Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Muscat

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 136 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and larg place I think the price is o.k for the rooms. Also, the hotel has many facilities. The breakfast is excellent. Most of the staff are kind and pleasant. Also, the manager is a very nice guy. I have to add the variety of choices for pillows, the nice swim pool, the large green era. But what I think needs more attention: 1- welcoming the guest needs more enhancement. 2-some of the staff do not have sufficient info. 3- the hotel rooms need more technology like a key for the lights control the whole room, more TV channels, a dvd, an electric sign for ( clean my room, do not disturb). 4- extending the hotel era to reach the sea. 16 July 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Intercontinental experience so far! A very disappointing experience from the very beginning. At check in, the check in process took about 15 minutes. I requested a smoking room (which I was told was captured in the system as a personal preference) but I got a non-smoking room. When I picked up the phone to re-request the smoking room, the phone handset came off in my hand!!! 20 minutes later, I got the requested room. The quality of the room was rather surprising. The water sink and the bath tub were clogged with huge old balls of hair. Water in the sink and tub would rise to about 5 CM in less than 10 seconds!! Not just that, the design of the bed was very uncomfortable as you couldn’t set on the bed resting your back against the wall as there’s a decorative wooden panel with an edge at the head level that prevents you from setting comfortable with a straight neck! Definitely my worst Intercontinental experience so far! 09 July 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Internet Inoperable During my entire stay, the hotel Internet was inoperable. I travel only for business, and my entire stay was horrible as I could not communicate with my staff all over the world. I will not stay at this hotel next time simply due to the poor and inoperable Internet. Horrible responsiveness from the hotel staff on resolving the problem as well. This was completely unacceptable. Thank you. Dr. Sowell 07 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, nice staff, an enjoyable stay We use the intercontinental on a regular basis, always treated in a excellent manner, staff are friendly and cater for all our needs. The hotel is central in Muscat and everything required can be reached. Recommened. 03 July 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overrated This hotel is considered as one of the best in Muscat. Well, it used to be. Being a Platinum member, I usually get way better recognition. All I got is a "House Wine" glass in one of the restaurants and that's it. The pool closed at 9:00 PM and I was practically kicked out... The shower in the room barely worked and was really cumbersome. Towels smelled bad. In any other hotel, I get room upgrades, free breakfast, 2 Bar drinks etc... The room which I was put in is not even in the Club members floor. For this amount of money, you'd expect a better overall experience. Next time, I would prefer another IHG hotel in the area which offer way better personalized service. 01 July 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 2nd stay I only stay in the hotel because of the ambassador and the possibility that things will be better and different from the last stay...now if i book there i book because they have trader vic's restaurent and that's it....no other reason worth it. This hotel provides the least attention or service to ambassdaro's across the region ...service well below standard...upgrade is silly if compared to other hotels. I was wokern up twice durng my stay for staff knowckign my room by mistake. ornage juice left at my room as a welcome drink was left there for the four days i stayed...they didn;t even remove it..am not sure who usually drinks orange juice left 4 days ina livign room. lundry not collected and when collected not returned on tiem promissed... for a family mayeb they will have fun to stay there...definietly below expectations for business travelers and gold ambassadors. though crown plaza is older in muscat but i think am goonna go back to it...you feel wlecomed. 24 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and smelly room I liked my stay in the hotel but three things which I didn't like: 1- We requested to clean the room but nobody did it. 2- The room had bad smell and I guess it was from the carpet. 3- There is no qibla sign for praying. 14 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommended We stayed for two nights with our kids. Its a very nice hotel and its location is probably the best in all of the hotels. Just next to the hotel, the street is full of Cafe's and Restaurants and it becomes a very happening place at night. Even if you are not in a mood of driving anywhere, you can just walk down to the street which is ending on the beach. On the negative side, the hotel does not have a private beach. You can access the beach directly from backside of hotel but thats public area. Overall i would highly recommend this hotel if beach is not the only reason for your trave to Muscat. 14 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Reasonable experience Very well intentioned team of people. However, there are key elements to guest experience - being an Intercontinental property - that will need more attention. 