Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Chicago Magnificent Mile

WELCOME TO

Chicago

Concierge Photo
Kathy McClanathan
Chef Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or, USA

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

CHICAGO DINING

Because Chicago is still growing and earning its reputation as a vibrant city there has been a tremendous influx of restaurant openings. Many great Chef's have been lured by the possibilities of our city.
THE JEWEL OF CHICAGO’S MAGNIFICENT MILE
Experience modern comfort with a touch of 1920’s splendour. This lovingly restored Chicago luxury hotel was once the 1929 Medinah Athletics Club. Part of Michigan Avenue’s architectural elite, luxury details include ENO for wine tasting, recreated gold leaf murals and an ornate pool once used by Tarzan actor Johnny Weissmuller. Discover the best of Chicago within walking distance of museums, upscale shopping and theatres. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away.

Guest Reviews

Hotel Specific Offers
Terms & Conditions
Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Befitting its exclusive North Michigan Avenue address, the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile offers some of the best downtown Chicago resta...
  • Amenities & Services

    One of Chicago’s largest hotel fitness centres energises you with a state-of-the-art cardio room, a strength circuit, free weights, personal traine...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • 505 North Michigan Ave
  • Chicago , IL , 60611
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-312-9444100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Polish, Slovene, Serbian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guests with pets must reserve the Historic Tower. There is a 100USD fee, 50USD which is refundable. Dogs and cats without size restriction. Pets must be kenneled when guests are out of the room. Please contact hotel in advance to rent a kennel, if needed.
Pet Deposit $100.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    6:36 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 34 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 685 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great customer service My daughter and I were very impressed with the high level of customer service that was provided by every employee we came in contact with during our stay. Everyone seemed to possess a "can do" attitude which made for an exceptional stay. Clearly, the employees are happy where they work so kudos to the management! We would like to extend a very special thank you to Russell at the concierge desk. He did an exceptional job connecting with us, and helping us choose activities that were "right" for us. May 29, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love Staying Here I have been to Chicago 3 times for business in the last year and I have stayed here every time. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is always friendly and the food in the restaurant is delicious. Only thing I could complain about is the speed of the free wifi, but then again its free. May 27, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and contemporary decor Great location, indoors walk to Merchandise Mart which has just about everything you would need from smoothies to haircuts. Lots of excellent restaurants within walking distance. May 26, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff should make or break the experience Still cannot believe the check-in experience I had and for my embarrassment and difficulties, was offered an ice pack?? Not even an offer to buy my dinner in addition to the manager ringing my phone into the evening to do the perfunctory apology... The dirty glasses outside of my room greeting me at check-in was unpleasant as well. Room service staff was excellent; perhaps their attention to my comfort should be shared with the front desk and management staff. Meeting room was freezing most of the day and beverage/refreshments during breaks of poor quality and limited. The staff on duty was very rigid and alienated several colleagues by not offering to find solutions beyond "what was ordered". The room accomodations were comfortable and clean. May 25, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Lots of good, but two major "bads" Room and view were incredible (see photo). Staff was nice. Room service was great. Downtown location unbelievable. The two "Bads": Bad #1) Wireless Internet in our room (2315) was sporadic. Kept going out. I lost partially finished documents and had to start over, and lost hours of productivity because of it. Went to the desk and they said they couldn't do anything about it, and gave me a business card of the people that handle their internet. As I was on a business trip, it was a major problem for me. I ended up having to sit in the lobby when I went online. Bad #2) "On-site" parking was really two blocks away from the hotel entrance. How it can say "on-site" on the website is a complete mystery. Had to deal with rain (twice), hail (once), and wind (regularly) on my trek back and forth to the public parking garage down the street. It could have been a fabulous experience, except for these two issues. I cannot recommend the hotel. May 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top of Chicago Location....location. This Holiday Inn has a floor #15 lobby, with rooms above the Chicago Street noise. We had an east side room, which also had no train noise. This was our fifth stay--it feels like home. The hotel has a street bridge into the Merchandise Mart with a large food court--including Garrett's popcorn. The elevated train is right there--on our visit, giving shelter from the rain. Chicago weather during our visit was cold and rainy--they'd had two weeks of rain. On our first morning, there was a rain leak above the heater. The staff moved quickly, very concerned to