Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Chicago Magnificent Mile

WELCOME TO

Chicago

Concierge Photo
Kathy McClanathan
Chef Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or, USA

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

CHICAGO DINING

Because Chicago is still growing and earning its reputation as a vibrant city there has been a tremendous influx of restaurant openings. Many great Chef's have been lured by the possibilities of our city.
THE JEWEL OF CHICAGO’S MAGNIFICENT MILE
Experience modern comfort with a touch of 1920’s splendour. This lovingly restored Chicago luxury hotel was once the 1929 Medinah Athletics Club. Part of Michigan Avenue’s architectural elite, luxury details include ENO for wine tasting, recreated gold leaf murals and an ornate pool once used by Tarzan actor Johnny Weissmuller. Discover the best of Chicago within walking distance of museums, upscale shopping and theatres. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Befitting its exclusive North Michigan Avenue address, the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile offers some of the best downtown Chicago resta...
  • Amenities & Services

    One of Chicago’s largest hotel fitness centres energises you with a state-of-the-art cardio room, a strength circuit, free weights, personal traine...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • 505 North Michigan Ave
  • Chicago , IL , 60611
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-312-9444100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Polish, Slovene, Serbian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guests with pets must reserve the Historic Tower. There is a 100USD fee, 50USD which is refundable. Dogs and cats without size restriction. Pets must be kenneled when guests are out of the room. Please contact hotel in advance to rent a kennel, if needed.
Pet Deposit $100.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    10:39 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 34 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 327 reviewers.
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very Average and overpriced The location was great, but out of the 6-8 staff members we encountered, only 2 were courteous. The others seemed very annoyed and rude. The fireplace room we stayed in had cobwebs in the ceilings and the shower curtain was too short for the shower so everytime I took a shower, water went all over. I stay at ALOT of hotels for business throughout the year and NEVER have the shampoo, conditioner, soaps and lotion not been replenished every night, just a small detail but really sums up the HO-HUM experience at this hotel. December 12, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Staff Awesome, helpful staff.....loved our stay. The hotel was welcoming and comfortable..Plan on staying there every trip... December 11, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not quit up to snuff We were really looking forward to staying here to visit family since they were so close. The reviews made it seem like a 5 star place. Not in my opinion. Upon check in pulled back the sheets to find long black hairs on the sheet. Room clean up was fair a best. Toiletries were not replenished when empty or low. Ice bucket not emptied and new bag replaced. Hallways always seemed like there was trash down them. Vending machines not working and when questioned the front desk knew but didn't really even seem to care. One employee could barely take her eyes off the computer to talk to me. Had to always ask the front desk for ice which left me with a feeling of putting them out. Was given a trash bag for ice after asking for a ice bucket bag which was not replaced by the cleaning crew. When i asked for one on my way out to run an errand the front desk employee said he would get me one but upon arrival he never moved and left me waiting until he decided to come back with the trash bag. Feeling overall was that the Indigo didn't really care if you were there or not and for the price it's a little disappointing. I think they had a doorman but you would never know as he always seemed to be on his phone at the corner or inside doing something else. December 10, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Loved this Hotel But..... We loved the location and the decor of this hotel. Our waiter at breakfast was as nice as any we have had anywhere!! Great service. However, I handed a voucher to Lissa at the front desk saying we were to get 1000 extra points. (We had a choice of a free movie, one cocktail, or extra points...we unfortunately chose the points). She said she would take care of that. I have called twice...each time she has stated that she is glad I called (very polite) and that she is waiting to get a book (whatever that means) and her manager knows this. However, the points still have not been added, and I think I am going to give up....1000 are not that many! It is kind of the principal of the thing. I have stayed at many Holiday Inn properties, and our points are always added almost immediately. Funny thing is that I read a few reviews about other people that had trouble getting points they were supposed to have.Checkout was rather disappointing. I took the keys to the desk to ask if I needed to do anything else, as the final bill was slipped under our door. The lady at the desk at 7:15 a.m. said, "Just leave them there...you are done." Most other properties have people that ask if we enjoyed our stay (which we did), thank us, and are generally smiling and pleasant. December 10, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a great stay! After a tough travel day for work, this was a real bright spot to "come home to" for the week. An easy walk from the subway (just a couple blocks), surrounded by local eateries, this is a super value. The rooms are sunny, with white, shade of blue and green. The bed was big, firm and cozy with the huge number of pillows stacked at the head. I really enjoyed the white furniture and the armoire instead of a standard closet. This would be a great room to have at home. Some folks might not love the shower-only option but it was great for me. My only suggestion would be to have a shower head with more adjustments to the spray. Dinner was great, and very fairly priced. Ralph was a charming server who was wonderful when I was simply too tuckered to drag back out into the city for supper. The front desk staff and the doorman were lovely throughout my stay. I loved the tootsie roll jar and cookies at the front desk in the evening. This was a really welcoming, wonderful place to stay. December 8, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanksgiving weekend getaway I found this hotel through Trip Advisor, and what a great find it was. The hotel is small and located in a neighborhood within walking distance of Old Town, Magnificent Mile and Rush Street. We were offered a larger room or a smaller room with a "city view." We took the