Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 20 Apr 2014)
(e.g. 21 Apr 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 137 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable bed, heating problems & 'tired' accommodation The bed appeared to be old as it felt worn out. The heating was uncontrollable, the temp was something like 85 deg all night so it was impossible to sleep. The whole place looks a little tired so could do with a makeover. 26 March 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Plumbing not functional We were on a coach tour and the directors chose this HI. The pluming was not functioning and the toilet would not flush. An employee came and tried to fix but could not. I had to remove the top from the commode each time that I used it and push down the float to get enough water in the tank to be able to flush. The tank was built up with a lot of crud and simply would not work. I have pictures of the interior of the tank if anyone doubts my observation. When taking a shower, it took about 10 minutes for the water to drain out of the tub. The food was eatable but barely. This was the worst experience that I had on my tour of England the the worst hotel that I have stayed in ever. I sent a complaint to HI International but have not heard back from them. My advice is do not stay at this hotel. 19 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Poor breakfast Had to ask for more tea (only got tea for one) and was always waiting for the food to be refilled up. Disappointed with what was offered. Eg no Yogurt and limited fruit. 09 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Vey comfortable bed Great experience, only the sink let the room down, it could do with a new one, but not too bad to use, maybe I'm being a little fussy. Certainly wouldn't put me off going again. 09 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay even for one night! Very comfortable and relaxed, Breakfast was excellent as was the service. Comfortable bedroom which had everything I needed even though I only stayed here one night. 06 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed,lovely quiet spacious room as requested Excellent stay,lovely room,breakfast fantastic with excellent service,reception staff very helpful and polite,great value for money 01 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good all round hotel I recently stayed at the HI Chester instead of my usual HI Heathrow due to work requirements. As a regular guest at Heathrow (60 nights per year), I am extremely well looked after by all the staff there, so was interesting to find that when I arrived at the HI Chester, I was greeted by a very friendly receptionist who quickly checked me in. She asked if I required a tabel booking for dinner, but said I would see how I felt later (there was an offer on i noticed the morning after for 2 drinks & a 2 course meal in the restaurant for £20 - very good value), though I was surprised this offer was not put to me at check-in as I would have definately taken it up. I found my room, which was very pleasant, had a shower and watched some TV. I then went to the bar for a drink, and up to the restaurant. In the restaurant I was made very welcome, and was offered a table near the back of the room (probably as I was alone), however I asked if I could have a window view table, which was given. The waiter took my food order, as well as a request for chef to make a side dish that was not on the menu. I was asked if would like some rustic bread while I waited, which I said yes to, however the breads never arrived. My starter was pate with toast - when it was brought to me I asked if I could have some extra toast, and was quite amused when the waiter cmae back with half a slice!! Steak for mains was cooked very much to my liking, and overall a very enjoyable meal - just a shame that the rustic breads didn't arive, and the extra toast for the pate was so small. Overall I was pleased with my stay, and as such have deicded to book again for the following week, instead of the Crown Plaza, which will go someway to show how much I enjoyed my stay. had the restaurane experience been a touch better, I would have had no hesitation giving this a full Excellent 5/5 review. Let's see how my visit next week goes... Steve 21 February 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tired and dated but convenient and comfortable enough Tired and dated but convenient and comfortable enough. 60s/70s style buildings - decor is tired and needs freshening - fixtures and fittings are dated and in need of refurbishment. Very helpful staff, clean rooms etc but just looks as thoough an update is long overdue. Convenient position, good parking and ok comfort. Menu was limited and predicatable with little or no healthy fresh food available. 20 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel / Close to Chester Had a great time. Only stayed 1 night but went swimming twice as the facilites was great. Lovely pool. Really lovely staff couldn't praise them enough. Breakfast was fab as well. Will definitely stay again 18 January 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisey above room The hotel very tired the room upstairs we could hear walking around and banging of feat when we was in our room would not stay again. 17 January 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Get the basics right A hotel that does not turn on the radiators in the middle of winter has got it's priorities all wrong. This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel and the rooms are always cold. The air con switches itself off and defaults to 19 deg which is too cold especially with no radiators turned on. I have had to ask for a free standing heater to stay warm. Food is good, staff are nice and friendly but the heating policy is terrible. I am working in this area for 6-12 months and I am going to find another hotel even if it is further away that knows how to treat their guests. 