Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Chicago Magnificent Mile

WELCOME TO

Chicago

Concierge Photo
Sylvia Rollins
Assistant Chef Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or, USA

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

CHICAGO DINING

Because Chicago is still growing and earning its reputation as a vibrant city there has been a tremendous influx of restaurant openings. Many great Chef's have been lured by the possibilities of our city.
THE JEWEL OF CHICAGO’S MAGNIFICENT MILE
Experience modern comfort with a touch of 1920’s splendour. This lovingly restored Chicago luxury hotel was once the 1929 Medinah Athletics Club. Part of Michigan Avenue’s architectural elite, luxury details include ENO for wine tasting, recreated gold leaf murals and an ornate pool once used by Tarzan actor Johnny Weissmuller. Discover the best of Chicago within walking distance of museums, upscale shopping and theatres. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away.

Guest Reviews

default

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Befitting its exclusive North Michigan Avenue address, the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile offers some of the best downtown Chicago resta...
  • Amenities & Services

    One of Chicago’s largest hotel fitness centres energises you with a state-of-the-art cardio room, a strength circuit, free weights, personal traine...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • 505 North Michigan Ave
  • Chicago , IL , 60611
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-312-9444100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Polish, Slovene, Serbian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Contact hotel for details
Pet Deposit $100.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    4:22 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service Animals Allowed
    • 34 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 247 reviewers.
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hot Corner and Cold Days Checked in during a rare Chicago snowstorm. It as chaos everywhere and between the weather and the hotel's location, right off the expressway, it seemed like the valet team were challenged. After dropping my bags I had to rush to an appt, finding the valet team unresponsive and the wait for my car nearing eternity. A gentleman at the Concierge kiosk named Aspin stepped in and lent some support and direction, resolving the situation before I missed my appt. Surely the weather had something to do with my wait, but overcoming challenges is part of what you pay so dearly for Valet Parking at Downtown CP. Thanks to Aspin's vigilance and willingness to jump in and help a customer, I got my work accomplished! March 13, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, price, staff and location! Booked this room online, called and received an upgrade for a better price. Arrived and was impressed right away with the lobby and staff behind the desk. They were busy with many functions going on, but never flustered and took time with each and everyone checking in. Got to room, and really fell in love!! Have traveled around the world and just had a very bad experience with a hotel. This room was beautiful and nice to stay in. Located within walking distance to the United Center, where we had tickets for a concert, and other great businesses along the way. We stopped at a few drinking establishments on the way back and they were great. Will recommend this hotel and use again!! Thanks!! March 12, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable. Excellent service - above and beyond!! Stayed here for a family wedding/reception trip. The staff was AMAZING!! They went above and beyond their call of duty to ensure the best stay ever. Beds were extremely comfortable, rooms were very clean, the view from the balcony was outstanding. I highly recommend this hotel and if I ever come back to Chicago, this is where we will stay for sure!! March 12, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Choice for Greek Towne visit My room at the Crowne Plaza was clean, neat, and well decorated. The facilities in general were also well maintained. I was not able to take advantage of the Dine restaurant and bar, although I appreciated it being there. For a short visit I highly recommend the Crown Plaza. I was most impressed by the front desk staff who helped me retrieve a laptop computer that I had left behind. I contacted them at about 5:30 pm. I worked with the front desk to ship it to me overnight. This was a huge concern for me and the front desk staff put my mind and ease by handling things very professionally. I received the laptop within two days. I wanted to thank the staff that was on call that afternoon for a job well done. March 11, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just what I was looking for We were in town for a Blackhawks game and needed a place to stay the night close to the United Center, had a bar and was with in walking distance to some restaurants (I am not a fan of eating at hotel restaurants). The Crown Plaza fit the bill--and my wallet. Compared to room rates in the heart of the city, this was reasonable. The hotel was very clean and served its purpose for us well. There are no frills, the bar closes at midnight and it isn't any kind of "club scene", just a bar fine for a nightcap. Right down Halstead there are several excellent Greek restaurants and you are a short drive to the United Center. In decent weather you could walk to the theatre district, train, and shopping. In the winter, I would cab it. March 9, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location good rooms and good staff The room was well kept. The staff was courteous. Parking was easy and valet only. The parking garage next door is for the grocery store customers only. Good Lounge and food. It’s located close to downtown. Try to get a room on the opposite side of the Dan Ryan Expressway, yet the rooms on the expressway side are pretty quiet anyway. I will stay there again. Enjoy March 9, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value I travel