Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 
SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL RISING ABOVE THE HEART OF THE CITY
Stunning 32 storey views and modern elegance come together at this San Francisco luxury hotel overlooking the Bay Area. Impressive in every detail, Luce, our Michelin-rated restaurant serves New American Cuisine that’s a gastronomic delight. Floor-to-ceiling windows let light flood into luxury suites and 10 spa treatment rooms offer an urban retreat. The hotel is located in San Francisco’s downtown district, with the city’s finest museums and upscale shopping within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for arti...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre offers 2,200 sq ft of space equipped with free-weights, cardio and resistance equipment and an indoor lap pool (6a.m. - ...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...

InterContinental San Francisco

  • 888 Howard Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94103
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-6166500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Swahili, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable 50 dollar fee per night. Pets cannot be left unattended in guest room. Specific rooms only.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    10:55 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 16 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 471 reviewers.
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed in how different my stay was from last year! Last year I stayed in your hotel and it was wonderful - fabulous front desk service, big comfortable room, great cleaning of the room, ample towels and cups and glasses. This time: No one to help with luggage (we arrived at 8:45 PM). Tiny bathroom without exhaust fan - water dripped off the pictures after even a quick a shower Front desk clerk - I specifically asked for a quiet room, letting her know very quietly that my husband had passed away suddenly last year and that I was visiting my daughter who just finished her degree who was having a hard time with his passing - she gave us a room near the elevator - the yelling woke us up every day around 1:00 AM and early in the morning as well. Also - I called to ask if there was a place in the hotel where we might watch the fireworks - front desk clerk rudely responded that she had no other room to give me that would provide that view - I never asked for a room change! I was thinking the pool or some other area maybe. Housekeeping: the rug was not vacuumed most days, dirty glasses were left and not replaced. (one was chipped) When I called, they came right away to replace glasses and give towels but the room was not well cleaned most days. Full length mirror was never cleaned Bell hop did get me a nice taxi for my return to the airport My husband always took care of the travel arrangements - he would have asked for a room change but I didn't want to make a fuss. I should have because the service never improved. We have been club members for at least 20 years. Very disappointed. July 13, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Up and down service We had really great service the first day. However, the room service staff was very rude and the wait for service is at least 30 minutes to an hour. July 11, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Anthony and restaurant Anthony works at thefront desk and he was extremely helpful on mutiple occasions as far as quesions and correcting my room. The staff on the whole was always helpful with good ideas. The negative was that your main restaurant was closed on Saturday night for some reason so we had to eat at the bar. Food there was OK but the service was slow. Other tables near us complained about this more than I did. June 28, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room! We had a corner room on one of the upper floors and the view was nothing less than spectacular. The front desk reception person was a good salesman for the upgrades to the hotel. The room was all new and spiffy. The housekeeping was so helpful and accommodating in taking care of our room early in the day because of our schedule. The breakfast buffet was great and Rose, our waitress, is the best! On the minus side, the corner rooms all have adjoining rooms which always leads to noisy neighbors and particularly this one. You could even see the light under the door from the next room and hear almost everything in there. I think that since the carpet was replaced by tile, there is more space under the door. I will ask for a room with no adjoining rooms. Also, there is very little closet space (could be just the corner rooms) and also very little room to put your things. Overall it is a great place to stay!! June 27, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Choice - A bit farther out but easy access to everything We stayed at this location for two nights while traveling to San Francisco to run the full and half marathon. We arrived from SFO and transferred to the hotel via town car. When we arrived we were greeted by the bellman and asked if we needed any assistance, which we politely declined. Our rooms were ready when we checked in just before 4:30 pm, and as requested on my Priority Club profile they had both of our rooms on a high floor away from the elevator. The hotel is located a half a block from streetcar which would be convenient, but we found for four travelers, taxi’s were faster and more convenient. The front desk staff acknowledged my Priority Club Platinum status and offered each of us a welcome drink in the bar as well as delivered an airline sized liquor to each of our rooms on the first evening. When we requested a late check out so that we did not need to rush out after the marathon, they promptly asked “What time” and I asked for 2pm, trying to stick to the Priority Club offering. They promptly said “You’re a Platinum.....you can have later if you want! We asked for 3pm and were cheerfully granted that. Much nicer than many hotels that try to pull the “check the morning of departure!” Thanks Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. The location is about 1.5 miles from the center of Union Square. The two prior years we stayed at hotels a bit closer, but this year we took the chance given the rate at this hotel was much better. We are very glad we made the decision. We felt safe walking in the area, which did not seem to have near as many homeless people as the hotels right around Union Square. Our 5am walk to the Start Line at Embarcadero felt safe though we watched ourselves just to be safe. Of course keep your eyes open and be aware of your surroundings. Union Square was a nice 25 minute walk or $8 + tip taxi ride. Fisherman’s Wharf area is about the same by taxi. The cable car to these locations is $6 per person, but takes about an hour + the time for the line. If you have never ridden the cable car….of by all means, take the time to ride it! If the cable car is a “been there done that” for you, (like it was for us) than I would say save your money, take a taxi, and get there quicker! There were either 2 or 4 of us depending on the trip, so it was always less expensive to take a cab. Hailing a cab down on Fisherman’s Wharf can be challenging, but with a bit of patience always works out. The hotel has a gym, but given we were in town for a long run, did not even check out the gym. The hotel has an nice (and warm) outdoor pool on one of the lower level rooftops. The lobby is welcoming and quiet. There is a gift shop on premises if you want something quick. The hotel has internet access for free and the speed seemed acceptable. We were on corporate rate, but still received a very nice room one floor from the top. The view very nice, with further parts of the city to the left and the bay to the far right. The room was quiet and we did not experience any excessive city noises (beyond normal city noises). About all we ever heard was the occasional emergency vehicle. The rooms were nicely decorated, and very recently remodeled. There are full width windows and comfortable updated furnishings. The desk looks out over the windows. The king sized bed was nice and the choice of soft and firm pillows as with all Holiday Inn’s is nice. The curtains did an excellent job of blocking out the light. They use a “channeled” manual roll down shade that does a phenomenal job blocking out light, probably the best of any hotel I have stayed in. They have nice flat screen TV with sufficient channels, and the room included a work desk, plenty of plugs, a dresser, closet, and comfy chair / ottoman. The toillet, sink, shower/bath tub were in the bathroom. The bathrooms were well stocked with Bath and Body Works toiletries and were replenished daily. There were Kerug type coffee maker, ice bucket, and mini fridge. Everything was very clean. The climate control works fairly well but unfortunately you can not leave the blower motor on for white noise, on a tablet covers that! Towels and sheets were comfortable. Across the board, the staff at this hotel was excellent. Housekeeping did an acceptable job but did not seem to read out note asking for extra towels even though we tipped them, but wrote a note thanking us for the tips. Front desk staff across the board was friendly. The staff in the bar / restaurant was friendly when we stopped in for our welcome drink. Also, the bell staff was generally willing to provide ideas for nearby food. The only time staff was a bit abrupt was one of the bellman when we asked for help getting a taxi, he was too busy to help because a tour bus was coming in. (Lots of tour busses at this hotel it seems) There is a full restaurant in the hotel, but we usually try to eat away from the hotel. There is also a Starbucks at the end of the building. There are tons of dining options near hotel. On our first night we opted to hop down to Fisherman's w Wharf, but all the other meals were nearby and tasty. Though it can be nice to stay in the Union Square or Fisherman's Wharf area, all four members of our group agreed, this hotel out performed the other hotels. We would not hesitate to choose this hotel for a more reasonable price and the superior staff. We would absolutely recommend this hotel. We are very happy having stayed here. Convenient to enough to all the tourist attractions as well as our race expo and start. June 27, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I'd stay here again We stayed three nights in this Holiday Inn, in a recently-redecorated room. The bed was comfortable, there were additional electrical outlets, the shower was good with a low tub for easy entry and exit. The front desk staff were the most friendly and helpful I've ever seen (with the exception of the man who made checking out with a prepaid bill and no extra charges a frustrating affair). The sink was large enough to wash undies in (the "guest laundry" in a large 20-story hotel consisting of one washer and one dryer). The desk arrangement was very good. Negatives were the upholstered chair with arms as high as the back and very uncomfortable to sit in, and the location of the toilet paper - awkward. The breakfasts in the restaurant were good, and service was fast and friendly. The toast was excellent, and so was the coffee. Parking was quite good - there were several floors of secure parking between the ground floor and the rooms floors. The exit onto Van Ness sounded a horn to alert pedestrians, which was a nice safety feature. June 26, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful room I had some miscommunication upon checking in; I had reservations with a parking package. Hotel staff said they had no such thing & didn't know what I was talking about. online said there weren't any rooms with a view & king bed for the price I wanted but upon check in, that's exactly what I got. So while I was very happy about the room; which was beautiful & had an outstanding view of the city, it annoyed me that the staff was not familiar with what was online. In the end I didn't get the one day free parking; nor would it allow me to use my AAA discount. Its about 2 miles from the wharf. & there is a HI right by the wharf with the price I was charged. I would have stayed at that one & given up the view. Area is ok & on the backside there are a couple of restaurants; Victors Italian has great food. June 26, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience, Great Location My wife and I stayed here on a 5 day vacation and were very pleased. The location of the hotel is great for bus access, cable car access and overall being a good center point in the city. The room was very clean each day and had a great view. It was evident that they had been recently updated. It was simple and exactly what we needed. Despite being in a busy location, and typically a busy lobby, the hotel room was very quiet and we felt very safe. The front desk was very accommodating and gave us a room on the top floor (26) with a view of the golden gate upon request. It was a little bit pricey, but compared well to similar chain hotels in the area. After all, it was California in the summer. The only minor complaints we had were limited ice machines and the elevators were a little smelly and dated. Another perk was if you rented a car from certain local companies, you had the ability to return it to the hotel's parking garage after hours if needed. We used City-Rent-A-Car two blocks away and this was very convenient. Overall, we had a great experience and would gladly recommend this hotel. June 25, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful, helpful staff Great room,etc. but on the 20th floor there were no thick curtains to block the sun...room was uncomfortable when the sun rose. June 25, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay Each time I stay at the Holiday Inn, I get a different experience. I had a nice room with a great view, but unfortunately noisy neighbors. My outlets stopped working at some point. I come to this hotel for business, but you have to pay for the business center use (which is unfortunate when your outlets stop working). June 25, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Remodeled rooms I was put up in this Holiday inn location because the fisherman's wharf location was not available. Upon arrival I spoke with Jimmy who was professional, well spoken, and polite. He had informed me that the room had been remodeled and it did show. The view was good and would have been spectacular if the windows had been clean which is my only gripe about the room. The only other grip I have in not Holiday Inn's fault. The door going from the garage to the elevators is a cramped stairwell consisting of about four or five steps. Any traveler with a fair amount of baggage (we all have that) would be pressed to traverse this space with ease. Other than that, another fantastic stay. June 24, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at the Gateway Holiday Inn The only problem I had was trying to get into the parking garage. My ticket didn't work. The front desk tried it and said it was fine, however, it didn't work a second or third time. They finally reissued me a completely new pass and it worked. It just took more than 1/2 hour to get it fixed. On a better note, the room was wonderful and I really liked the new art work. It looks like they had completely remodeled the room. June 14, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by we had great service we would recomond this hotel to our faimly and friends. The staff was great and helpful and made are stay easy. June 10, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by maria Morais We had a comfortable stay, Conciege was so helpful and guided us very well...must say (sorry cannot recollect her name) helped beyond their duties... Would definitely recommend this property June 10, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Room, Excellent Staff We had a wonderful Experience at the Golden Gateway Holiday Inn, it was conveniently located, resturants in walking distance. The Rooms were clean and had beautiful views, of the city. The Staff was friendly and welcoming, what a pleasure to stay here, we wish we could have stayed longer, in town for a graduation. June 7, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I want to keep the mattress! Perfectly loccated hotel with highly competent, dedicated an friendly staff. The room was clean and had a beautiful view...I came close to just staying in than great bed and watching San Fransico through the window...the mattresses are amazing and my back was without pain for the first time in 2 weeks! Browsing through the recomended places for food brought up some jems, too. A perfect end to a perfect holiday...thank you! June 7, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location This was a good location...easy access to buses and trolley. It was one street over from Polk St. which has a lot of restaurants, bars and stores. 