16 January 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Gold member stands for nothing As this hotel is a franchised one, being a gold member stands for nothing! I had 5 rooms booked, spent over £100 on dinner and this still meant nothing to the management! I stay in Holiday Inn's all over the country and the World (next one will be Singapore in Feb) but have to question whether i shall do this much longer given the treatment at Chester of a loyal customer over 5 years!! 16 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Always a pleasure.. Our fourth time on a short break with my family of four at this hotel and as ever it was a pleasure to stay. Staff are friendly and polite especially in the bar and restaurant, the room is pleasant and clean, parking is easy, the pool is excellent, food is good quality (kids dined free on our D,B+B deal) , Park and Ride to Chester is just across the road, what's not to like ? OK the hotel's a little spread out but that's a good excuse to get some exercise ! We also stayed at the dreadful Liverpool Crown Plaza recently and this supposed ordinary hotel knocks spots off it , as do the staff . 10 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Service Took the family for the weekend (for my wife's birthday#. All the staff #from the duty manger down to the waitress in the resturant# were very helpful and professional. Even at short notice #my fault), the Chef was able to prepare a special birthday treat for my wife. 10 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend stay We stayed at chester south hotel we had a fantasic time here. All the staff were so friendly and always looking to help. The rooms were very modern and clean and the food was exceptional ,we are looking forward to go on another weekend to chester and will be booking again 09 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by festive stay We arrived to recieve a courtious holiday inn welcome.The staff were their usual helpfull selves the new year festive meal and cellabrations went down really well and we had a nice relaxing stay.This was our third time to come so they must be doing things right 07 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by service great bed bit too hard We got it wrong by going out for a meal and allowing our room to be made up after we had arrived. We then found the main double to be very firm and could have done with a duvet to reduce it's firmness. But everything else was just as we have come to expect from holiday inn. 04 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good stay overall Hotel location just off the A55 is a good spot for getting to Chester or driving into North Wales or the M56. Check in at Hotel - Check in process was quick and efficiently carried out. We were greeted warmly by the staff members on the front desk. Rooms - Setup of the rooms was exactly as I'd asked for when booking online (1 adult and 2 children in one room, 1 adult in the second room). Everything in the rooms was clean and tidy, bedding was crisp and fresh. TV in each room had full freeview channels, and access to on demand entertainment. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in both rooms. Bathrooms - generally clean and tidy. Shower heads in each room would benefit from being descaled / cleaned, but otherwise all was ok. Water pressure was very good, as was temperature. Food - We had the breakfast buffet each morning. Plenty of choice whether hot or cold was available. Eggs were not the best quality wise (scrambled eggs as served appeared to be made from powdered eggs). We ate evening meals in the lounge bar downstairs - plenty of choice was available, and we had a good dinner every night. Staff - every staff member we interacted with during our stay at the hotel was friendly, pleasant and polite Health club - we made use of the pool at the health club - well looked after, pool temperature was nice and warm, not too much chlorine used in the water. Clean and tidy changing room available with lockers. Issues - No major issues with our stay as such, but a couple of 'nitpicks' : in one room, one of the wooden sliding panels that serve as curtains in the room was not mounted on it's runner and was instead left sitting on the floor. I was able to pull the panel into position to give the room privacy from the outside at night, but I would imagine that had a senior citizen been put in that room, they would have had a problem. Scrambled eggs at the breakfast buffet - already mentioned previously. Shower heads - already mentioned previously. Overall we had a comfortable stay at this hotel, and we would more than likely opt to stay here again, should we need accommodation in the area again in the future. 03 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We arrived late and were welcomed by a friendly, pleasant,and most likeable young lady on reception. She explained every thing we needed to know. We were able to order food in the bar or restaurant if we needed to eat. We chose the bar as we were meeting relatives there. Our room was clean and pleasant and the bed was very comfy. I had been to this Hotel before some years ago but was more impressed by the high standard of service more this visit. I would definatly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chester. I had considered another hotel chain but am so pleased that I chose Holiday Inn as the value for money was first rate. Will be back in the future. 