extensively. For a convenient downtown hotel, this is a great choice. I have stayed here many, many times and have never been disappointed. I have even organized several events at the Crowne Metro. The staff is friendly and responsive. The rooms and general areas are incredibly clean. I like to say a special thank you to all the hard working house keepers who really make an effort to meet all of my needs and requests. March 9, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness Initial check of room everything was good, however, when getting ready to get into bed discovered the sheets were dirty and stained. Hotel staff did come and confirm and another room was provided. March 6, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Next time I am in Chicago I plan to stay here again. The staff were efficient and friendly, the room as perfect - great size, bathroom, and amenities. Although it is not right in the center of downtown, it is a 10 minute walk to the metro ($2.25 to the airport). March 6, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had our wedding ceremony and reception at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro Wonderful location and venue. Reasonably priced, great attention to detail. They took fantastic care of us and our wedding reception. They did nice things like kept my flowers in the cooler for us over night, collected the arrangements that we were keeping and many other very thoughtful details. I was a bit let down by the meal. I don't feel like it was quite the quality of a meal that we had at our tasting. But everyone said they thought the meal was great even the best friends said yes when we double asked them the day after. And that's what really counts! Our upgraded room was wonderful and clean. Nice bed and bedding. Champagne and sparking cider in the room set out to perfection when we got to our room. The event manager even took my gum from me when I went into the ceremony, she was all around wonderful, responsive and knowledgeable. The catering manager was communicative and top notch. We had a vegetable and cheese tray during cocktails and they were fabulous. The location is great, close to the vibe of the city but not in the mix. Half a block from the expressway it was convenient for out of town and suburban guests. We were "very" pleased wit our wedding ceremony and reception. "Thank you Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro for a wonderful event." March 4, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by bad place to stay if you are taking the IL Bar. This hotel was recommended by the IL bar since it was close to the exam location. This hotel did not have enough refrigerator/microwaves for guests. I have food allergies so I brought food from home. I wanted to heat it up. I was precluded from heating my food in the employees lounge or the kitchen area because of health regulations. I was told to go across the street to some diner to heat my food. I was very upset as a waited a good 30 minutes before I found out that I could not heat my food up in the hotel, so much for hospitality. It was cold Chicago day, so ended up eating my food cold. Another patron was stressed out because she did not get the refrigerator she had requested. March 4, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Smiling employees would of been nice I entered the hotel tired but smiling.. The desk people did not look like they were very happy.. They barely look at me when they were checking me in. I could not get them to listen or smile at all. The bellhop man (Aspen) was very helpful. I had great room service and the food was just fine.. The steak I ordered was a little chewy.but I still ate it. My room was clean and pretty, but my remote was working right and I expected better towels..They were rouugh. When I went to eat breakfast the hostess completely ignored me.I walked around wondering where I should sit and.she told me to seat myself.. When men showed up she was happy to seat them..Service was slow, but when I got my waiter he was friendly.. Im sorry to complain. Oh vyes I did have a priority club card and they never asked.. I dont know if I will go back.. March 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service We stayed just one night at the hotel. We were able to check in early and found our room clean and inviting. The beds were very comfortable and we had a nice view of the city. Staff was great especially the young man who brought our bags to our room. I only wished I had gotten his name. Always had a smile and a hello whenever we passed him. Front desk personnel was just as friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay again! Thank you so much for the hospitality. March 1, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! Hotel location is perfect. Close to GreekTown and United Center for a Hawks game. February 28, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and great location The staff and amenities are outstanding at this hotel. The location in Greektown is excellent. I really enjoyed my stay. February 28, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Air freshener does not equal cleaning First the good news: the rooms were very quiet, the beds were comfortable, and the desk staff were courteous and helpful. Now the bad news: (1) The room I was given had obviously been smoked in. While that is primarily the fault of the inconsiderate person who smoked in a nonsmoking room, it is the responsibility of the hotel to return the room to a thoroughly clean and non-smelly state before re-renting the room. When I first checked in I noticed a mild tobacco-ish smell mixed with another, less unpleasant, smell. However, once the air freshener had worn off, the tobacco smell was quite overpowering. The curtains, and especially the headboard, carried the odor. Unfortunately, when I complained, the hotel was full and I could not get a new room until the following day. When I went to the lobby in the morning, I saw an employee walking around spraying air freshener and immediately recognized the smell - it had been masking the tobacco smell when I first checked in. I did get a new room, which did not