Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 27 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 28 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 99 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Experience How acceptable to be greeted by the staff, smiles and a welcome to the breakfast room, asked what table you would prefer to be seated at, beverages ordered and brought to the table, explanation of the menu all delivered with a warmth that gave you the ideal start to the day. Breakfast with a smile. 25 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service During my stay at Holiday Inn Newport, I have been made to feel very much at home. The rooms are comfy and good quality. The most important aspect of enjoying my stay, and wanting to return is the friendliness and helpfulness of the restaurant and bar staff. Their customer service skills are very good and help to make the evenings very relaxed and enjoyable. It was a friends birthday during our stay and the waitresses set up the table with party plates etc and we had a great night! I would recommend staying here!! 24 February 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room and complications after Having stayed here on 25/012014 for a reunion in the Celtic manor I have a few regrets that I didn't choose to stay in the Celtic manor . On arrival I was given my room 223 which smelt of stale cigarette smoke which was dissapointing as me and my wife both don't smoke there was wall paper hanging off the wall by the tv and could not turn the heating off on the radiator as thermostat would not work after having very little time to complain .As we had to be at the reunion we had to put up with a hot smelly room for our stay Then on our departure I payed for my room on my bank card only to have the price of my room and my brothers taken off my wife's bank the card which was used to pre book the room .This money has taken nearly a week and numerous phone calls to get refunded after this stay at the holiday inn Newport its a experience I would never repeat Regard mr m Williams 30 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming Hotel Credit to the staff of this hotel, they made my stay welcoming and comfortable. I stayed for two separate weeks and each individual room was well presented and clean. However in comparison the rooms varied in size drastically which led to me feeling slightly aggrieved but in perspective I had been spoilt in the larger of the two rooms. Bar food is somewhat disappointing for the price however the buffet menu in the hotel resturant was of good quality and a varied selection including sound vegetarian choice. Staff at breakfast were also extremely accommodating and also presented us with a wide choice of foods. 26 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Another Chance I gave this hotel one more chance after two previously poor experiences. This time it was so different. I was given a refurbished room - this just transforms the experience. The room was spacious and clean and up to the normal standard for a Holiday Inn. The staff from check in to check out were friendly and courteous. I didn't have the opportunity to try out the pool maybe on my next visit. I am glad I gave this hotel another chance but next time I book I will make sure there is a refurbished room available. 19 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I keep hearing about how tired this hotel is and in need a of a refurb. This is true, the rooms could do with a lick of paint and generally tidying up, however this hotel still gives good value for the price The Staff are exellent form the Breakfast Waitresses to the Evening watiresses and The Reception Staff are brilliant The only downside the hotel has in my eyes is the Menu. This has not changed in the 4 years that I have been visiting the hotel, it could do with a bit of variation. I stay at the Hotel on a regular basis and would like to see something different. Staff, keep up the good work. 14 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you Ok, after I booked I read the reviews. I must admit I was going to cancel after reading them but I thought I would give it a try. I'm glad I did. Yes, it does need some TLC and I would say the executive rooms was not what I'm used to compared to other hotels as it's old. It's a huge hotel and truly does need a makeover. With that being said, I extended my stay a further 3 days so it can't be that bad.The hotel is warm and inviting and the staff are absolutely awsome. They made our stay worth while. Helpful, courteous and very accommodating. They went out their way to make our stay in Wales more inviting and we will gladly return. 10 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Cold room and poor breakfast We had advised reception in the morning that we would be booking in late that evening. When we entered our room it was very cold because the staff had left the window open - in late December! We were provided with a fan heater, but as we wanted a hot drink and a snack, there were only two small cartons of milk in the room and no biscuits. Fortunately when I contacted the night porter he was able to provide more milk and some biscuits. We were very disappointed with breakfast - the coffee was disgusting, the bacon was dried up and hard and the scrambled egg was waterlogged. At least we reported this when checking out and the manageress waived the breakfast charges. I'm afraid we'll be looking elsewhere the next time we require a hotel near Newport. 03 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff Staff very friendly and helpful. Despite the hotel being almost empty we were originally placed in a small double room at the end of a second floor corridor however after mentioning this to the barmaid and waiter in passing conversation they arranged to move us to a more suitable room. Great PR !! 02 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by hotel and service Was looking forward to a good charismas holiday with my family at this location, but was not impressed at all, I have stayed at various other holiday in hotels but I must say this one was nothing compared to the others. Hotel could do with a good renovation, food menu not as described as menu stated, ordered food and after about 2hrs they still brought the wrong order which was not even up to stranded, was on a dinner bed and breakfast deal, on 2nd night we were told no dinner was catered for that night so they had to give us another menu which I must say had better options, there was a lot of confusion on this visit 29 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, spacious Stayed here for one night, we did not eat at the hotel but we did have a few drinks at the bar late in the evening. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The reception staff were very pleasant and as we had booked in advance the rate was very reasonable. I would definitely stay here here again. 28 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sadly Failing........... There were a number of issues with this stay but basically: * This hotel is now of such a poor standard, in every respect that it's hard to understand why the Holiday Inn name is still allowed to be used (obviously profits over standards). * The executive rooms are so old and tatty that, when you complain, you are given a one of the updates standard rooms as they are far superior (there must be logic there somewhere). * My room wasn't serviced on Christmas Day and had to complain on my return in the evening. I heard a number of reasons why this hadn't happened but the one that seemed correct was simply that the hotel didn't service rooms on Christmas day and what did I expect from a 3 star hotel?? * On checking in, I carefully checked the start time for breakfast on Boxing Day as I had a very long journey with an early start. I was told 6.30am, which I based my plans on. It was in fact 7pm as it was a Bank Holiday. This was obviously a simple mistake by the receptionist, easily done as the days over Christmas can be confusing. However, I brought this to the attention of the night porter when the error was discovered as he finished his shift on Boxing day morning and he couldn't have been less interested, helpful and simply argued. When I pointed out it wasn't a good idea to argue with guests he continued to argue that he wasn't (not the most intelligent thing to do.) Sadly, he'd picked on the the wrong guest this time and instead of apologising for the hotel's simple mistake or his behaviour he started muttering under his breath and stormed off into an room on the other side of reception. Luckily, a cleaner, who had no responsibility for this issue behaved perfectly and resolved the issue. The receptionist, who had been engaged on the phone during the incident stood with a horrified look on her face as she watched the night porters behaviour. From conversations with various staff afterwards it would appear that this night porter is known for his poor service / behaviour but the management are too weak to do anything about it. * The gym is positively dangerous, with extremely old machinery that is not fixed to the floors and moves, particularly the rowing machines. I have to say that, with the exception of the night porter, the staff at the hotel are amazing and do everything they can to remedy the failings of this hotel. Sadly, with an excellent 'HI Exp' a few miles away, it is hard to see why this hotel is still allowed to operate as a HI Hotel, especially given the high volume of complaints it appears to receive locally. I would be grateful for you response as to why a hotel would be allowed to continue to be operated in such a poor fashion. 27 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Quality Hotel This Holiday Inn is most certainly the poorest I have visited. This was my second stay, my first was also poor but I gave it a second chance. The hotel is very tired, very much in need of refurbishment. On arrival I was allocated a room one floor down (no lift) at the very back of the hotel. On arriving at my room I found my key card had not been activated. I had to walk all the way back to reception (with my luggage) to get it activated. My room was small with a very tired bathroom. The TV would not work and there was no mini-bar fridge in the room. The temperature was too hot, yet the air conditioning unit appeared to just make a loud noise but have no impact on the heat. I tried the Gym and pool, the gym was ok (not much equipment) however the pool smelled strongly of sewerage. There was no closure notice!! I reported it to reception and I did notice the next day that it had been closed. Some of the staff were friendly, however not all. The food was ok albeit a little pricey. I won't be returning, there is a Holiday Inn express just down the road which is so much better in every respect. 08 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable & convenient. Friendly, efficient service from restaurant with a good menu and tasty food. Reception staff very welcoming and efficient. Comfortable room. 19 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing break Although the hotel in itself could do with a bit of an updating, the hotel is clean and tidy and the Staff are always welcoming. I stay in this hotel at least twice a month and will chose this one if I am in the area. 11 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to find and very welcoming My bedroom was very comfortable and the lounge area welcoming. The waitresses were excellent and the food was lovely. 30 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Low standards and disappointed Felt unsafe there. Some odd looking single men wandering about and smoking right infront of the main door which made the entrance difficult to negotiate without breathing smoke and inside it smelt strongly of cigarettes. Men wandering about in the morning who looked as though they were living there and dressed as though they might be 'homeless'. No lift. Bathroom outdated and smelly, room basic and decor in need of update. It took an older female member of staff to help with my luggage after a long gruelling journey and who made the cold unfriendly surroundings bareable. Staff in the morning unhelpful and unfriendly. Smokers smoking right outside the main door again made reception stink of cigarettes - when I said that i would have to bare the smell to get out and that it made reception smell to manageress she made no comment. Would definitely NOT stay there again. 23 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Tired. Further from booking a double room and receiving a twin room it went down hill quickly. The Hotel is tired and the rooms need a major refurbishment. I will not be staying at HI Newport again until the complex adds some major investments..... 21 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room and huge bed This was one of the best nights sleep we have ever had in a hotel. The room was comfortable and quiet and the bed was huge which meant that we both had an excellent nights sleep. Highly recommended. 