'Will stay here again. May 25, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Location & Hotel The hotel and its staff were great. It is a fabulous location - right at the end of the California cable car line. Perfect for getting around the city, and switching lines to the Powell and down to the waterfront. Very comfortable - wish I had more time to enjoy the beautiful pool on the sixth floor (outside). I would stay here again when visiting San Francisco. The bed was very comfortable, the robes in the room a nice touch. Arlene Z Boston May 24, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by $1,000,000 views!!! A great central location, and if you can get onto floors 21-26 and a corner room, do it! The view to the bays and bridges can't be beat! May 21, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I slept like a baby. Convenient parking. The concierge was very knowledgeable. The staff was kind and welcoming. The view from my room was amazing. I loved my stay. May 21, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Employees! Your employees are great. They are all so friendly and helpful and make my stay very pleasant. You feel like you are staying at a good friends home instead of a hotel. That's everyone from desk, bellman, info operator, maid and dining service. Really enjoy my stays. May 20, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Views The 25th floor views with the fog coming in, and the Bay view and city view were really awesome! Plan to come again. The staff at the reception were helpful for parking garages as well as eating places nearby. The fact that we were near the starting stop of the cable car at California St was a big bonus. May 17, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Educator We stayed here about 6 years ago and returned in May of 2013. There have been many nice upgrades. The hotel is conveniently located and is close to bus lines. The room was extremely comfortable and roomy. May 16, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by IMsL Was Great! Thanks for having IMsL again this year. As always, your hotel was amazing and I look forward to returning next year! May 16, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience Thanks to the staff, for their welcoming people, especially to the manager how is a very understanding and cooperative. I would stay again at the same place on my next visit to San Francisco. May 15, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LEFTY458 EVERYTHING WAS GREAT FROM THE CHECKIN TO THE CHECKOUT. GREAT HOTRL AND GREAT LOCATION May 11, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location But... This was a good location for seeing the city in conjunction with the conference I was attending. View from 20th floor was very nice and remodeling in progress will make it better. The $45.63 per night for self-parking is outrageously high and bumps a good room rate (conference rate) significantly. Front desk was very helpful and friendly. Bathroom needs towel racks, but otherwise, room was small but very nice. May 7, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Phantastic views, central location, great value This hotel is a perfect choice if you love great views and value an efficient, well-connected central location over touristy hot-spots. We had a corner bay view room on the 23rd floor and absolutley loved the amazing panoramic views this room afforded, from the top part of the Golden Gate Bridge's towers, across the Bay and the Hills, all the way to Downtown. Looking out across the city lights at night from the comfortable bed was wonderful. Even after staying six days we couldn't get enough of the view. SF is a city where you really don't need a car, and the hotel's location is perfect for using public transport. The hotel is located right at the end of the California St cable car line, so it's never a problem getting on the usually overcrowded car and you're near Union Sq in 10 minutes. There are also efficient buses running along Van Ness, which connect you well to Golden Gate Park, Market Street, the Mission etc and, while sometimes on the rougher side, never felt unsafe (though we took cabs at nighttime). Even if you only use the cable cars, it makes sense getting a Muni 3 or 7 day pass at the hotel's gift shop. We never tried the hotel's restaurant offerings as there are plenty of good, non-touristy neighborhood choices across a wide range of cuisines just a few steps around the block. The hotel's staff was very friendly and helpful. Check-in and -out was efficient. We could leave our baggage with the bellhop while we were away on a motorcycle trip during our two stays at the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay at this hotel again. - A couple from Germany on their 10-year anniversary. May 6, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by staff needs work on communication skills room was good, view was good, but one staff member was polite but communication was not so good. had trouble telling us how to get into the parking garage and how to use ticket to get out of garage. did not tell us anything about having to swipe the ticket to open the door to the parking garage and told us to "drop the ticket in the box" to get out of the garage. the box my daughter thought he meant was a key drop box. other than that, I would stay again. sports bar was cool and had good wings. May 4, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Recently stayed for two nights in an upper floor room. With room and parking package, it was a great value. From check-in to check-out, staff was magnificent. There was a massive remodel going on, but unless you saw the workers, you would have never known it. May 1, 2013
    <<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 17 next>>