Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

WELCOME TO

Chicago

Concierge Photo
Kathy McClanathan
Chef Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or, USA

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

CHICAGO DINING

Because Chicago is still growing and earning its reputation as a vibrant city there has been a tremendous influx of restaurant openings. Many great Chef's have been lured by the possibilities of our city.
THE JEWEL OF CHICAGO’S MAGNIFICENT MILE
Experience modern comfort with a touch of 1920’s splendour. This lovingly restored Chicago luxury hotel was once the 1929 Medinah Athletics Club. Part of Michigan Avenue’s architectural elite, luxury details include ENO for wine tasting, recreated gold leaf murals and an ornate pool once used by Tarzan actor Johnny Weissmuller. Discover the best of Chicago within walking distance of museums, upscale shopping and theatres. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away.

Guest Reviews

Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Befitting its exclusive North Michigan Avenue address, the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile offers some of the best downtown Chicago resta...
  • Amenities & Services

    One of Chicago’s largest hotel fitness centres energises you with a state-of-the-art cardio room, a strength circuit, free weights, personal traine...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...

InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile

  • 505 North Michigan Ave
  • Chicago , IL , 60611
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-312-9444100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Polish, Slovene, Serbian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guests with pets must reserve the Historic Tower. There is a 100USD fee, 50USD which is refundable. Dogs and cats without size restriction. Pets must be kenneled when guests are out of the room. Please contact hotel in advance to rent a kennel, if needed.
Pet Deposit $100.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    3:35 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 34 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 808 reviewers.
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staying in Holyday Inn Chicago-Mart Plaza River North I stay in this hotel every year, I went again a few days ago, the Hotel and Restaurant good as always, however having eliminated the normal Parking Lot has created havoc for people who need to reach the car more than once every day. I used the valet parking and had to wait long time every time I needed to reach the car. Obviously valet parking was being used for too many people because the closing of normal Parking Lot. January 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and great rooms We have stayed here several times in conjunction with shows at the Merchandise Mart and would highly recommend it to anyone! Staff is exceptionally helpful, rooms are comfortable with beautiful views of the Chicago River, and the food is very good. Close to several really good restaurants in walking distance. It took some getting used to the lobby being on the 15th floor but we will continue to go back. Valet parking is a little steep since they lost the use of their parking lot due to construction, but there are several other garages close by. January 24, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice rooms. The staff is friendly and they do what they can to help you. It's close to anything you want to do. January 24, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by remodeled rooms are luxurious The food in the restaurant has improved significantly over the year, but then it had a long way to go. The only issue I had with the stay was that I had to leave a day early because of a family emergency I had to pay for that night everyone even though I checked out at 11:00 January 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Anniversary retreat Absolutely perfect. We booked a King Suite with a beautiful view of the city and the river. Room very quiet and comfortable. Staff very attentive and friendly. Centrally located with easy access to the museums, shopping and some very good restaurants. The consierge very helpful in getting us where we wanted to go without getting lost. A very enjoyable weekend and will definitely do it again. Thank you. January 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable The facility was very accomadating a provided at comfortable stay for my wife and I. We would definitely return for another visit. The one problem we encountered was the lack of signage to direct us to the property. January 15, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good Experience, would stay again This was my first time staying in Chicago so booking a hotel online you never really know what your going to get. This was a great experience and I would stay again. Location was very close to train station and close to many bars/restaurants. The room was very clean and newly remodeled for a modern feel and a TERRIFIC VIEW of the city. We ate at the co-located restaurant for breakfast and once for dinner and the food was great. The one downfall was that there was no hot-tub/jacuzzi. It was very very cold during my visit and after walking around in the freezing temperatures it would have been nice to have. However, there was a very nice large pool, sauna and workout center. January 14, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service; friendly staff I enjoyed