Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Chicago Magnificent Mile

WELCOME TO

Chicago

Concierge Photo
Kathy McClanathan
Chef Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or, USA

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

CHICAGO DINING

Because Chicago is still growing and earning its reputation as a vibrant city there has been a tremendous influx of restaurant openings. Many great Chef's have been lured by the possibilities of our city.
THE JEWEL OF CHICAGO’S MAGNIFICENT MILE
Experience modern comfort with a touch of 1920’s splendour. This lovingly restored Chicago luxury hotel was once the 1929 Medinah Athletics Club. Part of Michigan Avenue’s architectural elite, luxury details include ENO for wine tasting, recreated gold leaf murals and an ornate pool once used by Tarzan actor Johnny Weissmuller. Discover the best of Chicago within walking distance of museums, upscale shopping and theatres. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away.

Guest Reviews

Hotel Specific Offers
Terms & Conditions
Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Befitting its exclusive North Michigan Avenue address, the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile offers some of the best downtown Chicago resta...
  • Amenities & Services

    One of Chicago’s largest hotel fitness centres energises you with a state-of-the-art cardio room, a strength circuit, free weights, personal traine...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • 505 North Michigan Ave
  • Chicago , IL , 60611
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-312-9444100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Polish, Slovene, Serbian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guests with pets must reserve the Historic Tower. There is a 100USD fee, 50USD which is refundable. Dogs and cats without size restriction. Pets must be kenneled when guests are out of the room. Please contact hotel in advance to rent a kennel, if needed.
Pet Deposit $100.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    6:08 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 34 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 331 reviewers.
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Customer service and stuf Our room was left unclean the next day, and front desk gave us an attitude when we call to complain about it. She said it is was it is, that the was no one available to clean our room that time. She was not even apologetic about the all things. We even took done pictures to show the assistant manage the next day on our way out. Considering the online review and the price; we are very disappointed. October 22, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Manager Mike I pre-ordered room service for breakfast and placed the order with a young lady on Monday, Oct. 14th. Breakfast was to arrive between 7:15 and 7:30am. At 7:50, I called room service (after several calls when noone answered). There was no order for my room. They hurried up my order and delivered quickly. The young man who delivered it was apologetic and very kind. I called the front desk to register a complaint and Mike called me back. He was wonderful and took the charge off of my account. He also worked with me on a late checkout. VERY accomodating. The entire staff was kind, from the lovely girl at the front desk when I checked in, (also gave me a bandaid), the doormen...everyone was great!! I will definitely stay here again. October 21, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A comfortable stay This is an older hotel that looks to have been remodeled. The room was nice and comfortable with plenty room to move around and enough power outlets to charge all my devices. That is another point, the hotel had free WiFi and cable internet connection and stationary desktop computers with printers in the lobby. The negatives I noticed included a terrible TV connection, a grainy poor quality picture and limited TV choices. Also, location didn't have a pool or spa on-site. They would have given me a guest pass to a local gym, but I would much prefer to have these amenities in the facilities within walking distance from the room. Last few points, it is in a good location and within walking distance of major places downtown. Finally, I would stay there again if I went to Chicago and needed to stay downtown. October 18, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAY CLEAN, COMFORTABLE ROOM, FRIENDLY STAFF, GREAT LOCATION , A ROOM WITH A WONDERFUL VIEW OF THE CITY ALL ADD UP TO A GREAT CROWNE PLAZA STAY. October 11, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would Stay Again My friends and I were in town for a run of concerts and we stayed at the Crowne Plaza Metropolitan. The check-in staff was courteous and prompt, which was appreciated since it was 3 AM. The same is true for the people we dealt with when checking out. The rooms were comfortable and clean. I would stay here again if traveling to Chicago. October 9, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Sleepless night The front desk staff were very kind and probably the best memory of our stay. Parking is valet only since the lot is small and it is not uncommon to be double blocked in by other vehicles. The provided internet code was not valid. The worst part of our stay was the occupants of the room next door. We were awoken around mid-night by their noise and again from 4-6:30 AM to an argument between a female and several males in the room. My wife did call down to the desk and things did quiet down for about 30 minutes only to pick back up. Unfortunately, the interrupted sleep and awkward argument in the room next door are the lingering memory of our stay. October 6, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service! Our stay at the Crowne Plaza was perfect! The parking was great and everyone was very friendly! The rooms were very clean. The only issue was a slow drain in the shower the tub was full by the time my shower was done. I loved the location close to the train bus and Starbucks!! Thanks