Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 21 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 22 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 168 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good clean Facilities This Holiday Inn has new-looking, clean facilities. The heating is more effective in the bedrooms than in most hotels these days and everything was neat and tidy when I was in. I didn't get to see too much of the rest of the hotel, as I was just there overnight - but breakfast was good and staff were generally friendly. Pricing was what you'd expect for a reasonable budget hotel. I'd recommend it on this basis. 19 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service and terrible food I stayed in the hotel on the night of the 13th December. I stayed with my close friend and his family as my friend was getting married the next day. The room was ok, I have stayed in better holiday Inns, the shower head was hanging of the wall in the bathroom. The bed was small and like a slab of wood with rock solid pillows to accompany - again very disappointing. We dined in the restaurant and all I say is this was atrocious. We where a table of 11 (all overnight guests) booked in at 6.30. We eventually got served our food after 8.30pm and the quality of the food was very very poor. It is not as if the restaurant was busy, there where a further 2 tables of 2 people on each.. Perhaps this shocking service was due to a Christmas party night being hosted??? But this should not affect the service and quality of food being served to your other overnight guests in your main restaurant. Breakfast the next morning was not much better, extremely slow service and very dried out food on the hot plates and this was only at 8.45am!!! This experience has really disappointed me for a Holiday Inn -part of such a worldwide hotel group. I look forward to receiving some feedback from the result of this appalling review. Thanks 18 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Working in 'Yorkshire' Whilst working in the area we now always stay at the H Inn, Scotch Corner. Why, you know what you get and the staff are a great bunch. 17 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room at good price My first impressions were good. The room was stylish and clean. The bed was comfortable but it was just as well we like each other as we ended up a bit too close- The bed dipped in the middle! I'm not sure if it was just us but also our room was far too hot (despite being set to 16 (I think!)). It wasn't until I turned the air con off that it became acceptable. Breakfast was average. I did enjoy it but it was a bit dry from being under the hotplate. 11 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Cold room ! I was cold in my room and despite trying to warm it up using the thermostat it would not get hotter. The noisy fan kept blowing cool air out. Had there been a nice warm duvet then perhaps the room temperature would have been less important. 10 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No heating Excellent hotel. Upgraded to a beautiful room. Two problems I have encounted in my two stays three weeks apart. Heating in the room does not work. Both times I stayed, room was cold. I complained in my last stay. But made no difference. It was still cold. Hash Browns at breakfast as last time were not freshly made. It seemed they were reheated again. Hotel looks lovely of the highest class. 05 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location clean modern classy appearance The staff are always welcoming at this hotel. I like the rooms, perhaps because they are all subtly different. The restaurant is really good - the breakfast buffet has specific labelled serving utensils for each breakfast item ideal for vegetarians or just those who do not wish to mix meat products with vegetable ones. It is worth asking for a room on the non road side as there can be a lot of road noise at night particularly if there are road works going on. A good tip is to check if there are any road closures planned for the A1 - if you are planning to arrive late you can have a nasty surprise going around a significant detour. 03 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to stop over From start to finish this hotel delivers with its outlook staff and food, nothing is to much bother for them, they really do their best to make sure your stay with them is one to remember. 02 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay but not as good as last time I have stayed here before and although I enjoyed the stay, it wasn't as good as last time The room was very cold and I was ignored when I checked in but apart from that, the stay was very good 25 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient, modern but average staff An enjoyable stay in a well refurbished hotel; all very impressive art deco style. The facilities and location and the pool was first-class. The restaurant choice and value was very good for dinner particularly. Our only criticism was that the staff, with a few exceptions, seemed very inexperienced and made hard work of simple requests, but fortunately they were very minor problems. All in all, we would certainly use the hotel again. It's perfect for Richmond, Barnard Castle and all the surrounding places of interest. 19 November 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very uncomfortable bed The bed (one of a twin) in the Executive Suite is a 6ft 3in bed, which is far too short for someone who is taller than 6ft. I am 1.84m, which is just over 6ft, and my feet reached the end of the bed - I derad to think what my son would have done as he is 6ft 3in, which is not exceptionally tall for a 30 year old. One extra inconvenience has been dealing with the £100 demand for a parking fee for the car which was parked outside the entrance to the hotel in a designated parking space. No-one asked me for my registration number at check-in, as is the normal practice in all the other Holiday Inns I have stayed in - at the last count this has reached eleven in the UK. 19 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good room, good food Got upgraded (again) to executivecroom, very spacious, good bathroom. Food in bar really good and so was breakfast. Not much room in car park but that aside could not fault stay. 18 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great price set the tone With such a reasonable price point we expected short comings but in fact it was a very pleasant experience... Clean , helpful friendly staff and a good breakfast too. . 