03 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service working away from home I've stayed in many hotels on business over the years and Chester South is not somewhere I will be leaving whilst working up here. Although not the closest to work, the clean and comfy rooms, welcoming friendly staff, complimentary health club and good food cater for all my needs. I would thouroughly recommend this ( and other Holiday inns) for a stay whether business or pleasure. Thanks to all the staff for welcoming me back week in week out...feel like part of the furniture now. 27 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Hotel This was my 1st visit to the holiday inn at Chester, Even though the hotel was really busy due to Christmas party nights the hotel staff were all really polite, pleasant and very eager to please. We chose this hotel for the close proximity to Chester and it was an ideal base. The added bonus of the health and fitness suit was great we enjoyed a swim and sauna before having an amazing breakfast. Everyone was catered for at the huge buffet breakfast. The kids especially love the nutella for their toast. We will be returning very soon. 15 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Annual Christmas Shopping Weekend We have been doing this trip for 10 years now. The restaurant meal this year was by far the best that we had ever had, the quality of the food and the service were both excellent. The hotel were catering for large Christmas functions but still managed a personal service with fantastic food for the small number of us in the main restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated opposite the park and ride for Chester. We will be back again next December! 14 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Xmas shopping treat Great food and good service. Clean room and spa. Perfect after a day shopping in Chester. We would certainly stay here again. Very good value. 11 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great weekend break Stayed Fri & Sat night as bogof deal (kids stayed & ate for free), plus discount off restaurant bill for being a priority member. Chose this as a convenient location for Christmas shopping (1hr walk from city centre, £6-ish for taxi back). Everywhere was clean & comfortable, very friendly & approachable staff. Ate in the restaurant on the first evening (varied menu - I chose whitebait to start, followed by beetroot & somerset brie tart, then Eton Mess). Restaurant menu also served in bar, which had large screen TV showing sports. I thought the drinks were a bit pricey - £7.50 for glass of wine or £20 for bottle of pinot grigio. Enjoyed use of pool, jacuzzi & sauna (open 7am-9pm). Excellent self-service selection for breakfast - cereal, fruit, selection of continental meats, cheeses & breads, yoghurt, cooked English. Purchased discounted fast-track zoo tickets from reception. Thoroughly enjoyable weekend. 07 December 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Expensive Wi Fi The good reception staff did not extend to the quality of bathroom cleaners as the floor greated me with lots of hair from earlier occupants. The absence of extraction in bathroom resulted in a steamy room making shaving a hit & miss event. Charging £5 /hr to £16 per day for internet access in the 21st century is extortionate and would not be tolerated here in the USA. Not up to the standards of the brand. The absence of a mobile phone signal in the building (Orange provider) was an inconveniance too. 06 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent relaxing weekend Our stay was very pleasant and relaxing. Staff were very helpful. Hotel ideally situated for visiting Chester with the Park and Ride 200 yards away and Cheshire Oaks a short distance away. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and variety. The one big fault was trying to book in for an evening meal. Although I tried to book a table at 11 am for that evening I was told that there no table available until 9.00 which was far too late.This is something the hotel should rectify as a matter of urgency as it spoilt an otherwise excellent stay. 16 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A relaxing experience. We enjoyed our stay at Chester South - it was an excellent base for the places we wanted to visit, and when we arrived we had a good swim and a pleasant meal in the restaurant. Great breakfasts - they kept us going all day! 11 November 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good staff, pity about the hotel Tired hotel, in need of major investment/refurb. Was very surprised at how old & tired firstly the exterior & then the internals & rooms. Dated bathrooms & furniture, good size rooms though, health center is welcome. Prices for drinks & food in both the lounge bar & restaurant are way over what they should be for the quality of the hotel & surroundings. The food was good in the restaurant but not exactly fine dining. Good base for visiting Chester but not close enough for walking. Need a taxi or car for visiting the city. Nothing local by the way of pubs or places to eat as an alternative to hotel. 09 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 WELL POSITIONED FOR CHESTER Staff and service were excellent, and the young man in the leisure centre was very kind to our daughter. Only had breakfast at the hotel, which was good but they really should invest in a new toaster so that the bread doesn't keep gettig cremated! However, generally the hotel had seen better days and was looking a little shabby. It was also quite dreadful that the smoking area was just outside our bedroom window. We had to shut the window during the night because the smoke was getting in. Bus ride into Chester was quite an adventure (as we couldn't find the bus stop back!) but quite expensive. The receptionist did advise me that it would be cheaper getting a taxi. 08 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic value for money We only stayed one night and didn't spend much time at the hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable. It had everything you could possibly want at a very low cost. I would definitely recommed this hotel 08 November 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>