17 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Smoking rooms very tired The photos you see of the bedrooms are of non-smoking rooms that have been refurbished. The smoking rooms are very 70s and not in a good state at all! The wallpaper is ripped & hanging off the walk in places. I stayed in an executive room. I dread to think what standard rooms are like! The first room I was given had some dark, short & curly hairs in the bath. I complained about the cleanliness & the poor state of the room & was given an alternative room but was told that all the smoking rooms are tired. Moral of the story - don't have a smoking room. That said the staff have told me not all rooms have been refurbished so you could end up in a room that needed refurbishing 20 years ago. Felt like a 70s motel. I'm very surprised that it is allowed to carry the Holiday Inn brand as it's far below the usual standard. I should know - I stay often & am a platinum member of the rewards club. 15 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by hotel quality the staff excellent the food excellent the overall quality of this is excellent 14 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Lessons will be learned, I hope. The hotel I usually stay at in the area was fully booked, I left it late, my fault. HI Newport appeared rather less busy, I think I may know why now. All I require is a clean, comfortable room and somewhere close by to eat. Good sized room, but lots of TLC is required (e.g. The bathroom door would not open properly as it has probably got wet at some time, expanded and now catches on the tiled floor). In my view you need a refit to keep up with the market. My wife was along on this visit. Why, she asks, do you have to navigate a long menu just to watch a bit of TV? Other hotels are not as tedious. You need to get rid of baths, fit showers at the next refurb. Dinner was a disaster. We went a la carte as I was sceptical about the buffet sitting around for several hours. There were few diners so most of the buffet probably went in the bin, as did my main course, it was cremated, inedible and sent back. The wine I requested was not available and the replacement was 10% AVB, sweet and very "thin", a snip at the price! My Welsh cheeseboard consisted of Stilton, Red Leicester & (I believe) Wensleydale with cranberries, pleasant, but hardly Welsh! I was then offered "Caerphilly Cheddar", whatever that is. They kindly adjusted by bill. Why do some hotels, like you, still persist on charging for WiFi in this day and age? It is counter productive and costs more to administer and collect than it brings in revenue. You say it is free, but it's 30 minutes @ dial-up speed. Even for that you have to trot off to reception to get a code. The so-called auto log-in system doesn't work. Check-out was odd as only a final part-payment was necessary. Staff said it was normal. Well, it might be for you, but I have never experienced it in all my many years staying in hotels, including IHG properties. May I respectfully suggest that you get someone in who has experience of international hotels, you might even get to make an episode of a well-known TV programme. I would have happily paid more for a room, and normally do, but charging for trivia (e.g. WiFi) irritates. Not sure how your restaurant operates, but it cannot be profitably. PS. I will be interested in how you put your usual positive spin on this feedback. Please, please do not blame the staff, they are probably doing their best within the rules that someone, somewhere, has devised. 05 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay I found the staff to be some of the most helpful people I have come across ,nothing was to much trouble ,the room was spotless and the bed very comfortable will definately stay again 04 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tired and Dated I have stayed at many HI and this is by far the worst. The room was something out of the eighths. Carpet worn, wood paneling. The bed was uncomfortable, duvets and pillows well past there best. The bed itself was on rolling feet so moved every time I wanted to sit up. The bar is poorly stocked. Only two bottled beers!! When I went to reception to complain the girl was sat in the office. I had to shout to get her attention. There always seemed to be groups going to parties, woken twice at 3am from people drunk. 30 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable Bed and Great Service The staff were great and the food was good but the Exec Room although everything was there, could only be described as "tired" and in real need of an upgrade, especially the bathroom. The bed had reached its sell by date too. Not worth what I paid for it. 12 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great staff and relax from the arrival to departure, the people giving great service and excellent interaction, with attention to detail ,second to none. thankyou. 04 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Maintaining the standard This is my usual place to stay when I come to Newport. Great staff and brilliant location however the TV system leaves a great deal to be desired. I expect freeview with a full range of channels and TV is the primary default and not the current lengthy process just to watch TV. Also most hotels I visit have free Internet access/wifi without needing little pieces of paper with codes. If I am staying then make it automatic. The staff are the jewel in the crown here. 01 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Excellent hotel very comfortable rooms lovely food was really good especially the breakfast well worth the money. Staff go out of there way to help. Can't wait to go back 29 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and value for money. A nice friendly welcome, and very helpful and pleasant staff at reception and in the restuarant. Enjoyed the swimming pool, although small it was nice to have a dip after a long drive. We had DB&B, and dinner was a superb buffet, with pleanty of choices for starters and main courses. We had the Cappuccino cake for sweet, which was absolutely delicious with fresh cream. The room was very spacious with a nice comfortable leather sofa to relax and watch TV. Despite being close to the motorway and other main roads, their was very little noise at night both inside and outside the hotel. Breakfast at 09:00 was very relaxed and peaceful with all hot and cold items well stocked. Checkout was easy and the receptionist was very pleasant. Overall a very pleasant and relaxing nights stay. 25 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Accommodation dirty. Sofa and shower curtain looked like something from csi. Apparently when you pay for exective room they only accommodate for one person-so all extras as to robe,toiletries, pillows not there for second. Even though booked for 2 people. Name welcoming us on tv wasn't even our name-who is mr smith!!!! Staff seemed too busy to even recognise guests not involved with wedding on that day. Must say girl who worked that day on bar was lovely and worth her weight in gold for the hotels reputation for service. Would not recommend, very tired, dirty, staff disinterested and not value for money. Very disappointing and down right rude!!! 23 August 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>