accommodate us. They moved us to a similar room, checked to see that all was well, and gave us extra points for the inconvenience. The front desk and concierge are friendly, welcoming, helpful. Rooms are recently updated, spotlessly clean, and the beds always comfortable. The beds had built in LED reading lights--a nice plus. May 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Practically perfect with amazing view I originally picked this place because of its proximity to downtown and the ease of access through the Merchandise Mart to one of the CTA stations. Ended up loving the room, which was a bit larger than I had expected for the price, and the views were phenomenal. Pretty sure that will hold true for all rooms as the hotel was located on the top half of the building. Pool was really nice as well. Only real downside was how the multipurpose building had a somewhat confusing series of elevators for getting around. I ended up having a chance meeting with a former college friend who informed me of a much easier way of getting from the hotel lobby down to the pedestrian bridge across to the Merchandise Mart, but until then it was a very circuitous walk up and down escalators and elevators. Although I suppose I could have asked someone with the hotel. And if a guest was using the main entrance to retrieve their car or hail a taxi, this wouldn't even be an issue. I was there with family and we had CTA passes so we walked back and forth to the nearest "L" station. May 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SERVICE I would like to thank the staffs for EVERYTHING. My stay at the hotel was just great. I actually had purchase the deal through Groupon and ended up getting an upgrade when the staffs heard that I was proposing to my now fiancée. I had a reservation for a double room skyline view and they provided us a king size room along with a plate of chocolate covered strawberries. They helped me out with my scavenger hunt which went really well despite the fact that we were cutting close to our time. I had a staff help me out by stalling my fiancée while a staff member who works with valet parking hide me until my fiancée was picked up in a carriage ride. Overall their participation and the comfort of our room was extremely amazing. The view was gorgeous! The only thing I would recommend is that you make sure there's a mini-fridge in the room. Also, when guests are ordering food late at night, you might want to request someone from the hotel to deliver or have the guest meet downstairs. For a minute, I was scared because you just never know if something can happen....you see it a lot in the movies!! Either way, I do look forward to staying again! Thanks for the rewards point too. I look forward to learning how to accumulate more points to enjoy some free stay. May 15, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FUN WEEKEND Great value for a hotel near Michigan Ave. We had great views of the city. Since 8 people had traveled together, we able to gather for conversation in the common area that overlooked the 15th floor lobby and restaurant. May 14, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice and clean room, great service Everything was great, except for the heating/cooling fan cycling rather loudly which woke us up a few times. May 14, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unexpected Gem I really did not expect a breathtaking view of the river and downtown, newly renovated rooms or an awesome bar and restaurant - but we got it. Concierge is super helpful. Hotel very nice and overall a great experience. Everything was clean and comfy. Wish the beds were as comfortable as Hamptons but they weren't bad. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Evening view from bar is incredible! May 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Always a perfect choice I am an Ambassador Gold with IHG and have stayed at plenty of hotels. I love this hotel because of its location and wonderful staff. From the views in the bar to the comfortable rooms, overall this property is a great choice. The subway is connected to the building as well as the Mart plaza. It is right on the river and walking distance to everything. The Art Institute of Chicago is located downstairs and offers a museum. The staff I'd very friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. I am a return guest each time I visit Chicago. The only disappointing feature is there is no gift shop in this hotel. I was looking to purchase some personal items and snacks and bill them to the room, but was informed that I couldn't since there was none and the nearest shops were in the Mart across the way. Small inconvenience, but not a deal breaker. May 13, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by River view with a cracked window One of the more affordable options close to the Loop and Magnificent Mile. We were on the 19th floor overlooking the bend in the river. This provided awesome nighttime city views. But the effect was marred by large cracks in the glass of one of the room's center windows. To get to the hotel, you must enter through a large but sparsely furnished lobby, and go to the back and around the corner to find the elevator to the 15th floor lobby. This is fine, but back by the elevator area there is not a single plant, any artwork or any furnishings at all. I suggest something be put in this very large, completely empty space. I guess because I am a Platinum Elite member, I was offered a choice of 500 points or a "goody bag." I chose the bag, which was a mistake. It contained only one small bottle of water and one small bag of trail mix. Service in the bar area was so-so, but the nice view compensated well. May 11, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to Stay! The hotel is centrally located and very easy to get around ---- walking distance to many resturants. The rooms were clean and the views were great! May 10, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mediocre - no surprises Room was moderately, but not very, clean. Air conditioner was disruptively loud and difficult to figure out how to turn it off. Room smelled a bit musty. Generally a mediocre experience - I would not return (was only there because of a conference taking place in the same facility). This is Holiday Inn, so no big surprises there. May 7, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Conference Discovery I stayed at the Holiday Inn Mart Plaza for a 3-day conference. The hotel was a pleasant surprise. It is hidden away on the too floors of a high rise near the Merchants Mart, but worth the effort to find it. The hotel reminded me of the better mid-range hotels in Europe. There are great views of Chicago and the river and it is within easy walking distance of restaurants and tourist sites. If you like interior design, the location is ideal. The hotel concierge is the best that I have ever encountered anywhere in the world, and I travel frequently. He knows the area well and his recommendations were spot on. The only complaints that I had were that the towels in the room had stains on them and the food offerings were unhealthy and unappealing. Keep in mind though, I ate with the conference, catered by the hotel, not in the hotel dining room. May 7, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and fabulous service We enjoyed our stay. Staff was very helpful. Room was clean spacious, and very comfortable bed. Quiet rooms and fast elevator to and from floors. We had a small problem with a clock which was replaced in five minutes by the staff. We will use Holiday Inn rooms in future travel plans. We enjoyed the food. May 5, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Merchandise Mart Must Excellent accommodations attached to the Merchandise Mart. View is great from the lounge. Restaurant was wonderful. I'll commend the management for whom they chose to hire - everyone was pleasant, knowledgeable, and helpful. We enjoyed our stay. May 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful location, atmosphere and staff My daughter had her wedding reception here and we had a lot of family staying in the hotel. Everyone, without exception, had a wonderful time. The catering staff under Barbara Martin were magnificent and all of our requests were satisfied. We couldn't have asked for a better location, atmosphere, service and our concierge Russell was so helpful in getting everyone around town and sightseeing etc. Would highly recommend this hotel for an event or just for an overnight stay! May 3, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by business trip made easy and comfy Loved the hotel service, location, staff and the feeling of being safe in a large city. Very good with information when I asked, helpful with my needs of storing luggage and Kyle was amazing getting my bag ready for the airport. Nice buffet breakfast and clean rooms. Convient to walk everywhere and the view was great. Thanks! May 2, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Easy access to training location ~ but paperwork processing is poor This is my second time at this hotel in a month. They could not get my company paperwork or process it so I had to pay out of pocket. I was luckier than some in the training as I was not double charged. Watch your statements! April 28, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room, decent price, good location, excellent staff Just stayed here one night, but found it to be a fairly traditional hotel room with nice amenities and nice views of the river and Chicago. Desk staff was friendly and efficient. Had the breakfast buffet and thought the staff was very good, the food good, but the price a little high (even for Chicago). My only recommendation is to replace the desk chairs in the rooms if they were all as old and non-functional as the one I had. The chair was non-ergonomic, very low to the ground, would only rise about 2 inches and made it difficult to work at the desk. While I appreciated all the outlets for my electronics, when I sat down my knees were above the seat of the chair and I felt like a small child trying to reach up to the table and I'm 6'4" tall. Maybe it was just the chair in that room (2561), but I doubt it. Otherwise, a nice stay. April 26, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by almost perfect?? As a business traveler, I am on the road a majority of the time. One of the things I missed at your hotel is one small item that would have made my stay just about perfect- the Fox News Channel. As a weary traveler these small comforts of "Home" can always make a person feel more relaxed and at ease when staying at a hotel. CNN, MSNBC or the BBC just don't cut it for me. I am a constant traveler, a road warrior by definition- I am a conservative- I vote- and I want my FNC! I also write reviews on the Hotels I stay at...just saying. ;-) April 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved it Loved it, had a relaxing time. Id recommend to anyone April 24, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, once you find it We stayed for three nights during a recent long weekend in the city. It was very difficult for us, as people unfamiliar with large inner-city driving, to find this hotel. It is signed poorly and the directions on the website were not that helpful. In the end, we basically found it by mistake, after nearly 30 minutes of wandering around downtown Chicago at rush hour. We did see some signage the next day, but it's low (on the outside of a concrete planter) and easily blocked when people are standing on the corner waiting to cross the street. What the website directions don't tell you is that this hotel basically sits on top of another building, so from the street level you think you've just pulled up to a school. Anyway, once we found the hotel things got much easier. We let the valets