06 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Hotel lobby was amazing Room was good, comfortable bed, the bathroom was dated, not 5 star quality, but clean. Breakfast was amazing, catered for all tastes. Would stay again, hopefully they will renovate the bathroom. 02 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel !!! I planned a few days in Muscat at the end of April and despite a few negative reviews that I had seen on the IHG site, I decided to try out the InterContinental for 2 days prior to the trying out the Crowne Plaza for the following 2 days I was not disappointed and very glad that I had made this choice... The service of the staff was exemplary and their friendly & competent service went above and beyond almost any other IC that I have stayed at. As an RA member, you can assume that I have stayed at quite a few of them. Their Front Desk Manager, Peter W, earns a very well deserved mention in this review as his professionalism and hospitality made the stay one to remember for not only myself but also my entire team. The room was one of the best that I have had with excellent views across the well manicured gardens and out on to the Arabian Sea & Indian Ocean from both of the balconies. The minibars (two of them!) were well stocked and the complementary welcome package that awaited me in the room surpassed any other hotel that I have ever been to. The Club Level Lounge (on the same floor as my room) was very comfortable and provided me with an ideal place to discuss the events of the day whilst enjoying the wide ranging and complementary buffet. The buffet restaurant on the ground floor (I forget the name) prepared an excellent dinner spread for the night where we dinned in the hotel. Several other restaurants and coffee shops are outside the hotel and are in very easy walking distance of the main entrance. All in all, this stay has fully converted me to the InterContinental in Muscat and I look forward to further stays in the near future. Many thanks and well done to Peter and his team. 28 May 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Damaging of the Intercontinental Name Simply the worst stay, I killed a lizzard in the room, no one cared even to applogize, or to get the room cleaned properly. Dirty towels, dirty room, lousy service ... etc For a priority member, this is a joke, don't know who runs this facility, but this is not what I expected as a member, and by the way this is not my first stay but sure is the last. Ibrahim Marmoush +973 3406 7347 26 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Grat Ambience Stayed at the hotel for 1 night. It has a beautiful lobby and amazing view from the rooms. Would come back again. 14 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Club lounge I find that the 6-8 cocktai with drinks and food was really poor selection at the club lounge .The quality of the food was poor. You only had two staff on attendance whom seemed to be very busy even to attend to ones needs. Upon checking in the first room that was given was bad with dust and dampness smell. After making a bit of fuss , finally got a room after 4 hours of wait. 13 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Intercon Muscat I visit Muscat often for business. I stayed in various Hotels in the city, and my review is based on my experience with these various hotels vs Intercon. i will start with facilities and Restaurants in the Hotel. Intercontinental has one of the best facilities among other hotels in Muscat. The restaurants are decent in both the atmosphere and the quality of food. Tomato restaurant is one of my preferred restaurants in Muscat. also not to forget Trader Vic's with its amazing ambiance. The gym in Intercontinental is one of the best gyms in all the hotels. though the equipment are a bit old, yet it pretty much have everything. This is a proper gym compared to other gyms in other hotels which barely have enough space and machines to be even considered as a gym. The rooms are quite old, and are not as per the normal Intercon or other 5 star hotels standards. yet they are OK. But the most annoying thing in Intercon Muscat is Internet access. Wireless internet is literally useless inside the room. they have tried adding access points around the rooms, yet it is still useless. i had to stay next to the room door in order to catch the signal. Wired connection in the room is as painful as the wireless as it is super slow. this is a major disadvantage, especially if you are going for business where internet access is a must. as a priority club member, i would expect a bit of flexibility for late check out, yet i cant say that i have seen such flexibility that i experienced with other hotels in the same chain. I had to speak to the manager in charge for 15 mins in order to get him to agree for my late check out. Overall, this is a good hotel, probably one of the top 3 hotels in Muscat, especially when it comes to location and facilities. 08 April 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing experience and grossly overcharged breakfast Staff at reception gave us the wrong information on our reservation at check-in. The same night there was a garden party that prevented us from sleeping until 0130 hrs. At check-out next morning more confusion with respect to the quotation. Furniture is in need for replacement and the rooms are antique. Would I stay there again: NO 06 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An Enjoyable Experience Very enjoyable experience. Excellent and knowledgeable staff. Attention to detail was exceptional. Food and facilities were above expectations. We will return Thank you. P.S. Suggest a little more shade available on the grassed area please :) 02 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Always nice to stay here ! The check in went smoothly this time. I always like to spend time at the Intercon. The hairdresser is just the best in town. It is fantastic to walk out of the hotel towards the Crepe cafe or any other coffee shop. it is very central and lovely. 