my stay. I'm a Chicago native but have lived in the south for decades. Your hotel had a noticeable touch of southern hospitality. That's rare in the northern regions......Thanks January 10, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good price and location Good price for the hotel and location wasn't bad either (near subway lines), however we were charged for making local phone calls without knowledge. Usually local calls are included in hotels, but in this case they were not and we did not know this until we were checking out. Other than that, the stay was comfortable and the other guests weren't noisy. January 10, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful on a difficult weekend! The staff was very helpful to us in getting us checked in and then checked out. It was a difficult weekend due to the extreme winter weather with the cold an snow and the staff was very calming. Overall we were very pleased with the service and the accommodations. I did have an experience at the restaurant that service was a very slow and the prices seemed way high for a breakfast in a hotel. January 10, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you! Dear IHG, The two rooms I reserved at the last minute because of really hazardous Chicago weather, was for a night out on the town for my wife, her twin sister, my daughter, and future daughter-in-law. This night was dedicated to my daughter who is in the US Army and will be leaving soon for Afghanistan. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza stepped up and upgraded both rooms without being asked, the result was they had a great time and memorable experience. From what I was told the view was awesome. I thank the IHG organization for everything they did and will continue to be a loyal customer for as long as I am "on the road" Thank you once again. January 8, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfied Great hotel and location.... The staff at this hotel went out of there way to help me with anything i needed! Very friendly staff! January 8, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by worst nye experince ever i stayed at this hotel for New years eve this year and had a terrbile experince. Now i did the same package deal the year before and had an awesome time. This year was totally different. I had to valet my car for $45 no other option was avaible for me. The year before we had gotten complientary parking with our stay. I had to carry my i.d and key card with me at all times in the hotel. They were checking id's and keycards before you got onto the evelvator. It was annoying becasue if you left it in your room hopefully someone else has there keycard with them. Then upon cehcking out when was when i found out about the $45 fee for valet. I was extremly upset because i didnt plan on spending that money.I was told it was under my confirmation letter under the amineties . Last time i checked amienties tell you what is included with your stay . As if that wasnt bad enough i waited 35-40 mins for my car to be brought to me. Upon my car arriving i had to clean about 6 inchs of snow off my car myself after a valet just brought me my car. When i have to pay $45 for valet i shouldnt have to clean my own car off of snow. I was not happy at all this the customer service of the hotel. When i called and asked to speak with a manager . i believer her name was Kathy, She was of no help to me and basically told me there wasnt anything she could do or be willing to do. I work in the service industry and i would never let a customer leave as unhappy as i did. With the valet it was only me that had to clean off there car literally very car had inches of snow all over it that was brought to its owner. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone becasue simply of its staff, not on the appernce of the hotel . The room was fine and clean . But the staff was beyond rude and should be sent to a class on proper customer service January 4, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great View Great view of the river and downtown! The front entrance is under contruction and made it difficult to get cars in and out but the valet crew did a good job keeping up. The staff was first rate and did an excellent job. January 3, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Getaway The experience at the hotel was overall a very good one. We had dinner outside and returned to to have drinks at the bar located inside. Very nice bar with a great view ofr drinks and conversation. The bad parts started with breakfast at Italiasia, worst serves ever! The food didn't make it any better, I asked for a well done steak and got medium rare. The silverware was dirty and to top it off my girlfriend had hair in her eggs! Wouldn't recommend that restaurant to anyone. January 2, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Family Weekend Had a nice spacious room and great place to call home for the weekend. Kids had fun in the pool (although it was really too warm, the room itself was more like a sauna), Mom and Dad enjoyed a drink in the lovely bar looking out to the city lights, we loved the beautiful lobby decorated for the holidays and really liked the proximity for all our downtown stops (skating at millennium park, Hawks game at United Center, shopping at Water Tower Place) ! Thank you for a wonderful, memorable family weekend! January 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed the view The room was wonderful. We had a king suite at the corner. Love the view. Enjoyed ourselves January 1, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Customer Services Check in staff have no customer service skills what so ever. I stood in line and the recognition I receive was a nod and not a welcome from the agent (Edgar) I was ask for my CC and ID with no please, I was given a key with no direction to the elevators. No mention of the hotel amenities. Basically, I paid for my room and given a key but have to figure out where is my room, the restaurant, pool/exercise room. Maybe if I worn my Tux, I would of receive a more welcoming reception. As far as I remember being in a hospitality industry is you have to treat your guess regardless of their appearances. It was freezing cold during my visit and guys at the front can't even call a cab. I have to call my on cab while 3 guys talking and warming up in the lobby area. I have work, managed various hotel chain and I didn't experience any of the standards guess services provides. Sorry to say but will not be back and recommend this property. December 25, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by More than I expected This stay was more than I expected from a Holiday Inn from the bar to the modern style rooms and great location. December 25, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall very average.place Very average stay. Nothing pops out as being over the top. The lounge was not the best experience. Waitstaff, gave excuses to not being informed or that they just started their shift. Ordered, soup... But received the wrong one. Staff argued with me on its kind. Once they decided to go to kitchen and check. They quickly discovered I was correct. The kitchen had put the wrong soup in the wrong spot. But, a little common sense and one would be able to figure out soups! I became a number, and with no name. This was however, my 2nd week staying in this month. And yet no one knew my name. Bellman, watched the elevator close twice on me and my luggage... But took a third time of it closing for him to help me. Again, nothing over the top...simply average and in some cases below! December 25, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great customer service The hotel is in a perfect location with great views. Nice downtown Chicago location. The staff is very friendly and customer oriented. Despite a billing error (two visits in a row), the staff took immediate action to make corrections in a timely manner. Say hello to Carmen at the front desk. She was very helpful getting things squared away. Even arranged for a gift basket of snacks upon my second arrival. December 23, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and views This is our 4th time staying here and we love it. We always get the king executive room cause its so spacious, comfortable and has wonderful views of Chicago skyline and river. We usually come in the summer, but this time we came in December and it was so festive and pretty plus great rates. This is where we will always stay whenever we spend a few days in Chicago. December 22, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend at Holidan Inn MM I have stayed at this hotel many times but not recently. This visit was disappointing, in that I asked for two adjoining rooms with a view, I got two adjoining rooms with a view of the west end of the Merchandise Mart. Remodeling was in progress and the noise was annoying in the afternoon, but very quiet at night. The doormen were very accommodating, though the cab access and traffic flow was very awkward, confusing and slow. December 19, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not the nicest The hotel itself was fine and the room was nice, but the staff was not the nicest. When we checked in we were looking for down alternative pillows/blankets because of an allergy and the front desk staff member looked at us and said, "I don't think we have that." We asked him to call and ask, which he did begrudgingly, just to find out that their hotel doesn't even use any down. Then, after checking us in, he didn't even tell us our room number. I had to ask another staff member who told me, "Oh yeah, that's the second time he's done that today." It just seemed like their staff didn't want to be there. December 19, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, staff need to care more I was staying at this location for a couple of days over the weekend. Good: Location is good! Room (superior, I believe), was well sized and comfortable. Bad: The room I had at first had a leak from the room above, right in the bedroom and on top of my luggage, which I called in immediately explaining that something is going on upstairs and they need someone to get there fast. 15 minutes later I had a maintenance guy at my door, asking where to fix the leak... after I explained that it's something upstairs, he left to deal with it. Apparently that initial information was not passed on to him. About 20 minutes later, the water stopped leaking. As there was now a wet spot both on the ceiling and the floor, I called in to reception to get a new room. I was asked what was wrong with it, I explained the leak/water issue yet again and was told that they will take care of it. Three hours passed with no call back, so I called again. This time I got Jay (I hope I got his name right!) who had no record of anyone trying to get me a new room. He called me back within 15 minutes and when I got downstairs, he already had my roomkey ready and just handed it to me. If it wasn't for Jay's recovery, I'd probably leave a more negative review. But if there is an issue with the room, I certainly expect the staff to take care of it faster, or at least pass on the information to someone. December 18, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to Holiday Inn standards! I am a frequent business traveler and about every 3 months pleasure traveler. Disappointed with this property. The bathrooms really need makeup mirrors for us ladies, please. Most hotels offer this and we older business travelers/ladies really need it. The business center needs a new internet provider. The service is very poor and WAY too expensive. Most hotels charge $11-$18 for an entire day - I paid $30 to use it for an hour and 15 minutes! On the plus side, the first time I tried to use it, a manager comp'd me. I was surprised that the pillows were hard as rocks. The bed was very comfortable however. The pillows are just not the normal softness and quality as other Holiday Inns that I have stayed at. The window A/C unit needs to be updated or removed from room, it looks old and dusty and unsightly. The building lobby needs better signage to direct people to 15th Floor where the hotel is. The 15th Floor needs better signage to direct people coming off the elevator which way to go to the front desk. On a positive note,my room #2123 had an amazing view! Breakfast at the restaurant: presentation and taste of the food was very good. Room service, on the other hand, was not the same. The staff was nice and cordial, but I had a small issue with a cold English muffin and ice cold butter delivered with cereal for a bedtime snack. They delivered one tiny box of cereal (for an adult?!) and FOUR English muffin halves with ice cold butter on the side. The muffin should have been buttered BEFORE it was delivered. I asked Room Service to fix another order and to bring only ONE English muffin this time, and they AGAIN brought me an English muffin with no butter on it. The bacon served in the restaurant was tasty and crisp, the bacon served in my room was thick and less tasty. I travel to Chicago annually and sometimes twice a year, and I would not return to this property. December 18, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel, Great location We had a number of small problems with our room upon move in. A cheerio on floor, (not ours) and few other little issues. Asked to be moved to a room with a view and the staff was wonderful. The hotel was full, but they found a way to make our stay wonderful. I think they took a room that was out of service, (being worked on or something) and made it so we could have it. Moved our bags and clothes while we were at work. Seamless. Location to the mart is wonderful, enclosed walkway is a real plus. Parking is outrageous! All in all, I would recommend and would stay there again. Bar/Lounge has great views. December 16, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dec 4-9 visit Upon arrival it was evident this was going to be quite a visit. The valet attendee did not have accurate info about parking. Check-in was not any better. Waiting on attendant to hold luggage took 30 minutes. Although Priority Level, Platinum, no upgrade to a king was offered, although requested. Rooms did show available online. The room we were given had a terribly stained cornice board over the window. It was stained in two places and was terribly unappealing to see. One morning we even had the valet/desk clerk call (at 7:45 a.m.) asking for our keys to our car. Since we had it parked by them, they should have Had the keys. They'd been lost. An hour later, they found them. One night of parking was comped and breakfast was offered. None-the-less, calling a guest and telling them they've lost your keys is not acceptable. As well, it always took 30+ to get the car. There is no accurate system for retrieval. Beds need to be updated. They are old and not so comfortable. They seem to be cheap and worn out. Housekeeping did a good job. December 14, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by VERY BAD !! worst stay in ANY IHG facility I stayed in the past 13 years -bad staff ,dirty room and someone walked in on me while I'm changing. $45.00 for parking plus $10.00 makes it very impossible to park for a few days. December 13, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service from the bellmen/Parking an issue!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks to the street side bellmen, I was able to get a good night sleep! The hotel did not inform their staff until 2 weeks prior to the One of the Kind Show that there would no longer be any oversize parking for their Convention Center Hotel due to the parking lot being torn up and under construction for a new parking garage!!! This was a disaster as a convention hotel has guests which travel in oversize vehicles ie: . Sprinter Vans! The bellmen personally went out of their way to help me locate a parking area for my vehicle. This took them a great deal of time and dedication for my safety and satisfaction. Unbelievable that the Holiday Corporate Office would not know in advance of a huge permitted project that there would not be any parking!!!!!! I know better as I work with many agencies regarding building permits. This size of a project can take over a year to get permitted!!! In the meantime, it is my understanding that the NEW parking garage won't even accommodate oversize vehicles next year?And this is a Convention Center Hotel? Not anymore...... December 12, 2013
    <<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 28 next>>