for the great stay! October 4, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by You can stay there...but not recommended But it's not worth it. Service was average, room very noisy due to the highway right next to property. No recognition for being an IHG member. Would not recommend this hotel and will not return October 4, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable bed and clean room. I was very pleased with all aspects of my room and of the Crowne Plaza in general. Usually I don't sleep well in "hotel beds" but this one was extremely comfortable. All of the staff were just great and very, very helpful. Had breakfast in the dining room and later had a drink and the service and staff were excellent. Would definitely stay again on a future trip. October 3, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location in the WEST Loop! Spent the weekend at the Crowne Plaza for a family wedding and could not have been happier with our experience! Loved the location and having great food right outside the front door. Could walk from the train and easy access to the highway. Rooms were spacious and clean. Would definitely make the Crowne our hotel choice in the future. October 3, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by wireless internet needs to be improved I regularly stay in this hotel. The staff is always excellent and attentive. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The only problem is the wi-fi or wireless internet access. Granted the price is great for the quality but the wireless is weak and often not usable. The first time I thought this was a bad day, but it has repeatedly occurred. In essence, the connection is weak and then ends abruptly only to restart again. I hope this problem gets fixed soon. October 1, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Meh I liked the property overall but the room I had was supposedly non-smoking and it reeked of smoke and it worsened my asthma quite a bit. I changed rooms and that didn't help either. The whole floor was smoky. Not a fan of non smoking rooms that are clearly converted from former smoking rooms and we're just supposed to deal with it. September 25, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, not so good maintenance The hotel is easy to reach, has very helpful people (valet, front desk, house keeping) and is located in a very good region, close to a very good market and Greek restaurants. Good ambiance and general comfort. Unfortunately a clogged tub indicates that there is no audit at the room facilities, which is not expected in a hotel like that. The management is not doing their basic job. September 25, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, uncomfortable bed The service was spotless. Everyone I came in contact with was very friendly and helpful. My main issue was the bed--the blanket was rather heavy and so overall not very comfortable to sleep under. It was too cold just to sleep under the sheet. September 24, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room floor/ outside lobby We stay at your hotel to be close to family. room, which was fine, was assigned to us in the total mix of a wedding party, again not the issue, but as a senior citizen the parties from room to room and down the hall was to say the least very loud all night long, since it was our last night we just stay the course and put up with it. Just can not believe we were placed in and around this private party. I was very surprised to see so many cigarette butts, plus empty bottles and coffee cups, and expelled chewing gum that we both stepped in all around the front entrance, it was not very clean looking. September 21, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Room Was Fine but Restaurant Service was Poor On a recent weekend end stay I was very disappointed with the restaurant service (or should I say no service). The hostess greeted us promptly and seated us at a table but no on came to take our order. After waiting a long time, I finally got up and walked over to a waiter with my coffee cup and asked him to please come to our table to take our breakfast order. After a while someone finally came took our order. The restaurant was not very busy and only about a 1/3 of the table were occupied. I had to hunt down the waiter a second time to get my coffee cup refilled. The hotel and room were fine but I would suggest avoiding the restaurant. September 17, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Reward Club Members Beware This hotel does not recognize reward club members. When I checked in, I asked about benefits the hotel offers to gold reward members. I was told that this hotel has nothing and does nothing for reward club members. The cleanliness of the room was questionable. The location of the hotel is very pedestrian friendly. The Mariano's grocery store next to the property has great to-go food, i woudl suggest checking it out. Walgreen's is right across the street. Greektown offers many dining options and Jaks Tap is a nice neighborhood tavern a few blocks away. The Park for a Penny package is a good deal as parking is $39 per night. My recommendation of the property is based solely on the location. September 14, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight in Chicago at Crowne Plaza Everything was great with the exception of a couple missing necessities. There were no blow dryers, irons, or coffee makers in the rooms. We expected that there would be coffee service in the lobby since none in the room, but NO! We were traveling on the train so the location was great, the staff was friendly and helpful, property was immaculate and stylishly furnished. The beds were fabulously comfortable as well. But, please, give some attention to the missing necessities. September 14, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room amenities I had a room that didn't have a working hair dryer and the sink leaked. I called Sat am - "be right up" - no one came. When I mentioned it at check-out, my bill was adjusted (though she initially added to the bill instead of crediting the bill). When I returned home, I looked at the bill, called and a further adjustment was made. I was there for a wedding and I didn't take the time to pursue the problems at the time Fri night, I borrowed a hair dryer and put the waste basket under the sink to catch the drips. September 11, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown excursion Great pillows (much better than found in other hotels), nice room amenities and great bed for ending a busy day of walking and visiting the sights. September 10, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor service I was not satisfied. The reasons are as below. 