21 March 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Really Unacceptable for an Intercontinental Property I am a frequent traveler as well as a member of the priority club. I was looking forward to this trip in part because of the hotel. However, I was sorely disappointed. The hotel is really not up to the mark and far overdue for a renovation. But that's besides the point. I found that the room itself was not clean, I found hair in the shower, the sink wasn't cleaned out correctly and the bed also had hair in it. This happens however on occasion; I just wanted to bring it to your attention. I ordered dinner, the service was prompt and the person who took my order was kind enough to check with the chef to see if what i wanted was available. However, the menu i had in the room was apparently "too old sir'. The person who delivered the food didn't knock, but just walked in. Interesting level of service. Perhaps installing a doorbell, if I wasn't responding? Or calling the room? I really doubt I'm coming back to this property at least, if I have a choice. As for the food, I was again dissapointed. I placed an order for Osso Bucco, and the meat sauce was burnt. NOT charred, but burnt, I could taste over the veal the brown sauce was overdone. The pasta was NOT al dente, it was underdone. For breakfast, sushi was served which was quite unpalatable. The sausages were overdone. Coffee was good though! For the price, it simply made no sense. As a gold member of the priority club, I thought I would be provided with at least some recognition of my status, however I didn't see any being extended. 11 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I like this hotel where I use to stay for the last 25 years. Special appreciation for the best service I always received at "the Tomato" and the 4th floor Club lounge from very professional employees, I thank them for their kindness and smiles... 05 March 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No recognition I travel half the year with my work and tend to stay at the IHG group of hotels. The Intercontinental Muscat is the worst of them all when it comes to recognizing their loyal members. As a platinum Ambassador member, I should be receiving welcome juice and fruit in the room upon check in. Last month, the fruit juice had been placed in the room for many hours before my arrival thus the seperation of juice and fruit, mind you it looked awful. The fruit basket had a bunch of grapes that was picked on and half the grapes were missing. Last week, I didn't even get the juice and fruit basket, I guess they know me now and are punishing me. Anyway, I am convinced that customer service is something that is displayed from top management downwards and since the head of guest relations doesn't care the rest follow. The only exception is Alcia in the Club Lounge. 28 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Some good aspects some not I stayed for business for two nights in February. The service was inconsistent- my check in was fine and the fruit basket they brought upon arrival was a nice touch, fresh and good variety. I stayed in a sea view room on first level. During the day this was a lovely outlook and most pleasant but once the sun went down it was a distinct drawback. There was a bar/ entertaining area below my room that made sleeping after 9pm impossible. The chatter, yelling and shrieking of drinking guests was very irritating. I called the front desk to ask when it would be over and was told 2am??! I think they meant the nightclub, that's another story. Breakfast was unremarkable in the club lounge, room decor adequate but the bathrooms are looking very old and tired. A big plus was the gym- best I've experienced, great equipment, clean and lots of room. For serious fitness freaks, it's an excellent hotel gym. Towels were also a plus- big, fluffy and luxurious. Pillows also great, lots of different styles, very pleased. However, second night the nightclub started up around 9pm..the throbbing bass came right through my floor. It was terrible. Why on earth they have a nightclub situated under sleeping guests is beyond me! The bass could be heard throbbing throughout the hotel, it is just not appropriate in a 4 or 5 star hotel. After 3 hours of this, I asked to move rooms which was accommodated but the new room was obviously not used much and was stifilingly hot. Like 32 degrees. The air con was very feeble and I spent a sleepless night tossing and turning and vowing never to return. Disappointing stay and an expensive one for the experience I had. Some glimpses of good, but overall it's a stay to forget- quickly. 27 February 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by The rooms are so tired Even though a regular visitor to this hotel, and a priority club member, I was assigned an un-refurbished room on the 3rd floor on my recent stay. the whole room had the feeling of your ancient Aunt's hous that hasn't been redecorated for 20 years... not really acceptable at these prices. The staff, although well meaning, are just so lackadaisical and could really do with some serious training in customer interaction. 