smell of tobacco, the following day. However, it is clear that the hotel was substituting air freshener for a proper cleaning. (2) Two of the four mornings I stayed at this hotel, I could not get a hot shower. The best I could get was cool to tepid water in the shower. I was told they were "working on it" so I don't know how common this experience is. February 25, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful experience This was for the price a wonderful hotel, the staff was prompt courteous and professional. I had a wonderful stay and I would stay again for sure. February 8, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service as usual Thanks to your excellent staff for providing a feeling of welcome and a desire to be of service. January 31, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great wine and cheese Have stayed at this property many times since 2005. Have never had a problem. Suites are very nice, quiet hotel and great security as you need your plastic room key to access your floor via elevator. Bar is great and food also. Try and plan your stay over a wednesday as the lobby has a manager special, at around 530pm, with complimentary wine, beer and cheese/crackers/fruit. Recommend Greek Island restaurant a 2 block walk away on nicely lit street. several restaruants close by January 30, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and friendly staff Room was very comfortable and quiet. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Hotel easy to get in and out of and lots of great places nearby. January 26, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, renovated rooms I have stayed here twice and will return. Rooms are updated and linens are comfortable. Everything is clean. Valet attendants are friendly and accomodating. Good location right off of I-94 and close to Wicker Park. Great value too. January 25, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and atmosphere We had a wonderful stay over a weekend and had exceptional service. Our bellhop got us a room upgrade to a corner suite which had a good view and was a very nice room. It was fairly close to everything and we also enjoyed hanging out in the bar. We would definitely come back to this hotel. January 21, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service We stay at this location all the time for vacation and business! Love it here! Rooms are always clean staff is always helpful . We usually eat breakfast at Dine ..good food and the wait staff is always nice..Keep up the good work! January 19, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was incredibly rude and pushy The bellhops were very pushy there. Front desk was ok, but not the sunniest people out. I just came on a road trip and had been shuttling my bags to my room and back by myself, without an issue. From the time my car drove in there, the bellhop pressured me into carrying my bags. I said multiple times that I didn't need his help. He was practically begging me, and it was pathetic. This was Friday evening, December 28. I swear that he came up to me at least 5-7 times. I felt so sorry for him that my brother and I gave him $5 after we parked our car. We decided to just get bellhops to carry our bags down the next morning, to avoid any drama. All was going well until we got out to the car to pack our bags. Another gentleman comes out to help pack the bags, and I presume to either muscle in on the bellhop's tip or get another few bucks from me. My suspicions were confirmed when I checked out, walked past him by the door and he didn't even acknowledge me or open the door. He didn't look happy with me. I presume that this is the attitude in the city of Chicago at most hotels? I don't know, if I had to do it again, I'd just stay in Skokie, like I always do, or stay at another hotel. Maybe it was just the Holiday Inn brand, because throughout my road trip, I never had a problem at any of the brands that I stayed at, until I stayed at the Staybridge in Columbia, Missouri, and then the Crowne Plaza afterwards. Two bad nights in a row! At Holiday Inn hotels! I don't get it. January 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Short but Comfortable Stay Excellent staff, great location, comfortable bed. Restaurant (Dine) is nice. January 2, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk staff very professional We had a very pleasant stay at the Crowne Plaza Metro in December. I took my daughter to Chicago for a concert. On check-in, the front desk staff helped us with directions to the venue and set us up with dinner reservations. I did not have to ask for this service, they offered. Very nice. The hotel has valet parking. We were in and out several time that night. The valets were very courteous and friendly. The room was clean and quite comfortable. Overall very good. January 2, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always treated me well. I have literally lived in this facility for almost 2 years in 2007 and 2008. When I do make occasional trips these days to Chicago, I prefer to stay at this location as it is conveniently located for my work and for its great service. The service is almost always great and the staff are friendly. January 2, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room needed real work Heat didn't work. I had to keep sweater on. Closed bathroom door, and then couldn't open it because it was off the rail. Had to shake it, and then got it open. Didn't close it the rest of the time. Bathroom sink was clogged and wouldn't drain. December 19, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Crown Plaza Excellent staff! Very helpful with directions, ideas, transporation and room. Room was very clean and nice. Loved the bed! Only complaint we had was that there was not a coffee maker in the room. Charged $3 for a cup of coffee that was yucky! Great market across the street and enjoyed the area. December 14, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Property Great location for the United Center events and FREE PARKING Option was excellent! Staff was very friendly! December 11, 2012
    <<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>