1. There was no hot water kettle in the room. Each time I had to go down to the restaurant get a cup of hot water 2. The free WIFI was non-existent in the room. Even after logging a complaint, there was nothing done about it. (I was staying in room 1225) 3. I called for a Shaving Razor set, that was never received. September 6, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by weekend trip Let me start by saying the hotel location and appearance were excellent. The room was great and being a platinum member there were no upgrades, but the comp. breakfast was a good treat. I stay in hotels about 280 days a year and would recommend this hotel. My only problem is there was something going on in town and there were a bunch of younger adults there that like to indulge in smoking pot. Which I have no problem with as long as they keep it to themselves. But that was not the case ... my room and bathroom reeked of the smell... Sunday when leaving the elevator also stunk .... other than that it is a great hotel and I am sure this was an isolated incident... I would recommend that you stay there as I will in the future... September 5, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best overall value, would recommend. Great job! This was our second weekend Chicago play & stay at the Metro. Easy 6 block walk from Union Station (arrived by train.) Slightly off the beaten path, which gave us a good view of the city around us. Balcony! Relatively easy access to cta transit with a little walking. Cta passes available next door (Walgreens or Dominicks grocery) Located on the bus line, or about 5 blocks from nearest el station. (We had better luck with the el and busses within the loop. Seems like we were always just missing bus #8...) Staff accommodated our requests and were helpful. Thanks! Good food / good drinks at Dine. Maybe not as fancy as some of the newer luxury hotels, but no matter if you're just looking for a downtown "home base." Overall it's a good value in comparison. September 4, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location Easy access to the interstate. Near Greek Town & Mariano's Grocery store. Great night sleep! September 3, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Service needs a lot of work and the property is old Overall, in my 40 day stay there my biggest gripe was with the services. Maid service was spotty - I often did not get new coffee, I would hang up a towel for re-use but find it had still been replaced. I had multiple packages arrive for me addressed to my room, no notification from the front desk. I asked for laundry to be picked up one day, waited 4 hours and had to take it down myself. Also, typically laundry would have been delivered to the room when done or at least a message left. Again, I had to go inquire about it myself. The one time I ate at the restaurant (weekend breakfast) the service was abysmal - no one pointed out anything about the buffet or other offerings and it took forever to get served. . Finally, the water pressure overall was horrible. There was a complete water outage one day and the next day there was no hot water. September 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! I had reward points that I redeemed for a weekend stay. This place was excellent-people were all very friendly and helpful. Room was nicely decorated and comfortable. Check-in was speedy and staff answered questions and offered suggestions for travel. Kudos to housekeeping staff who called maintenance about bulb burned out. They replaced it within 15 minutes. I would definately stay here again on next trip! August 28, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Paper thin walls This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel because it is in a prime location for when the "Taste of Greece" is on in Greektown. We didn't notice too much disturbance last year but this year we were unfortunate enough to be right next to a roomful of girls that were celebrating a bachelorette weekend. The vent in the bathrooms must be connected because it was like we were in the same room. I could even hear someone next door opening the celophane soap wrapper! We heard every little thing going on next door and it was very disturbing at 4am. I will not stay in this motel again. August 28, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for money and conveniently situated Thank you for making our stay at your hotel and good experience. We look forward to the next visit if the opportunity to visit Chicago comes up again. regards August 26, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay Convenient location and great staff made the stay enjoyable. August 26, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice! Although no pool, this was an excellent choice for our family and a great value. We travel a lot and I can tell you their level of cleanliness exceeds expectations. I've stayed in 5 star hotels that weren't as clean. The bathrooms leave a lot to be desired in design, but ill take this level of clean instead any day! Service in the Dine less friendly then front desk staff. Could use some work there. Also could change the breakfast up a little. We stayed four days and it was the same every day, by the 3rd and 4th morning it got old. But...it's better then standard and had vouchers so can't complain. Overall great choice!!!! August 21, 2013
    <<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 12 next>>