smaller room, and had just enough room to negotiate around the king size bed. If you're looking for a white box hotel room with a big picture window this place is not for you. There is an exercise facility, a restaurant and bar on premises, and several pleasant neighborhood restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Guests have all the amenities you'd expect from a hotel along with decent in room Wi-Fi and a Keurig coffeemaker. The decor is brilliantly cheerful and--well, you better like blue. The price can't be beat for the location. They are a little overly proud of their liquor, so you might want to find a cheaper place for cocktails. Wine prices were pretty much in line with what you'd expect. The staff was great, and we will be back. December 5, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable We've stayed here many times, and are always impressed by the cleanliness, comfortable rooms, courtesy and knowledge of staff. Always appreciate Hotel Indigo Gold Coast for providing guests with quiet rooms...regardless of their size. Whether we're here for business, pleasure, or often for family events, we look to this hotel first when in Chicago. Thanks for being there for us. December 4, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous Service! Beautifully decorated rooms and especially loved the King Room with fireplace! The ONLY thing we'd suggest is more selection in pillows. Pillows were all feather or synthetic feather and offered no neck support for those accustomed to sleeping with it. November 30, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Alex Nice hotel stay last week. Great location and atmosphere. Remote control for TV didn't work well...had to push buttons very hard to channel flip. Some channels would freeze up the TV when changing the channel and you'd have to turn off and then back on. Also bathroom fan was very loud and rattled. Otherwise, excellent room, clean, quiet, and comfortable. November 25, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel It was a very nice hotel. The room was a little small, but very nice looking. The bed was amazing, as was the shower. Cable TV was poor but internet performance reliable and speeds consistent with competition (5mbps/1mbps). I would definitely stay there again when I'm in Chicago again. Very close to Subway - excellent for moving about. Unfortunately, the bar cannot make a bloody mary, employing the use of Mrs. T Bloody Mary mix instead of using real ingredients. November 22, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel We were a party of 5 in two rooms in town for the weekend to see the Bears play the Ravens. The hotel is centrally located, convenient to the L, Starbucks, Walgreens, bars and restaurants very close by. The staff was helpful and made some excellent suggestions. Free internet is a great bonus. The gym is decent. November 21, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay in Chicago The hotel was more than I expected! I loved the layout of the hotel room, and was pleasantly surprised by the size and accommodations. Everything was extremely clean and the colors were bright and cheerful! The hotel staff was beyond friendly. They offered us assistance in transportation, getting to the hotel from the airport, finding cabs, and were the most appreciated when they took care of us even AFTER we checked out when we were caught in a huge thunderstorm and were soaked from head to toe. They brought us towels and got us a really nice cab to the airport. They had even negotiated the rate for us. November 20, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great neighborhood, nice rooms, great breakfast we stayed here one week in november 2013 for business and felt very well all time. Nice service and rooms. We enjoyed the good and safe area with a lot of restaurants around. Walking distance to lakefront trail (good for jogging every morning before work) and Michigan Ave., The EL just around the corner. We are coming back. November 20, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Enjoyed a great stay in Chicago? Location is great as is hotel. November 19, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by They did it again! We love this place! The staff is always amazing. We have stayed at this hotel twice in the last month. We loved the attention that Alma ,Erika, and Monique gave us. We have been in hospitality and hotel business and we know the importance of a great and welcoming staff. They are hard to find . Don't forget the housekeepers (the hardest working people in "show business" ) they do an excellent job as well. We have found a new home when in Chicago. We will be back this December ... Thank you ! November 19, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and clean I have never stayed at a Hotel Indigo before and was very happy that we chose this hotel on are recent stay in Chicago. Loved how it was decorated. The staff was very friendly . Everything was very clean and very comfortable. Looking forward to staying there again !! November 19, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this hotel! The design is so fun and the staff was extremely friendly. Will definitely be staying here again. November 18, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Different Side of Chicago I booked this hotel for my mom while she was visiting me, since I just moved to the neighborhood. It's a cute design, and the neighborhood is quiet and just far enough from the touristy side of things without being too far. The hotel was quiet and clean with some of the friendliest staff. My mom loved her stay there. Unfortunately, I didn't find out until she checked out that there was a discount for those that live in the neighborhood. Unfortunately I missed out on that, and no retroactive discount was offered. November 13, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Yes to Erica and Her Manager We were in Chicago for personal family business. My wife and I were welcomed heartily by Erica, and she allowed us to check in a little early on arrival. My wife is from Cuba and the two of them had a great time . The room we got was very clean, but I understand why some people think it is dated (it happens). Ownership should pay more attention to the local market . Upgrade and then, up the rates , fit into the community you are located within . I know the manager cant do everything she can to make things happen magically ,(like the non performing and loud tv in our room and the cheap laminate floors in our room) Your engineering staff and housekeepers do an outstanding job of working with an aging building . We are coming back this week for another stay , so you must be doing something right. We love the staff . November 9, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by BMW Room was tiny No upgrades or changes were possible I am a platinum member and al I heard all weekend was "I am sorry but no" November 8, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and comfortable beds Will stay here again, we visit family in this neighborhood often. Very comfortable beds, very clean and I love the lack of carpets in the rooms. Decor is odd but well kept up. Parking next door extremely convenient. One of our rooms was not yet ready after the 4 pm check-in, and the desk took $25 off our rate, which was nice. Cons: no real doorman. Bellman does double duty, but wanted to leave our checked luggage (we arrived before check-in) in an area open to anyone who walked by. November 6, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bath area tiny & front desk less than hospitable Shower & toilet in cramped enclosure. Only room for one in lavatory area. Closet rod fell down in first room so moved to anoth room where cabinet door was off of hinge. Front desk less than helpful when reported trouble connecting to internet. Location was great as was Chicago in general! November 1, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location - fantastic staff !! Location is unbeateable and the staff is phenomenal! - they certainly go the extra mile and truly make you feel appreciated. I had a really good time November 1, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service but room furnishings a bit tired We had a very nice stay and the staff was great. Particularly Erica who checked us in and Alma who provided us with an upgrade to our room. The hotel is in a great location - close to the action, but a little bit removed from some of the crowds. We have stayed at other Indigo properties and have always been very pleased. Our only comment would be that some of the furniture and finishings in our room looked a bit tired and could have been nicer. All in all, a nice stay and good value. October 30, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, quiet, & reasonably priced I was greeted by friendly front desk personnel upon arrival whereupon I requested a quiet room location as I am a light sleeper. The room I was assigned did turn out to be quiet. This was my second time staying at the hotel and on both occasions the rooms were nicely decorated and immaculate in terms of cleanliness. The lobby has a nice sitting area in which to read or adjacent bar area in which to have a drink. I had breakfast in the dining area the next morning which was delicious. The only thing I didn't care for was the heating in my room. The heating/air conditioning in my room was not controlled by a wall mounted thermostat. Instead the room had a window mounted (lower) type of unit. It was too warm with the unit on despite my trying to turn down the temperature via a digital push button on the unit. As a result, I just turned it off for the night & made sure the covers were pulled up. Then I turned it back on in the morning to take the slight chill out of the air. This worked out fine for me and would not stop me from staying there again. Overall, I give the Indigo two thumbs up and look forward to staying there again . October 30, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, rooms quirky, walls thin with sounds carrying Service was good. Rooms were small and the walls were very thin. Design was unique, quirky. October 28, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice looking hotel, service issues The hotel itself is very nice to look at, located on a small street surrounded mainly by residential buildings. The location is near the subway, which makes traveling around Chicago as easy as it can be. Two things that I did not care for during my visit. The first is that there is only one ice machine, located on the 2nd floor (if I remember correctly; if not, it was the 3rd floor). If you are on one of the higher floors, it can be inconvenient to have to travel down there to fill up your ice bucket, especially since the elevators are not the fastest things in the world. Second issue I had was the elevators themselves. During my two-day visit, the two public elevators went out of service due to mechanical issues twice. While at first it was just inconvenient and we adjusted, by the end of our evening coming back to the hotel around midnight and to be told that we had to walk up to our floor (the 11th or 12th floor) was a bit annoying. One of the guests in my room is over 400 pounds and flatly telling them to just walk up the stairs is a bit rude and not understanding. I am sure there was a service elevator they could have offered my friend instead of making him climb those steps, having to stop multiple times. That experience with the evening crew cancelled out the pleasant experience we had with the morning crew that offered us an early check-in. October 25, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service, wonderful view Very respectful staff, refreshing decor in a historic building. .. nice combination. We were on 14th floor with a view of Lake Michigan. (Hint. .1402 or 1403). I recommend you pay the extra $15 for breakfast. It is a full breakfast at their quiet little bistro, not a "continental" breakfast. Just a (less than) $10 cab ride from several up scale restaurants. I could have spent several nights exploring. I'm not used to these prices but compared to the competition, the value was there. Only minor gripes that aren't worth typing. When I go to downtown Chicago, I will book here without looking elsewhere. October 24, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed I have to say we have stayed there several times and have loved it, however, we were a bit disappointed this time. We were there visiting our daughter, in and out of our room through the day. The room smelled very musty, and wasn't the cleanest. It wasn't until we arrived back to our room late at night that we noticed the sheets were not fresh and crisp....seemed as though they had not been changed. We slept on top of the sheets. Having our room right across from the elevator was very noisy. I am not a complainer, however, your asking and I am giving you the truth about our experience. It's a great place, I hate to see it slacking. Do know if we will be back. Too many other choices. October 24, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location, but service could be better I enjoyed stay in the hotel, but two things that stood out were a little disturbing. 1) The cool design of the room was spoiled by the usage - the fact that the room has been used for years was palpable. 2) The service was questionable: When I checked in, a reception lady was checking other guests and she asked them three times whether they are sure they want a bill on a different card - the receptionist did not know how to change billing cards and she was trying to convince the guests to keep the bill on the original card. We also were somewhat upset when the receptionist was trying to make sure that we return the umbrella we borrowed from the hotel - the implication that we may not return it was both upsetting and insulting. October 24, 2013
    <<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>