Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 12 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 13 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 88 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sadly Failing........... There were a number of issues with this stay but basically: * This hotel is now of such a poor standard, in every respect that it's hard to understand why the Holiday Inn name is still allowed to be used (obviously profits over standards). * The executive rooms are so old and tatty that, when you complain, you are given a one of the updates standard rooms as they are far superior (there must be logic there somewhere). * My room wasn't serviced on Christmas Day and had to complain on my return in the evening. I heard a number of reasons why this hadn't happened but the one that seemed correct was simply that the hotel didn't service rooms on Christmas day and what did I expect from a 3 star hotel?? * On checking in, I carefully checked the start time for breakfast on Boxing Day as I had a very long journey with an early start. I was told 6.30am, which I based my plans on. It was in fact 7pm as it was a Bank Holiday. This was obviously a simple mistake by the receptionist, easily done as the days over Christmas can be confusing. However, I brought this to the attention of the night porter when the error was discovered as he finished his shift on Boxing day morning and he couldn't have been less interested, helpful and simply argued. When I pointed out it wasn't a good idea to argue with guests he continued to argue that he wasn't (not the most intelligent thing to do.) Sadly, he'd picked on the the wrong guest this time and instead of apologising for the hotel's simple mistake or his behaviour he started muttering under his breath and stormed off into an room on the other side of reception. Luckily, a cleaner, who had no responsibility for this issue behaved perfectly and resolved the issue. The receptionist, who had been engaged on the phone during the incident stood with a horrified look on her face as she watched the night porters behaviour. From conversations with various staff afterwards it would appear that this night porter is known for his poor service / behaviour but the management are too weak to do anything about it. * The gym is positively dangerous, with extremely old machinery that is not fixed to the floors and moves, particularly the rowing machines. I have to say that, with the exception of the night porter, the staff at the hotel are amazing and do everything they can to remedy the failings of this hotel. Sadly, with an excellent 'HI Exp' a few miles away, it is hard to see why this hotel is still allowed to operate as a HI Hotel, especially given the high volume of complaints it appears to receive locally. I would be grateful for you response as to why a hotel would be allowed to continue to be operated in such a poor fashion. 27 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Quality Hotel This Holiday Inn is most certainly the poorest I have visited. This was my second stay, my first was also poor but I gave it a second chance. The hotel is very tired, very much in need of refurbishment. On arrival I was allocated a room one floor down (no lift) at the very back of the hotel. On arriving at my room I found my key card had not been activated. I had to walk all the way back to reception (with my luggage) to get it activated. My room was small with a very tired bathroom. The TV would not work and there was no mini-bar fridge in the room. The temperature was too hot, yet the air conditioning unit appeared to just make a loud noise but have no impact on the heat. I tried the Gym and pool, the gym was ok (not much equipment) however the pool smelled strongly of sewerage. There was no closure notice!! I reported it to reception and I did notice the next day that it had been closed. Some of the staff were friendly, however not all. The food was ok albeit a little pricey. I won't be returning, there is a Holiday Inn express just down the road which is so much better in every respect. 08 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable & convenient. Friendly, efficient service from restaurant with a good menu and tasty food. Reception staff very welcoming and efficient. Comfortable room. 19 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing break Although the hotel in itself could do with a bit of an updating, the hotel is clean and tidy and the Staff are always welcoming. I stay in this hotel at least twice a month and will chose this one if I am in the area. 11 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to find and very welcoming My bedroom was very comfortable and the lounge area welcoming. The waitresses were excellent and the food was lovely. 30 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Low standards and disappointed Felt unsafe there. Some odd looking single men wandering about and smoking right infront of the main door which made the entrance difficult to negotiate without breathing smoke and inside it smelt strongly of cigarettes. Men wandering about in the morning who looked as though they were living there and dressed as though they might be 'homeless'. No lift. Bathroom outdated and smelly, room basic and decor in need of update. It took an older female member of staff to help with my luggage after a long gruelling journey and who made the cold unfriendly surroundings bareable. Staff in the morning unhelpful and unfriendly. Smokers smoking right outside the main door again made reception stink of cigarettes - when I said that i would have to bare the smell to get out and that it made reception smell to manageress she made no comment. Would definitely NOT stay there again. 23 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Tired. Further from booking a double room and receiving a twin room it went down hill quickly. The Hotel is tired and the rooms need a major refurbishment. I will not be staying at HI Newport again until the complex adds some major investments..... 21 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room and huge bed This was one of the best nights sleep we have ever had in a hotel. The room was comfortable and quiet and the bed was huge which meant that we both had an excellent nights sleep. Highly recommended. 