Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
83%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 1147 reviews
83%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1147reviews

  • 5 Stars
    526
  • 4 Stars
    378
  • 3 Stars
    129
  • 2 Stars
    62
  • 1 Stars
    52

Worst stay I've had at a Holiday Inn

By

10 May 2022

A warm day, the heating was on, when I opened the window, it fell off it's hinges.
There was a light bulb not working.
The room was clearly in need of decorating/ renovation.
The TV didn't work & the internet was very poor. I did not report at the time because I was tired and just wanted to sleep.
I ordered room service, the "blue cheese" sauce was like milk and had no flavour.
When I reported the room issues to Reception the following morning, I barely got an apology.
I won't be staying here again.

Read More
Read Less

Noisy residents, poor food.

By

26 April 2022

A last resort for me next time I’m working in the area. I will be looking elsewhere I’m afraid. On the whole staff very helpful but please educate your restaurant team, someone had no idea what fresh ground black pepper was…

Read More
Read Less

Avoid

By

12 April 2022

club

Lovely new reception area and restaurant but what a shock when you get to the rooms.
Dated, old miss-matched furniture, no plugs other than an extension lead which had un safe wiring.
Marks and scuffs all over the walls and then the pizza I had in the evening was disgusting, swimming in grease it really was awful.
Breakfast was really good and the reception staff were great allowing me use of one of their meeting rooms for half an hour.
Will not be back.

Read More
Read Less

Very professional

By

04 April 2022

I have stayed in many holiday inn over the past 6 months but the staff at this one have been the best by far! They wanted to help you with anything, the food service regardless what meal it was, was run very professionally and all the staff were very presentable. The hotel it's self from the outside looked very bates motel but when you walk in its very modern and light! My room was a little dark but very comfy and with the added bonus with having sky in the room. The corridors are a bit dated but you don't sleep there. They gym had a few relics of equipment with no weight lifting equipment available. The pool is decent for a freebie and it's heated.
Menu on evening was decent with a lot to choose from and breakfast was nice.
Well done holiday inn Newport and Thank you.

Read More
Read Less

Look elsewhere

By

31 March 2022

club

This has to be the worst Holiday Inn I've ever stayed in, it was more like a 2* BW chain. Good points first: staff all very friendly, welcoming and helpful; free car park; spacious room; lobby and dining areas all look great and very modern. Unfortunately once you're through the doors into the main hotel it's a different story, smelt like a care home and really run-down and shoddy. Room was boiling, ancient heaters on the wall, no air con; base of bed was covered in stains and fabric worn off on all corners, no cushions / throws on bed or settee made it look very spartan; bed was a small double and very lumpy and uncomfortable; hair dryer was like a plastic toy; no main light so had to try to dry / straighten hair in very dim lamplight; 1 glass between 2 of us and 2 cups with coffee stains on sides; no toiletries whatsoever apart from dispensers at sink and in shower both saying 'handwash'. The hotel advertises a leisure centre - please be aware this is a very small pool and gym, the changing room was 1 small room with a toilet cubicle and an open shower with curtain, no keys in any lockers, there were no staff present and I would have felt very uncomfortable if I'd be alone down there. Breakfast was average at best, I wouldn't recommend at all.

Read More
Read Less

Rooms a bit dated - public areas lovely

By

13 March 2022

The public areas in the hotel are nice, refreshed and modern. The bedrooms need some tender loving care. My room (310), in the bathroom the silicon sealant around the bath looked like it had been administered by Stevie Wonder - very poor quality. Food this visit wasn't as good as the last visit. I decided to share the camembert sharing starter with a colleague - very small and only just warm. Chicken dish very dry. Breakfast goos.

Read More
Read Less

Great Hote; - Sort the Lighting Out!!

By

20 February 2022

Staff are first class, food and beer spot on. Great rooms that have everything you need including a spot on office desk space. Really comfy bed and showers are great.

If i have one gripe, its the outside lighting. Its often not on and you cant see your route to the car park which is bad for those who may struggle physically.

sort that and its great

Read More
Read Less

Good overnight stay

By

03 December 2021

Stayed on the way to Welsh valleys for work. Ideal stopping point and good hotel.

Read More
Read Less

WICC Conference attendance

By

01 December 2021

Rooms in desperate need of refurbishment and not up to normal IHG standards

Read More
Read Less

Nice staff

By

01 December 2021

club

Generally OK. Quite clean but furniture a bit shabby in places. Breakfast fine though some things hard to find. Friendly, helpful staff. Shame about the tacky paper cups. Two discarded coffee cup lids on the stairs still there in the morning. Very comfortable bed and a great sleep.

Read More
Read Less

My stay

By

01 December 2021

Although the hotel is far older than your other newer hotel in Newport... It still held the same high quality I've come to expect from ihg..... Reception. We're very freindly... We're expecting me..... Easind any worries... One thing get rid of grey net curtains, that you firstly see on approach.... Not a good start to most I would think
Anticipation g because of age of hotel, room wood be jaded, bathroom, not up to spec, things broken.... But no very very clean through out so we'll done to all staff.
Obviously the furniture dated but hey.... Everything else spot on
Breakfast too no dramas, very good....
Will you be sprucing it up .... Maybe in the future.

Read More
Read Less

Lovely restaurant and good cooked breakfast

By

25 November 2021

club

Great place to stop over to meet family for a birthday.
Huge selection for breakfast
I did get woken up at midnight when the bottle bank was being filled.
Apart from that slept well.
Would definitely stay again and avoid the rugby weekend as it was more expensive than average.

Read More
Read Less