Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Chicago Magnificent Mile

WELCOME TO

Chicago

Concierge Photo
Kathy McClanathan
Chef Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or, USA

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

CHICAGO DINING

Because Chicago is still growing and earning its reputation as a vibrant city there has been a tremendous influx of restaurant openings. Many great Chef's have been lured by the possibilities of our city.
THE JEWEL OF CHICAGO’S MAGNIFICENT MILE
Experience modern comfort with a touch of 1920’s splendour. This lovingly restored Chicago luxury hotel was once the 1929 Medinah Athletics Club. Part of Michigan Avenue’s architectural elite, luxury details include ENO for wine tasting, recreated gold leaf murals and an ornate pool once used by Tarzan actor Johnny Weissmuller. Discover the best of Chicago within walking distance of museums, upscale shopping and theatres. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Befitting its exclusive North Michigan Avenue address, the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile offers some of the best downtown Chicago resta...
  • Amenities & Services

    One of Chicago’s largest hotel fitness centres energises you with a state-of-the-art cardio room, a strength circuit, free weights, personal traine...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • 505 North Michigan Ave
  • Chicago , IL , 60611
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-312-9444100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Polish, Slovene, Serbian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guests with pets must reserve the Historic Tower. There is a 100USD fee, 50USD which is refundable. Dogs and cats without size restriction. Pets must be kenneled when guests are out of the room. Please contact hotel in advance to rent a kennel, if needed.
Pet Deposit $100.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    9:18 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 34 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 486 reviewers.
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by small room The location of this hotel was great!!! The room was extremely small though for the price. Bed was comfortable, but is all that could really fit in this room. It was a good thing we were out and about at lot and did not spend much time in the room. January 6, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Internet Conneccetion Fail Overall my stay here was good, and the location was great, but the Internet connectivity was terrible. That alone would make me reconsider a return stay. January 6, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and hotel The staff were very efficient and welcoming. We checked in under 3 min. and we up to our room. Rooms were clean and comfy. The location of the hotel is perfect for all the plans we had for the weekend. January 6, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Small yet comfortable rooms and service The room I stayed in was somewhat small but what can you expect from a highrise in the middle of downtown Chicago? The bed was comfortable, the room/bathroom was nice and clean, the breakfast was good (try the cinnamon rolls!), it was within walking distance of great food (Pizzaria Due), the staff was efficient and friendly and answered all my questions and got my cab for me, the valet parking was really handy (however cost about $40). Also, I stayed during the holiday season so the view from my room was great, with the Christmas lights next door. I highly recommend this hotel. December 27, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and very comfortable!!!!!!! I loved the location form the price, the room was small, but extremely comfortable. It served its purpose for a night out in the city. I would definitely stay here again. The breakfast was good too, I didn't expect so many options. December 17, 2012
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and location, but subpar service Great valet service, room was clean, comfortable bed. Smaller room than usual holiday inn express rooms but still very comfortable. Staff at front desk not friendly, not very helpful, hung up on me on an occasion when I asked about my car that was with valet. Was very surprised with their rudeness overall. December 16, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Courteous Staff/Small Room Overall very good. The room was much smaller than I expected. Chair could have been better. Staff very good - all of them December 16, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience! I went with my parents and we had an awesome time in Chicago. I was so impress in how a small hotel could be that good on service. The people, the breakfast, everything was just fantastic!. Besides the excellent service, it is located in the center of downtown Chicago... what else can you ask for! . Definitely, we will come back. December 14, 2012
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by DISSAPPOINTED Room was nothing like website picture. No desk, no chair, about 12 inches between bed and corner of the heater to get to bathroom. Not at all what we were expecting. We stay at Holiday Inn Expresses whenever we travel because we know what to expect and enjoy the facilities. This was not at all pleasant. December 14, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and good value This is a small boutique type hotel. The rooms are very small, but very clean. THe staff was very kind and courteous. It was definitely a good value. December 13, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Location We picked this location because it was right in the middle of the magnificent mile and just a few blocks away. For the price and location it was perfect. It also had a parking garage just down the road which was great too. December 13, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great value THIS HOTEL IS A GREAT LOCATION AND AN EXCELLENT VALUE FOR CHICAGO. THE BREAKFAST IS SUPER. THE ROOM WAS VERY SMALL, BUT VERY NICE LOOKING AND THE BED WAS GREAT. THERE ARE ABOUT 8 STEPS UP TO THE LOBBY, SO MAY BE DIFFICULT FOR MOBILITY IMPAIRED. PREPARE TO PAY AT LEAST $40.00 TO PARK AS THIS IS NORMAL FOR CHICAGO. December 12, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Strongly recommend This is a clean, quiet and convenient hotel to stay near the airport. I strongly recommend the hotel. December 10, 2012
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Pathetic Internet speed Small room is understandable as it is in downtown. But a pathetic Internet speed of 2 Kbps is inexcusable. Lowest i have ever seen in any hotel. December 9, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Met Our Needs and Very Clean Room was on the small side, which many in this price range and location are, but big enough for us since we weren't in the room except at night. Great location! A couple blocks from Magnificent Mile and pretty much in the center so you could head either way to explore. Subway is close. Front desk was very helpful in answering our numerous. As good as a concierge would be. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay here again! December 7, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room small butt Clean and wonderful The staff kept this hotel VERY CLEAN!!!!! A wonderful stay, I talk to a lot of people when I travel and everyone said the same thing. My hat is off to the manager and his staff. December 5, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not a bad find. This place used to be a dump. Now HolidayInn bought it and its quite a wonderful turnaround for this iconic old hotel. All the staff were wonderful and it was a great experience. My only negatives were the lack of closet space (the closet had the drawers installed, so there was no room to hang my suit pants as I would have liked) and the slower than average WiFi service. December 4, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel !!! Enjoyable stay, the staff was friendly & helpful, nice decor & hotel was walking distance to to magnificent mile for shopping. December 3, 2012