park the car and check-in was a breeze. We had booked a skyline view, so we were given a room on the top floor. The room was great. Housekeeping was a bit too excited to get into it each morning (2 of the 3 days we stayed the housekeeper knocked then walked in without waiting for a response) but we also failed to put out the Do Not Disturb sign. Note: If you want to sleep in, hang out the sign. The hotel is very conveniently located to a variety of public transportation options. We didn't use the in-and-out valet privileges; we just left the car parked and rode the CTA. It was incredibly easy to get to and from the hotel, particularly on the Brown line. Staff-wise, we very much appreciated Russell, the concierge. He always had a quick, thorough answer for our questions. He even recommended a superb Thai restaurant the night we just felt like getting delivery and taking it easy in our room. Overall the hotel is great. Our stay was very affordable and the inconveniences we experienced minor. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in downtown, especially as it is located centrally north-south to all the primary attractions. April 24, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay It has been my Quest to go to Chicago at least once in my life. Well my wife and I and very good friends of ours made it last weekend, and what else can I say but a awesome time and a awesome Hotel. This Hotel and Staff really knows how to take care of there guests. I would highly recommend this Hotel and plan on staying there in our next trip to Chicago. If I had to pick one downside and really it is not that bad, the bed could be a little more comfortable, but with so much to do in Chicago we did not sleep much anyways. I hope your stay is as enjoyable as our 's was. April 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Third Time at This Hotel For those who haven't stayed here the location atop another building is truly unique. The Hotel is close to downtown, has good access to bus routes, is a short walk or cab ride from Union Station and has easy access to the Food Court and Mass Transit Station within the adjacent Merchandise Mart. For visitors who enjoy walking then the Chicago River walking path lead to the Lake Michigan Shoreline and also provides convenient access to Michigan Drive (Golden Mile) en-route. Unless rooms were unavailable we wouldn't stay anywhere else. The in house restaurant is great for dinner and the bar (which we haven't used) provides nice city views. April 22, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Hotel, Terrible WiFi The hotel is fine, but the WiFi is absolutely awful. I was there for work and not having working WiFi made it rough. The staff seemed to think that the WiFi worked perfectly, but it was like using dial-up and I often couldn't even connect from the lobby or in my room. I tested the network speeds once when I could get on and it was literally slower than 3G (the service you get on your phone). The second time I asked about it at the front desk, the woman had a real attitude about it. April 20, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business trip I was here for business. I found the room to be large and comfortable. I was happy to have a view of the river. This location is perfect for business and I plan on returning soon. April 20, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable rooms! I will start off by saying that I have had and will continue to have weekly stays here for business travel. I've now stayed 3 weeks in a row. Location for me is key - I am working IN the Sun Times building, so I never even have to leave the property. Yes - there is construction of a new parking garage, and the noise level is fairly high. Yes, there is also construction being done across Orleans St, so be prepared to hear jackhammers if your room faces that direction. Note that its basically silence after the 'work day' and the construction guys go home. Remember that we are in Chicago, so you will hear some traffic and occasional ambulance/fire truck. Rooms have been clean - but one room I've been in (room 1712) had EXTREMELY low water pressure from the shower, and water would only come out of the main shower head - not the portable one no matter what I did. Other rooms seem to be good with water pressure - so I am not sure what the situation is with 1712. I'd recommend that if maids are coming in after stays - simply check the basics (water pressure included) and if the water pressure is low - just get Maintenance! You don't have to be a rocket scientist to notice low water pressure. The views are spectacular from the corner rooms. Pretty neat to be able to see the Sears Tower and the Hancock Building all from the same hotel room. Cityscape Bar is insanely priced for drinks. Beer that should cost $8-9 for a 6 pack, actually costs $8-9 PER BEER. I realize we are in downtown Chicago, but holy moly - thats crazy for a single beer. If you are a beer drinker - you are better off looking for local bars in the area - there are a few with good food as well. Food price is not outrageous - I dont mind paying $30 for a decent steak dinner, but the price of beer is nuts. Parking - its tough for me to choke down $45 a day for parking - valet or not. I know that is relatively good for downtown Chicago, but being an out-of-towner - it still seems high. Valet guys have all been VERY polite and attentive - no complaints there. Looking forward to being able to self park in the future though. Overall - remember that this is a Holiday Inn - not a $300-400/night boutique hotel. I've stayed at the boutique hotels and while nice - this Holiday Inn suits me just fine. Will likely choose this location when travelling for pleasure as well - the value is there for a location like Chicago. *** I am attaching a photo from my room I had most recently. April 18, 2014
    <<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 24 next>>