12 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great all round experience My wife and I had a wonderful weekend. The hotel is clean and the rooms are excellent. The facilities were first class and the staff were excellent. Food was fresh and of a high quality. We are looking forward to our next visit 12 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and good bar Nice refurbished comfortable room. i ate evening food in bar and the food was good along with great service from the staff. Breakfast was also very good. 10 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stopover Fantastic place for stopover, restaurant food and service was excellent. Nice quiet swimming pool. The only problem was the bed, my husband and I kept rolling into each other! Would definitely recommend 09 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Bed was very comfortable Facilities in room very good Restaurant excellent service and food 08 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Adjustable air-flow very comfortable We stayed at this hotel before the refurb and it was not bad, but since the refurb it is now top quality. Everything is just as you want it, rooms are easy to find and are very clean and fresh, bath and shower are just right, complimentary water and juice even a kit-kat in the fridge. Very short walk to the swimming pool fresh clean towels lovely sauna and steam room and it's all in the price. Great hotel, will go back. 03 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best one I've stayed in so far Reception staff were thorough, polite and informative. The room was spotless and well furnished. Staff created a really nice atmosphere in the bar, the restaurant staff were friendly and efficient and the food in the Italian restaurant was excellent - I ate from the Specials menu which really lived up to its name. I will definitely be going back 28 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Allocated Dirty Room!!! Reception staff discourteous (blamed this on being "in training"). Not provided information I requested relating to Wi-Fi access code. Just had an envelope pushed into my hand which did not contain the relevant information. Allocated room that was still (unbelievably!) occupied by the cleaner. Took 40 minutes to be allocated new (cleaned) room. Very poor follow up customer service. Side dish of food was over-cooked - reported to waiter who just apologised, no offer to replace/refund cost. Had to wait to check out due to "system running", which made me late. All in all very poor experience - which is most unlike Holiday Inn or Holiday Inn Express - This particualr hotel gives the brand a very (unwarranted) bad name!! Which is a huge shame as the location is perfect for me. Avoid! 28 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel, Friendly Staff and Good Night Sleep. Lovely hotel. Had a really nice stay. Good night sleep, comfortable and clean with friendly staff. Would definitely use this hotel again and recommend t to others. 27 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Once again, good service Having passed this hotel for many years I have discovered now that is ideal for me on my trips north and south. The restaurant and staff are particularly good. 15 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The Best Food In Cumbria &.......................... Even though the reception staff were lacking the excellent 'Italian restaurant Frat....... was superb with very good staff especially the head waiter and chef- cooked to request. The hotel has recently had a good refurb but our bed (comfortable) had a tearing/cracking noise in the bottom corner near TV (as you enter room) that was off putting. The receptionist did not even want to see my priority club card and we certainly didn't benefit having it- no room upgrade or paper in the morning (even though we requested a paper). 11 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A pleasant night with Friends and Family Food was excellent, service attentive, prices (both bar and restaurant) reasonable. - a pleasant experience! We stopped in a family room (201) - Clean & spacious although there was a little (recent) water damage to the ceiling around the A/C duct. - A minor point, which did not affect our stay. I'd definitely recommend this hotel. 09 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by So different from last time I did not book a twin disabled room, but I was given one. I asked at reception why I had a bright green light on my ceiling. I was told it was for fire regulations, but it lights up the whole room and kept me awake. I was asked if I would like a complimentary newspaper in the morning, oh yes please, I don't know when it will be delivered, but I am still waiting. My tea at breakfast was cold and my orange juice was tepid. When i stayed here in April 2013 i could not praise it highly enough, not so this time I'm afraid 07 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by handy location chosen for location. hotel in good order although stayed there three times and three times had issues. would have to agree with other negative reviews re breakfast, sort guys.. 05 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent overall experience Having passed this hotel many times over the years finally decided to stay there and was very impressed. The refurbishment has been completed very tastefully, the room was comfortable and spacious, the restaurant was great and the staff very friendly and helpful. The swimming / health club also came up to the same standard. On the basis of this stay would highly recommend the hotel for anyone travelling to/through the area. 02 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice modern comfortable room good value Very good standard of room for price. Cut above basic level hotels in terms of modernity of room mixed with warmth/comfort. Didn't eat there so can't comment on that, but restaurant area and bar looked well done. Great location if you're visiting NE from Scotland (or I guess from other areas!) and want good access in and out. 01 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor breakfast and no TV Whilst the location and ambience of the hotel was fine, two things spoilt my stay. The TV remote was faulty and I could not turn the TV off, change channels etc. I asked for help and a replacement remote was brought up, but other than turning the TV on it did not work either. The breakfast buffet was inedible. The food had obviously been cooked way before it was needed and was under lamps to keep it hot. The bacon was so hard you could snap it and the eggs and sausages were similarly overcooked. The staff said they could not replenish it till it was gone - it is probably still there!! Not the usual Holiday Inn standard. 01 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice Hotel The facility is very upscale, parking is plentiful, security of the property is some of the best ever. We had an Executive room and it is on par with any other brand we use. The room was clean, large and well thought out. The bath room was excellent, even had a window. The attached Italian restaurant had good food at a fair price. The staff was helpful and pleasant. We will stay again in the future. 20 September 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>