11 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Funny smell in the rooms Dear Intercontinental./ Peter I have heard from other guest, that there is a funny smell in the rooms, that also gives the clothes the same smell. I really did experiance that in my last visit 26-30 January. It is a mixture of moisture and mould. Your Hotell has allways been recomanded by our collegues in Oman, but after the last trip, we need to consider another hotel. The fact is that My suite and all other clothes had this smell even when I came home to Sweden. I now need to clean the suite, so I can use it without smell like mould. Since the hotell itself, is a very nice hotell, with the Pool etc, I would appreciate very much that you somhow take care of the smell and mould. Looking forward to hear from you 04 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 2nd visit This hotel and Muscat in particular has been my second European winter get away venue of choice. However, the noise on the lower floor above the pub remains a problem, don't ask for a room nearby otherwise you will be up all night. The disco or band noise kick in at around 7pm and can get louder as the night goes on. The pub is a great facility, however if the hotel insist on placing guest above it then they are going to keep collecting complaints as I did. I might consider another approach next time? 24 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel !! I've stayed at this hotel many times - the rooms are spacious and well-equipped. The staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is well-situated near a small shopping centre and the beach where there are lots of little snack bars where you can sit and watch the world go by. The hotel is within a short taxi ride to the beautiful new mosque, the opera house and Muttrah Souk. A great place to stay in Muscat. I can't wait to go back ! 17 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Location is great We chose the InterContinental Muscat for short Christmas break. Having stayed at the hotel before on business we reserved a Club room expecting an upgrade to a higher category room as I’m a Platinum Ambassador PriorityClub member. Unfortunately this didn’t happen. After a lengthy argument I paid for the upgrade to ensure a comfortable stay. Ambassador guests beware, this hotel does not interpret the rules in our favor. Plus points are definitely the location and the staff, friendly and helpful. The Christmas day brunch was also very good, excellent choice and well prepared. Minus points are the properties age, some musty smells and the price. This hotel is not up to the standard of others in the region and is way over-priced. 07 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 2nd Time Enjoyable holidays Very well equipped gym. Good pool for sport swimming, very friendly staff, huge and quite garden with comfortable deck chairs. Poolside restaurant tomato offers good food and drinks all day. Hotel good located at beautiful beach. Rooms and bath very well equipped and nicly decorated. Very comfortable bed. Only complaint - if you like sleeping with open window, depending on the hotelside your looking out, the AC and ventilation machines and/or street/car noise rather loud. Overall a hotel I would really recommend for some days relaxing vacation. 06 January 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Average stay in Muscat This property is outdated and needs a complete makeover. Specifically i would like to make the following points: * Recognition for RA status is very limited * Hotel is generally understaffed * Snacks and food in lounge and breakfast are below IC standard, the hotel allows hurds of tourists to have a look in the hotel including the lounge so you a couple of times in the evenings we felt like a tourist attraction * Rooms are outdated, turndown service is not there. Water and minibar were not refreshed. * A lot of noise from the fans outside even on high floor seaview rooms * The so-called beach access was a good selling point, however the beach is public and there are no facilities at all to go swimming there. * Pools are OK but nothing special * Relatively far from interesting sites in Muscat * Concierge service was the poorest I have ever experienced. All we got was a map of the city and absolutely no other tips on where to go or what to do. Appaling. 13 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by In good hands I have to hold presentations in this hotel every 3-5 months of the year and the knowledge knowing that Miss Githua the Banquet/sales Manager is in control is a relieve to be assured that all will go smoothly as planned. Her communication with staff creates a sense of ease and openness which is nice. A smile can make a whole difference to a persons experience, and a good team working well together is a winning team. 25 November 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Muscat
  • P.O. Box 398
  • Muscat , 114
  • Oman
  • Front Desk +968-24-680000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, French, Hindi, Italian, Dutch , Punjabi

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed.
  • Local Time

    8:29 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      2:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM

    Currency

    • Omani Rial ر.ع.‏ (OMR)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 2 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking