicago for my sons' birthday and the holiday. so disappointed. so many bad hotel experiences within such a short period of time. i was offered a room upgrade and vouchers for breakfast. we repacked, moved and unpacked again. we visited the restaurant for breakfast, but did not use the vouchers. no one ever acknowledged us/gave us a check. the breakfast is offered as a buffet. we entered. sat down. no one addressed us. we visited the buffet. no one addressed us. waffles were made upon request. one of my sons requested one. it never came. i finally spoke with a staff member who apologized for our experience, and offered to give us a.....voucher for breakfast. ugh. i was never seeking room upgrades, or breakfast vouchers. i was simply seeking to have a nice experience, and make nice memories, with my sons, in a great city. #sigh#. ultimately, my guys said they had a great time. so, in spite of all the errors, that is all that matters to me. 01 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Shower We only stayed one night. Were looking forward to a nice hot shower the next morning. The shower handle did not work (in fact it came off in my hand). We called the front desk to report it, but unfortunately did not have time for them to send maintenance up to fix it. 01 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by World class!! Outstanding hotel and staff made me feel right at home during my 2 month stay. 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sensational view from the Tower My third stay in the Tower, with great views of Chicago from every window. A perfect location, too. 30 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of information. The hotel itself is beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful. But, I will say that in my room there was no hotel information about lets say the location of the gym and pool. Also the coffee tray was incomplete as it did not have sugar and cream packets. I will also need to say that the guests next door where kind of loud in the middle of the night. 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Employees! The hotel is very nice, which their are many in Chicago, but the staff is what brings me back. Fatima in housekeeping is so sweet and a pleaseure to speak with. Tony and Uygun at the restaurant remember your name and are exceptional waiters. And then their is Amy in conference planning. She is the Best! We've held our conference here for several years and I look forward to being back in 2014. 30 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Holiday experience Great hotel in a wonderful location, clean comfortable with great service. The only drawback is breakfast as they serve the same food everyday. Great if you stay 1 night, boring and repetitive if you stay a week. Other than that a wonderful experience 30 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice pool area and a spacious clean room. I was pleased with this hotel especially the location,service,staff. The pool is very nice and so is the work-out area. Location is excellent and there are many sites for fun things to do right in the area. 28 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wouldn't stay anywhere else... My husband, son (8 yrs old), and I recently stayed at the Intercontinental on Michigan Ave. The hotel is excellent. Location is perfect to dining, shopping, shows. The hotel has all amenities from dining to pool to Starbucks! The rooms are clean, comfortable and beautiful. The concierge and staff couldn't have been more helpful all the way from check in to printing boarding passes at check out. We are avid travelers and this was an exceptional experience. Enjoy! 28 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas visit Our second year in a row visiting the Magnificent Mile, before Christmas, and staying at the Intercontinental. We enjoy being right in the middle of things and the staff and the accommodations are wonderful. I'd highly recommend this property for that special holiday event. 26 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas Shopping Weekend I probably spend 15+ nights a year at The Hotel Intercontinental on business so every December we go downtown just before Christmas for a fun weekend of shopping and a relaxing get away. The staff always recognizes me and give us a very personal experience. We usually meet friends at the Bar At Michael Jordan's for drinks and get together in our room for wine and cheese before heading out to dinner. The quality of the rooms is excellent and comfortable. The only thing I miss a Club Lounge/Floor (every other Hotel Intercontinental has one), at a hotel as upscale as this one, there should be one. Otherwise we always look forward to our stay here. 26 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Whsjkk The hotel was very clean and historically unique. The location was perfect for walking everywhere we wanted to go. 25 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend getaway The InterContinental is a fabulous place for a weekend getaway. The hotel charm is reminiscent of an era gone by, but as modern as anyone would desire. The staff is wonderful and accommodating from the front desk, to housekeeping to the restaurant service. The location makes it a great jump off point to pretty much walk to anywhere in the loop. 24 December 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>
Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • 505 North Michigan Ave
  • Chicago , IL , 60611
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-312-9444100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Polish, Slovene, Serbian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Contact hotel for details
Pet Deposit $100.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    3:32 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service Animals Allowed
    • 34 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs