Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 
SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL RISING ABOVE THE HEART OF THE CITY
Stunning 32 storey views and modern elegance come together at this San Francisco luxury hotel overlooking the Bay Area. Impressive in every detail, Luce, our Michelin-rated restaurant serves New American Cuisine that’s a gastronomic delight. Floor-to-ceiling windows let light flood into luxury suites and 10 spa treatment rooms offer an urban retreat. The hotel is located in San Francisco’s downtown district, with the city’s finest museums and upscale shopping within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    This Michelin rated hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a sleek, urban setting just off of the main lobby is the stage for arti...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre offers 2,200 sq ft of space equipped with free-weights, cardio and resistance equipment and an indoor lap pool (6a.m. - ...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...

InterContinental San Francisco

  • 888 Howard Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94103
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-6166500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Swahili, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable 50 dollar fee per night. Pets cannot be left unattended in guest room. Specific rooms only.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    12:08 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 16 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 484 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great view of the city We stayed on the 22nd floor, north west corner. Windows run the entire length of the room, giving us a spectacular view of the city. We hiked the neighborhoods to the north and west. Eating in neighborhood delis and restaurants. Visiting parks, galleries, checking out the fabulous architecture. An excellent Whole foods is half a block away...we got carry-out several times and brought it back to our room, which had a small fridge. A Starbucks next door. An excellent breakfast spot "Toast" was one block away. The cable car was right there on our corner. Room darkening shades closed electronically when we were ready for shut eye. We did not care for the restaurant within the hotel, but it didn't matter, since there were so many good options right outside our hotel. July 22, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place Everyone friendly, helpful and courteous. From time of check-in to check-out July 19, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by location What a perfect location!! Just off the cable car, several bus routes out the front door, this Holiday Inn made it easy to see ALL of San Francisco using public transportation. The rooms were clean, attractive, and what a great view of the city!! You can buy a tourist transit pass, set up tours, and get a shuttle to the airport at the concierge desk. It offers computer access to print boarding passes, etc. I only wish it had a quiet separate bar/lounge for relaxation instead of the bright bar/restaurant used for three meals a day, but there is such a place a short one block walk up California Street. There is even a Trader Joe's and CVS within walking distance for snacks, etc. July 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by outstanding stay, professional and courteous service spider staff the staff at the front desk management as wells all the other people I've met along the way were true professionals. They added in my staY being very pleasant. I definitely look forward to returning to the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. If I had to swim across the ocean, although its not possible. I would surely do whatever possible to get the opportunity to be in the mix of true professionals who treat you not like your not just a simply a hotel guest. Holiday Inn Golden Gateway treat you as if your family member of the Holiday Inn organization. July 16, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The staff was great, and the process to do the check-in and check out was very fast. No complains except that the auto AC didn't work well. July 16, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by centrally located, jjcourteous staff hotel was clean and comfortable. weather was cool so we didn't use the pool and never ate in the restaurant which appeared to be ok. bus/trolley stops right around the corner made getting around very easy. concierge was very helpful and staff in general were very pleasant. if I stayed somewhere else next time in S.F. it would not be because of any issues with this hotel,. July 15, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nicely renovated! The hotel has been very nicely renovated. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff is terrific! A short cab ride to anywhere in downtown S.F. Many excellent restaurants in short walking distance. July 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Everything from signing in to our departure was extremely well presented. The staff were all very approachable and helpful. The new reception and dining area real uplifted our first impressions.Highly recommend this hotel July 12, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Buena Localizacion y confort Muy bien localizado, muy limpio y el cuarto comodo, con una vista preciosa a la ciudad , muy buen servicio, pidan los pisos superiores.El personal es atento y servicial. July 11, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay as always Overall, I had a very enjoyable 12 day stay at the HI-GG. One of the strangest things was that they were renovating the lobby. So, over a couple days at the beginning of my stay, the lobby and entrance shifted around. It wasn't super inconvenient or anything, just a bit odd. I will say, I like the newer, updated, lobby. It's much more modern and appealing. I hope this follows suit into the guest rooms. I ordered room service twice during my stay. Both times were pleasant. I do wish they had breakfast, but as far as my understanding they do not. And it would be great if the room service lasted longer into the night...And had a slightly wider variety. I really do like staying at this Holiday Inn because it's super convenient to where I usually have to be when I am in San Francisco. I'm sure I'll be back. July 10, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience We stayed here for 5 days over the July 4th holiday. We had a room on the 23rd floor and the view of the city was great. The room was clean and the housecleaning was prompt to clean our room in the morning. The breakfast buffet was decent. The only complaint about the food was that it would have been nice if they mixed it up a bit and had waffles or french toast instead of the pancakes every day. The exercise room was clean and had working equipment. Did not have a car on this trip so being next the cable car stop and the bus stop was convenient. The free wifi worked but occasionally it would be sluggish. There were speed upgrade options but we didn't try those. July 9, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Disappointing Poor service in a out-dated hotel with limited facilities. No great views, not best location. Left feeling disappointed with no reason to recommend it. Had several reasons to complain and these were handled in a polite, professional and courteous manner by the Front Office Manager - he deserves to be in a better hotel. July 7, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Personal experience We had a wonderful time staying at the hotel. Everything from the front desk, the rooms, facilities, to car garage were all smooth sailing. All services were quick and professional. July 6, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A weekend in the City. I have