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed Emotions The location and price was great. The breakfast was fine as was the service during the breakfast. The maintence men were polite and pleasant. The maids were very friendly and efficient. However the building is old and the rooms and bathrooms are small and cramped. The toilet seat was chipped and cracked which made it appear to be dirty. Some of the desk staff were friendly and helpful while others were indifferent and uncaring. When I tried to make a request for the shuttle to the airport the next morning the the clerk told me that it was not possible not once but several times. Only after I told him that I would walk over to the Intercontinental to make the reservation would he even attempt to make the reservation. At that point he attempted and was succesful the first time. Jim November 30, 2012
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location but room is like a college dorm As a Platinum member I've stayed at many Holiday Inn properties, including in Chicago. Unfortunately, this property was my least favorite. Though room size was extremely small the amenities made if feel like a college dorm. The bathroom was nicely decorated but impractical---'how about installing real shelves?' The biggest issue was lack of heat in the room. Maintenance came up to work on it prior to our leaving for dinner. We arrived back 10pm and at 1030pm the hotel offered to move us to another room. We declined as we were in bed and were using the extra blanket. Overall, this hotel should be fewer points than other downtown Chicago locations---I've paid the same amount several times on the same weekend at the two downtown Crowne Plazas. Our fault for trying something new, it appears. November 29, 2012
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad Wifi is very slow - so if you plan to stream video or calls - don't. Rooms are VERY tiny. Bathrooms are also tiny. Breakfast is great and staff is excellent. If it were not for the upromise extra savings, I probably would pass on the hotel. November 29, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Gem of a Hotel My friend and I were very pleased staying at this hotel. The front desk staff was super especially Shaun..... we thought he lives at the hotel since we always saw him. From the moment we stepped into the hotel we were greeted and felt welcomed. The rooms were clean and everything worked. While the room is a standard size room the bathroom was a little smaller than what we expected, but the bathroom was clean and served our purpose. The location is excellent and close to restrauants and other points of interest. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its friendly staff, cleanliness and ease of location. November 24, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location! This was a great location. The reason I gave some lower scores was because I was with my mother and the rooms were so small . Just a chair for desk, other person in this double room had to sit on bed. The staff was great, especially the door man. November 19, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel The hotel and location are excellent. The only thing i didnt like was when we made the check in a young lady with red hair put us in a room in the fourth floor. We asked to changed to a higher floor and she didnt offer a solution. Three or four hours later, other lady (called princess) and a man estudied our suggestion and fixed our problem correctily and quickly. I would like to highlight the work of all the personal (except the young lady of red hair, who was very rude). Excellent location, excellent housekeeping service, excellent rooms in the fifthteen floor, very clean, secure, and excellent breakfast. I will return to this hotel because its excellent. November 16, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very small room. The website indicates that this hotel has smoking rooms. Upon the check-in we were informed that the hotel is a smoking free property, which is contrary to the information on the website. I have made a request for a double bed room and, upon the check-in were informed that no double bed rooms were available. On the second night a in a single bed room we received an email confirming the double room. Too late, since we were already placed in a single bed room. Kind of disorganized. November 15, 2012
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok but there are better We chose this hotel only because the MART location was booked. I would not return unless I had no choice. There are better options in Chicago. November 10, 2012
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, Modest Accomodations Although I stayed for a single night, it was clear to me that the hotel's forte is its proximity to all the action in downtown chicago. The accomodations were sufficient for my (and I would imagine most people's) purposes; a place to rest one's head at the end of a long day. Of course, considering that real estate is at a premium downtown, I wasn't too upset that the hotel lacked a pool/sauna/hot tub. The staff were pleasant and professional and so I have only good things to say about them. All around, my experience was good, especially considering the price. My needs were met. November 9, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great option for those planning on more time visiting Chicago than staying in their hotel At a very reasonable price, this Holiday Inn Express was in a great location. It's in the heart of downtown, and a short walk to many great attractions. And the price is very reasonable! That being said, the rooms are not very large, parking is expensive and the wireless internet is very slow. With a nice breakfast bar, clean and comfortable (but not large) room and great location, this Holiday Inn Express would be great for anyone planning on spending more time out visiting Chicago, rather than those planning to spend their trip holed up in their hotel room. It has everything you need for a comfortable stay, in a great city. Just don't plan on watching any Netflix movie or expect streaming internet, because it's just too slow! I could barely connect to accomplish my work tasks, but they do provide a business center, which I imagine has quicker internet. All in all, I was pleased with my stay and would be happy to return. November 7, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best "little" hotel in Chicago! The rooms are very cozy, but provide all the amenities. November 7, 2012
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by DON'T STAY HERE My girlfriend and I stayed a Friday through a Sunday in August at this hotel and I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND it to anyone! Upon checking in, the room, with a Queen size bed, was about the size of a walk-in closet with no room for luggage, or even to move around. The walls were paper thin and the windows weren't insulated allowing every bit of noise into the street side room. We went to sleep Friday night and woke up Saturday morning with bug bites all over our feet and a few on our legs (see photos!# The hotel management only offered to clean our clothes and only upon MY request were we offered a room upgrade to a King room #not very much bigger than the other room, so not worth paying for if you do stay here.) I asked for a reimbursement of the first night or a free night certificate and was told that was not an option and they had done all they could do. Ridiculous, especially when I'm a Platinum member who stays at priority club properties more than 100 nights a year! Again, DO NOT STAY HERE, there's a Crowne Plaza about 3-4 blocks away that is MUCH, MUCH, MUCH better with a much friendlier staff and better accomodations! November 6, 2012
    <<prev 13 14 15 16 17 next>>