17 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Smoking rooms very tired The photos you see of the bedrooms are of non-smoking rooms that have been refurbished. The smoking rooms are very 70s and not in a good state at all! The wallpaper is ripped & hanging off the walk in places. I stayed in an executive room. I dread to think what standard rooms are like! The first room I was given had some dark, short & curly hairs in the bath. I complained about the cleanliness & the poor state of the room & was given an alternative room but was told that all the smoking rooms are tired. Moral of the story - don't have a smoking room. That said the staff have told me not all rooms have been refurbished so you could end up in a room that needed refurbishing 20 years ago. Felt like a 70s motel. I'm very surprised that it is allowed to carry the Holiday Inn brand as it's far below the usual standard. I should know - I stay often & am a platinum member of the rewards club. 15 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by hotel quality the staff excellent the food excellent the overall quality of this is excellent 14 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Lessons will be learned, I hope. The hotel I usually stay at in the area was fully booked, I left it late, my fault. HI Newport appeared rather less busy, I think I may know why now. All I require is a clean, comfortable room and somewhere close by to eat. Good sized room, but lots of TLC is required (e.g. The bathroom door would not open properly as it has probably got wet at some time, expanded and now catches on the tiled floor). In my view you need a refit to keep up with the market. My wife was along on this visit. Why, she asks, do you have to navigate a long menu just to watch a bit of TV? Other hotels are not as tedious. You need to get rid of baths, fit showers at the next refurb. Dinner was a disaster. We went a la carte as I was sceptical about the buffet sitting around for several hours. There were few diners so most of the buffet probably went in the bin, as did my main course, it was cremated, inedible and sent back. The wine I requested was not available and the replacement was 10% AVB, sweet and very "thin", a snip at the price! My Welsh cheeseboard consisted of Stilton, Red Leicester & (I believe) Wensleydale with cranberries, pleasant, but hardly Welsh! I was then offered "Caerphilly Cheddar", whatever that is. They kindly adjusted by bill. Why do some hotels, like you, still persist on charging for WiFi in this day and age? It is counter productive and costs more to administer and collect than it brings in revenue. You say it is free, but it's 30 minutes @ dial-up speed. Even for that you have to trot off to reception to get a code. The so-called auto log-in system doesn't work. Check-out was odd as only a final part-payment was necessary. Staff said it was normal. Well, it might be for you, but I have never experienced it in all my many years staying in hotels, including IHG properties. May I respectfully suggest that you get someone in who has experience of international hotels, you might even get to make an episode of a well-known TV programme. I would have happily paid more for a room, and normally do, but charging for trivia (e.g. WiFi) irritates. Not sure how your restaurant operates, but it cannot be profitably. PS. I will be interested in how you put your usual positive spin on this feedback. Please, please do not blame the staff, they are probably doing their best within the rules that someone, somewhere, has devised. 05 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay I found the staff to be some of the most helpful people I have come across ,nothing was to much trouble ,the room was spotless and the bed very comfortable will definately stay again 04 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tired and Dated I have stayed at many HI and this is by far the worst. The room was something out of the eighths. Carpet worn, wood paneling. The bed was uncomfortable, duvets and pillows well past there best. The bed itself was on rolling feet so moved every time I wanted to sit up. The bar is poorly stocked. Only two bottled beers!! When I went to reception to complain the girl was sat in the office. I had to shout to get her attention. There always seemed to be groups going to parties, woken twice at 3am from people drunk. 30 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable Bed and Great Service The staff were great and the food was good but the Exec Room although everything was there, could only be described as "tired" and in real need of an upgrade, especially the bathroom. The bed had reached its sell by date too. Not worth what I paid for it. 12 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great staff and relax from the arrival to departure, the people giving great service and excellent interaction, with attention to detail ,second to none. thankyou. 04 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Maintaining the standard This is my usual place to stay when I come to Newport. Great staff and brilliant location however the TV system leaves a great deal to be desired. I expect freeview with a full range of channels and TV is the primary default and not the current lengthy process just to watch TV. Also most hotels I visit have free Internet access/wifi without needing little pieces of paper with codes. If I am staying then make it automatic. The staff are the jewel in the crown here. 01 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Excellent hotel very comfortable rooms lovely food was really good especially the breakfast well worth the money. Staff go out of there way to help. Can't wait to go back 29 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and value for money. A nice friendly welcome, and very helpful and pleasant staff at reception and in the restuarant. Enjoyed the swimming pool, although small it was nice to have a dip after a long drive. We had DB&B, and dinner was a superb buffet, with pleanty of choices for starters and main courses. We had the Cappuccino cake for sweet, which was absolutely delicious with fresh cream. The room was very spacious with a nice comfortable leather sofa to relax and watch TV. Despite being close to the motorway and other main roads, their was very little noise at night both inside and outside the hotel. Breakfast at 09:00 was very relaxed and peaceful with all hot and cold items well stocked. Checkout was easy and the receptionist was very pleasant. Overall a very pleasant and relaxing nights stay. 25 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Accommodation dirty. Sofa and shower curtain looked like something from csi. Apparently when you pay for exective room they only accommodate for one person-so all extras as to robe,toiletries, pillows not there for second. Even though booked for 2 people. Name welcoming us on tv wasn't even our name-who is mr smith!!!! Staff seemed too busy to even recognise guests not involved with wedding on that day. Must say girl who worked that day on bar was lovely and worth her weight in gold for the hotels reputation for service. Would not recommend, very tired, dirty, staff disinterested and not value for money. Very disappointing and down right rude!!! 23 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, clean & great service We only stayed one night but it was a clean room, with everything we needed in it, including an iron & ironing board. We asked for more decaf coffee and milk in our room and were happily given both by the reception and the bar respectively. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We didn't eat there but we slept very well. The bathroom needs better extraction fan but otherwise a good experience. 17 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Ignore any reference to 'Swimming Pool' ! Leisure facilities extremely disappointing !! We always have a dip when staying at Holiday Inns, but there was a young family of 4 splashing around in the tiny 'pool' here, so effectively out of bounds for all others for well over an hour ! This facility should be reclassified as a 'splash pool' only for more reasons than one !! Surprisingly no sauna, steam room or Jacuzzi, which are standard in all other Holiday Inns we stay at ! True vegetarian options on menu also very disappointing. Ate very well elsewhere !! Overall this is a substandard, overpriced IHG product, will not book here again and definitely cannot recommend as you will be disappointed !! 16 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I'll be back We had a great stay last week. Enjoyed it so much we will definitely return soon. Very comfortable and convenient location. 15 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Over night stays: Mon night and Fri. night. Made to feel welcome by all staff members. Mon night sleep was difficult due to bed being too hard! Fri. night however, was in a different room and bed was VERY comfortable! Food & beverages were reasonably priced and bar area felt homely and comfortable too. Nice stay, but wish they had full Freeview TV channels in bedrooms. 11 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Grumpy of Wootton Bassett - Never Grumpy Here for Long! I've left a previous review but thought that 2 months later it deserved a follow up. As a Platinum Member you get a good reception a good reception and recognition at most locations and here is no different. ...HOWEVER!!...my review is more about the general atmosphere and the staff's attitude....they are all human and VERY human at that! .....(well apart from one or two who we keep telling them were left behind after the recent martian invasion failed...they don't believe us!!?) ......to be human in their job is not an easy task but from reception who are wonderful, through breakfast staff, who are simply the best breakfast crew I've met....smiley entertainment at it's best for an early start.....through to the care of most of the sales team and through to a brilliant evening bar staff who always seem to cope despite the ridiculous levels and variations of customer demands. .....even the General Manager is almost human!! :-) A very attentive and professional gentleman in a very difficult industry - any issue and he or the staff will always resolve to the best of their abilities. Why pay more at the Celtic Manor...probably a lot of reasons when viewing facilities and perceived snobbery but to my mind I'd recommend the Holiday Inn, Coldra over any Holiday Inn I've stayed at in my many years of travel.....unless you need a short hop into Newcastle Town Centre! :-) Makes my week away from a young family a far more enjoyable and bearable event! ....I still think the cleaners are too protective of their liquid soap! ....oh and the Welsh Yoghurts - WHERE ARE THEY!?...fantastic last week - yep even though they're welsh I hate to say it but a bit of a wow!.....I'll be charging them for my advertising rights though! Seriously - Treat the staff as you would want to be treated and you will be treated as per my surname.....a 'KING'!! Happily here for another 6 - 9 months I hope! 08 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Weekend My wife & I stayed for 4 nights for our nephew's wedding. The wedding itself, main meal, buffet and organization of the event were fantastic. We had all our meals there and cannot find fault with any of them. However we paid for an executive suit which fell well short of standards then I had experienced before. The bedside lights did not work, the decor was tatty and tired looking and the radiator had footprints all over it. The chest of drawers had one drawer that the front was broken and could not be used.The bathroom was run down with the bath chipped and grouting either missing or mouldy. The only good side to the accommodation was that the bed was comfortable and clean. All the staff were extremely friendly and did apologize for the state of the room and said that other rooms had recently been refurbished 03 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room In Poor State Of Repair The room suppose to be one of their executive rooms was in a bad state of repair, drawers were broken and falling off, sink tap moved right round when you went to turn it off, the door was hard to open and close and the mattress sank in when you sat on the side of the bed. Overall very poor standard and wouldn't recommend this hotel which is a big shame really at the cost I paid for the room. 18 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very hot room As a Platinum member i was disappointed when told it was now policy not to allow later check outs at Newport Holiday inn. I have stayed with my family quite a few times at this hotel and have always been offered extended checkouts. In future we will have to consider other available hotels in the South Wales area. The weather was hot when we visited, our room was extremely hot and it was not easy to sleep. The air conditioning just didn't cope at all. 16 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Reliable without being exceptional Good location. Welcoming and hard working staff. Public areas of the hotel were boiling hot but the room did have air-con. There was a strong smell of cigarettes on the second floor which was unpleasant. 15 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great room and food. the hotel and room are as you would expect from IHG excellent! the food is as good as required, tried bar and room service both excellent. as an IHG club member, i was not greeted as such, nor was the room prepared for the two people who were staying. once i had booked in , however the service was good. 28 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff,room spotless,plenty of tea/coffee in the room first time of useing the holiday inn but would highly recommend it,didnt eat there but everything else was spot on. 21 June 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>