never been to this property before. I was very impressed with the new lobby and your great staff. I loved my view out of the 22nd floor! I just wish it was not so far from Civic Center or Market St. July 5, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Quiet If you prefer not to have valet parking this is a great hotel in San Francisco. The guest rooms are modern unlike the outside of the hotel. The floors are modern with porcelain tiles made to look like wood and is quite appealing in an aesthetic way. The bathtub did not look modern but is appealing in an antique fashion. I love the electronic window shades and the views are just amazing. The breakfast buffet is some good cooking at an affordable price. The concierge was friendly to me and sold me a t-shirt even though the gift shop was closed. The hotel is in walking distance of fancy prime rib restaurants. July 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Good hotel in down town SF. It is conveniently located to all form of transport within the city. Restaurants are nearby. July 1, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reason for low rating on restaurant Your new dining area was under construction, so our dining room was rather bah, but the food was good. June 30, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dancing Queen This hotel is located in a great part of the city. Trolley car right out the door. Service and staff awesome I think Mike checked us in very pleasant,, June 28, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service, good view, small room, tiny bathroom. I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years. It was originally chosen due to its proximity to a friend living in the city. It also suits me to be away from the busier tourist areas. In general, it has always been acceptable at the hotel. Rooms are quite small and a king bed does impede two people moving around the room. The bathroom on this trip was really tiny and I was disappointed to be supplied with soap, rather than shower gel. There is a coffee making machine using those pre-packed tubs of coffee. The curious thing is that 4 tubs of coffee were supplied, yet only two "non-diary creamer"(yuck) - what's wrong with milk, or half-and-half? Renovations at the hotel mean the feeding room and bar were combined and totally lacked atmosphere, so best avoided, unless desparate. Range of drinks poor. June 28, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room service I only stayed 2 nights at this location. The morning after my first night, the cleaning lady was knocking on the door because the room did NOT have a do not disturb sign for the door which I ALWAYS use. I indicated I did NOT want service because I was only there 2 nights and didn't want to pick up my belongs. Then a different cleaning lady came to the door. I said I did not want service. She insisted she needed to clean the room. I said NO. I then called the front desk manager and reported the incident and he said someone would come up with the do not disturb sign which no one did. When I was leaving the room, the cleaning lady was in the hallway still insisting on cleaning the room. I said NO. I went to the front desk in the main lobby and reported it to the gentleman at the counter. He could have cared less about the situation. I was very uncomfortable leaving thinking the cleaning people where just going to help themselves to my room. Not happy at all! June 26, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Espacio pequeño servicio regular Ya describí bastantes veces que tuve un serio problema con el Concierge al no reservarme correctamente los boletos para el Teatro de la Opera y nos mandaron a un Teatro que estaba cerrado., ocasionondonos muchos problemas de traslados y ademas nos quedamos sin acudir a la Opera., Y a la fecha no me han regresado el cargo se me hizo por esos boletos que fueron 260.00 U: S . June 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by incredible view I love this hotel. stayed here for 12 years. never had a problem and the staff is great. the rooms that end in double zero from the 17th floor and up provide some of the best views of the city i have ever experienced. June 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable hotel in a great location Great stay for 5 nights. Some road noise but not bad considering it is located on a busy street. Great location with easy access to public transportation and cable cars. Polk Street has many kinds of dining options within 1-3 blocks of the hotel. We would stay here again but would request a room on the side of the hotel on the opposite side of Van Ness. June 24, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Good downtown location and on-site parking. The restaurant/bar was packing up at 10:00 pm when I got to the hotel, so I had to go out to look for food. The hotel is a bit dated. The value only lies in ts location and not for the facilities. June 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Golden Gateway-Golden Family Stay with Spectacular view I was travelling with my children and Au Pair/Nanny who is from Paris, France to visit San Francisco as well as obtain our passports. This Hotel Inn was one of eight chain hotels that we stayed and it had the best view of the city. We found the staff to be very accommodating and friendly which is a great compliment as buses of guests arrive and leave continually from this busy vacation, however, we did not "feel" overlooked at all and we also received a wonderful welcome letter as a Gold Member. My kids loved the pool even though it was a cool evening when they went up to the rooftop pool to take a quick dip after dinner. The view from the top floor was excellent and close to the elevator which was great to accomodate our moving between the front of the hotel and our room. The staff was very helpful to explain the parking procedures which can be complex in San Francisco as parking is scarce. Congrats to the staff as this was by far one of the best hotels on our tripi and the second time that we have stayed as a family. We cannot comment on the food/beverage as we ate dinner from Whole Foods up the street and we got breakfast from the Starbucks located in the bank lobby in the same building as the hotel. June 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific view of San Francisco All was perfect except one thing the windows needed washing . Also the toilet seat had to be held up. Also many thanks for the upgrade. Next time I want room 1800! June 21, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service I thought that the hotel was very nice. It was convenient to our location for our business meeting. The room was very nice and quiet. We also had the added benefit of facing east and got to see the fireworks show at the Giants game. That made it especially special! June 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by get away excellent stay the restaurant was being revamped and so our experience there was poor compared to earlier visits June 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff The bed was very comfortable. I really appreciated the extra long, soft and firm pillows in the room. Having a refrigerator in the room was also a bonus as I was there for 6 days and kept some food in the fridge. All the staff that I dealt with or passed in the hallways were very friendly. I would stay here again. June 12, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor check-in policy !! When we arrived they said the room was not ready. When we checked back later they told us it didn't matter if the room was ready or not we could not check-in until 3:00. At 3:00 everybody wanted to check in at once, there was a line of about 30 people and only two people behind the desk. I took us an hour to get our room. June 11, 2014
    <<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 17 next>>